(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

about cord blood banking, i've also wondered about it... is there any 'lifespan' to the cord blood? or can it be saved for many many years? if it can be saved for many many years, we'll jus contd paying the annual fee year after year?

and another point about public cord blood banking.. if you decide to donate the cordblood to them, you will need to pay a certain amount of money if you require cordblood in future, and not necessarily will you get back the one you have donated..

just came back from gynae checkup. Did the GD test; actually the syrup i had wasn't that bad, and i manage to glup it all down.

Baby is well, 1.3 kg for 28 weeks. Dr said ok.
Dr grinned at me and said i put on some weight, then i went to compare last month's results. Kaoz, put on 4 KG!... now in major depression. I thought i only put on 2 kg.

Mie, how much did you pay for the neck float? I have a tub at home, so thinking that I will fill it up and let my bb just "swim" in it rather than bringing her out. Cheaper mah. Maybe we can have a family soak because my tub is big enough for all 3 of us. Hahahah.

As for cord blood banking, most likely I will go with Cordlife. My friend can refer me and she will get a one-off discount of $50 (rather miserly). But I will talk to my gyne about it tmr and see if he has any preference/recommendation.

cjdg (cjdg) : This is something i got when i did a search on cord blood banking, think 2 years ago??

Theoretically, stem cells should last forever, but cord-blood research has only been ongoing since the 1970s, so the maximum time for storage and potential usage are still being determined.

Blood-forming stem cells that have been stored for more than a decade have been used successfully in transplants.

By banking your baby's cord blood stem cells you could benefit from breakthrough uses and be prepared for the unknowns in life. Stem cells are showing promise in the treatment of brain injury and juvenile diabetes and have already been used to treat nearly 70 diseases, saving many lives.

Even tough no cord blood banking organization will be able to guarantee whether the cord blood bank with them can definitely be used when needed, but its still a hope.

funzee>> the neck float sweetzinc and i spree together, buy 2 cheaper by $1.. haha.. so we paid $14 each..
they also have a big inflatable tub leh, i was so tempted to get that as well, but i tink my hubby will slaughter me for buying that so i play safe and just buy the neck float nia..

Alexis: hello. don't worry too much before the results are out

Diet is bearable. just needs a little adjusting to and some or maybe a lot of self control. hehehe! Anyways, 2 months left to go...vy fast one! so not so bad.

Recently, i have been experiencing giddy spells towards evening time. Nowadays, was dragging myself through my girl's evening story book time. Really no strength. Was wondering if its due to lack of iron. Any mummies experiencing this?

I always got no appetite in the evening... But when its approaching midnight, i start to feel like a hungry bear.

dreamygal,
hmm... sounds like lack of iron hor? maybe check with GP/gynae? my appetite is still ok. but notice digestion slowing down. so altho i'll be like a glutton but i have to remember not to stuff my face or im gonna pay for it later...

am beginning to feel the weight altho my motion is still rather normal paced. if i'm out and about, by about 1.5-2hrs, i'm quite tired already

mie

is it? did look at some as ref, but didnt realise so similiar... anyway, i change le, show me some support ba

sweet: no offence, hope u don mind

fifi>> i also beginning to feel the weight liao.. hai cannot even sit properly. sit straight backache, if i slouch my tummy will v suan feeling.. damn sian!

fifi : Ya... Well ask gynae next sat. So tired.

Me feel like a big mama now... Even if i flip in bed, get out of car, also feel clumsy.

dreamygal: looks like you are short of iron. Have some dates daily (2-3 is enough). helps in improving iron. but don't have it if suffering from GD!!
I'm in my 30th week. and i feel so heavy while moving around.. :-( don't feel like gng for any walks now cos of this.

sweetzinc : Sometimes when position is not right, the little one inside will protest hor...

Last night, Glynnis kept squeezing over, wanted to share my pillow. We were sleeping very close. This morning, she gave me a hard kick on my back. The one inside my tummy immediately retaliate by giving me a series of kicks. Was feeling SOOoooo awake immediately. Ouch!!

dreamygal: hope u feel better soon. take more dark greens if u can, e.g. spinach. will help to boost ur iron level. I've also been feeling giddy lately. My midwife said it could also be a lack of ventilation/oxygen.

I feel so clumsy lately too. Turning in bed is becoming more and more difficult. Fortunately my yoga and swimming are keeping my backaches minimal.

