(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

<font color="0000ff">RE: Pre-natal Masseur</font>
Anyone got recommendations? My bum aches everyday and I need hubby to massage them every night but does not help man. I juz called one tt my coll recommended but tt lady cant speak much English and she not willing to come to my location.

I rem one of u mummies mentioned abt it some weeks ago and said that she is quite gd. But i lazy to search thru.

<font color="0000ff">RE: Babies in breech position</font>
I found this position quite encouraging and saw it in the website b4 (But cant rem which website) tt might help to turn babies heads down. Juz spend some 5 mins daily and get down on all fours while u watch TV. Can even do this on ur bed. I did it for my #1 and it works.

Don't panic if u r not approaching 33-34 wks yet. There is still space for baby to turn. Most imptly i believe in keeping a +ve mind. Keep talking to ur baby and encourage him to turn.

jrt: u r very encouraging. my Angel is like hippo's isabel. 2nd last visit was head down. two weeks later she was head up. i reckoned that if i dont slouch when i sit, baby got more space down there for the head. and maybe resting on the bed more often might help too.

i also realise baby dun like me to sleep on my right side. she kicks so hard if i do that!

siangjiao: thanks for remembering me when u watched the news! i had no time at all the past week. hahha...

hippo/mie ; talking about father witnessing the delivery, i hv an incident fm fren to share. my fren was c section w epi and TMC do allow your hus to witness the process. The gynae did not cover up the procedure and my fren hus witness the bloody process. Guess it shld be worst than normal delivery since it involve operation etc. Her hus say tat he almost feel like vomitting if the process are further drag on as simply gross to him. She chg her gynae(due to other reason) for 2nd one and this gynae have a cloth in between to cover up the process so the father won't get to see the entire bloody process and therefore won't vomit or faint inside the room.

KKH dun allow father to be in for c section so i am pretty tense up during the entire procedure as i can feel the gynae digging my belly for the bb since i am opting for half body w epi. Would be better to opt for GA so u won't feel a thing.

jRt>> i tried rustic nirvana and babies bellies. Pls dun go to rustic nirvana haa waste money.. they like no strength one.. not shiok.

i went to babies bellies.. although facilities not v gd as compared to rustic, small shop only. but at least it was shiok lor! hahaha... somemore the same price as rustic but it includes a body scrub hehe. that place abit out of the way ah near arab st.

ong: "i can feel the gynae digging my belly for the bb" - AAAAaahhhh!!! serious?? even with epi can still feel that? :S

Hi, Mummies.. Been a long time since i last posted.. Busy at work..

Hows the preparations for bb's arrival.. I guess i bought most of the things already.. Is it too kiasu to start washing the baby clothes and the hand-me-downs?

Chinese believe that hand-me-downs are good for infants as the infants will be "easier to take care of" and grow better.. Any1 heard of tat b4?

Am certainly feeling excited and also scared abt the delivery process leh.. unfortunately was not in time to enrol for Mrs Wong's pre natal cse.. Sighzz.

sweet, actually i already intended to engage babies bellies for the post natal massage as their prices seems reasonable and they had a shopfront.

shugar,
of cos i can still feel it when they digging my belly! Epi is only to numb so u won't feel the pain but u can still feel the movement! the gynae must have use some strength and tat's y i can feel it. For the emergency c section with bb engage, the movement could be even greater since bb is stuck at the birth canal and gynae will need to use some strength to take out the bb i guess. Hope i am not scaring the gals out there :p

Ong>> Sounds scary leh.. Gynae is advising me to eat lesser leh.. cos bb is overweight.. and she said.. if my weight progress steadily.. i wld end up having a 9 pound baby.. faintzz..

shugar/mrs neo, anyway i can only feel the movement when they trying to take out the bb/placenta, other than that, i can't feel anything. Not sure if this relates to the skill of gynae. Trying a diff gynae this round so can compare the skills.

Mrs neo, i put on 19kg to date(sure u cant match me, heehee!) and i got a feeling my gynae will ask me to go c section earlier since he keep saying my #1 was very big.

Happy_mtb>> how heavy is ur bb now? how many weeks?

ong>> yah their prices are reasonable and they do home visit too.. can feel the movement but not the pain right? haa i think same as extracting wisdom tooth ba.. can feel the dentist plucking out the tooth but no pain lol!

sotongmum > hahaha...durian to make it up to ur babe *trying to keep straight face and nods*.

hippo > wah..admire your determination.

