(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

HRD: not working.. happy life.. like me last time :p then go borders! have a leisurely lunch and read!
no time is better

i also gagging like nobody's business leh.. chiam.. haiz

pu: i understand lah.. hahaha

p: its different if they r teachers.. some of them can be quite good.. imagine reading from a researcher/scientist.. they can do research v well. but not presentation ah.

so i'm glad to grow up under sg edu system..

hrd: hope the vomitting is gone. i'm still burping. many times in an hr. loud and solid ones. hahaha.... i think we all soon will be done with gaggging...

PU: no.. these are professionals.. so i think their written english is proficient one.. but ya.. presentation is erm.. can be improved.. :p

btw, i can be very distracted if an oral presentator doesn't speak fluently or have several gross mistakes.. in pronuciation.. so much so i get distracted and unhappy :p then Miser said.. 'u must learn to listen to the meaning.. beyond the words'.. hahahah..coz in his line.. always like that one :p

p: they try to write well lah. but their sentence structure is the one that's not good. or maybe i prefer straight to the point type. they can be quite indirect in their words. so not very nice to read. but seriously scientists english may not be very good. salespeeps can speak better and write better. hehe..

p: haha. ok.. that can be quite tiring leh. that's y i always either fall asleep throughout my lectures or dun go for lectures at all. esp when the lecturer is a chinese/honkie and one that keeps repeating his point.

pu: ha.. coz sales need to convince mah. scientist doesn't.. they report.. unless they need convince on their conclusion. then they thro in all the 'evidences'.. ha..

ops. i also dun like to go for lectures.. esp economics.. that time for a hong kong lectuer.. ha :p ops.. i am so mean.. :p

i have an ex-collegue.. who is on moe mission to Bhutan.. was reading and surfing his facebook.. his photos are so interesting. did a wiki on bhutan.. so interesting! theni looked at teng.. and i realised.. no way i can go now.. haiz..

P,
Not working = happy life? Well, everyone says the same to me. I can tell u the 1st 2 mths u dun work really quite shiok. Beyond that u start to drive urself up the wall. I dunno if i wouldve gone bonkers if i wasnt preggers. Nowadays i spend my time thinking n cooking what i wanna eat. That takes up a whole lot of time cos i scrub everything down after cos cant stand the cooking smell. Thats y i m now gloria the hippo (ala madagascar) hehe..

Pu,
I never vomit. Just nauseous. Had some prune juice n whatever tt was choked up in the system cleared out! Hehe.. Now can eat dinner

P,
Oh yah bhutan not child frenly lah. I am so gonna miss my long hols. Cant wait for my long holiday end may. Gonna be the last time i can head to eu in a long while man.

HRD: bhutan? child frenly? ha.. it is one of the most isolated countries in the world le.. u been there before? wow.. the mix of indian and nepalese culture must be so interestin for u ! in comparison.. europe is nothing much.. kekeke..

ha.. i didn't work for two years.. ha. tell me abuot driving pple up the wall.. hahaha..

aiyo. teng ah.. dun want milk.. wants my corn soup.. now demanding to have corn soup.. kaoz.. now throwing a tantrum wor.. refusing to sleep.. chey. going to ignore him..!

on cold war with miser now.. anyway. distracting myself.. some blog entries on confinement

http://looktotherainbow.blogspot.com/2009/02/thoughts-on-confinement-1.html

http://looktotherainbow.blogspot.com/2009/03/thoughts-on-confinement-2.html

http://looktotherainbow.blogspot.com/2009/03/thoughts-on-confinement-3.html

http://looktotherainbow.blogspot.com/2009/03/thoughts-on-confinement-4-foods_09.html

and this is Part 5
Thoughts on Confinement #5: Preparing for the long haul
I believe that it is very important for parents to make their own decisions in how to raise their child and to apply these principles in a consistent manner. The first month is often a sensitive time for new mothers who tend to have high anxiety levels, especially first-time mothers who may also be feeling awkward and inadequate. These emotions can lead to tension between the new mother and any secondary caregivers who are helping out at home (e.g. mothers, mothers-in-law, confinement ladies, domestic helper), especially if their beliefs on child-rearing differ.

In order to mitigate these problems, it is advisable for potential mothers (and fathers) to discuss their views on child-rearing with the secondary caregivers, especially if the designated caregiver will be taking over after the mothers return to work.

