(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

loke : Today is the day!! Be prepared to smile non-stop after the scan.

siangjiao : I have been waiting as well. Mine still got to wait till 21 March.

shugar : 2cm le. So nice. The baby is developing well.

xoxolight : Take care ya.

Joyce : You posting the scan? Good good. Will make a lot of us very very excited. Haa...

Morning mtbs!!
Loke: So excited for you too!! Can't wait to hear your experience!

Shugar: I think 2 cm for 8.5 weeks is pretty good...keep it up...continue to eat healthy!!

Mtbs still having MS, no worries...me here with you!! Now munching on my huge packet of Japanese Okashi to keep the puke down..sometimes I wonder if it's better to force the puke out...cos I really haven't puke out anything before...just that 'wanna puke' feeling...sigh...

My waist line and bust line are really expanding lor...going to run out of clothes! My wardrobe is now surviving on a day to day basis.

wow.. i wonder how big BB will measure when i go for my next visit, which is like next Wednesday... still such a long way to wait...

loke>> good for you!! i also get super excited when it's time for gynae visits.. wahahaha

tien>>

me too, i dun really have the MS, but just have the want to puke feeling.. but nothing comes out.. i guess its good in some way..

same case, my waist line and tummy is expanding at an enormous rate, at this rate im going, i may need to start wearing M pants sooner than I had planned wor! i just bought a few tube tops and tube dresses, so that i can survive a while more (topped up with cardigans of coz) for office wear...

actually i cant wait to go and shop for M wear, but am kinda worried that the SA will laugh at me for shopping for M wear when im not even past my 1st trimester! wahahaha

hi all mommies, i'm new to this forum...
just went for my 2nd scan last Saturday and the baby now is 7wks5d measuring at 1.14cm. EDD is 15th oct. will be going for the OSCAR test this month end.
this morning woken up with a giddy spell, but still force myself to drive to work... :p
until now still feeling light-headed... any mommies feeling the same? :s

Miemie>> I also have the same problem.. waistline and tummy expanding and i am outgrowing my normal clothes..

Catherine>> Welcome!!! I think its not safe to drive when u are feeling giddy... Take cab or ask ur hubby to drive u to work...

I also feeling giddy at times.. so, i always standby medicated oil in my bag..

mrs neo>> my workplace in in JB msia, so its not very convenient for hubby to sent me in daily...:p guess i've to tie down with my colleagues to hitch a ride from them when the time is ok for my to reveal my pregnancy. my gynae keep reminding me not to let too many ppl know first...

miemie>> i'm also starting to outgrow my waisteline... when i sit down nowsaday, i have to unbuckle the jeans button... haha, not glam at all, but comfort comes first...

yes yes, i'm also trying not to buy maternity pants too early also, cos tummy not really showing yet. last weekend i went to the baby fair at expo, most of the SA at the booth didn't even bother to give me a second look, cos all other mommies are like with big protruding tummies except for me... :p

OSCAR stands for "One-Stop Clinic for Assessment of Risk", which is a prenatal screening program for Down’s syndrome.

thnks.what is e difference btwn heartbeat n e signs of life(tht one heard also abt 6wks) during scan?
i m so confuse by e gyn

Tien : I also don't puke. Just keep having the 'wanting to vomit' feeling.

Catherine : Welcome. Its quite common to feel giddy. Your uterus is demanding more blood, so brain is getting lesser. Don't get up immediately when you wake up. If you feel really giddy, lie flat and raise your feet slightly. Take special care when you drive. Take care ya.

ww : Oscar is optional. Your gynae will be able to tell you more. You are also an Oct MTB?

morning ladies!

Loke: update us when u get back from the gyne.

Tien/miemie: like you i also have this nauseous/stuck-gas feeling but no puking. Sometimes will ask HB to hit my back a few times to help release the air. but most of the time he burps while doing that for me and i don't! Aahhh:S

tummy is also expanding. some pants already quite fitting.. think soon cannot wear liao. haiz, i haven't tried my jeans yet... prob also same case.

catherine: hi, welcome!!

Seems like may of us sharing the same predicament! I am soooo hungry but can't have lunch yet...still munching on my crackers...

Hee hee very happy...just ease a bit of my wardrobe crisis by 'hitching a ride' with my friend's Old Navy and Gap Spree...Bought the bigger size clothes and 2 M pants to keep hehehe...

catherine>> we have the same EDD! heehee

i dun dare to wear my jeans now le, my fren adviced me against it esp since my jeans are all hipster, and our BB is now just behind the pelvis, scared will be too tight.. a bit paranoid la, but nowadays i wear dresses and skirts.. mostly dresses coz my expanding bustline is causing my shirts to be going out of shape le..

ya, same case when i went to the expo fair last week.. they din cast me too many glances lo, coz im not carrying any babies, my stomach is still not noticeable.. humph! they should be crying at the amount of business (and potential business) i can actually give them okie!

mrs neo>> does the flat belong to you or your MIL? i guess you have to keep your cool and get your HB to talk to your MIL.. eeks.. where got pple anyhow invite a stranger (esp a man) to your house to help you massage?? doesnt she feel weird to be touched by another man? sorry but im kinda old fashioned..

oh dear miemie, you sure we cannot wear hipster jeans now? These few weeks are crucial as the baby is starting to take shape, right?
looks like its time for some shopping tonight... :)

MieMie>> the house belongs to ME and my hubby.. not hers! In fact, they have their own house nearby.. but they wanna stay in new hse.. so, moved in wif us lor!

Yeah.. i am also old fashioned! I cannot accept this lor.. ask a stranger guy to do massage in our own house.. It was only a shoulder massage lah.. but, who knows wat the man wld be up to if we are not at home, right?

I got ask hubby to speak to her lor.. if it doesnt work.. and next time i were to see any strangers again, i wld just slam my bedroom door loud loud to show displeasure! :p My MIL is not those type u can confront de, so i can speak to her 1.. cos she will cry 1.. then, i wld end up being the bad dil!

eh, my fren told me better not wear jeans.. esp if it fits snugly that kind.. coz now we still in the 1st tri, everything's still unstable leh.. better not wear jeans if you can help it lo.. i gg to let my jeans retire already...

Mrs Neo>> you actually allowed them to move in and stay with you! and hor, why you all agree to let her move in leh? your HB is her only son? i mean one MIL is enough le, still add a SIL? sorry but sometimes hor, MILs are very nice ladies, its the SIL who stir up shit you know.. not trying to sow discord, but its based on wad i gather.. heehee

exactly, who knows wad the guy would be up to if he sees that nobody is ard! even if is a woman, she might have an accomplice or wad, end up rob your house or steal your stuffs.. if that guy is so good, shouldn't he have his own massage parlour that he can do his business? why have to be so discreet and go to pple's house to massage? omg.. thank goodness you and your HB went home early..

my view is never do any confrontation with your MIL.. coz regardless of the outcome, you still will lose. even if she is a very open-minded MIL, she might still harbour bad thots etc.. always get your HB to speak to her lo..

sorry if the things i say are a bit harsh.. heehee.. jsut my personal opinion la..

MieMie>> SIL is generally quite okie though we seldom talk.. but of cse, now if given a choice, i really hope to stay on our own.. only me and hubby and my kids!

Tat is my worry lor.. if we not at home, then those pple start to rob my house, how? Sighz.. Think i shld really get my MIL to watch crimewatch and let her know tat LOW crimes doesnt means NO crimes! So tat she will not trust pple so easily, especially strangers!

I am counting down to 3 years later.. After the hse reaches 5 years, i hope to sell and move out of the west.. 1 2 buy only a 4 rm flat.. just big enough for my small family... Luckily my in-laws had not sold their house yet.. in fact, fil had moved back le.. cos he prefers his own house! Sometimes i do find him "Ke Lian".. cos an old man staying on his own at his old hse.. while the wife and daughter staying here wif us!

miemie: no jeans ah? :S i was hoping to wear them when iim on holiday coz its gng to be cold... looks like i have to find some other alternatives now

Oh yeah.. when can we start gng on holidays? My mum booked a holiday to Australia.. But i wld only be abt 12 weeks then.. is it safe to travel when i am into my 12th weeks?

i'm gng on the 12th week. gyne said it shouldn't be a problem and coz we booked it long time ago, in the end, decided to go ahead. But we did cut down the number of day coz HB is worried i will tire myself out (or his wallet) during the trip :p hehehe

shugar>> Plus 1 SIL... and initially the FIL also! Faintzz...

I am indeed counting down to 2012.. in fact, i was told by my hubby, we can sell our house even we had not stayed for more than 5 years.. can always ask HDB for a waiver... but market seems bad now.. so, have to halt our plan till the market gets better!

miemie>> i agree wholeheartedly with you, even though my MIL is very liberal and open minded, i still get my HB to speak to her, especially on sensitive issues. but of cos on chit chatting level, we can talk to each other face to face lah...

mrs neo>> it must be so hard on you, hopefully the novelty will wear out soon and they will move back to their own home soon... try to think happy thoughts and stay cheerful ok... talking it out here helps too...

Thanks, Catherine...
But i dun think they will move back de.. They really disliked their old hse ma.. so, even when the fil moved back, they still stayed put.. rather let the old man stay alone at the old hse!

hmm, in that case, get your hubby to sit them down and list down the house rules...
btw, will your MIL will be taking care of your baby?

Catherine>> Nope.. my mil will not be taking care of the bb.. My hubby will be taking care of the bb.. cos he is doing property.. so, most of the time, when i am not at home, he is at home.. so, after i knock off from work, i'll take over the bb from him. If he needs to go for appt, he wld probably just send the bb to my mum's hse.. let my mum take over for a while.. So, dun really forsee much problems yet!

