(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

VP: u know the saying.. 'when u can't convince them, confuse them!'..muahahahha.. *sinister laughter*

alo alo..

the thread doesn't seem to be moving much today.

happy birthday to the birthday ladies and girls here. how do you know it's anyone's birthday? am still trying to figure it out.. maybe i missed some old posts..?

loke/pu: wah.. no heartbeat detected so close to delivery? i can only imagine what the mommy must be feeling then.. i pray hard hard that the almighty keeps these kinda things away from all of us here.

what's your blog url again? i forgot to save it last time la. i wanna see your baby on video. i completely forgot to remind my hubby to take video of our last scan. some more the scan so long that day. tsk! then during the scan, i remembered but already there with the doctor and i felt shy to tell my hubby. so no video. only printouts. bodoh man me.

rina/vp: i tot i felt something but that was weeks ago. then, i swear it was the baby, now not too sure oredi la. havent felt anything else after that incident. if you've felt the quickening, cool! i can't wait to feel baby move too!

astro: what was teng's reply leh? i cannot read la. heheh
translate, translate.. i lurve these kids' cute remarks.. the things they say.. my!

joanne and ong: good luck for the amnio test yah?

joanne: don't worry too much.. think positive. will be praying for you.

regarding breast pumps: anyone else using/considering the avent isis iq duo? i used this last time. loved it! initially used the isis uno which was a prezzy from one of my girls. then decided to go for duo. a bit ex, but worth the money la. i haven't used it for a while. i hope it still works fine la

I remembered for teng.. i felt his movement at 14 weeks.. coz i deliberately lie down.. and put my hand on the bulge.. and ifelt a swimming gesture. fluttering.. ha.. if really is 'by itself'.. then i think abuot 5 mths wor..

xoxo: u felt this?
http://www.babiesonline.com/articles/pregnancy/quickening.asp

VP: if according to that link. u are about time!
but i overweight.. so i think this case.. till 5 mths liao wor.. hahhaha..

Famela: his reply for both times was ..'buy things to eat'.. hahahahha! :p

i had one avent isist uno leh.. but it is so funny to buy another uno to make a 'duo' right?! ha..i considering medala PIS.

famela: Pu's blog
http://www.kun-ying-wedding.blogspot.com/

i went to ur blog.. saw ur recent clips on Adil counting.. realised teng starting signs to count.. but he is pointing all over one. as he counts.. can count different things one. and everythign to him is 'two!'..

then he goes.. 'one, two, three.. seven eight nine ten!'.. aiyoh! ha.. darn cute lah..

famela: the dialouge between teng and my mohter just a moment ago.. translated ah..

Mum: teng.. who make mama fall?
Teng: Papa.. make.. mama.. fall!

wah liew.. since when i fell?!
then i told teng.. 'bluff!'
teng repeated 'bluff mama'.. hahahah :p

i can't rem when i felt adil move the last time. that time jan/feb so crazy busy period back at school so wasn't too careful with my recording and blogging.. but if not wrong oso abt 4 months liddat la. initially tot hunger pangs.. like gas bubbles. then i talked to my colleague and she told me that was baby and that was when it all clicked in my head

astro: haha! ooohhh.. ic ic..
they all grow up too fast don't they?

yalar.. that would be weird la if you bought another uno and use both together. medela should be good since it's so popular. but your your bottles must also change from avent to medela lar? i dono why but i like avent bottles la.. fat fat liddat. haha

LOL! these kids these really know how to make up stories one ah! so clever! i think we must all be prepared to get 'conned' by them soon la

how old is teng now? i keep forgetting? 2 rite? adil oso started counting at age 2.. but of course not accurate and point all over the place like what teng does now.. and everything was also 2 to him then too!! hahaha
i think because we always ask him, "how old are you?" and then taught him to reply "2!" while showing the 2 fingers liddat. so 2 it was for everything.