Personally, I found this particularly difficult as my own mother had volunteered to help me during confinement and everytime I tried to talk to her about baby-related issues, she would wave me away saying, "Aiyah, when the baby is here, then we can talk about it.". Now, I really felt that the time for discussion (or argument, as the case may be) should not take place over the cradle of a squalling newborn, so I persisted and in the end we did manage to have a proper talk.

After chatting with some other mums who have had secondary caregivers during the confinement month, I realised that most of us had to deal with similar issues. I have consolidated these issues into the following categories:
1. Feeding
2. Sleeping
3. Soothing

Here are some things that expecting mums might want to ponder over with their husbands and their secondary caregivers (this is by no means an exhaustive list - there are other issues that will be specific to each family):

1. Feeding
- Will you be breastfeeding, bottle feeding or using a combination?
- Will you be expressing milk or using formula or a combination for bottle feeding?
- What kind of bottles/teats will you be using?
- If you are bottle feeding, who gets to feed the baby?
- Who gets to feed the baby at night?
- How often will you be feeding the baby?
- How long will your feeding times be?
- If the baby is sleeping, will you wake him or her for a feed?
- Do you plan on supplementing your baby's milk feeds with rice cereal, water, vitamin drops etc? When and how much?
- What will you do with the baby directly after a feed?
- What will you do if the baby falls asleep halfway during a feed?
- What will you do if the baby appears hungry but cries when put to the breast?
- What will you do if the baby has finished a feed but starts crying a short while later?

2. Sleeping
- How do you plan to put your baby to sleep?
- When will you put your baby to sleep?
- Where will the baby be sleeping during the day/night?
- In what position will the baby be sleeping?
- How do you plan to ensure the baby's comfort whilst sleeping?
- How long will you allow your baby to sleep in between feeds? Any change during the night time?
- What will you do if you put your baby to sleep but he or she is still crying?
- What will you do if your baby wakes midway through a nap and is crying?
- What do you do immediately after the baby wakes up from a nap?

3. Soothing
- When the baby is crying, who picks up the baby first? What happens if it is nighttime?
- What methods of soothing will you use?
- Do you plan to allow pacifers, finger/thumb sucking, gripe water, medicated oil, swings, brandy etc?
- What will you do if the baby is crying but is clearly not hungry/uncomfortable/sick?

Hi Shugar,

How long did your maternity belt took to arrive from Singapore? I just ordered mine, she said will mail out tomorrow.. but might take 1.5 weeks to 3 weeks.. that's so long.. Did u wait that long?

To all the working MTB,

What shoes are you wearing/ buying??? I can't find shoes that are suitable.. Like Birkenstock, but does not seems very suitable for office work..

Any MTB got any good suggestions for brand? Low, safe, comfortable..

Thanks..

P,
clap clap bow bow. thanks for bothering to type all that! eh dont cold war too long hor. better start thawing by bed time. ;) nowadays my cold war end very fast one. like within the hour kind. hahaha... last time our fren can simmer for days until the beef become rendang man. hehe...

Hi All, is having MS mean baby is healthy? My hubby friend told him his wife gynae in KK told him no MS, like vomitting mean baby more healthy? so which one is correct? blur...

Joanne: Some books did indicate that docs find Ms healthy. I think it is individual. I have seens some women without Ms,who has perfectly healthy bb. As for my opinion, whether Ms,etc is healthy anot there is nothing much that we can do or choose. You need to distract yourself with possible things that you can change i.e. Diet.

astro,
oops..not spelling..haha..my girl not genious lah :p..i mean she can shout out the word when i spell to her..

joanne,
i think MS or no, it's nothing to do with the health of the foetus.. it might be a sign of pending miscarriage if it's a sudden disappearance during the mid of 1st trimester but otherwise, i think it's not an indication of whether the baby is healthy or not.

i have a gf who has no MS at all and her baby is healthy! i think some mummies are just born with a body that is able to adapt to hormonal changes.. we are just not the lucky lot..

morning all..

