(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hi Shugar

ya, long long list, make sure he fall off the chair...")

i ask my hubby to c the list wif each, n each time, he say c myself can le
every disappointing...

if he join in den me n bb will be very hapi...

lin,
i know how you feel. but men are like that one lah. they switch off at these things, which they feel not very impt. like nowadays i go shopping, only look at baby things right? naturally what. cant wear normal shoes nor clothes so dun waste time look mah.

once i venture into baby/maternity section, my HB scoots off to golf or sports section. "sms me when u r done then we meet". initially i was a bit peeved. but then i realised, its only the shopping part he doesn't care about lor. everything else about the baby he is very attentive. so cant complain already right?

transformers! i want to watch! but will go next week...

Good morning ladies!

lin/hippo,

My son has been asking me to bring him to watch transformers. But I can't imagin sitting without moving for 2 hours!

Hippo,

I have been rejecting going shopping with my gf who do not have any children. Was telling them our interest differ now so jiao me next year when I regain my figure!

chnyle,

Took this off one of the thread & add on.

Things you need to bring:
1) Own clothing (2 x button down night gown)
2) Baby clothing coz they dun provide any.
3) Mitten and Bootees and Cap
4) Receiving blanket
5) Nipple Cream
6) Extra Pad (in case you dun like what hospital provide)
7) Extra disposable panties
8) Your own daily essential (facial cleanser, comb etc)
9) Face towel and towel (in case you want to bath)
10) Breastpump
11) Camara
12) Confirmation letter from hospital/gynae

Yesterday I was chatting with my gf and she was telling me to prepare my bag now! I was like huh? so fast? Then I reliase that I'm going to step into 3rd tri! How time flies!

Oh ya, something for all of you to consider. As babies can only see red, black & white, it might be good for your hubby to wear these 3 colors during delivery. So that babies will have a clear vision of his/her daddy the moment they open their eyes!

Sorry! forgot nursing bras.

4) Receiving blanket
5) Nipple Cream
10) Breastpump
11) Camara
13) Nursing bras

bluesea, ya lor.. sometimes i feel like so useless why cannot get up normally. tis always happens whn i lie on my bed to watch tv programmes.

wow, seems like most of you know the weight of your bb. my gynae din tell hw heavy is my bb.

Haven't been loggin for a long time and the thread is moving so fast.
Is it safe to drink coffee and coke now? I'm into my 24 weeks now. I have these craving for coffee and coke for the past few week.

I did my DS when i'm 20 weeks and doc say that my BB is overweight. My bb weight 370gm when i'm 20 weeks but base on the chart.. my bb is very much overweight. Guess i have to cut down on my durian in take.

Something to share with all MTB with backache.I do encounter backache pain until i brought the support sleeping pillow and now my backache is gone...you can get it from mothercare and it cost around 100+.

BTW,I'm having a boy.

sotong,
thanks for that list!!! hehehe... lucky we have experienced mummies on this thread. otherwise all blur together.

you mean if u sit too long will have backache or just not interested in the show? hehe... ask daddy bring ryan lor. but weekend more crowded.

my hubby wanna watch transformers too! but i told him i cant sit there for 2 hrs+ and it's so uncomfortable haa.. so he appealed to his colleagues liao hahaha...

soh: my baby was 400g when she's 21 weeks but doc say it's average leh... if urs overweight, then mine also overweight liao lor..

hi famela, talking about weight of baby, my baby is now 740g at 24 weeks. I think 1kg should be ok lah, plus and minus, afterall it's an estimation. but durians really make the baby big.

My gynae/ob was so fast yesterday. Baby hands were in butterfly position, so block his face.

I'm having this ache in my pelvic/ pubic area. The doc says it's due to the pressure of the baby, but it's quite irritating esp when I'm walking.

hippo and sweetzinc, my husbands had tickets to the movie premiere of transformers, but because we had antenatal class last night, we gave the tickets to his father and brother. Anyway, he worked so late last night that I don't think he could have made it for the movie anyway. Haven't been to the cinema for many months.

I read 8 Days and the ST movie reviews. Both said the movie sucked.

glass: haha partly because i not really interested in the show too lah. heh i'm waiting for ice age and up! :x i told him if going to watch movie, better to cathay, the seats are more comfortable.

Btw 740g at 24 weeks is consider average? i also ate some durians over the past weeks.. hope bb wont be overweight cos of this =.=

jazol : my gynae din tell me my bb weight oso. When i had my #1, i wasn't even aware of the weight thru out the entire pregnancy. I was blur blur then and dun knw wat to ask. Tink most of the gynae will keep quiet unless u ask. But my hus bot me a book on all u need to know abt the pregnancy and it was useful back then. it have all info inside including the various stages of the bb, hw to do get your hus to do the massage for u, hw to breastfeed and position to ease your contractions pains, taking care of newborn etc etc. It is easier than googling the net for info.