Vin: U shld continue to go for ur walks. Maybe take it slower or reduce the walking time. Need to build up stamina for the big day!

dreamygal, elly,
hahaha... i feel the same! feel like i'm a whale when i'm in bed, and trying to turn... u know that feeling? uhhh...

but have to say yoga and swimming really does wonders for the soreness and tightness... have to collect my lazy butt and get down to doing it.

pingzzz: i'll provide some feedback. i feel that the variety is quite limited at this moment. Pricing is very reasonable and overall great effort. It may help if u lighten/brighten up the pictures with photoshop or something, just to make the products look more attractive. U may also like to give a dash of baby colours to your blog. It'll set people in a "sweet" mood for shopping. =)

Fifi: yes yes, i feel like a whale too!!! gosh.... my hubby has to give me a lot more space in the bed these days. It's also very difficult picking up things from the floor, and even clipping my toe nails! I just can't wait for October to arrive.

i'll like to join the whale club too! Nowadays when i climb the flight of stairs to my office, i'll pant pant for a while at the top. And getting out of the sofa, or when i'm getting up sitting on the floor is starting to be a chore

blink blink: the 10 pm news got show the jewellery fair. The first person that came into my mind is you! hehehe.... the jewels are beautiful

fifi : I know!! Haa... We are all in the same shoe.

Elly Ong (ellyong) : After Oct, you will start to miss the feeling of being pregnant.

hahaha... just thot whale is quite apt. have u seen a whale turning in the water?
so far its especially so when turning in bed. everything else is still manageable for me.

anyways *fingers crossed* i am still able to cut and paint my toenails today. hehehe... eh, i think we gotta like meet up very soon to cut one another's toenails tho'... bwahahahaha...

lin : Some comments.

Socks - it will be useful to include in measurement. Is there any sizes/colours?

Clothes - you mentioned its newborn to 1 year. Then no sizes mentioned? What are the available colours?

It will be good if you can include in close up pictures.

My personal opinion only.

i havent tried to cut my toenails for quite a long while.. i doubt i will be able to do it and i dun feel like giving it a try.. haha

fifi, i tink coz you've been attending yoga lessons.. i doubt i will be able to cut my own toenails, looking at the size of my tummy now!

i just measured the width of my tummy, have grown another half a inch within the week!

Oooh, me having a hard time getting to sleep coz every position also not comfortable
And if the little fellow inside uncomfortable, also will protest.
Last night i woke up to a fist or foot stick out like a bump on my belly!!
Think i gng to become a panda soon! :S

sweet>> wa, i dun dare to ask my hubby cut my toenails, he everytime cut until very deep de, left no white white that kind..

i tink we are all becoming whales and pandas.. hahahahahaha

Mie: oh your hb cut nails pattern same as mine leh.. :s so I Know I can't ask him to cut for me. For now still can reach, later, duno how liao.

shugar (shugar) : Me already a panda.

mie : Same here. I don't dare to ask my hubby to cut. But i can still reach my toes... Think my tummy really small.

hiya! how has everyone been doing? i have been away for quite awhile. had a most hectic few weeks. now the end for me is quite in sight and i'm so going to relish the extra time on my hands doing...nothing. bye bye job. hello home.

hehe. actually, it's time i caught up with all the sprees here and there...my turn to do the great singapore shopping...

abt toes - i can't cut them anymore..heck, can barely see them! i am also plagued with the frequent "downsizing" of my ahem, underwear. in panic now..gotta buy new, much, much bigger ones! i dare not look at myself in a full length mirror. same goes for all my pants too..and did i say shoes? my feet is somehow bursting out of every single pair. even slippers. width is the prb.

morning sickness, i am still quite stuck with it. one of those things. throw in back ache, nightly leg cramps...but the cause celebre must be my passing the 50kg mark. so all the complaints..what's that? i have all but just 10 weeks more to meet the reason for my sprees, sprains and sunshine...unbelieveable what time does to you..it flies.

dreamygal: maybe u r rite... i'll miss being pregnant after october... because i have lesser excuse to eatwateverilike and demand my hubby to do everything for me like now! =P

shugar: i am finding it tough to sleep too! I used to sleep on my back before i was pregnant. now can only sleep on left or right side. and my girl always starts to kick and move whenever i lie down. plus my reflux only comes at nite. @_@

i can still clip my toenails. but it's very very very very strenuous.... i think when i finally cannot reach, i will try pedicure instead of asking my hubby for help. If he clips my nails, i think i can go without trimming them for 1 year. he also cut deep deep one.

Nv post for quite long been so busy.

