(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

siangjiao: excuse urself.. and talk a walk.. some fresh air will be good..
i also feeling quite suffocated now.. can't breathe and dunno why.. haiz.. feel like taking a walk.. but dunno walk to where .. haiz.. the same feeling of loss whenever i have mood swing.. argh..:S

siangjiao : Relax and think of your baby. Try to see if anyone would want the cake. If not, try wrap up in tissue paper, take it somewhere secretly to throw.

Shugar : Was initially thinking of that. But when i went Natas. The man told us if we want to go end May or June, we need to go Hokaiddo to catch the cherry blossom. So considering loh. Was thinking if we go Japan, my girl can go disney and Sanrio land mah.

Astro : Normally kids brought up by grandma more spoilt. They have the thinking that we should let them have their way and not let them cry. Which i really cannot stand. I think kids nowadays are too clever le. They are constantly testing the limit and try to cross boundaries.

Last time my girl very naughty. She misbehave especially when we were at my MIL's place. Now that i teach her myself, everything is easier now.

That day my hubby even commented that he was impressed with the improvement in her behaviour and attitude.

Dreamygal>> I feel that Disneyland is really a MUST go especially for young gals! When i went to Disneyland in LA during my honeymoon last year.. I was so excited.. it's really a dream come true kind of feelings cos i always imagined myself to be at Disneyland when i was younger.. the castle is so so nice!!! Can see so many princesses and princes.. think ur gal wld really be overwhelmed de!!!

dreamy gal: my boy very very manipulative.. weighs a ton.. and would whine/cry/fuss to get his way..to be carried.. and being plain lazy..
, already his inherent nature.. made worse with an indulgent grandmother who encourages it AND finds it cute.. very cham wor.. haiz.. notti carbo!

I totally agree wif Astro. My neice who is taken care by my mother is 1 gd example. My ma really spoilt her to the max.. whenver she is notti and my ma takes up the cane, she wld snatch the cane and beat my ma instead! Worst part is.. my ma found it super comical and started laugh! Faintzz...

ya, grandparents tend to spoil their grandchildren.. but unless we have a better alternative, i guess we have no choice but to leave them with the grandparents ya?

my nephew is a gone case, he is already 16 years old this year, spoilt rotten by my parents.. he is simply rude and obnoxious. if he is in a bad mood, he can slam the door so hard it seems as though the whole house is gg to fall apart.. and worst thing is he talks back and shouts back at all of us... and his own mother simply doesnt bother, just throw him to my mum since young, he's been staying with us since the age of 3 or 4?

but to snatch the cane and beat the granny is too much! your brother / sister ought to do some teaching to the kid le..

for my nephew's case, his own mum cant be bothered, so wad makes me in the position to do the teaching? he wun care about wad i say anyway.. kinda sad when you think about it, about what kind of boy he has grown up into...

mie: Miser always say.. she spoils the child.. but we know for sure.. she wun harmthe boy lor..
well.. haiz. thise kind age old issue lah. no clear cut solution..irritating lah..

hi all, I had been away since Friday, and I had been feeling sick. Vomited twice and just wanted to sleep. Have gastric problem and lots of acid reflux. I'm taking MC, but my parents, who do not take MCs at all, unless life threatening, kept scolding me for taking MC.
My work has also snowballed and I've missed several deadlines. Sigh.
Then when I was at the clinic yesterday, a boy was screaming and I just wanted to cry. I think if my baby cries, I'll get so frustrated that I don't know what I may do. How???

glass>> why does it seem like you're in depression? you feel so gloomy?? work is nothing, you should concentrate on your health! snowballed work can be cleared with some help from other colleagues.. nobody is indispensable in the office, but your family needs you, so dun let work bother you..

i also do get chided by my parents for taking MCs or leaves for no big reasons, sometimes is just coz i want to rest.. esp now with the economic downturn, dunno when my turn to get retrenched will come.. but i always tell them, you want me to keep the job or keep my health?

i tink you're too stressed out le..

glass: i think i blur liao. u are like me.. ahven't told ur parents yet right u are preg? sian hor? hmmm.. just rest lah.. nothing matters more than ur ownhealth now.. i am staring at time tick away.. work undone. yet i am S O darn sian.. :S

when my boy first cry. i went berserk. i thought he will never stop crying.. on hind sight. it was kinda of silly..
but at that moment in time.. it wasn't silly man!
but our kid is our best teacher. and we will all learn very fast.. abeit it's a steep learning curve

just curious.. are u all keen or against putting a bb on a routine ah?
to me .. that is impt though.. and helps me to decipher why my bb is crying. but ha.. once he goes haywired. i freaked out. coz i dunno why he wants..:p now much much better liao. trip to HK when he was haywired big time.. i managed to survive. it is not that hard after all. but the poor boy.. can't really eat and sleep that well. got dark eye circles liao :p

astro>> ya, grandparents wun harm the child, but they spare the rod and spoil the child! at the end of it, we as the parents will suffer, coz we need to re-teach and get the kids to re-learn the correct things, which is not a very simple or easy process to go through!