For first time mtbs, tink it shld be very useful and u may not even need to go for any classes. It did help me alot when i was blur as sotong last time.

Hippo,

Confession. I'm getting lazy nowadays. Didn't do yoga for 3 weeks, swimming from 2 times a week reduce to once last week and none yet this week & my backpain seem to be back! Futhermore, I don't think I can sit through 2 hours without visiting the toilet. Our weekends are always so busy. This weekend my son's school is having performance in Marina Sq and after that, daddy need to rush off again. =(

Soh,

I have been drinking coffee + coke + bubble tea whenever I like! I know that cafine is no good for the baby so I will try to keep to a cup at the most per day.

Hi Sotong Mum, thanks for the list. Though it's my 3rd baby, the list is good and serves to remind me not to leave out anything!

By the way, ladies, dont forget the important video camera! Besides, the usual camera, I'm sure all of us wanna capture those precious moments on video.

So, I hv added it into the list and some items which I brought to the hospital previously:

4) Receiving blanket
5) Nipple Cream
10) Breastpump
11) Camara
13) Nursing bras
14) Video camera (pls ensure it's fully charged and with sufficient memory)
15) Fresh set of clothes for discharge
16) my make-up pouch (wanna look presentable when family/friends/colleagues visit you mah!)

By the way, I'll be delivering in MT A, anyone knows if the hospital provides the hospital gowns? My previous 2 were delivered in restructured hospitals and gowns were provided. I only bring a fresh set of clothes for my discharge.

Lin, we are indeed close in dates! Which hospital are you delivering in? Mine is Mt A.

Soh, I drank Coke too, esp when I was having bad morning sickness. The gassy drink sure made me feel better, esp after burping. But I only limit to a few sips (a day) if I cant help it, otherwise, it's none at all. As for coffee, I think moderation is ok. Hv heard friends drinking 1 cup a day, no problem at all.

hi happy hippo n sotong mum
i went to c transformers jt nw, 145 mins... very the long, full house also...

hi happy hippo
ya lor, always i c myself de, he seldom acc me de "( nowadays i oso feel no time c personasl things le

hi sotong mum
thks for the list, cos i oso blur abt wat to bring to hospital

hi all..

firefighting all day. haiz..

thanks all for the lists, very useful in jolting my memory!

Durian is very high in sugar and hence accounting for all the weight gain. Hmm. it could also possibly lead to gestional diabetes if over consumed, take in moderation.

Sorry ladies for being a spoiler.. but just watched the news.. feeling a bit moody about the H1N1 cases. there are a few in my workplace now. :S and now i belong to the high risk group (pregnant ladies).. haiz. they say if contacted, possible death.. wah liew.. haiz.. but i cannot be not going to work right?? *sigh*

sorry to sound whiny..

astro >> i'm sure yr superiors can understand if u need to keep away from yr school for this period while the infection spread is ongoing..is it republic poly? i read that classes there are going on e-learning...uh..no panic here but the prognosis for preggers with H1N1 isn't good (based on the canadian and scottish deaths). both babies were born premature and the scottish one also died. so don't take any chances really. i have already begun to scale back my shopping ctr visits and eating at less crowded restaurants. using my car keys and elbows for lifts/doors and holding my breath when anyone sneezes/coughs..haiz, but u are also sane and right that life has to go on..take care..

hi there again everyone

it's back to work for me after a long absence from it these past 4 months. hmmm.. i hope it will just make the time pass by more quickly
can't wait for oct!

astro: i'm 24 weeks... will be 25 weeks this friday. that must have been cute when that little girl started calling your boy yummy gor gor. hehe

hippo: really? GD? i hope not la. but my gynae didn't seem worried at all on monday when she estimated my baby's weight so i guess i shall just go with the flow la yah?

i think the more i think about it the less worried/anxious i'm getting abt her weight cos i just remembered that e fasting month is not far away and i am hoping that i'd be able to fast tru the month healthily. so no harm in baby gaining those extra pounds now lar.

thanks for the list lin and sotong_mum

lin: congrats on your first boi boi!
with regards to your choice to go for c-sect or natural.. just think abt it first la. still got time. but i would also advise you to go for natural if you can cos heard that recovery wld be faster. but ultimately, the choice is yours. just don rush the decision. read up and gather info first now

glass: ya lar.. i have already decided not to worry abt the baby's weight for now. i'm still eating healthy so not too worried.
i believe it's the fact that i had quite a bit of durians twice lately and i've been drinking fresh milk regularly. that's the only kind of milk that's palatable to me so it's no wonder that it's going to baby too.

