(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

Clumsybabe, har?? like that... Cos I thought this is singapore regulations... if that the case... if you really feel unwell, resting is more important now.... BB comes first...

Mie:My parents kind of abandoned me to them when i was born.They became my care-giver. Keep telling me about fillial piety. How great they are to feed me etc.. ( really drama- like )
They did pay for my food and edu til 12yrs old. But i really dont think their behaviour make any sense to me anymore. PPl calling me to scold me daily.
cat: i did suspect that they want to upset me. But dont they have any basic human decency?

Joyce: hehe ya BB comes first now. i am mostly resting (a.k.a. eating snake) while in office and yet all i want to do is to sleep and sleep!

understand about the regulations and stuff, but since the job is pretty okay and relaxed, I think I shall not complain about the MC entitlement now

jot: don't let them upset you.. i think they're trying to make you feel bad cos they think you owe them your life.. but what happens after you turned 12?

hi all mummies of Oct 09....

This is my 2nd pregnancy and i am in my 7wks now. Since in my 5th wk, my stomach is always bloated with wind. This makes me lose appetite, burp a lot a lot and i need to munch on sour stuff to keep the nauseous feeling away.

And make me feel so moody. Anyone has sugg on how to safely get rid of excess wind?

I was telling my hubby now is real pregnancy for me. My 1st pregnancy was very good...I dun hv any of my current symptoms now. I eat and work and shop as normal.

jot>> dun let their talks make you too depressed... im sure you have 'repaid' them enough ever since you started working.. of coz your BB should come first now, dun bother abt their words.. they are saying all those to make you upset.. avoid their calls at all costs! their main motive is to make you guilty and give them money.. they are just after the money.

I work part time in childcare,tuition. I am lucky that i fare ok for my studies. Just keep on working and studying.
How much can an average teenager eat,spend when most of her time are spend on working and studying.

jot>> i believe you've done your part on being filial to them. And to think tat they only take care of you till 12yrs old, you must've already repaid their kindness of bringing you up. wat more do they expect? to take care of them for life? tell them to get a life and leave you alone to get on with your blissful life... and by making such nasty and cruel remarks to you, yes i do think they basically do not have any basic human decency... keep remaining strong physically, emotionally and mentally...

jot>> I also think tat those aunties are really mean! Dun care abt them lah!!! Mouths belongs to them.. they can say watever they like.. but ears belongs to u.. u can choose wat u want to hear! Those nasty words... just make sure it go in 1 ear and come out the other.. if best, dun let the words get into ur ears at all!!!

mrs neo >> hopefully your MIL issue will resolve in due time. i like to apply the cool but nice attitude to get my pt across..how to explain this, hopefully it doesn't sound too sly. I had a former boss who told me this analogy - think of the opposite party as a sledghammer..wherever this heavy hammer goes (with words, actions etc to irritate, annoy you..), as long as you are a surface, it can damage you..but not if you are sponge...your MIL will eventually find it VERY difficult to figure out exactly what it is abt you she herself cannot stand (rather than you cannot stand her, it will become the other way). Be nice but very "cool"..pp usually cannot tahan the invisible wall that you erect. Hopefully that will help her steer away from you. Another alternative is just get a hot water heater and a standalone aircon for her installed at her place and say "bingo! now you can live a little more comfortably..", that you need the space for your growing family...at least it shows you are taking some steps to make her living circumstances on par with yours too...then she cannot accuse your HB of neglect..hope it works out for you

astro >> kidding me..i've never thought of my writing as anything much..i work in public relations for exhibitions / events. possibly a bad job fit for a MTB..lots of coordinating, time-sensitive stuff, talking (the more i yak, the more i wanna puke), and the high-level of stress...sigh, that's why i am really thinking of quitting altogether. will explain more of this in my next post..

siangjiao >> i think cannot hide the secret for too long liao. for me, it's all over the office already. those who don't know seem to guess very well..maybe because i am thin and suddenly i am wearing weird baggy cargo pants, mismatched stuff cos i simply have no mood, and even turned up w/o makeup (i am no wayang queen really but at least in the past, got lipstick) cos i felt they were toxic! haha, the upside is, my colleagues have been super sweet. they even implemented a brush your teeth after food campaign cos i was gagging after a colleague came back with char kway teow breath and i just couldn't sit thru' the meeting! just tell them..i think the benefits far outweighs the downside of the traditional wait till 3 months...anyway, whatever will be will be..right?

clumsybabe >> i am sorry to hear of this regressive HR policy of your company...actually and unfortunately for them, they are already breaking the law. e'yees are entitled to 14days medical; 30 days hospitalisation and at least 7 days of annual leave. the only figure your company can change or have the power to adjust is the annual leave component. you have my sympathies esp since i have been a MC queen of late and it must been dreadful if not horrible to be dragging yourself. tough to say what can be done esp with the economy and the fact, you don't want to wave this MOM stick around but seriously, i'd sound them out, take no-pay even if it comes to that..this first three mths really impt. not ideal to put you under such dread and insufficient rest..