thanks for the link to loke's blog

famela:about 27mths now.. hahaha. i think so leh .. sounds the same! then hor. his two gesture.. like catching.. the 'twist' gesture ah!..then everyday.. tell me two!.. then *twist*.. i told him. 'i never play catching with u wor'..!

your story about teng bluffing reminds me of the story adil made up to my mother about how i made him sleep in the fridge! can you believe that kid?!

his voice was hoarse one morning when i sent him over to my mom's place before i went to work. so my mom asked him la why his voice so hoarse. he told my mom it was because he cried. my mom asked him why la he cried. and he replied, "adil cried because mommy told adil to sleep in the fridge" and according to my mom he did this with a completely straight face!! only when my mom probed then he added sheepishly that he lied.. tsk tsk.. kids kids... *shakes head*

i wrote abt it in my blog but it was in malay. i translate here

kids.. they are constantly our source of amusement and joy.. but also our headaches hor? i cannot think of a 'truer' saying than this.

sometimes wanna strangle them.. sometimes wanna hug them. hee.. i'm glad i'm over the worst of the terrible 2s la.. the major tantrum was really pretty bad. the peaceful 3s cannot come sooner for me.

famela! alamak.. teng will get stuck at 5 &6 also.. he ALWAYS skip 5! then move on 6, 7, 8, 9 10! hahahha. then now. he knows red and green also.. plus blue & black! hahhaha

great.. teng has always been slightly slower in gross motor milestones coz of his SHEER size.. and that put GREAT pressure on me last time.. (esp when u know.. erm. others start telling u their son/daughter can do this/that liao.. wah stressed!) now he can walk and run.. and be fully mobile.. i am relieved
.. still can't jump though.. the little sliverback!hahaha
at least everything else.. he is on track

as for how come we know it is someone's birthday.. FACEBOOK! ha.. ya have facebook?

famela: i waiting for the terrific threes! but he is cute.. a little person like that. before that. he was SO DULL!!!.. now he suddenly got a life! laughing and giggling.. blabbering and rambling 'non-sentence'..:)P).. i like!

hahha... farnie how they are the same yah?
that's why must always remind the new mommies not to stress abt these kids' abilities and crossing milestones.. i think lagging behind in 1 aspect of development is really not indicative of anything. they all do it at their own time. when they're ready.

he'll jump soon enough la.. just you wait. then you wished he hadn't learnt to jump at all!

i oso rem how i taught adil his colours. we played with the balls in this little ball house we bought for him. just like everything else, that story is also buried somewhere in that old blog of mine la. i'm so anal abt recording. haha

ahhhh.. facebook! no wonder lar! no i don have facebook and it's one thing that my frens have been bugging me to get. i told them i'm already an internet junkie who spends all my free waking hours on forums, blogs, msn etc. if i haf facebook i will not function normally. hehehe. and so i have resisted opening a facebook account. i opened one only in adil's name to remain anonymous. but didn't add frens other than my hubby. hah!

famela: ha. yes.. must remind. coz sometimes. postive sharing. can denegerate into ugly bragging.. and it becomes so insensitive that it hurts lah

ha.. join facebook lah. then we can have an Oct facebook group!

i agree i agree..

haha.. not another one trying to make me a facebook convert! i shall resist the temptation.. hahha

pple pple!! blame the HcG hormones for making you all merlion! and i blaming it for my cough!!

The cause of morning sickness: If morning sickness has you sidelined — morning, noon, night, or all of the above — you can also blame the hormone hCG. Surging quantities in the first trimester contribute to your queasiness. Many researchers say it is no coincidence that morning sickness usually subsides around the same time that hCG levels start to decrease, which is around the beginning of the second trimester, when the placenta takes over production of estrogen and progesterone. Peeing all the time? Blame hCG. And if you're catching every cold and flu within sniffing distance, you have hCG to thank: It suppresses your immune function to reduce the chance that your body will reject the baby. "

aha! mystery solved!
Ladies from merlion club.. ur HcG level is sky high. hence u all merlion/ms (refer to my previous post)

for ladies who didn't merlion. but is a fellow memember of the Bloat n Burp club.. the culprit is progesterone!!!