Epi/noEPI :
Saw how they put the EPI in, i oso eee.. told my HB that i dun wan EPI. the needle so long. But maybe coz' i haven sit in Lesson3 yet after reading what u all wrote. should i skip the class? how to know if pain threshold high or not?

omg..more i read more i tink...

mrs neo > abt handmedowns. i heard if u get good bb then ur bb wear ur bb will be good oso. so if handmedown from notti bb, ur bb will be notti oso. er.. to me handmedown are just clothes for my bb to wear. so m happy with the hand/lendmedowns i receive :p

sweet, yap u r right. Just like plucking the tooth! I got to know about babies bellies fm other thread as seems like comment is nt bad given the reasonable price. Intend to sign up for 10days package. Those freelance seems to be charging abt the same price.

Mrs neo, btw i have oreadi start to wash all the hand me downs plus ordering new cabinet for bb clothes. tink nw is abt time as our edd is abt the same at 1st oct.

gal, same as u as i am happy just to get the hand me downs since NB grow out of them so fast.

hey ong,
just realised your EDD 1st oct?! so will be quite soon? so u picked ur delivery date already? c-section right? wah... i cant wait for these last few weeks to be over man... are u getting excited? hehe...

Hi everybody, long time nv post liao, hw's everyone? Next round c gynae will hv to decide which date i want for my c-sect liao. Mostly will choose 27 Sep lor, coz lunar date 8 aug (8/8). By tat time baby 38 weeks liao. Hope my baby will be gd gal, dun come out earlier than the date i choose if not the charges will consider as emergency c-sect, will be much more higher.

hippo, yap shld be c section. getting impatient at the last stage now as difficulty to sleep, tired easily, panting easily and sweating all over etc.. Pretty excited too since my last round was 5yrs ago. Seems like so many things to do. Such as tidy up another room to put the cot, digging out d old toys etc... i picked 21 sept but anticipating to go earlier since gynae have drop hints that i could be earlier.

joanne, hw's your new job? Hope everything is fine at your end.

blinkgal
we hv to stay v positive, else will go crazy easily... like my placenta is still not in a gd position for natural delivery yet and coz of tt, it affects my baby's position to turn heads down. still i spend some time daily to send +ve vibes to my baby and body hoping to achieve the natural birth i wished for. And i do believe that baby can feel and hear me, coz she's alrdy heading down. I am not in a rush for her to totally head down totally yet coz its still early. i am coming only to 28 wks now. so let her take her time.

glass
yes, if the baby has turned heads down and its still early, there is a chance baby might turn breech again. I've heard of a fren whom's baby alrdy headed down at 30 wks. then at 32 wks or son, baby turned breeched. she's encouraging her baby to turn heads down soon b4 its too late. but dun get overly worried.

pinkiemie
can u PM me Ida's contact? Thks lots! And how much does she charge?

Peiyu
i wun try rustic nirvana coz too commercialised! THks 4 sharing the experience anyway!

hippo : determination not to eat liu lian /scones :p
i dun tink i can lor. if i see ice cream or liu lian.. oreo biscuit...ok ok i better stop :p~~~~

ong :
i got lendmedowns from diff pple. so gotta stock take and remember whose is whose :p

Re: Sleepwear
Is it required in humid singapore?
How many did you all get?

gal^,
haha... orh ok. well, that was yesterday. i had some ice cream today. hehe... and im thinking if i'm at tamp mall tomorrow, and i walk past four leaves... am pretty sure will get something from there. ... hahaha... yup so that determination was only valid yesterday.

btw, saw my email?

mie : After thinking it through... I think i gotten a jab before the sewing. Sorry ya... Can't remember... Only remembered i was super exhausted then.

sweetzinc: me staying in UK now. want to find out how singapore MTBs are doing, so joined this forum. =)

vera: alamak, u didnt tell me u want gucci. the gucci sale was just over... mulberry, prada &amp; miu miu etc etc sales also just over. anyway, there will b 1 x MEGA sale in december. let me know what brand and model u want, i help u buy la. But if u want LV, then u have to wait long long. cos they never do sale one. althou their bags are still cheaper in London than Singapore. I will miss CNY next year again. Dun dare to let baby fly so soon. So sad to miss CNY, esp when i can start collecting ang pow!

ladies, try not to let the gynae snip down there if u can.... the procedure is called episiotomy. Unlike a tear, which is just on the surface epidermal layers, episiotomy causes irreparable damage to your muscles. (mummies who have had this procedure, so sorry that u have to hear this.....) And u will take a long long time to recover from the pain postnatal. So unless it is a last last last last resort, don't go there.

i consulted a fren of mine who used epi during natural delivery. she said that u can ask ur gynae to stop administering the painkiller when the cervix is nearly fully dilated so that u can feel the pain and urge to push. Apparently, a common problem with the use of epi for natural birth is that it prolongs the labour, cos mums dun feel the pain and urge to push. And because of the lack of knowing when to push, there is also a higher occurrence of the gynae having to use forceps or vacuum to help the baby out.

gal >> haha, back..but not with a vengeance yet. so much to do. have to unpack stuff at home too and prepare for the baby. i am way behind now..but v.determined to catch up cos i can't imagine going abt doing all these things next mth. the tummy's really getting larger..

sotong_mum >> tai-tai hood is beckoning..*wink*
still got loose ends here and there but overall, settling down to rest. was quite hectic over the weekend and had my night cramps again..so sleep interrupted. today i had monday blues. absolutely lazy and unproductive.

hippo >> i tell u something funny. i ate durians the other day at four seasons. that very night..i dreamt that i was read the riot act - eating durians is a crime. and the MS after that was seriously bad. the MS durian aftermath is something u don't wanna have...so learnt my lesson. finally feeling fat...my wedding ring had to come off. no shoes/slippers fit..and i am bursting out of all my clothes. it's quite a nightmare..and i've a double chin!!!

xoxo,
woah... that sounds bad! yucks! you know i just bought a pair of shoes on sunday @ metro sale. funnily i can wear my normal size. my engagement ring and wedding band still can fit wor... i'm a bit puzzled. maybe cos i'm not eating anything too salty now that i'm back at home. but now then you burst out of your normal clothes???

my maternity pants are getting tighter. i.e. my big ass is getting bigger!!! in fact, i think i'm gonna activate the couple of maternity dresses soon. pants are suffocatingly tight.

oh yeah, you ate @ four seasons??? they're conmen leh!!! found a better lobang! 201 telok kurau road. quite good and reasonably priced. but i suppose you gotta be their regular to get that kind of quality and price lah.

elly,
how is it like living in UK? i bet you miss sg food. saw you posting about all the local food. i will be in agony if i were in that position. have a fren who went to ireland to give birth when she was living in UK. apparently according to her, all the hospitals in england sucks so she found ireland which was much better. and she only used gas as painkiller.

but the pregger books i read say that the wound will heal better if episiotomy was performed vs if it tore naturally. anyhow, i read somewhere that can massage vit E oil on the perineum from wk34 onwards to soften the skin so it doesnt tear as easily or something like that. hmmm...

ong,
wah... i'm envious... 21 sep is d-day already for you...
thats really not that far from now... so all ready get set go already lah?!

Astro, I can only say that the definition of "taking a walk" varies from person to person! Hahaha I have never climb a mountain but I have been to one and had tea there. It was haven but that's because we had transport up. Can't imagine if it will still be that enjoyable if I had to climb it instead!

Hippo, I'm another one who pei fu you! If the smell of durian comes to me, I gotta eat it!!

Happy mtb, I had a lot of hand me down because I thought I had given my son ones away. Who knows, I have recently discover bags of it hidden away! Now I had lots of tops and rompers but not too much of pants. I wonder what happen to all the pants?!

Oh ya, when I was going through my son's old clothing, I discover there's a number which are new. I remembered these are the ones that are too big for my son when he was newly born and had become too small the next time I took them out. Especially the rompers, very misleading. So mummies, don't make the same mistake!

gal, I was reading the sep thread and they use Brazilian wax as a measurement of pain threshold. Those friends of my (and me
) who enjoyed or do not mind doing it, have conclude that natural birth is rather bearable and not as scary as what we have heard.

BTW, are you ladies thinking of doing BW near your edd?

sleepwear >> I guess it depend on whether you are putting your baby in an air con room.

xoxo, your durian encounter is gross! I agreed with hippo, that four seasons are conman, I went there once and that's it, I'm not going back again.

Give yourselves some times, when your schedule is not so hectic, u will have better sleep. I've move back to my house because of my son. I need to sleep in a separated room from him. Because of that, I couldn't sleep! Anyway, I always don't sleep well so I guess it's kinda common. Oh ya, left my hp charger at my mil place so no hp for the time being until I don't feel lazy enough to go there and take! email me if there's anything.

I have proceed to wear my husband polo T nowadays. it fit nicely! Maybe you want to grab some of your husband ones to try it out?!

My turn to visit my gynae this thur and I have managed to regain my weight.
so it's good in a way. I really hope that my baby is still head down

Morning All,

For me I cant feel anything when I have EPI C-Section. Maybe because I am very very tired and when the EPI kick in I only feel very giddy whole ceiling is spinning so just close my eye. My hubby is with me thk he watch my Gynae C me keke and when my gynae break the water bag he got a shock tot is blood how come so much blood gush out. After that he discover that is water bag. Lucky my hb is brave enough to see all the procedure.