MS huh? the reason why we will Ms or have all the related discomfort is because of the increased level of hormones.. namely protegestorne (hmm . think wrong spelling.. but will do for now :p) which is needed to sustain the hormones.. (and is the hormones that some of us are taking/took)..the body .. during preg.. that hormone rockets u see.. so when the body is not in harmony.. all the 'side effects' act up..

some will react by vomiting ( as in most).. others like me.. gag or have all the related bloat and indigestion etc.. all these are symptoms of preg which are good.. vomit or not vomit is just dependent on how our body 'tahan'/react to the hormones .. like what aria mentioned..

and also.. like what she said.. if sudden disappearance.. it can indicate pending miscarriage as the hormone levels fall drastically (and hence the symptoms disappaer)..

i also have a fren.. with no preg symptoms at all.. yes.. no preg symptoms. no bloat, no burp.. etc.. either that or she didn't consider those as discomfort. for both her pregs.. and merrily ate, and balloon, for her pregs.. hahaha

HRD: u are cute.. i like ur sense of humour.. beef redang huh? :p

pu: see my post above about MS.. this is classic case of beat around the bush writing.. muahahahah

Aria: try this to see if she recognises.. either start with the 'wrong' letter.. like 'b- pple'..or that mispell the wrong in the middle..and if she still jumps in with apple! then u know she doesn't recognise the spelling liao

teng long long ago..s tarted saying no.. so to everything i asked.. he replied no. then i thought so early terrible twos. turns out.. i asked 'yes or no?'.. he just echos no lor! i was like why everything no one.. so i did a deliberate flip once.. 'no or yes?.. then he said yes! hahahahhahah rofl!

then i purposely go and tease miser.. i told him

'u should start grooming urself coz even teng finds u old fashioned..'

miser: sure or not?

Me: ya.. if not i ask teng for u..
teng, do u find papa old fashioned? no or yes?

teng: Yes!

miser was surprised.. till i told him teng's 'knows' how to say no.. hahahah..

astro,
i think she recognize the sound only, not the alphabet itself... i've been trying to teach her g-i-r-l but she still say ball..hahaha....took me a few days to teach her d-o-g and f-r-o-g too because she mixed up with the two. anyway, it's for fun lah..if she remembers then good lah. hopefully next time when she really learn spelling, all these memories will flow back to her..

P,
hahahahaha... you're funny. yah. beef rendang. u catch my drift right? i think last time can STEW for up to 4 days. that's his record. but you show hand teng's trick so soon? can make fun of miser a few more times. i would do that to my hb. hehehe... ;)

morning ladies!

jo: think mine took about 1.5 weeks to arrive. coz i ordered mine before I went away for 1 week holiday and it was there sitting in my mailbox when i came back. think 3 weeks is just a play safe time frame.

been getting pain from my wisdom tooth these few days... and its been giving me a bad headache. Not keen to go to the dentist now. I think its my gums that are swollen and causing all this problem coz previously no problem at all till now.
my fren mentioned maybe i'm low on calcium. anyone got same problem?
sigh....owwwww

hi shugar
I had my wisdom tooth plucked out (2 of them!!) when I was about 6 months preggy. I also had similar symptoms. Pain in the gums but duno which tooth, and bleeding when I brush them. I tot it was normal since you will be more prone in bleeding in gums during pregn. But then a week pass and the pain is still there until 1 night, I cant take it anymore, went to the dentist. and she said AIYO, gum infection must pull out your wisdom tooth. So for 4 hrs I was there in pain. But lucky this can claim medisave, total bill abt $500..
better to see a dentist soon. They will be the best to advise you on what to do, or can prevent any extraction or else too late!
aria
Are you full time mother?No wonder she is so attached to u la. If only I am home now, can spend more time with lil one. MIL quite bad in teaching, only know how to pamper..sigh..

Hi everyone...

Disappeared for a few days. Hope everyone is feeling better.

I think i was too tired during the weekends and Monday. Wasn't feeling very good... On monday, i was too tired till its difficult for me to get to sleep... Hee...