Actually, i always said my ma is the 1 who spoilt the kid.. cos its not funny when she tries to snatch the cane! I told my ma off.. tell her to stop laughing.. otherwise the kid wld think its alright to do tat So, now.. whenever my ma takes out the cane.. she really meant biz.. wld say my neice's behavoir does change for the better..

glass : Take care. Don't be too stressed out. Next time when its your baby, you will learn how to handle. It comes with time and experience. So don't think too much now.

Astro : I think putting baby on routine is good. They will also know what to expect and its less frustrating for them. My girl started with no routine at all at MIL's place. Sometimes when i come back from work, she's still sleeping. Alamak, sleeping at 8pm, later on how to sleep. Now things are better loh.

Mrs Neo : My MIL also laughed when my niece beat and bite her. She think what a 2 years old have done is no harm, but i think its part of mounding what they are going to be in the future. The first 3 years in important in mounding their characters. This is what i feel.

mie: and that's where all the frustation comes in! argh.. i remembered i had to let my boy CIO (cry it out).. for pacifier dependency. and my mohter scolded us.. 'heartless to let bb cry'.. haiz.. like it was music to my ears like that :S

dreamygal: sanrio/disney land will be any little girls dreamland! hahaha.

glass: anyone can share your work and help you with datelines? its quite hard to work when feeling lousy.

about grandparents spoiling grandkids... hurhur, think mine will sure be spoilt by MIL! :p its gng to be her 1st grandchild. think she is more kan cheong than me?? :p

Sighzz.. i always told hubby tat i will be the 1 who spoilt the kid.. and he said in tat case, he wld be the bad guy..

He said if we have a daughter.. he wld really dote on the gal very much.. since he has got a soft spot for baby gals.. Sighz.. if he is the gd guy.. i also gd mama.. tats it! LOL.. my gal will be a spoilt brat leh!

ya, sometimes in order to let the kid learn, we and the kid need to go through the hard way.. let them cry until they know its not gg to work regardless how much they cry..

i am keeping my fingers crossed, and hope that i will be able to do that to my own baby in future..

i had a colleague who was teaching his daughter to wean off the pacifier. he circled this particular date on the calendar (maybe 3 weeks later or something), and showed the child, telling her that that will be the day you last suck on your pacifier, and everyday he will cross out a day to tell the child that its one day nearer.. and when that day finally came, he brought his girl to the dustbin, and told her to suck the pacifier good bye and after that no more tutu already.. wow, i am amazed, the girl never cried and is weaned off the pacifier since then!

ladies, very soon we will start discussing all these controversial isses, discipline, routines, weaning, education choices liao, etc... hahahaha
and we will also inevitably get into some misunderstandings and might 'argue'.. but when that time do come.. we must remember to chill.. and not take it too personally hor?
ok?

just feel like saying this now to prevent further misunderstandings

dreamygal: yalor! my mum chids me for waking teng now when he oversleeps last time as an infant.. but i told her.. must wake the boy up.. cannot go without food one. i have heard of some cases when the infant sleeping too long atime is a health warning.. something is wrong.. kind.. so infants.. cannot be sleeping more than 4 hours without a feed. not when they are not able to sleep thru the night (3mths or so)..
my mothers scolded me lor. but now she is enjoying the fruits of my labour.. having to right my boy into a correct routine. my confinement lady messed it up big time for me.. but the biggest culprit is me lah. read so much abt preg.. neglect childcare and parenting. unnecssary strain and stress caused to my self and my boy. .haiz.. cannot afford to repeat it again lor

now my mum can go and boast to other aunties i nthe market.. my boy very easy to take care wor. sleep and eat at regular timings.. wah liew.. *roll eyes*

i ^5 ur thoughts. i always clash with my mum.. she let Carbo 'jokingly' slap her face when in play. i yelled no! then teng cried. she said i frightened teng! teng was only playing!.. ya. next time teng take knife stab her , play play nia.. how ah? she said i crazy.. then recently tell me she saw dunno which girl smack her ah ma at the market.. i told her.. teng would have done that to her if i did't stop teng! she just laughed.. haiz..

Mrs Neo : My hubby also super dote on his gal loh. Until one incident he got a shocked. My girl misbehaved and he put her at the naughty corner. When he went over to talk to her to tell her why she was being placed there, my girl turned her face away.

