(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

xoxolight: Helloooo!!

hippo: i got one of those pillows leh... Hmmm, but not really helping. :S

Elly: i used to have reflux too. try sleeping on more pillows... prop up your head higher, it helps!
now I got no more reflux, but still can't sleep well! O_O hello panda me!!

Hi folks, just came back from my gyne visit. I think I am either same weight as last month, or maybe a little lighter. But thankfully the baby seems to be growing fine, 1.6kg at almost 30 weeks. Anyone else who does not seem to be putting on weight?

But I have a persistent yeast infection that won't go away. Yucks. I hope it clears up before I deliver! But because of this, I have to go for the oral glucouse test in 2 weeks' time.

Earlier on we were talking about thermometers hor. I found out last night when I tested my Theromflash that it can be used to take temperature of bath water and milk in milk bottles! This is certainly an advantage over the ear thermometer.

I am looking forward to the Taka fair! Time to pick up last minute things. BTW ladies, please don't overstrain yourselves and walk too much. Mrs Wong said at the antenatal class not to walk more than 30 mins at one time. Sit and rest a bit. After you hit 37 weeks, hubby can "walk you like a dog" to encourage labour. Hahahah.

funzee, I'm another one who don't seem to be putting on weight. In fact, I'm losing 1kg or 2kg even though I'm eating as per normal and is still having my durains! I'm not too worried as long as baby is growing fine

xoxolight, Welcome back babe! Good to hear that everything is fine at your side. So we can start our "tai tai" lifestyle from next week?

fifi, since so many mummies are interested in letting their babies learn swimming, I really think we should go and get ourseleves certified! Hahaha no wonder you were talking about it the last time we met. I think the hardest part is not getting the certification but the attachment is time consuming. Let's team up and call ourselves fiso or sohip?! hahahaha

My son is having high fever and cough this morning. I brought him to the doc and she's more concern for me then him! So now he's on Tamiflu and I am to stay away from him as much as possible. Doc said I'm to send myself to KK if there's any slight discomfort. Everyone, please take good care of yourself! It's only the last 10 weeks or so for most of us.

toenails>> I had this feeling that I can't do it myself until I saw fifi doing it! On that very night, I try myself and hey, I have no problem doing it afterall! My hubby ... I don't dare to let him cut cos he had ever cut my son's nails too deep that it bleeds!

Hi Lin,

Is great to see you start to spend some time on selling some stuffs. But I think the selections are quite limited at the moment. The price is quite reasonable.... Just pass on my comment...

sweetzinc : You King Kong?? Better not let you see me...

beansprout husks pillow
This is an old tradition passed down for generations.

Newborn get startled easily. So having a pillow over their chest makes them feel more secure. As the weight is heavier than normal pillow, newborn baby can't push it away easily which is dangerous if it cover their face. But if you ask me about the effectiveness, i can't really comment.

Apart from beansprout, people uses buckwheat and some even use beans. Glynnis got one that contains beans.

sweet>> you can cross leg ah, i cannot cross my leg for too long leh! im a panda with whale figure and you're a mummy king kong!! wahahaha

sotong_mum>> pls take care of yourself, coz they are really very concerned once preggies get the flu symptoms.. but a bit difficult to stay away from your own son right? how to.. you have help? i tink you need to engage help to assist in taking care of your boy le...

sotong,
hahaha... i didn't know i inspired u to cut your own toenails. bwahahahahaha... hope ryan gets well soon. u better take a lot of Vit c and take care. better to be safe than sorry.

eh, on lah! after confinement we go and get the silly cert lah. like u said, not tough, just time consuming. ;)

dreamygal,
orh. in that case, if you're swaddling the baby, then dun really need the beansprout pillows hor?

dreamygal>> hahah u coming for our aug meet up ? then we can see each other lol!

mie>> yah i can cross leg.. i prefer to leh but cant for too long..

Thanks Miemie. I'm well with no symptoms but doc just want to play safe. Yes indeed, it's very hard to stay away from my son. I love to hug & kiss him! Also, I had to "smell" him before I turn in for the night if not, I will feel very uncomfortable. My mum will be taking care of him and I will still be around though he has to put on mask when I'm in the house.

fifi, I didn't mention to you before? I was so amazed that you can paint your toes so I figure I can cut my nails too!

beansprout pillows >> I'm tempted to get one too. Just feel that it will be comfortable for the baby to have something over their tummy / back. Even now, I have the habit of putting a pillow over my son's back when he sleep on his tummy.