i have that ache in my pelvis too. been ignoring it pretty much. i have a feeling it'll get worse once skul reopens and i'll be running up and down 4 storeys to get to my classes. good luck to me then lar. hah! but looking fwd to using that as my exercise in my gearing up for labour. haha!

really? transformers not good? was planning to go watch it with hubby and my son soon too

astro: there are cases at your work place? i bet that'd be scary. take extra precautions lar. load up on fruits for vitamin c, carry hand sanitizer with you all the time. and if worse come to worse, wear a mask to protect yourself?

xoxo and famela: reading on h1n1 now to know more. and yes i have my hand sanitizer with me and drowning vit C drinks prescribed by my gyane (but i feel this is not as effective as Redoxon (forgot spelling).. coz it is supposed to be infused with calcium carbonate or something.. hmm. not purely vit c..i feel.
the spread in my workplace has been contained. but still can;t help worrying. stupid miser. just dun get it.. still want to explain to me RATIONALLY the 'actually' low risks.. over news just now. he replied 'it is high risk. but not the highest risk'. how idoitic.. argh

maman >> yep, the whole arsenal..really, anything so that u stay hale and hearty. i'd stay away from the cluster even for just a week first just to play safe. really worried for u. take lots and lots of care astro...

famela >> hihi..have not been that active because i am bogged with work on every side...and i thought i'll "end" my career with a whimper. how wrong!
i am still part of the merlion club. it got quite bad three days ago. into my 600-series of ziplock bags. the babe's really grown and can make her presence felt big time. asks for massages and makes pretty loud growling sounds at deadlock moments which do provide a measure of comic relief for me
i wish that i could go ahead and get stuff for the baby just like u did! just no time..!! hope it isn't too late when i start in august?? esp when i read sotong mum's post of the hospital bag...next appt for me on the 1st! can't wait for it..it's been a long time since we saw her. ahhh..the way babies can make mothers-to-be gush so much..!! see u ard soon and i'm glad to read yr placenta's moved! great good news!!!

famela >> hihi

back to work is good, i quit my job cos of my morng sickness... now time pass very slow without a job. but at least can rest more.

as for which way to give birth, c how ba. got heard ppl say natural recovery faster, but very scare, cos no experiences b4 mah

care to share ur experiences wif me?

hi Evil*Mie

mine is free ticket, no gold class...''(

pt 2 of tranformers is not as nice as pt 1 , very messy, too many robots le, cant c which is good or bad de..

good morning!

xoxo: poor you.. i can't imagine still merlioning now leh. must be terrible for you. but glad that everything else is good with baby.

don't worry abt the shopping bit lar. i didn't get anything for adil until i was well into my 7th month last time. all you need is a good list and you can get pretty much all the essentials in one day so no worries there, yah? i've just been free from staying home all day long so might as well capitalise on the time and get the things bit by bit. i'm pretty sure once skul reopens next monday i won't get much of a chance to do much more shopping anyways.

and yes, these babies of ours really can make us go goo-ga-ga over them..! i look fwd to each and every appt too!!

regarding placenta: great news indeed.
i'm glad, glad, glad! wheeee~

lin: i, too, took time off from work cos of my morning sickness. was on MC for weeks! in the end decided to take no pay leave to ride out the rest of my MS. but it's back to the grindstone for me come monday though.

regarding natural birth: different pple have different experiences definitely but i believe if you kee an open mind, and think really positive, you can have the easy, natural labour you want.

i don't have any experience with c-sect recovery but i did recover very fast from my natural birth. it's really not that bad la. i gave birth at 6.34pm and could go pee in the toilet myself by that night, and go poop the next morning. was of course worried about the stitches down there stinging, know wat i mean? but really, it was alright. don't remember much pain at all. and i was pretty much mobile from the get go lor.. since no stitches on the abdomen to worry abt. bathed baby on my own, did household chores etc from time i got home from hospital.

however, i have also heard of others with c-sect experience saying that their recovery was super quick too. like i said, diff pple diff experiences.

i think it doesn't matter which way you go cos at the end of the day, we all want a healthy baby safe in our arms, so whichever way is the best way to get to that end result is good for me

you're welcomed to read about my birth story on my blog if you're interested. it can be found at http://famela.me since i just copied it out in a recent entry there. good luck with your choice!

astro: yeah it is quite worrying abt the H1N1.. my hubby also ask me not to take public transport and to avoid crowded places =\
my friend is coming back from sydney and he also dun really allow me to meet him eventhough i told him that i'll meet him 7 days after he reached singapore haha.

sweetzinc: haha.. i have frens who just came back from sydney too. they came back on 20th. to be on the safe side, i will also prob only meet them on sat/sunday la. even though i'm dying to see the loot that they got for me. they told me they bought a whole lot of stuff for the baby from the pumpkin patch factory outlet there with the AU$ i passed them.

astro, famela, xoxo,
long time no see strangers. interesting topic - H1N1. i just went to see GP today again cos i've finished my course of anti-biotics and i am still not fully recovered. still sniffy and coughy. doc says preggers take a bit longer to recover cos of our lower immunity.

i was also told to avoid crowded places if possible and to wear masks if i have to go to crowded places like shopping centres. doc says they are expecting the spread to escalate over the next 2 weeks. and unfortunately, we are indeed in the high risk group. so i guess i have to continue to be cooped at home and drive myself up the wall.

ah well, i still have loads to pack, so i am kept busy anyways. but same thing lah. just wash your hands more often and carry hand sanitizers. i am taking redoxon everyday as well, on top of the multi-vit gynae prescribed me. anyhow, our body will flush out any excess vit c, so no harm to be abit kiasu in this sort of skittish environment?

the HB has to go to HK tomorrow and he was wondering if he should quarantine himself after he comes back and i was like HUH??? then i how??? will get some masks for him on the flight and for the stupid exam he has to take there. sigh...

hi famela

i requested to take no pay leave too, but my stupid co says that they need a letter from doc on my condition.

i was already into my 4th mth of pregnancy when i ask for the letter and gynae did not gave it to me cos he say that i will be better, so i requested for 5 days MC. He so GD, give me only a day cos he say cant give too many days.

but hubby was understanding too, seeing me suffer, asked me to quit my job lo...so i went ahead, but guess i get a job after birth..

as for borth methods, think i shall take own time to decide ba '')

btw, how are u at wk today?")

astro : i am as worried as u too abt H1N1 cos my immunity is simply very low. I fall sick mthly and now still 3 more mths to go.... Tink wks back, the news mentioned abt 5 preggers were dead in US. That's y been so worried... *Haiz.....*

lin,
cos being pregnant, our immunity is lower than the average person, thus most vulnerable to contagious infections/diseases.

ong,
u r working hor? doc only said to try and rest as much as possible, vit c, and lots of water. i believe if we are well rested immunity should be better. so take care of yourself too.

Hi famela,

I am already in the Week 25 and the est bb's weight is approximately 640g. He mentioned to me the bb is growing well.

Hi Lin,

As for rebonding the hair, I had done it in my first trimster. My hairstyle mentioned to me is okay as the solution is not touching the hair roots. But she has pre-warned me that the result may not to well as our body is changing....

So far my hair is manageable and easy to maintance just the 1st week after the treatment. I cannot stand my hair smell.

As for your birth plan, I would recommend you to go natural with eqidual. I had gone through using this method for my first 2 pregnancies. For this one, I plan to go without any pain killer method....

hippo: do take care and hope you get well soon. it's true that us preggers take longer to get better so just let it run its course yah? i rem i was almost constantly coughing with adil too. it just refused to go away. i'm trying my very hardest to avoid getting sick this time round.

BUT, skul is reopening next week and i have all these students that i'll be facing day in day out and they've been out there mingling during the hols so i better start packing in those vitamin c too to increase my immunity.

yest, we were called for an urgent meeting to brief all teachers about the skul's h1n1 measures then after that spent a good few hours calling ALL our students' parents to ask about their travel histories during hols. those who came back from affected countries from 22nd june onwards are all given 7 days leave of absense. they cannot come to skul. goes for all staff too. then spent another good bit of my afternoon folding letters and travel declaration forms to be mailed out to the parents so that their children can bring back the signed forms on monday.

monday, i foresee chaos at least for the first few hours. what with the temp screening etc.

oh well

i really hope that all these measures put in place will significantly reduce my risk of coming into contact with a h1n1 carrier lar. quite scary if you think about facing all these 1000s of students with all their diff travel histories etc.

lin: oh dear, doesn't sound like your co is very understanding yah? but at least it's over now lar. you just enjoy the rest of your pregnancy first. work can think of later.
i'm at home today. there was only that meeting yest. monday then, will start skul proper.

ong: yah, do take care of yourself. rest as much as poss like what hippo said. take vit c supplements too.

i think what's even more worrying is that the tamiflu is untested on preggers lor. it's under cat c i think. i rem i was reading up abt it when i was planning to go for my hol. in the end, all hol plan also cancelled when i realised if kena h1n1, the drug oso dono whether safe for me to take. sianz.