I told him that its because he is such a nice guy that the little girl is not scared and don't even bother to listen to him. He got a nasty shock that day.

children nowadays are really clever hor, they know who they can bully!

dreamygal>> ever since that day your hubby a bit stricter to your girl??

astro>> ya, i tink all mummies here are kinda cool about parenting issues ba, and wun take it to heart one la.. heehee..

astro>> i tink his girl was ard 2 years old ba.. coz now she is 4 le.. and im pretty amazed by the way my colleague teach his 2 kids.. they were off diapers from the age of 2, even at night!! of coz there are the occassional 'accidents' but still, pretty commendable right!

mie: wah.. steady leh. but the steadier part is the father who is doing all these.. i dun think my Miser is up to the task leh! haiz.. :S

ww: coz they see it as fun.. play.. and they believe the child is too young to mean any malice.. and they dun see it as condoning the child.. that's why..

shugar : Ya. When i went disneyland, i was so excited. Behaving like a little girl.

MieMie : Ya. He now understand we need to let the kid respect us. He is now stricter to the girl le. Last time he always say "Don't do this, later mummy will be angry". Now he no longer say that le.

astro>> yeah, really have to praise the dad more than anything else.. super hardworking, he used to get up like twice or thrice a night to bring his kids to the toilet.. and his wife sleeps through the night, and she's a SAHM!

my HB knows this colleague of mine, im gg to make my HB go and learn some parenting ropes from him.. wahahaha

ha. i tink i sound paranoid.. kekkee.. and also as we share our bb developmental milestones.. i think it cld be done with tact as well.. coz my boy was not the firstest before.. and i felt very insecure.. or upset/hurt when i see comments which could be posted with a bit more tact.. coz this forum is very open. and meant as a support.. not to brag per say.. so ya.. just thought it would be good to say all these.. while we are still relatively happy and less stressed and def more receptive to suggestions
...before our little demons rear our possessive selves and we get tensed up and defensive

dreamygal>> yeah, at least now he knows he cannot always be the good guy! he has to be the black face at times also! just like cannot always let mummy be the bad guy ma, right.. not fair de..

Hi mummies out there,
The thread is going fast here... I am just coming to 9weeks and i have gain about 2kg le... Hw abt u mummies out there? This is my 2rd one, n tummies show quite alot oreadi now.

hello joanne.. im coming 8 weeks, and i have gained 1 kg plus le!! sobsob...

welcome ww.. your number 1 baby? when's your EDD?

hi ww! wecome

joanne: i'm in week 8.5, and gained about 0.5kg. but tummy's not fitting well into my pants. I think i'm becoming a balloon... full of gas! :S

NO NICK BABY# EDD HOSP GYNAE FACEBOOK
1 ong1312 2 1-Oct KKH TBC
2 sportyangel 1 1-Oct MEH Dr.Selena angelina kusuma lee
3 Carlyn 2 1-Oct TMC Dr Yvonne Chan
4 baby_glendon 2 3-Oct KKH TBC
5 Moobb 2 3-Oct TMC Dr L N
6 SimMrs Neo 1 3-Oct TMC Dr Joycelyn Wong [email protected]
7 Mrs Lundquisto 1 4-Oct TMC/Mt A Dr. WH Kee
8 shugar 1 5-Oct Mt A Dr Douglas Ong
9 Joyce 3 6-Oct TMC Dr Woo BH
10 glass 1 7-Oct TMC Dr Adelina Wong
11 lildaisy 1 7-Oct TMC Dr A. L. Lim
12 xoxolight 1 8-Oct TMC Dr L N Sim [email protected]
13 famela 2 9-Oct KKH Dr Irene Chua
14 ginger 1 10-Oct TMC Dr Woo Bit Hwa
15 glad 3 11-Oct TBC Dr Adrian B Woodworth
16 Grace 2 12-Oct TMC Dr Lawrance Ang
17 Bubble_min 1 12-Oct Mt A Dr Kenneth E.Lee
18 Soh 1 13-Oct TMC Dr Joycelyn Wong
19 Loke 1 14-Oct MEH Dr. L S Lien [email protected]
20 Roxie 1 14-Oct TMC Dr. Woo Bit Hwa [email protected]
21 MieMie 1 15-Oct Mt A Dr Chen Chern Yi
22 yeet7 1 16-Oct TBC TBC [email protected].
23 _piggy_ 1 17-Oct Mt A Dr Douglas Ong
24 siangjiao 1 18-Oct TMC Dr Judy Wong
25 clumsybabe 1 20-Oct Mt A Dr Kenneth E. Lee
26 lingxin5 1 20-Oct TMC Dr W H Kee
27 happyface 3 TBC KKH Dr K T Tan
28 dreamygal 2 TBC TMC Dr Caroline Khi
29 elise44 1 TBC TMC TBC
30 poky 2 TBC TMC Dr Caroline Khi
31 ipeh 1 TBC TBC TBC
32 cocomaro 1 TBC NUH Prof Biswas

hello ww, welcome...
joanne>> i'm into 8weeks soon, and have gained 0.7kg... and my tummy is full of gas too...:p

caterine: wah. 0.7 kg.. that is very precise wieght taking :p.. if it is more than .5.. my mind goes into denial.. and round DOWN :p

All my short n pant were all quite tight when i wear them, make me so uncomfortable oreadi, so i been wearing track pant nowsaday can expand expand n expand. hahaha..., feeling cold most of the time too. Pregnant make me look so tired n pale, lazy to make up n dress up too...

