(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hey peeps

wow so envy.. i read the posts update fm my email and so tempted to come here to chat but my work load is killing me.. den things at home also.. sigh.. i think i am going to collapse under too much pressure. also recently i been having fainting spells.. oh dear! really big SIGH!

PY: wah i wanna buy too but i tink only weekends then i free to go visit the webbie.. can wait?

bdae bash:
i dun think the Oct babies one is going to happen anymore rite? cos no one is free to organise anymore... expecially i think the CP incident makes it difficult for some mommies to bring bbies out too.

1st bday:
have u mommies planned for ur own baby yet?! wah.. seem so exciting! i still wondering if i wanna do one cos i dislike having the mil ard leh... initially i tot just go travel can liao.. but my colleagues wanna attend and i oso hope to invite fellow mommies as well... still pondering...

my mum give bb to taste adult food but in very tiny bit just for her to try. do u all think is ok? cos our adult food are cooked with oil,salt etc. i told my mum not to let her try and she is not happy.. :s saying bb shd eat some food with salt so that she will have more strength.. got such thing meh?

mandy, my mum simply dun listen lor.. so fed up..
dun even noe whether did she feed her with any other kind of food when i m not around..

dun stress too much leeling: guess your mum will fed her plenty of water?? and make sure her poop goes well everyday and more urine.. and perhaps during weekends you get her healthy cereal n porridge..=))

Hi mommies, any recommend for the finger food biscuit?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4FtuXVAM2A

Parents with babies having constipation problems, check this out.
--------------------
I want to rant. I don't eat beef, and my family don't eat beef. Even my in-laws and husband don't eat beef. Mine is for religious reasons and they don't eat because of some reasons. So I thought this is a non-issue.

But now, my MIL, who always listens to her sister, says she wants to feed my son beef, because he is too small sized. I said I don't want to let him eat. And I was quite firm. But she kept insisting. Then I said it's due to religious reasons, because I pray to Guanyin, and she says her sister's family also does the same thing, and they are giving beef to the granddaughter, who is one or 2 months younger than my son.

Why can't she understand that No means No? I was already very unhappy about giving gripe water to my son. I told them no, and gave them a lot of reasons, and they sort of agreed then. However, they still secretly gave him. And my husband bluffed me saying he and his brother were the ones drinking the gripe water, when I noticed it diminishing. Maybe they did, but it doesn't mean they did not feed my son.

I confirmed it when I smelled the bottle with leftover. The smell was super strong, so I don't know how thick they made it.
Now my son refuses to drink water because there isn't any taste.

True, maybe most of you allow your children to eat beef and drink gripe water, since there is actually nothing wrong, but it's the fact that she doesn't respect my decisions and my thoughts and insist on doing it her way.

I told my husband about it, and he took her side, which means that they had been talking about it already. He also wants to feed him beef.

I can't stand it.

Now I fully understand the episode in Desparate Housewives that I watched recently. Bree's grandson had not eaten meat before, and she's worried that he would not grow up strong. So behind her daughter's back, she gave him a hotdog to eat, which he loved. However, he ate too much later and fell ill. The point is not the food. The point is about simple respect.

I am strongly against this as I feel it violates my beliefs. Already we were forced to sell our apartment because she hated our place, and now we have to live with them, and I'm forced to look at old hdb flats that are overpriced.

I feel really sad.

<font color="aa00aa"> it's time i do some shopping for myself. sigh.. look at the clothings i have now is all tees and shorts.

I want to spree from cynthia (TW) But need to let you know their waiting time is normally longer (abt 1 month. Not sure if they've changed now. coz last time i always spree with them they always take so long!)

Let me know if you all are keen.:
http://tw.user.bid.yahoo.com/tw/user/stami.tw&amp;u=:stami.tw&amp;tp=?userID=stami.tw&amp;s1=&amp;o1=&amp;catID=&amp;catIDselect=&amp;clf=&amp;at=true&amp;u=Array&amp;apg=2

glass: sigh... that's the problem with MIL. the more we say NO, the more they wanna go against us.

did you show them that you're angry ? maybe we need to flare it out then they'll listen.

sigh!