Just now just punished Glynnis. Refused to bathe after coming back from school... Haiz... Naughty naughty...

shugar,
i just saw the dentist on mon. cos i felt like my gums were swollen. and there's some bleeding when i brush. anyhow, was good that i went to see him. cos he gave me a good cleanup and now no more bleeding gums. and luckily no cavity. but he did say pregnant women more prone to swollen gums. but should see dentist cos otherwise may become gum infection, then if worse still, may have cavity.

he told me there was a pregnant lady who insisted on extracting her tooth once in the past, when he felt no need. can still save the tooth. in the end he extracted for her. eventually the lady miscarried. of course he wasn't sure if anything to do with extraction. but from then on, he said he wont do extraction on preggers. unnecessary stress on the womb he said, can be avoided.

btw, in the past i had a wisdom tooth that came out quite straight, right at the end. so my dentist just laser off the little bit of gum that was covering the tooth. so now i got extra tooth at the back. no extraction. hehehe...

hi all, i think 2nd trimester is really better. I'm keeping my fingers crossed. I haven't merlion for more than a week, even though during dinner time, i will suddenly have a lot of acid coming up, and i need to stand up to let the feeling pass. I still can't eat much at dinner time, but I find that smelly things aren't so smelly anymore.

And.. I can eat chocolate again! couldn't stand the taste for a long time.

In addition, I'm starting to exercise a little, unlike the first trimester when I was just super tired out every single day.

Astro: Wah, thanks for typing out so many things. I really need to start reading on parenting instead of pregnancy, since I've finished those books.

HRD/hui min: yah i read that preggy women more prone to gum problems.
mine's the top wisdom tooth. it used to be ok, but now its rubbing against my inner cheek... maybe due to the swollen gums that caused it to be pushed out more??
i am trying to gargle salt water now, read online that it does soothe the gums and bring down swelling.
guess my last resort would be to visit the dentist.
i got dentist phobia... hahahha, bad experience from my last wisdom tooth extraction lah.

HELLO MTB..

I AM FROM MARCH THREAD....
I HAVE A STROLLER - BLUE - MIRACLE TURN (COMBI) TO SELL..BOUGHT IN NOV 08 (RECEIPT INCLUDED) USED ONCE FOR LESS THEN 5 MINS (BOX AND WRAPPER REMOVED) ORIGINAL PRICE IS $498 WILING TO SELL AT 50% OFF.
INTERESTED PLS MAIL ME AT [email protected]

glass/HRD: alamak. i didn't type lah. :p i crt c & crt V one :p

aria: wah. kudos to u. .when i was sahm. i was too lazy to do all those teaching. hahaha..17.5 mths right? quite good to say so many single words liao

HRD: got ur joke.. haha.. stew? i think Miser can stew till FERMENT! i cannot lor.. i BOIL and then ok liao.. ha.. BUT tonight stillgoing to be cold war with him.. coz last night never resolve anything mah! hmpf!

drinking those herbal black chicken soup with some rice now..
dunno why. always want soup when preg.. when teng was THICK creamy western soup.. now maybe not that stage yet.. so just drink some herbal soup :p also dunno if the TCM is suitable or not.. dun care :p not as if i drown tons of it everyday :p

dreamygal: glynnis goes to which school?

I was too greedy, gobble up too much chicken porridge. Eating is stressful because > cant overeat, eat too oily food> Indigestion, cant eat what i feel like> concern that it is unhealthy. hahaha not forgetting counting the the calories.

astro : She went to those playgroup at my void deck. Those 2 hours playgroup.

The rest of the time, i teach her myself...

Hi mommies..

Haven't been in here for a while.. too many posts to read and catch up on la.. hope everything's ok with all of you.

just wanted to tell everyone that i've decided to go on no pay leave for the rest of this school term. buay tahan.. cannot cope with my extremely long and hectic hours once back at work and it wasn't going too well with my woozy-ness and feelings of wanting to faint. my NPL starts today and ends 29th may. am glad for the time at home la.. no stress.

went for my FTS (OSCAR) at KKH last week. results are good. yippeee!!
can read more and see some of my baby's sonogram printouts on my blog if anyone is interested. here's the url again http://famela.me

ok.. take care everyone.. will pop in again later.

astro : That's why i punished her just now. I am those cannot stand nonsense mum... My hubby is the little angel... Haa...

Hi, if my last mens was on 03 Jan 09, can i knw hw many week am i now? call up my gynae to schedule my amnio test earlier, he say 27 Apr is the earlier, so re-schedule on 28 Apr 09. So wan to knw am i 16 weeks by tat time already.

joanne: how long is ur normal cycle? as in how many days?

dreamygal: wah.. i like no nonsense mums.. my boy is spoilt by my mum liao.. ops.