Mrs Neo : Sometimes old people are like that. They tend to think that they have been through so much in life, have seen so many ppl that they will sure know how to tell who is the good and bad guy. I always get my hubby to talk to her. Its still best.

Shugar : Wow... Tokyo... I wanna go. Was deciding between japan or Australia. But i think most likely will go Sydney. Should be traveling in May or June.

You doing F&E?

For those intended to travel, pls refain from doing sauna or activities involving heat.... My gynae said that is not good for the bb's growth...

Mrs Neo : No. Not staying with her. But my flat is a few storey about hers. We go down for dinner everyday.

Last time when i was still working, she looked after my girl. There were a lot of conflict because of the differences we had on childcare. Not easy.

Tats wat i am very worried of.. so, when my MIL offerred to quit her job to help us look after the bb.. i belong to the fussy type when it comes to taking care of bb.. and my mil is those not very hygiene type.. so, sure will have a lot of conflicts de.. tats why i asked her not to quit her job to take care of the bb...

hi mrs neo >>> i'd an elderly friend who gave me a pc of really good advice at my marriage. for your HB's family, always get HIM to do the talking. likewise, for your own side, you'll do the settling of any issues. given that the economy is so bad, i think you're not over-reacting at all. if HB isn't home, then it's only you three ladies max at any one time. you cannot afford strangers ard to start observing how you live / what time you're home / not home..haiz, dealing with this sort of stress in your first trimester is really something you don't really need to...()()...i hope it pans out soon according to your intentions i.e. she moves back to her place and leave you guys alone...then she can have all the home massages she wants!..

hi all..

MOODY! gosh..

xoxo: read ur posts about astro's Fish oil day.. amuses me a lot.. curious.. what do u do? u write very well wor...

xoxolight>> Thanks for ur advice and encouragement!
Yeah.. i asked hubby how will his dad react if my mil brings the massuer to HIS house instead of ours.. Hubby told me his dad confirm will hit the roof.. So, i told hubby, "So i am not over reacting".. I hope hubby will really have a gd talk to her.. cos i already tried to endure it when the woman came.. now, its a man! And i really cannot take it! In fact, i have been praying to God secretly tat they will soon move back to their own house and let us have our own privacy! I very bad hor? :p

i will be sending my BB to a nanny.. so will have to start to keep a lookout for a good nanny in the area..

my house is not here yet, im rather worried that when we get our own house, my MIL will request to stay with us! though HB says not very possible, but from the way she is depending and relying on HB, it seems like a very very possible thing to happen lo..

mrs neo>> you are certainly a very nice DIL to your MIL.. you allowed them to move in with you.. i would have created havoc if my HB told me my MIL wants to come and stay with us..
pardon me for asking, but why do they hate their own flat?

It's tough...i'm feeling naseous and want to gag for some relief. But if i do, all 8 people in the room will know. And i'm suppressing it ... and damn it, the toilet in my building is being washed now, and the next one is 10 mins walk away in the rain...i just need to rant .. feel so sorry for myself now. Did i mentioned my colleague left this huge delicious looking but nauseous smelling cake on my table. If i throw it away, the whole world will know! They know i never reject food

siangjiao>> take some sweets / fruits to curb it? dun feel sorry for yourself, everyone's in the same boat! heehee.. or give them back the muffin and say you're too full to eat now?

hi oct MTB, sorry to intrude... i'm from june 09 MTB threads... i have an unopened tin of similac mum milk powder to give away... any takers? btw, i work and stay in north-east area...

MieMie>> Wat i wld advise is.. if u really dun want to stay wif them, u must stand firm.. Dun b like me.. after they move in le.. i am so miserable! Erm.. they dun like their house because the surroundings are old are full of "Bangas" plus their house interior is also old and dun have much luxury stuffs like big TV, Air con or water heater.

Siangjiao>> If u really cannot take it, why not bring a plastic bag and gag at a ulu corner of the building? As for the yummy cake.. can offer it to some1 else? Like wat Miemie says, say u are too full.. Otherwise, if really bo bianz, throw it away lor.. though its sinful to waste food.. but i guess better for the cake to be left on ur table and making u feel sick.

Dreamygal: yup, doing F&E. Going now to chatch the cherry blossom season. Sydney's not bad
i like the place.

Astro: Hello! dun moody lah! :p

shugar: took fish oil iao. also moody .. haiz..

neo: hmm. i think hor.. ask ur HB to let ur mil know.. now the issue is more than privacy. it is more about safety liao.. with a newborn at homein 9mths time.. tell hb tell mil.. with kids around.. it is not good.. not a good influence?

dreamygal: haiz. i always clash with my mum on how to parent Carbo leh.. hmm. irks me when she can go an dlisten to dunno which auntie in the market for their advice. i read so many books. dun want to listen to me wor .. she didn't take care of me wheni was young lah.. so parenting skills = 0.. haiz.. difficult lah. my boy .. haiz.. quite notti now. spoilt!