'Causing discomfort: Creating room in the uterus is for your baby's benefit, of course — but by taking the squeeze off smooth muscle elsewhere, progesterone, with the help of the hormone relaxin, prompts all manner of GI discomforts:indigestion, heartburn, and constipation, just to name a few. Lax muscles in the lower intestine, for example, allow gases to distend the bowel, bringing about an even more bloated belly, as if that were possible. '

wah.. this is something new that i ddin't know before!! good good! :p

hahaha. this is a possible reason why they say ..the preg brain is forgetful!

Cortisol (which increases during the third trimester) may also adversely affect the hippocampus, which plays a critical role in learning and memory (and which may explain pregnancy forgetfulness…and why you won't remember anything you've just learned from this article by the time you've reached your third trimester).

for ladies who needs to do a lot of regurgitation work.. cortisol is ur biggest enemy! hahahah.. :p

this old wife tales is interesting..

--If young boys (pre-school age) show interest in you while you're pregnant, it will be a girl. If they ignore you, expect a boy.

what does that say about the male gender huh? that it is 'in the genes'? "P

VP,
welcome back. the RYC a bit dull and no strength lah. we havent been yellow in awhile. now that famela is also back. i'm hopeful!

famela,
poor thing u've been very busy at work hor? so your NPL started already?

P,
really ah? my fren's baby boy attracted to me like magnet leh.

HRD: hahahaa,, actually today VP said someething. i was tempted to to make it really yellow.. but i stopped. hahaha

baby boy? hmm. interesting..do we consider that as pre-school age? :p

HRD: she said when something is being enlarged and that makes it more sensitive.. and then i said.. enlarged makes it less sensitive mah.. go figure :p

hi mommies..
how's everyone's day? i reached home after an all-day outing with friends at 7pm and headed straight for the bed. tired tired tired..and all we did were nice girly stuff - spots of shopping, great food and a trip for a head massage
i wanted to ask for a butt massage cos of the pain there but don't think anyone offers such a ridiculous item.

Astro >> I definitely think it's the baby that I am feeling already. What started as the "little mentos" protrusion has now graduated to taps and turns when i am trying to sleep. Just earlier, I woke up from my sleep cos there was quite a hard knock from the inside. I think that was a kick or something but it wasn't painful, just rather sudden and strong. but it isn't everyday i am feeling it consistently. the times i could feel it clearly were always at night, prior to bedtime.

xoxo: steady! you are , i think, the earlist to experience the quickening! congrats!
hmm. i can't imagine the thrid tri GIGANTIC movements of the bb for u liao :p

HRD: aiya.. u asked mah. so i must demonstrate my ability as the P mah.. say i pevert? haiz.. *sigh*
*sob sob*

harlow again.. i'm back after uploading more stuff to my blog...

hey detective, wah you very free ah go and read up all these..hmmm.. bad ms means higher hcg? so that explains why my gynae was happy when i started msing la huh? figures. and i oso got the bloat/burp yada yada shit cos of the added progesterone in the form of duphaston which is a synthetic progesterone... ahhh.. makes sense, makes sense! at least now i know for sure that it's NOT just psychological like what some pple sometimes try to tell me! hmnmph! angry

and yes, you truly deserve to be the president of the the RYC just like what your own HRD said. haha. perv!
you don't act sad hor? i know you hold your title with pride! haha! :D

HRD, i laughed out loud when i read your hippocampus remark! LOL! too farnie.. i get sudden flash of all of us looking like hippos in a school! bwahahahaha!

wat work? i was barely able to drag myself to work. gave up and took npl. but surprisingly after i made that decision, i felt sooO much better. haha.. no stress i guess so MS oso dieded.

hey xoxo, you've been gone quite a while too? you back at work yet? i know you went back that week before the end of your mc rite? hope you're coping well? i dono how you can tahan man, such long hours... i'd feel like crying. i can be up and about now.. but my body always starts to shake after being up too long. doc says my BP slightly on the low side.

oooh.. and congrats on feeling the baby!!!
i'm not surprised lar.. you so tiny!! 40 was it, your weight? oh my! i can only imagine how tiny your waist is and how thin your tummy walls are.... not full of blubber like mine. kekekeke

weiiii... ni men chai naa li? haha..

ok la.. i think i've been up too long.. starting to at crazy and talk nonsense.. better sleep. goodnight peeps.

see ya tmr.. have a great long weekend!

astro >> haha, i didn't know it's called "quickening"..any idea dear why it's named as such?

famela >> moi processing the previous posts...i am slowly exiting the merlion club. tsk tsk. it's jinxed to say as such..as everytime i declare i've conquered Mt Merlion, I find myself right up there again! slowly but surely. first day today to have eaten well indeed...now need to regain the 2kg lost! time to get to 41..then 42..and so on. my gastric seems to have cottoned on me...gaviscon is a good friend. i have really horrid gastric pains in the mornings prior to work..guess it's just like a school kid..when it's time for school..all sorts of pains will emerge from the wood work.

I am having prbs with my underwear..muahaha. first, i am way too small to be wearing anything for real from the maternity stores. walked into marks & spencer's today..the size 10 ones had crater openings for the thighs..it'll be loose on me..so while the waist might fit..it'd be completely weird at where it matters..

work huh..there was a crisis actually with my client which is why i'd to return a tad earlier. been lethargic, hungry, cold..but also been basking in the many sayangs you get at work. i am now the fragile babe..so most will volunteer alot for me..guess they all feel that i'm way too small sized for this mummy stuff...i am not showing yet..and it's really funny when we are at restaurants, family/friends will take it upon themselves to explain to the waiter to make the food less salty/spicy/oily as "mommy is here"...

using rational thought, i can only figure the babe has not much space for expression...indeed, i don't have much fats to show for anything..even my butt cheeks have gone down not that it was anything voluptuous to begin with..oh..and would i even begin to venture telling you how i lost my "brains"...? it's hilarious. i am tremendously forgetful.

in just a few days, these have been a collection of the utterly forgotten:
1) went to the carpark to get my car for work. searched high and low. panicked. called for HB to help. in the end, it was found that i was looking for our old car..when my real, new one was sitting there in good order. don't ask me why i did not respond to the lights flashing when i tapped my keys..i was actually craning to hear the "old" sound of my car..

2) went to NIKE, happily bought new shoes. wore them immediately and left my perfectly good sandals in the hands of the bewildered asst

3) signed for purchases, collected receipts and the credit card. went to the bin and promptly threw my c/c in while slotting my receipts. how dumb!

enough of
the lost world of xoxo.

xoxo, i'm only jus abt out of woods. Not entirely in clear though. Appetite's better but there are still nights i feel the nausea and vomit. Happening more and more rarely tho. I understand abt not wanting to jinx it too cos tt's been my case too-each time i mention i'm feeling more upbeat on my blog, the next day ms attacks wif vengeance so better not say too much here oso
i'm 14 weeks today though! Officially in 2T. Never tot i'd get here.

Glad to hear tt at least pple at work are sympathetic towards your fragile state. Reading abt your underwear woes is funny! I reali can't imagine how small you are lady! I think i was last 40kg in sec 1 maybe? And 20% underweight then. That was the last time i was underweight though. It's all an upward trend fr then on! Haha!

Wah your pregnant brain reali quite severe hor? Haha! Looking for old car? Throw credit card away? Ok, i hope it doesn't get more serious than that fr now on.

You take care and take it easy ok? Rest wen you can at work. And now tt we can eat better, time to pack in all the nutritious food liao.
which reminds me, i better start on my milk drinking routine now. Stopped wen merlioning like siow.

Oh btw, haf you been to the aqua aerobics class? How is it?