I nv cut my toenails very long keke go Pedicure (still want to stay pretty whahahaha).

Recently I join a few oversea spree here must refrain myself as actually I got alot of clothes from my big boy which my MIL recently have take out. Thk the recently Chest Drawer I brought from Ikea for BB might not enough if I continue to buy and buy.

Very interested in going to Taka Sales, can let me know if you gals going.

My hb is now travelling and will only be back in Mid September nia, long trip. sighhhhhhhh

Are you bored with off-the-shelf/catalogue baby hampers? Tired of your baby wearing the same apparel as everyone else?

Then do check out Lil'Precious's custom-made apparel and accessories. We help moms create that unique fashion statement for their babies - from rompers, tees, pants and hats to even their personal beanie (the traditional bean sprout pillows with a stylish twist!)

Whether it's made for your own baby or as a gift for a close friend, Lil-Precious's personalised apparel adds fun and creativity to a baby's life, making it truly memorable.

Check out our collection at:
http://lilprecious-lilbeanie.blogspot.com/

looks like all the men cut their nails the same way huh? mine does as well.

elly, shugar,
can get those support pillow which can straighten as bolster or curl around for breastfeeding support? i dunno if they're expensive tho. i bought one support pillow just for the TUMMY. $49 from robinsons before 20%. its not too bad. if not, maybe just put more pillows for extra support.

miemie,
yeah, maybe yoga has made me quite a contortionist. hehe... cos my belly is definitely not small. hehehe...

taka baby fair meetup
eh babes, not trying to be wet blanket, but you all can last so long outside meh? shopping, high tea, etc @ end aug? quite heavy already leh... nowadays i plan my outings such that i go and buy what i need, then i get out. otherwise will start to feel the weight/load around tummy/pelvic area... not very funny feeling at all leh. and we're only @ jul now...

XOXO!!!
hahaha... long time no see babe! good to hear all's well (minus the MS) and u finally have to get bigger clothes!!! hahaha... good lah, then u wont get silly comments like "are you really preggie?" so its freedom baby yay! next week???

shugar/mie : pe-di-cure.... time to pamper yourself

astro : the german swimming instructor, do u tink he is keen to open up to oct mtbs oso his offer?

i a bit concern though, i m not much of a swimmer. i saw most pics is mummy swim with bb which i dun mind but...er..haha. i no confidence in my own swimming. :S

Re: Pillow/Bedding
Err..are you all getting beansprout pillow? If yes, where to get huh?

Elly Ong (ellyong) : After i gave birth to #1, i sort of miss the feeling when she was kicking in me. Whenever i see preggy ladies, i will tell my hubby that... His comment is always :"Do you want to experience that feeling again?"...

gal^ (lydiagal) : Its sold in most baby stores.

There are a no of online stores selling as well. Now there are a few BPs on them. ;)

xoxo>> been a long time since we saw your posts ya! great to hear all's well for you and super envious that you dun have to work anymore! im looking forward to the start of my ML.. heehee.. in fact am counting down to the arrival.. :D

pedicure>> my hubby forbids me to do that, he say dunno the scrub they use good or not, then i stay in the salon for so long, i breathe in so much chemicals etc.. i've been 'colourless' since CNY until now lo.. and to think that i used to go for bi-monthly mani and pedi..

taka baby fair>> we're all going on the first day ya? shopping is acutally more of essential shopping ma, then after that we will drop off the stuffs in our cars, then proceed for high tea, there we can rest our legs already ma! do i sound very ambitious? heehee

gal^>> the beansprout pillows im making my own.. my sister went to collect the beansprout husks from the market and helped me to pick the towgays out, and sun them.. im only waiting for the pillow and bolster casings to be ready now..

hippo >> except for having the MS..i think it's been quite a nice ride so far. but MS is a faithful friend. i am thinking of swimming too....was "advised" by e doc to try it out.

miemie >> envious of me?? I am inspired by you! lots of catch up to do for the shopping bit. taka fair? eh..what happened to our vivo meet up? cxl?
i am colourless too ever since mth 4. the father was adamant i stop gg for my mani/pedi. for this beansprout thingy...what's it good for?

xoxo>> inspired by me? wahahahahaha.. im sure you can do all your buying after you stop work! buy more buy more and buy A LOT more!! heehee

beansprout husks pillow>> from wad i understand, it will be put over baby's chest, so that baby will feel secure, and will not get startled easily.. normal cotton wool pillows are not able to do that coz they are too light already..