I oso want to join ur meet-up! Too bad i'm not in singapore... =( yesterday i suddenly felt like having dinner at a foodcourt, where i can choose to have yong tau foo, prawn mee, nasi goreng, char kway teow or hokkien mee. So sad.... i think the next time i come back to singapore will have to be next yr, maybe when my girl is 6mths old or something. sigh!

Fifi & shugar: thanks for the tips on sleeping well. i'll look around for nice pillows to help me sleep better at night.

There's one very popular nursing pillow in UK called the Widgey. It's cheaper than My Brest Friend, cos it doesnt have the strap around the waist that prevents the pillow from moving when u breastfeed. But apparently the Widgey works just as well and it's got very good reviews on Amazon. U girls can go look for it at Taka sale if they have.

Dreamygal: it's so funny what ur hubby said to u when u told him that u miss having ur #1 kicking in ur tummy. haha... i think my hubby will have the same reaction too.

I have reservations about Vbac. Bb is gaining quite abit of weight steadily. I went for a medical check up coz i thought my waterbag leaking. It hurts alot. Vbac is suppose to hurt many times worse than it.

Sotong mum: Weight loss is probably due to lack of sleep. Too much work to be done. Think you probably overwork.

Miemie: Maybe you can jot down what you eat and what time you eat. This is what my hb ask me to do few months back. Before every meal eat abit of fruits. About 45 mins later follow by some vegetables, meat then carbo. In this case you will feel quite full by the time you eat your carbo. Try some instant brown rice, brown rice flour. Can save alot of cooking time.Apples should be quite good for us. Drink vegetable soup. What about eating lettuce, cabbage, buttercup. It is delicious.

Sotong: i hope ur boy gets well soon. he must b feeling quite upset being ill and having to keep a distance from mummy. poor boy.

my mum-in-law is making me some green bean pillows instead of the breansprout pillows. if u use bean pillows, be careful not to have too much of the beans on your baby's tummy cos they can get quite heavy. position most of the beans at the baby's side to make baby feel secure. Also try to have a pillow that has a concealed zip to would allow u to add beans as baby grows.

i think swaddling (up to 3 mths) will be a good way to keep the baby feel secured. i'm intending to swaddle mine at nite, and use the beanie pillow in the day. After 3 mths, i will start to use sleeping bags.

If u girls are thinking of getting sleeping bags for ur baby after 3 mths, u shld consider a merino wool one. U dun have to think abt which TOG to use because merino wool will keep baby cool and warm as required. So if u take baby travelling to cold countries, can use the same sleep bag too. I'm looking at one that will tahan the baby through to 24mths - if she's still willing to sleep in a bag.

fifi : My girl never like to be swaddled. So at home if i did not wrap her up, i will put it on her. Actually, even for few months old, can use as well.

sweetzinc : Errr... In that case, should i give it a miss?? Hee... Anyway, no updates leh.

Elly Ong (ellyong) : Their excuses.

KKH called me today... said i fail my OGTT test. Below 7.8 is ok, but my results is 9.9.
Now ordered to go for a full day nutrition course. Abt $300, but claimable by medisave. And from the look of it, need to get insulin and also some glucose meter.

I think I can say bye bye to durians. And also my favourite mooncakes which is coming up soon. I adore those ice-skin, lotus paste with chocolate crusted champagne centers.

My stupid husband is secretly pleased. Cos he saw me walloped one big plate of hokkien mee the other night and was horrified. Now i'm forced to take note of what i eat.

hey mummies tot of bringing this in... any comments? hahaha! wonder is this suitable for girls too ..

Free size. adjustable strap. hehehee

it's so cute! i cant resist also!
2757094.jpg

ww>> i am cutting down on my carbo intake.. and have switched from white bread to softmeal and whole grain bread.. no more canned and bottled drinks.. only allow myself fruit juices and plain water.. instead of 3 big meals a day, i have changed to 6 or 7 small meals a day..

just started on my finger poking today, and so far the results are good.. hope will have similar results tmr!

sweetzinc: dat's so cute!!! any idea ard wat age can fit? i dun mind getting if its nt too ex... :D

re cutting toenails, i still can reach them, but will get v uncomfortable being in dat 'cutting' position for too long... i jus cut them early last mth, i'm hoping they wun grow long till after birth!! haha..

siangjiao: i think u'll have to cut on carbo nw rite?

dreamygal: thks for the info on cord blood banking! i'll haf to find more info to discuss wif hubby... he everything oso leave to me!