WW >> hang up your phone, don't take any more of this crap. you will soon have a bigger responsibility and that's to your soon-to-be child. they are adults with legs and hands and pretty powerful sets of mouth going by how much they can sprout..i am sure they will have the wherewithal to support themselves. filal piety can be demonstrated in many ways (by expressing concern for them on a regular basis, being more by their sides when they are ill etc) - not just by using money and you don't have to accept their definition of how you ought to "repay" this "debt"..you are studying childcare? whoa! please please enlighten us more if you can

glass, darclive & mama astro >> the MS moody phase is really tough..i've finished using the first 100's ziplock pack of puke bags. now onto the second set. it's such a regular feature of my life..i am thinking whether i will ever get used to not having it! hahahaha! (not funny). HB did something sweet today. he bought a stuffed toy polar bear for me to hug while riding the car. he thought that would help my tummy settle and it did.

xoxolight>I think i m in trouble because first time mother.BB will come out as infant first.
Though i did day dream abit > Wow how nice if they can crawl, feed on solid food the moment they are out.
I cant imagine the first few years.
I help out in childcare,kindergarten as a part timer for a couple of years. When i recall the kids crying, screaming their head off. I am so scared.

xoxo: your HB is sooooo sweet. *envy*. If my HB does something like that, confirm my heart will melt.

Anyone drinking lotsa water? I'm like drinking >2 litres of water a day and is consistently thirsty!

hi all. back
moody again..

coz apparently my hb needs to go overseas for working trip in march.. on my bday!! ahhh .. to think i praise him to the sky for being an A grade fathr for the HK trip.. but haiz.. minusing all his points liao..

xoxo: u write very well. and i enjoy ur posts
there's humour with a apt sense of sacarcsm and wit in ur writing at times.. ha

try going into editorial? u can do well there also!

so nice ur hb.. my hb is also 'nice' .. he asked.. 'dear, no longer tired? (i said not so).. then still moody? ( i said yes).. want to test preg kit again?? '.. this one. i am particularly offended and sensitive wor..does he mean to say that he feels something is going to be wrong again with this preg??? must do preg test to 'confirm' i am STILL preg?????? HAIZ

WW: i can understand where u are coming from coz my childhood was plagued with those stupid financial worries.. but it made me a stronger person.. who is determined to make sure my family is strong and stable, protected from all those nonsense.. so please be strong.. and stand up for urself.. and protect ur family from the unnecessary and unreasonable requests.. and dun feel sorry for having to do so.. ok?

clumsybaby: hey! 5 days MC ois way too little.. all of us entitled to 14 day MC.. for me personally. another 6 days nonconditional childcare and 6 days child mc.. must check such clauses in ur contract.. coz these are impt too.. sometime more than the salary.. i feel..

siangjiao: i also getting thirsty.. our amonitic fluid buildinh up.. so need more liquid as well..

glass: hmmm. then in the case, u might have to ignore them. coz very apparently.. ur threshold differs from them.. and it is nobody's fault..

joanne: haiz. ya.. i was left only 5 kg to shed after i delivered.. but bluff pple one!!! coz i attacked my fav bubble tea with a veganace.. and i piled on extra 10 kg coz cannot establish bf-ing somemore.. now 10kg excess.. haiz.. sian..

clumsybabe: if i go to ur gynae.. he/she wun be happy with me.. she/he will be super worried.. :S

ww >> if you're in trouble cos you're a first time mom, add me to the list of those soon-to-be "FULL OF TROUBLE" whoahahaha...it's happy, blessed trouble i am sure plus you got the force with you (this forum i mean)...haha, must share this with you. i got a "kids-will-cry-and-become-stunned-when-they-see-me" type of face. my family isn't particularly large and i've a cousin many years younger than me. he isn't afraid of everyone but when he used to see me when he was little, he would automatically behave himself. in public too...i can silence crying babies on the plane when i give them that glare. very funny. now i think i will get my karma soon...*shakes head in despair*

siangjiao>> haha, i just ate siangjiao aka banana...puking is intensifying at night...think the soft toy purchase today is pretty symptomatic of a husband at his wits' end. he feels really bad that i am physically suffering thru' this...that's sweet to know.. but what else can he do? i am living in nausea hell now..and if hell has 18 levels, i must be at B10..

astro >> hahaha, i got no discipline for editorial work..as it is, i am already merrily forgoing all my deadlines...ever since i discovered that i don't really "die" if i pass those "lines"..i am trying to channel my comforting thoughts to the growing one in me..to soothe it so that it will return the favour..guess what, it backfired! why would your HB suggest buying another test kit? it's expensive leh!

mrs neo >> yah..i am actually not a kid-loving person.. plus i cannot take any nonsense (you know the full-of-tantrums, screaming-kid-on-the-floor scenarios)....usually i don't even need to say much to any misbehaving kid, just look! this has been tested on day-old infants all the way to teenagers taking tuition from me in my school days... that's why you don't find any pic of me on facebook..it would have to come with an emotional hazard warning! hahaha...

mama astro >> i think carbo teng won't enjoy his trip then..i am a wet blanket in such scenarios....
after reading your posts abt the trip..i am inspired to make at least one last true couple getaway with HB when i feel better...haiz..that seems so very far...