^5!!!!!! i dun wear my short shorts anymore.. always in dresses.. and too tired to make up or do any mei mei things to myself.. feel so sloppy leh.. at home is worse, i am like forever in my PJs.. hahahaha

NO NICK BABY# EDD HOSP GYNAE FACEBOOK
1 ong1312 2 1-Oct KKH TBC
2 sportyangel 1 1-Oct MEH Dr.Selena angelina kusuma lee
3 Carlyn 2 1-Oct TMC Dr Yvonne Chan
4 baby_glendon 2 3-Oct KKH TBC
5 Moobb 2 3-Oct TMC Dr L N
6 SimMrs Neo 1 3-Oct TMC Dr Joycelyn Wong [email protected]
7 Mrs Lundquisto 1 4-Oct TMC/Mt A Dr. WH Kee
8 shugar 1 5-Oct Mt A Dr Douglas Ong
9 Joyce 3 6-Oct TMC Dr Woo BH
10 glass 1 7-Oct TMC Dr Adelina Wong
11 lildaisy 1 7-Oct TMC Dr A. L. Lim
12 xoxolight 1 8-Oct TMC Dr L N Sim [email protected]
13 famela 2 9-Oct KKH Dr Irene Chua
14 ginger 1 10-Oct TMC Dr Woo Bit Hwa
15 glad 3 11-Oct TBC Dr Adrian B Woodworth
16 Grace 2 12-Oct TMC Dr Lawrance Ang
17 Bubble_min 1 12-Oct Mt A Dr Kenneth E.Lee
18 Soh 1 13-Oct TMC Dr Joycelyn Wong
19 Loke 1 14-Oct MEH Dr. L S Lien [email protected]
20 Roxie 1 14-Oct TMC Dr. Woo Bit Hwa [email protected]
21 MieMie 1 15-Oct Mt A Dr Chen Chern Yi
22 catherine 1 15-Oct TMC Dr Lawrence Ang [email protected]
23 yeet7 1 16-Oct TBC TBC [email protected].
24 _piggy_ 1 17-Oct Mt A Dr Douglas Ong
25 siangjiao 1 18-Oct TMC Dr Judy Wong
26 clumsybabe 1 20-Oct Mt A Dr Kenneth E. Lee
27 lingxin5 1 20-Oct TMC Dr W H Kee
28 happyface 3 TBC KKH Dr K T Tan
29 dreamygal 2 TBC TMC Dr Caroline Khi
30 elise44 1 TBC TMC TBC
31 poky 2 TBC TMC Dr Caroline Khi
32 ipeh 1 TBC TBC TBC
33 cocomaro 1 TBC NUH Prof Biswas

Remember try not to gain too much weight during this time... Cos now most of the fat go to mummies... Ohh... i gain 16kg during my 1st child, n my 1st child is only 2.756kg only... My frenz gain 9kg, but her bb 3.8kg... Think maybe she eat lot of medince bah.

Miemie: My mum's method was the chilli padi method. She cut a hole in the teat and stuff some chilli inside and gave it to me. I was weaned off immediately. I've seen her do the same thing to my nieces and nephews to address all kinds of bad habits like nose twitching, eyes blinking, nails biting etc..

Thanks everyone for the advice, i gave my cake to another colleague who did not have lunch today. I should have thought of that, dunno what my goondoo brain was thinking earlier on. Feeling much better now. The office can really be stuffy sometimes, and the lack of fresh air makes it stifling.

My mum looks after my 5 nieces and nephews now. Her place is like a child care centre. But she is very strict and all the kids are scared of her. Everytime a kid is naughty, we'll automatically say "Stop it, if not po po scold!" I would love my mum to look after the little one, but she is almost 70 years old liao... After 10 years of baby sitting, she complains all the time she needs a break, to do things she likes.. But the grandchildren keep coming.. My MIL is not in Singapore so its not an option either.

I heard a colleague mentioned the other day, no one is born a parent... so we just have to learn as we go along. Provides some relief to me; i think sometimes we expect too much from ourselves liao.