Elly
When u said need to take a long long time to recover fr pain postnatal, do u mean the recovery rate? I had episiotomy during delivery wif epidural. Aft tt, i nvr had to take any pain killers and recovery rate was relatively fast too. So i guess episiotomy experience differs wif pple. Locally its v common during childbirth coz if u push too hard and tear, the damage seems to be worse off and its hard to stitch back a tear.

My epidural was on during the delivery and was turned down a bit when i was ready to push. as a result, thou i felt no pain, I cld feel how to push. Within 3 pushes, baby was out.

Juz sharing my experience here.

elly>> i understand otherwise regarding that snip snip leh.. they were saying if you allow it to tear naturally, it may be more difficult to sew back and recover as the tear is uneven, compared to a snipsnip done by the gynae.. the gynae will be able to sew back neatly and the wound will recover quicker..

jrt,
WAH!!! only 3 pushes??? you're the big bad wolf that huff and puff the house away!!! haha... ok. u also my idol... i want to emulate. hehehehehehe...

sotong,
eh, go and collect your mobile lah. later cant contact u how??? scarly i wanna tempt you with some nice food how? no lah... just kidding. i'm trying to be good. hehehe...

u pei fu me ah? well, cos my husband din eat. silly guy whacked a whole lot of longans which i bought for him, then go to his mum's place, she gave him like a whole tub of rambutans. but evening he had mild sore throat. so he din wanna eat the durians. and also, i think he gave me a funny "shud u be eating these durians" look. so i didn't dare to eat lah. hehe... i think if he wasnt there, i would've probably stuffed my face already. so there wasnt that much self control. it was imposed...

miemie,
eh, u cant smell me yet lah. by my own scale (which i insist doesn't work k) i've gained 12kg so far. but by my gynae's record he said its 8kg. i was secretly sniggering away. but 8kg he already nagging non-stop lor. so i think i better stop all my nonsense... hmmm, but maybe after my trip to four leaves later... hehehehe... ;)

Mie

Ya loh she say by full term I will reach 14 kg if this continue which is too much put on for her. But I told her I try to eat more cos my first boy very small and she also understand.

happy hippo
hahahaha, nah! i cant b ur idol! And to think u cld link it to tt story! so funny!
i felt tt the nurses in the delivery ward helps a great deal. as the baby was crowning and my hb cld see baby's hair, one of the nurse asked me if i wld like a mirror to see for myself as it will encourage me to push and oso i will know my progress.
i hesistated for a while coz scared of seeing the bloody scene. then i said yes coz if i dun grab the chance then, i will nvr get to see how it is like down there. besides my hb reassured me it wasnt tt bloody.
so i saw baby's hair abt the size of a 50 cent coin. and when contractions came, i was asked to push, and indeed, u can see more of baby's hair emerging which was v encouraging.
thereafter, the mirror was taken away and we waited for gynae to arrive. then wif each contraction, i just pushed and visualized baby coming out soon. by the end of 3 pushes, my gynae passed me this warm little being into my arms unexpectedly and i was wondering, "hey wats tt?" when i realised tt it was my son lah! hahaaha. the 1st thought tt came to me was v touching and tears almost streamed down when i started laughing uncontrollably coz i din expect him to be pushed out so soon.
overall i had a pleasant birthing experience (though i regretted getting pregnant the moment i entered labour ward and hoping it was all a dream!!!) and hope for the same wif my #2.

pinkiemie
thks 4 the PM.
will check later. however i juz called another masseur my fren rec and my session is this sat. will try her out and make appt wif Ida for my next one since i rem alot of mummies saying this Ida is super hot rite?

fifi>> gynae say 8kg means is 8kg la.. haha.. why make yourself so sad by saying is 12kg? my 10kg is gynae's record, so is you cant smell me, not i cant smell you! wahahahaha

ahhhhh.... wad's with all the durians and rambutans and longans.. oh man, and i cant eat any of them at all! all that i can swallow are kiwis, dragonfruits and apples.. *gulp* i force my parents to eat durians far far away from me, or i will hide in my room whilst they devour the durians.. and im such a tropical fruits lover!

hippo, hahaha I was wondering why you have so much of a control this time! Hey, since when did you tempt me with nice foods?! I thought I'm always the one? Hmm... we gotta go for the yummy ice cream waffle again before we pop! Gotta bring this xoxo along with us. Or maybe she has a good recommandation somewhere else?