xoxo: u are funny leh. .the more u described urself. th emore i want to meet u! :p
i also got the 'stare at them till they die look'.. but strangely. it doesn't work on my boy!

hmm..astro has come back, now roxie has disappeared. hey roxie..if you read this, are you feeling alright? (lame..)..i hope you are still doing ok and just a shout to let you know you must not disappear too long cos we are all on standby for your Roxie Pastry Party in 2T! *beacon of hope*

mama astro >> this look hor..if used wrongly can get you into nasty squabbles with parents you know...i saw this massive verbal fight on board my sydney flight once all because the mother felt that the woman sitting beside her is not cutting enough slack for her infant inflicted with air pressure in her ears...so..while i am obviously irritated by a bawling-beyond-control baby, i try not to show it to the parent. just direct the eye contact to the child and voila, mind reading...then look upwards or sideways to the mother/father and smile...
plus must add "your baby's really cute!"..but after saying so much, i must say i am no guru in this field. afterall, i avoid children like a plague in my pre-pregnant life...so my practice sessions are not always available..

yalor.. where did Roxie disappear to?

xoxo: my hb said..he just suggested to buy a kit for fun nia.. chey. stupid man
ya. go and enjoy more couple time.. coz very soon .. got 'candlelight' dinner liao. candle being ur child! ha.. interesting to see how u can slience ur girl/boy with the look! :p

xoxo: i used to have one for him. meaning .. i imagined one for him.. her name is Ah-Jun.. his date in slumberland park.. everynight. i will say. 'quick sleep.. ah jun waiting for u in slumberland park.. to play'.. *straigh faced* my mum thinks i am crazy. but i was too bored lah..
now he got a few bears andd such. they are called, nana, lucy, lulu, mickey/nancy, peter, po, doggies and toothy.. we brought nana to hk .. he was fussing. but when we took nana out of the bag.. he smiled and went 'nana!'.. and stopped his fussing! wah liew..

hi shugar: ha.. my hb sorting out photos of hk.. u have facebook? then i can add u to let u see :p
he was holding on to his nana for the entire trip. pm me ur facebook contact if u are nt comfortable to list it here?

Hi all!!! i'm back!!!!

i saw bb's heartbeat today!!! so cute!!! EDD pushed back to 21 OCt...

i missed so much here just in one day!! u mummies really can forum.. haha...

anyway, today was traumatic for me.. immediately after i left the clinic, i had a very sharp pain around the area on the right side of my waist. i was in such pain that i couldnt move or talk at all... then i made myself go back to the clinic.. and doc gave me a jab... after that i felt slightly better, then i left...

on the way out.. i felt nauseous... and it was raining at that time!! no shelter outside somemore.. bo bian. got to hold the umbrella plus my barang barang.. i was still in pain.. plus i felt like vomitting.. so in the end i walked and vomitted at the same time.. lucky i got spare plastic bag in my bag.. managed to get it out in time...

then i managed to walk to the taxi stand to take a cab back home.. left my car at orchard hotel.. decided not to drive cos was still in great pain...

phew.. after sleeping for 4 hrs, the pain finally gone....

feel so desperate at that time.. hubby not in singapore somemore.. sighh.... but like xoxo(i think) i think of bb and rmr bb's heartbeat i feel better...

nat: edd based on bb's size lor.. most of the time will change one.. gyne said based on the no. of weeks, it'll be +- 1wk... based on bb's size, it'll be +- 2wks from EDD. so.. i might not be oct mum!! haha..

hi loke,

you'll be an oct mummy! hahaha, we say one :p
did the doc explain why you have the sharp pain? i've been having lower abdominal sores the past few days too but they have not been as serious as what you must have experienced. hopefully you'd no prb to hire a taxi by the time you reached the taxi stand...and keep yourself warm ok? don't catch a chill..

p.s. i woke up so early cos my HB gave me an almighty kick in the bed at my thigh..plus i am feeling very thirsty, super thirsty..siangjiao..is this what you're experiencing too?

Loke>> Hope u are feeling better now...

I may not be Oct Mummy.. cos my EDD is 3 Oct.. doc said it's plus minus 2 weeks.. so, if its earlier by 2 weeks, i wld end up being a Sep mummy.. Hopes the bb to come out faster but on the other hand hopes my bb to be oct bb because my wedding anniversary is 1 Oct... So contradicting hor? :p

Had a super funny dream the other day.. Dreamt tat i was almost due.. then, i told the bb.. get in.. its not Oct yet! LOL

morning mommies...
talkin bout funny dream. I had one that day dreaming tat I was jogging and carring a bolster at the same time... hahaha...
I read in an article tat when one is pregnant, they get a lot of weird dreams...

haha..i am usually lactose intolerant. but somehow had such an irrepresible urge to drink milk this morning, had a cup. now feeling bleh!

Gd morning all mommies!

After trying Vitagen for past 3 days,it seems to help,able to clear very morning.Shiok
Now having pimples popping on face n back.

Anyone planning to go holiday after 1st trimester? Me longing for 1 leh.