Wah glass! Seems like urs is a hard time cos ur hb dun side w u! Wah lau I read like I feel damn piss w u as well! Y they can't respect the bb's mommy? No means no! Y can't they understand? N did u tALk to ur hb??

U know for me, if it gets too much I will jus bring my bb n return To my parents home. I am not the kind to be bullied n respect for them is not given blindly. Like now, my ils have very lil chAnce to interact w my bb.

ROAAAAAAAAAR!

SHOW THEM WHO IS THE BOSS MAN!

I am lucky cos my mil pass the fever to my boy bcos of her childish acts. So till now I nv speak much to her. I dun see a point to leh! Including my fil as well. Whatever. Work already is hard enough. I dun see y I need to come home and do things against my will and happiness to entertain them! I always hid in room as fast as possible before they come home. If they do reach home early I will quickly run the Water to bathe my boy. And yes, recently the MIL starts barging into my room again. Really cannot give in to her at all. Everyday she pretend to talk. If I reply her one more sentence, she will walk in further and longer!

The other day, I caught her showing my boy the channel u magazine. She keep askin him to see. She was showing him pages of the ad of breast enlargement. Those sneezy chatlines ad etc!!! Wah Lao! I show flash cards she say I too much then she show that?! I immediately tell her I think is not appropriate.

Really feel Like shutting her mouth up! She is damn noisy. Now I otw home think Liao also shutter. I dun like ki koo AT ALL

Sigh sometimes I guess we MUST try to close one eye and pretend things didn't happen. Cos it's beyond our control when we r not around. And when we r around, sometimes I also want to scream my head off when my mum feed him snacks ( he is eating a lot of Wang Wang xiao mantou) but there is only so much I can scream. And I dun wan my son to keep seein me scream at my mum also
unhealthy image n role model hah

And now that I agree to let her feed one time formula milk, god knows what she is doin to my EBM and I am sure she is substituting all the feeds with formula cos there is no way I can change her belief

feifei: Try happy baby organic puffs. Supposedly less sweet as compared to Gerber's. Might be available at NTUC if your NTUC has an organic section. One bottle lasts quite long.

glass: I am sorry to hear about your unhappiness with your MIL. Yah, the beef thing sounds quite unreasonable. There are other ways of bulking up, like eating other meats! Agree with vodkarib that sometimes, things are beyond our control and just have to close one eye. But for those which you really disagree with, you should take a stand. But I suppose you have to pick your battles lor.

Rae2: A little bit of oil is OK. You can use a little bit of oil in cooking, e.g. scrambled eggs, and there is already some oil in fish and meat so the diet does not need to be totally oil free. As for salt, I would refrain from giving anything that is salted, although if some of the baby crackers contain a little bit of salt or sugar, I just close one eye.

Hi PY, Gemson, ting, vodkarib and funzee, thanks for your response.

You know, after typing all that, I just felt so emotional, and then I just cried and cried. My husband was working on his computer, less than a metre away, never hear me cry, later heard me sniffle, and walked out without even noticing. Only much later he realised that I was sobbing uncontrollably.

I think sometimes must really Yi Ku, Er Nao, San Shang Diao.

He claimed that he was afraid that our son would be short, as his parents are shorter than me, so he went to get them to ask. So they suggested beef.
So now he said they will not give him beef. I told him it's the lack of respect thing. For the time being, I know they won't try this, but I guess I have to watch carefully.

PY: I'm someone who hates confrontation. Plus I'm staying with them, so I can't make life difficult. After all, they help me a lot in looking after my son.

Gemson: I wonder what joy they derive. But sometimes they just refuse to see other points of views. I don't question their intent about meaning well for my boy, just that there are so many things I could give in, but certain things are just out of bounds.

ting: breast enlargement ads? wah biang. really sleazy. she probably never think properly.
Sometimes they are quite contradictory.

vodkarib: yeah. My mother also still thinks that my milk is not good enough.