Hi new mommies, Im a Jan'09 mommie who bought too many baby items, so Im looking to clear the following.
1. Philips Avent Express Steriliser (brand new).
2. Moses basket from Mothercare, used for 1 wk. Excellent condition, will throw in 2 fitted sheets.
3. 2 My Brest Friend BF pillows. 1 gently used, 1 brand new.
4. Moms in mind baby carrier in grey satin. Package opened but never used.
5. My First Years baby sleep positioner. Used twice.
Offering gd rates, PM me if you need more details or images.Self collection for all items pls

Famela,
U r solid man!! "ni men chai na li" somemore!? Kowtow to u.. ;)

P,
Agree w famela u r proud of it lah. Shud get u a tiara for that!

ladies need some guidance,
i will be making a trip to SG in May...any baby shops to recommend? planning to get small items for baby like clothes, feeding bottles and etc

Hi Jo,

You could have yeast infection. I had it during my 1st preg for many mths. And now 2nd preg got it too and started during 2 mths preg. Inform ur gynae for treatment.

Currently i'm short listing pre & post natal massage. Any good massues to share? anyone try Rustic Nirvana or Malay Heritage Jamu Massage??

would like to ask if anyone has advice to avoid indigestion issue? am into my 2nd trimester but still having bad indigestion especially in late evenings and at nights - naturally i eat very little at night. And when i do, i feel so gaseous that i have to sometimes force myself to puke to feel better. does anyone have any tips to avoid this? ...wonder when it will be better??
also, havin slight pulls on my lower left abdomen the past few days - not sure if these are cramps, shld i be concerned?thks...

AHhaha..few days haven come in got 'detective' astro ;)

jo : i m also having discharge of late. Check with your gynae.

melwong : sorry, i m stil learning. My friends go to spring maternity and life baby however I do not know if that is the cheapest/etc. i haven started any shopping yet.

Hello mtb's, today, had v v v cold soya bean milk from kopitiam at vivo. about 15 mins later, my tummy hurt so bad.
like v bad tummy ache. then the pain disappeared then again. after that seems to have passed. I know people say avoid cold drinks...any idea why?

Hi vodkarib
I think I've been experiencing the same pull for the past few weeks. I think don't have to worry too much if everything else seems OK. I feel it esp when I get up after sitting. Try getting up more slowly?

As for the ladies having the discharge problem, I asked my gyne once. He said quite normal to have more. If it's itchy then may need to treat but he said he preferred not to in the 1st trimester to be on the safer side.

As for lydiagal, I have heard of pregnant women avoiding cold drinks but I still drink them. I hardly drink warm water. Some say it makes the baby and its lungs cold or something. Dunno lah.

hiyo..

whoa..so quiet! what happened? hehehe..i think i know..the approach of the calmer 2T means alot of you are feeling so much better and going around exploring the new malls that have just opened??

Rachiru >> I have two places - one is mothers&babies at tanglin for home prenatal visits and the other is simply spa at park royal hotel - a little more pricey but the facilities are tops and they can handle facials and nails for preggers. i've tried rustic nirvana..freaked out when i saw their oily toilet . this is the branch next to the police complex at cantonment..plus the sheets weren't changed. so tyvm..

Liu YX>> i think the real expert on the forum who can help you is Astro who happens to be MIA
as indigestion can manifest itself in several ways, i try the following methods:
1) if it is an acid issue, i.e you get a sourish aftertaste or gastric pains- drink warm milk, obtain gaviscon from any pharmacy (Cat A medication safe to use);
2) eat seaweed (to counter gagging);
3) for super "gassy" tummies - i have tried baking soda - just one tsp in 1 glass of water (do not exceed)..instant relief;
4) don't take heavy meals and take your time eating;
5) if the feeling has to do with food that cannot be digested...i drink yakult!

gal >> i think this cold drink thing is a TCM-concept. some pregnancy bks say anything cold that you take will stimulate your uterus to contract = pain...and that's one way they use to make the fetus "move"..if u don't seem to react too well to cold soya bean milk..just avoid it..rest well..i've been limiting my intake of cold drinks though i snitch a sip every now and then..reason being, they make me cough..