Regarding weight gain, I think I better don't let my be known here. Wait kena hamtan! I want to keep the weight gain in control because I want to lose the 10kg that I have put on before I'm preggie together with this pregency weight gain. Dunno if I can do it?!

jRt>> whilst reading your post abt how you pushed your boy out, i had this strong urge to drop tears.. and i tink i really will cry when my baby is put into my arms..

wonder if the nurses at Mount A will pass me a mirror as well.. i tink i shall pack my own big mirror into my hospital bag!

pinkiemie
my fren's masseur charges me $60. how much is Ida's charges?

heee, u so emotional, wanted to tear aft i described how i pushed my son out? wait till its ur turn, u will b touched oso, esp if its ur 1st delivery. i cldnt imagine crying when i heard abt ppl crying when they deliver. but when it happened to me, i understood how it feels.

hahha, yah u can pack ur own mirror in ur bag too.

jRt>> Ida's pre-natal is $40, post natal is $50 per session..

i am a very emo person! can cry easily one.. hahaha.. so i bet i will cry when my baby is put into my arms for the 1st time.. and maybe when she first latch on, and all her firsts.. heehee

miemie,
hahaha... its not the hormones making u more emo huh? eh my own scale sure accurate lah. b4 preggy i weigh myself every morning one k. so i know exactly how much it was when i first got pregnant. and its been +12kg ever since.

sotong,
i'm gg to tamp 1 today w my fren. and u have to mention the bakerzin waffle ice cream lah. wah lau. no i wun eat today lah. i save it for you and xoxo k? ;) and dun tell me order 2 to share between 3!!!!!!!! *faint* yah, and u better keep quiet about your weight. later me &amp; miemie sit on you!!! :p

jrt,
hehe... i'm sure its an experience that no mother can forget lah... so u have new nick from me. u da big bad wolf. hahahahaha...

hippo, 21 sept shld be the latest date. Seems very near and yet so far.... tends to get impatient when u reach the last few wks. Plenty of stuffs yet to set up and plenty of washings to do.Counting down....

sunnyling, 8 kg still need to control meh? mine 19kg gynae nv even mentioned abt anything leh abt weight fm first day till now. I asked him a few times abt my weight but he nv talk much abt it. He says is ok but i dun find it ok cos i look swollen everywhere. He say i got water retention.

crying
I did not cry as too tired to cry perhaps. Just had an amazing &amp; relieve feeling that finally bb is OUT!

gal, mine nv get to wear sleep suit cos i didn't want him to be used to sleeping in aircon room. If in aircon room, i still need to get a bb monitor cos i can't leave the door open since he will be in separate room fm me and my #1.

ellu>> i put on 12-13kg so far man! omg... i wasnt really skinny to start with too haha

mie>> i think i will cry when the midwife bring the bb to me in the labour suite... or rather the tears have not dried up from the labour pain /process hahaha! (hopefully epi will not feel any pain)

jrt>> omg i dun think i will be as brave as u to see it myself.. btw did the doc and midwife clean the baby before they bring it over to you? coz frm all the videos i've seen in the prenatal class, the midwife just carry the baby to the mom's chest (still with umbilical cord attached) and baby still rather wet and bloody... so i'm not sure if Singapore is the same haha

pei yu
i told myself if i dun see it then, i wun get a chance to see it during delivery mah. and its my own body, i shldnt b scared. moreover my hb said its not tt bloody. and i feel tt it really helps us in our pushing.

no, when she handed him to me, she only cut off his umbilical cord. he's not cleaned up yet. tts why he feels slippery. but i assure u its not bloody at all. but got discharge surrounding him. and he looks "clean". of coz we muz see the baby 1st hand aft delivering mah.
its ur own baby, u wun b scared at all when the time comes. dun worry and think too much lah.

fifi>> the hormones just made the emo double up.. haha.. can cry myself silly over tv dramas already.. sit on sotong? mm.. her weight gain must be that kind less than 5kg kind!!!!!! ROAR!!! i would like to contribute some fats to her sia..

sweet>> i tink i will be swearing in the delivery suite, no tears at that point of time i guess.. so my 1st drop of tear will be shed for my baby! wa seh, thinking abt it i also feel so teary.. :p

jRt>> did you drink coconut water in your 3rd tri last time? everyone is telling me have to take coconut water so that baby will be cleaner when come out.. my fren told me to drink dunno wad tea..

ong>> you small and skinny type ah? i tink for petite pple hor, have to gain more weight.. so maybe that is why your gynae never say 19kg is too much..