Funzee: I know. Must pick battles. This issue I strongly feel I cannot give in.

Just want to have harmony in the house.

Glass: so totally know how you feel! I've been through this so many times before! I had a gripe water issue too! Ils keep pestering me to give! Even bought it n pass to me after we said don't wanna give. Haiz, they just dun take no for an answer.I just kept it away in the cupboard. They pestered for weeks. My hb lied to them said gave. Geez!!
Then bought some Strange glycerin solution n say use that to clean his tongue!! Argh!! I told them pd say water can already, they insist not clean enough. Wana scrub off all the tastebuds then good enough isit?! Grrr....
So many occasions this 'dun take no for an answer' thing has happened.

I am sooo x10000 thankful I dun live with them or I think I'll vomit blood in a daily basis.

Shugar : u sick can still check on forum ah :p go sleep n rest lah. Hahaha. Anyway,ya I know what u mean about feeling very lucky for not staying with IL. I'm thankful for that

Glass : aiyoh,sorry to hear bout the beef thing. I really hope it won't happen to me. Cause right now,I don't want Josh to eat pork,not until he's big enough n ask for it by himself. But meanwhile,he can eat anything else.

About IL matter is never end story...Everyday got new story n thing happen..haiz...Really is good choice for those mummies din stay with IL. So envy...

They must have been probably totally against their MILs in the past, thinking they were giving totally bad stuff to their children, and now they think we are bad, by not giving those stuff to their children.

It's not that I question their intent. I know they mean well, in their own thinking. But I just hope there is simple respect.

read some of u tried feeding ur babies wif yoghurt. I found the small ones in NTUC but e its for 1 yr + leh. Can enlighten mi? And is it ok to feed bread to babies? MIlk is added in e baking process... not sure if dat is fine. Cos my gal is allergic to sweet peas, vomitted and hav runny nose so I m more cautious.

glass: are you guys moving out soon?

sigh!!!! i cant wait for my house to come!! wah lao!! can the hdb faster build finish!! arghhh!!

Glass: I think is opp. Women last time maybe treat themselves as water! Pour Liao can't go bk! My mil keep saying her mother tell her must listen to everything the mil says etc. Dunno y she wanna tell me that. I refuse to get it. Give her the catch no ball look n ignore her. I m educated k! That's y my bb is in infantcare! Save me the trouble of unhappiness w il or my own mum!

Py: tell me about it!!!! I passby today! Still a forest!!!!!!!!!!!! ROAAAAAR!

py: nope. having problem buying a place that we like that's affordable.

ting: she's hinting to you lah. I know my mother suffered.

silver bellz: the yoghurt for 6m+ can be bot from NTUC @ AMK Hub. Found out from Shugar's FB!

I give bread to my bb. Should be OK lah. Cow's milk can be used in cooking but NOT given as a drink to babies (according to the GF book).

Glass :
(( tell ur hb some bb have high metabolic rate. Bb growing healthily most impt. Surely got other alternative. Should find something else other than going against something u strongly against w reason. Ur hb need to side u else difficult Le. Doesn't mean mil won't do otherwise but at least u have more support at your side.

Me salute all mummies who staying w parents or in laws. (though I love them n know they mean well, think I will go Mad).

Parenting challange:
anyone have good parenting books to recommend? Lately been hearing er.. Challanges faced by some friends w their 2yo. :p

Yesterday I only feed 1solid n 3milk feeds. V odd again. He slept from 4pm till 1230am. He sleep so shiok. No heart to wake him up. It would be nice if he can sleep so long after his dinner
. Any idea how to adjust? If 2solid and 2milk feed is it sufficient? But milk less than 24ounce though.

HI mummies! Havent been dropping by. Been really tied up with things at home.

Glass: Really sympathise with you. To me, it's about respect to your beliefs. And really, for boys, they will go through the puberty stage later on in life, that's when they need to feed him well. Now too early to tell. And if you truely feel uncomfy, really should tell them.

IL issues are really sticky. I just had one, almost argument with my hb about them too. Cos yesterday I wanted to send my granduncle on his last journey, so, was thinking would be good to have hb around as I know I would break down as well as my family. So, I actually relented and asked hb to ask if MIL can come over to my mum's place to help take care of baby (she can't go as she is yet 1 yo). Guess what? Because it's at my mum's she kept finding excuses but what pissed me off is, she actually had the audacity to suggest that my hb drive baby to Jurong on Thursday to let her play with her and sleep with her!!! Lucky hb straight away rejected as our girl is a menace on long journeys. I think she is crazy to even think about that. Later on, they bo bian, wanted to come over but we have already decided that hb would stay at home instead. To me, it's like just too bad for them. They would have been able to spend the whole day with my girl lor. Now this weekend, we gonna have problem going over as my we have to prepare work for Monday. Going to tell hb to ask them to come to town to meet us tomorrow. Too tired to travel bleah...

Tien: I totally understand the too bad for them part. Sometimes I really wonder y they like tat. Give them an inch they want a foot! Really alot of timeS, it is too bad. It's not my fault that they landed themselves into this state of not being able to play w the bb as and when they like. They (my ils) also moved out when my hb was 1yo and seldom bring the bb back to her il place too. So why can't I go to my mum house often man!

There is another thing I feel very piss off at. Sometimes when they came home early, that's means I am still in the kitchen feeding KD his solid. When I say to my bb ahhhh, my mil will oso say ahhhh and then the bb will look at her instead of eating and I ask him to look back at me and she will go ahhhhh open ur mouth to eat and bb is distracted again and again! I simply just STOP feeding him totally and pause and stare at my bb with no expressions. Wait until she had enough or she get it and leave the kitchen then I continue feeding him again. U know I hate the fact that she is a parrot lei. Everything I said to bb she had to repeat. -_-" she is really very different from my parents.

Hi all, thanks for ur concern. My gal recovering now. The red patches still there, nd to apply olive oil inorder not to let the skin dry if not will be itchy...she keep wan to scratch..scare wait hv scar..

Birthday Bash
have to start planning if it's still on!for those mummies interested, how about coming together n organise...

ting>> I realised most MILs are doing the same things.. like the kikooo, the "Ahhhh" thingy during feeding.. running on the spot.. and mine worse.. crawling ard the hse n bark like a dog.. faintzzz.. I find it extremely stupid.. and of cse amused..

I wonder will our DILs complained abt us in future for the stupid things we do.. lol.. Must consciously remind ourselves NOT to do those stupid things...

And yes.. i agree.. They really cant take mummies' No as No... Sianzz big time!

There was 1 time when my maid saw something "dirty" in the hse.. and after tat, my son was down wif fever.. and super cranky.. kept crying very very badly at night... So, she went to the medium.. I told her tat she can go to the medium.. But, pls.. no charm water or anything which needs to be consumed by my son..

She said.. of cse she understand.. I thought all was good and well.. But sighzz.. she came back wif 3 charms.. saying HE MUST drink the charm water for 3 consective days.. I told her straight NO.. Wah lau.. the water is full of ash and red ink.. how to drink?

She firmly said, "MUST DRINK".. and I firmly said NO! And she told my maid to secretly put the charm water in his milk.. luckily, my maid and i were in the same "gang".. she told me and we poured the water away! Damn pissed lor!

Then, the mediums said must go for a "review" 1 week later.. and she came back wif the charm again.. my maid was in the toilet and she heard her turning on the stove to burn something.. i think it was too late.. we couldnt stop her in time.. damn pissed lor.. so, i told my maid not to leave my son alone wif her le..

Really dun like staying wif them leh!

gal,

You let your son sleep from 4pm to 1230 am so at night how?????? I ususally wake my son up between 530-6pm no matter how deep he sleep. I need my night beauty sleep leh.

My mother so far will not say no to me but when she do sometime wrong she will say "You say one mah etc etc".

I told her my elder son so skinny no need everytime steam fish or meat for him is ok to eat fry or deep fry fish. So everytime she fry the fish and feed my son she will told my son "You mummy say you must eat fry fish, Must eat you mummy say one" repeat everytime when she fry the fish........

Teeth grinding
sorry mummies can I check if any of ur kiddo doin that?

I noticed my boy has been doin it _day or night. Quite often. But weird thing is he only has two lower teeth. I wonder how the grinding sound comes about. Should I be concerned? I googled on it but still feeling unsettled. It's kind of irritating to hear it actually
wondering if need to bring to see pd

now the next 'big' thing will be our little ones birthday bash... But for my boy, we will not be having any birthday bash but just a dinner with HB parents and my parents.

PY: Am interested in the clothing spree, am i too late?? or by when shld i let you know??

Astro, Vin: Baby Aquatic will commence on 3 Jul 10 at 3pm. Do let me know if you all are still interested.

And mummies who are interested can let me know..

esther: 3pm? erm.. where? coz i remembered we last agreed on 4 ish.. coz i dunno can rush there from woodlands in time or not..
andhow much is the cost?

Astro: how abt 3.30?? my place is at the very east side.. you have your own transport or by public transport? currently including you and vin we have 4 pax so the cost will be $100.

esther: very difficult to reach there by 330.. coz the east is very far away from woodlands leh.. nope.. taking taxi leh.. i think i can only reach at at abt 4pm wor.. can we push it back to 4ish? no way i can make it there on time.. :s
haiz.. i have to opt out liao..

Sorry to interrupt.
I have a tin of Mamil Gold 2 to give away since my baby doesn't like it. It's been opened for less than a week. (Sembawang)

Please PM me if interested.

Esther: Not yet
you can give me your orders asap k. i'm consolidating them tomorrow night. hehe

anyone wants happybaby? we were told that the shipping of the puff is expensive. but we're going to order too. so pls do not join if you're not comfortable k. personally we feel that wont expensive until where lah lol.~ and i'm combining my orders with amazon. so am sharing the base charge.

I'm ordering tonight. Do let me know ASAP. thanks.

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>Melts</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Puff</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Cereal</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>Mix Berries</TD><TD>Banana &amp; Mango</TD><TD>Apple</TD><TD>Banana</TD><TD>Greens</TD><TD>Brown Rice</TD><TD>Multi</TD><TD>Oatmeal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Natalie</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pei Yu</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eunice</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD>3</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jessica</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>5</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mathilda</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cammie</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ting</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Leona</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>27</TD><TD>21</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi mommies! Its Tuesday!

Hi Vod and Ting >> so sorry for the late responses, I just came back from a trip and when I tried responding on Sunday, my system crashed when I just hit the send button to Vod. The system currently is in ICU-life support at the moment, so when it recovers, I will be able to send and read messages again. In the meantime, sorry for any tardy responses! But Vod and Ting, welcome!! I cannot tell you how happy is it for a fellow Singaporean to meet with another Singaporean in a foreign land.

Vod >> I've not had the experience of teeth grinding, but one thing's for sure,,,hated teething and all that it brings. :)

Mrs Neo >> Yeah...that's old folks. I bet you my MIL will resort to that tactic if something goes slightly out of whack. Why are they so funny?? I will rather kill myself the day I am forced to stay with them permanently. hahahaha.

My helper and mum tells me my bubba is ok when I'm away on trip last week. I felt happy that he's ok but yet rather sad and disappointed that he does not miss his mummy. Sigh.

When I'm away, one of his top side tooth manages to come out a little from the gum. Last night I found another rough edge on the top front as well. I guess I can start him on non puree and soft food soon! Better start researching on recipes to feed him.