siangjiao>> sure so serious need to get insulin or not? i tink should be just control of diet ba.. so far i tink most of us who fail the OGTT just need to monitor diet and keep track of the sugar level in our blood..

ya, im also a durian and mooncake lover, esp the 'bing-pi' mooncakes.. but we should be glad that's the only thing we got to sacrifice.. imagine we are preggy during x'mas or CNY.. i tink gone case.. everything cannot eat..

yeah, that is wad cheered me up..
i actually indulged in a little self pity today, feel so ke-lian.. but after thinking abt it, im not poking everyday, and is all for the good of baby and myself! goodness knows wad would have happened if my gynae din order the test and i continued eating away.. so i have to look on the bright side of life.. *whistles*

mie: not too sure also, will only know after i attend the nutrition course on tuesday. Meanwhile, will jaga what i eat.

And you gals are right! at least we can indulge on the Xmas/CNY goodies. Imagine having to fast during this period. That is even more terrible.

I've been thinking on the bright side. At least as we control our diet now, means won't gain so much weight, meaning less to lose later rite .. and can fit into slimmer CNY clothes later... hehe.. Really ku zhong zuo le

siangjiao>> yeah, we have to look on the bright side! but we must make sure we are still getting enuff nutrients for both baby and us leh.. this part is a bit difficult to manage i feel.. maybe after your course, you can share some tips with me? heehee

Sweetzinc, I want this if you are getting it in! It's so cute! I have missed your 1st bp as I didn't check in freq enough. Will show my support if you are doing it again.

miemie / siangjiao, I can't imagine if I were you guys. It must be hard to have watch your diet. Jia you! It's only few weeks more!

I gotta rush to pick up my hubby from airport... chat later.

waha.. okok most likely i'll bring it in but not pre-order as supplier say cant choose colours .. so v hard for me if i do pre-order. haha anyway most customers would want READY STOCKS haha

it's all packed in a pack of 15 (mix colours) so i guess once i gotten the stocks i give u all priority to choose ok hahahaha :D update u all again :p shall go source for more products

shugar, i like the nappy cover but it's not velco type hor?

fifi: hehe yeah thx i will bring in carter's sleepssuit too special request frm mie ha. i also need more sleep suit for charlotte!

beansprout pillow:
mie : wah..m HB oso say he wanna make himself. But then..knowing him and his schedule..i tink i go buy is more confirmed :p

i tot the beansprout ting was for the head actually. read something about make a whole and put the bb head there so bb head positioned while sleeping.

Elly /dreamygal : Bean, Wool. and sleeping bag. wah..today learn a lot
thanks for sharing! ah..if got good buy let me know can? i saw in shops one small beansprout pillow abt SGD20?

sweetzinc : :p i just saw the BP few days back on the hat. was talking to my friend abt it. lol. hope u can get good price from supplier? for the sleepsuit, me oso interested. haven't gotten any.

ladies ah.. er.. do u know what/when we should use booties and when socks? i got enuff booties but not sure if it functions the same way as socks

sweetzinc: I'll haf to check this thread more frequently den, in other nt to miss ur upcoming BP!

shugar: i see u sell pp pants, but pardon my ignorance.. are these the same as normal pants? just cuter with cartoons at the bum?

when's the mooncake festival? i think our timing's jus nice. as mentioned by many, we nw try to watch our diet, so that we can lose weight faster after birth (hopefully!), den just nice in time for CNY! both bb and us can look good! haha...

Hi cjdg,
Yup! PP pants are sort of like normal pants just that got cute cartoon and a bit extra space at the bum to accomodate diapers

gal^>> hahaha sure. btw u have not reply my email lol. I can pass u the loots as i'm meeting someone to collect my DVD from a BP. he stays at anchorage.. so it's quite near hehe i can pop by ur house :D

Btw fox having 50% storewide and i just gotten 2 sleepsuits for $14.50!! hehe

cjdg>> haha u can check back in abt 3 weeks time lol i think by then i should have the stocks ready liao haha.. unless something crops up

Just realised that there is this thread for Oct mummies! ;)

I am presently abit lost in preparing the coming baby stuff. Have you all started purchasing already?

hi sweetzinc, did u just attend the 3rd pre-natal class too? i oso saw the childbirth video ytd n was freaked out bcoz i didnt expect it to be so explicit! now seriously considering c-section!

lin, I bought here and there loh. So far got the bb clothes and blanket. Things like cot,stroller and bb wash, bath, steriliser...etc havt buy yet. :eek: