(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

gal^ : But hor, then i will have 3 kids le. One pig, one moo and one bunny... But all very tame animal hor... Haa...

See how... 3 is not going to be easy...

glass : Me also suffering from horrible insomnia. Cannot sleep. I also wanna join panda club..

Jacelyn : Welcome!! I heard that good confinement lady always got booked very early. So no harm sourcing now and book her.

Joanne : I think it will clear slowly bah. I know some ppl who only got cleared of MS in their 14th weeks.

hi jacelyn,
welcome. i'm not getting confinement lady. heard more negative things than positive things generally. so am not gonna pay $ to put up with it. probably wont like confinement type food anyways so will just hire domestic help.

joanne,
me too. i feel like MS is worst this week. am also week 12. you know unfortunately, i have a gf who vomit all the way til bb is born. for both pregnancies. so am hoping our MS wont last throughout.

xoxo,
what about carbonated mineral water like perrier, etc? i think its quite good too. woah... i think you should try and take it easy a bit. working crazy OT not good for you k.

P,
hey, have dried prunes and prune juice to solve my constipation problems. works wonders. =)

Mrs L: Yes, i believe there is express service for TMC as well cos my fren gynae was attached to TMC and she paid 1k+ for the total cost(plus express fees) and tat was 5 yrs ago's rates. can't imagine waitg for 2wks so go for express n we can sleep better.

Jacelyn : welcome to the thread. I was quite lucky to hv a good CL 5 yrs back for my 1st boy. CL do helps greatly. Dun think i can cope w/o a CL. I do have frens who chg 3 CL within 5wks.

HRD_RYC : wow ms throughout the whole pregnancy??? suffering leh, pls dun happen on me, i will faint...

Think if mum nt gng to do the confinement for me this time round, i will do the confinement myself then...cant afford to pay for the confinement lady...

joanne,
yah i know. when she told me i nearly fainted. VOMIT ALL THE WAY LEH!!! wah lau. that's 10 mths of vomitting!!! but of course the good thing is, her gals very very healthy and chubby. just that mother suffer lor.

Hi Jacelyn, welcome... I dun plan to engage any CL as their price is really very expensive. I would rather do it on my own if my MIL is not able to help me. Because I think I can make better use of the two thousands dollars....

read if you're bored -

saw this article about joanne peh on newspaper awhile ago. thought quite ridiculous so ranting here. apparently ms peh said that "when its her time of the month, her boobs go up one cup size" straits times went to ask doctors to verify and all of them said medically impossible.

http://www.divaasia.com/media_photo/2693

look at all the photos on this site. its so obvious the gal had IMPLANTS lah. from flat like runway to having an obvious cleavage!!! dont tell me hollywood tape can tape out a cleavage. do they think viewers are idiots or what? wah piang. tak boleh tahan.

About heartburns. I notice and read somewhere that some food cause heartburns. Maybe can try to observe diet and minimise food that causes it. As for what food, it is up to the individual.

It may works better.

Good Morning mommies-to-be

I woke up with tummy sore. As this is my #1, not sure if it was a normal feeling at 13th wk. Anyway, I got out of bed and had the feeling to go #1. I went and felt much better afterward. I think must be the bbq otah I had last night at a company event. I was cautious and ate only 3 plates (haha) of cooked beehoon and 1 otah leh.

Welcome Jacelyn! I don't think I will get a CL too as it is not a practice in the west. DH said he will help me woh...but I will get catering for confinement food.

Joyce: I will ask gynae abt the express amnio this Sat when I see him. I too can't tahan the long anxious wait.

gal: i also plan to have one moomoo and one bunny.. if lucky then one more psss.. haha..

hrd: haha.. but my friend also told me her boobs will swell when mensus come.. machiam like pregnant like that cos nipples also very sensitive... i think she wears push up bra or something... anyway, i think u should consider confinement food.. cos apparently its really important to eat the right food during confinement.. otherwise, ur body will suffer in the long run... maybe u can share food with joyce.. hehe.. since she's gonna cook her own confinement food..

Well....hrd, I dun really mind as I can earn extra bucks for my little one... friend friend I dun charge you too high..... kekekeke

i had engage a CL for my #1. She really helps a lot.
Till now, i still dun know what my gal's poo look like in the 1st month coz she likes to poo at night!
without my CL, i think i will be v tired...
BUT BUT BUT, i also think CL lady is expensive and not 'value for $$'.
her salary is 1.8 k and i had gave her 2 ang bao ($40 + $100), so close to 2k!
and she only worked for me less than 26 days!! she is malaysian and need to leave every 14 days etc.
and hor, i cerebrated full month earlier (24th day) and she told me 'by right', her job finish on that day but bcoz
she knows my mum, so she extended for 1-2 days. what is this???? i always tot they should work for 30 days!!
anyway, i am also searching for another CL this time. hope i can get a gd one..

RYC: I pick up the recipes from my mum and MIL, some from the cooking books that I had borrowed from the library. Actually confinement food is quite easy to cook and for Chinese the most important portion is herbal soup to "bu qi". So for my confinement food has evolved to joyce's style, combination of east and west....

joyce: haha.. cool... but i also heard from my mum that confinement food not cheap.. she spent almost $1k for the ingredients for my sis... but i think she over buy also lah.. haha...

mummies who asked after me last night, thanks for the concern. i thought i had cramps.. (coz my stomoach always very uneasy one...) then went lie down.. slept thru today.. no bleeding/spotting.. panty is dry.. so should be constipation related.. will ahve to ask for the sachets that kai talked abuot (thanks kai) or the ones that star talked about (thanks star)..also. must take more high fibre food like what the other mummies mentioned.. thanks for the concern..

teng today at purple train..i dunno how to describe my relief!!! ok. the day didn't start out well.. teng got nervous when we went into the walkway leading to purple train (the other times he wasn't like that).. then we were early by 15 minute and teng kicked up a HYSTERICAL fuss liao... i was like.. doomsday.. then this also cannot that also cannot he only wants 'out!' haiz.. then eventually the chinese lao shi brought some kids to the toilet.. she told me to wait for her.. i said ok. teng still crying like nobody's business.. went into the centre.. he cried and scremed lah. blur elie still stand there look at him.. wah liew! the more she is there, the louder teng cried! :S.. told her to go out side wait for me.. i tried to calm teng down. but no wor .. still screaming like nobody business.. all other mums staring at me.. FINALLY yhe chinese laoshi came back and took teng away.. then one of the mothers said. i should sit in longer with teng blah blah blah.. i just politely smiled :S

haiz. was so affected that i parked myself at star buck.. trying to connect to wireless@SG and do some work . damm it leh.. cannot connect despite me trying AGAIN AND AGaIN.. wah lau. then and there i felt like crying man! :S

then gave up.. also didn't eat much.. then it was 1110 liao. i decided to withdraw some cash and go up look for the P to discuss with her..

I entered Purple train. all was quiet.. excpt for kids' voices.. i was like 'teng not crying anymore?'.. then i went and peeped.. there he was, seated eating something. the chinese laoshi was with him ALONE.. they were talking.. about shirt and teng's ying fu.. then laoshi told teng he doesn't have ying fu in his bag (coz the clothes are still left outside on the counter. which means the teacher actually spent all the time with teng alone!).. i remembered i had to signalled to her coz i had to go.. remembered teng was 'negiotiating' (back facing me) with the chinese teacher he wants 'out!'.. then teacher very firmly told him 'bu ke yi'.. in very firm manner. teng kept insisting.. not crying. laoshi kept saying no..
boy, am i surprised to see that sight?!

Then i went to the counter area just in case teng saw me again.. then the P came in. i told her.. i am very thankful for the sensitivity and the special consideration to have the Chinese Laoshi taking care of teng one on one!i even told her i want to hug her! coz teng is not crying anymore.. P replied, 'aiyoh if u hug me, i can only reach ur hips!'.. ha then she went to check on teng.. sure enough.. teng was quiet by the side of the chinese laoshi..then talked and chatted.. and she agreed that teng is settlng down and attached to the chinese laoshi (thank goodness got a chinese laoshi there.. else die!).. and we can continue trying teng in purple train! hurray!
she will work out the sum for me.. i can't wait to pay her man..

then i wanted to pick teng up liao.. peeped at the same class.. no teng leh.. hmm. another class.. also not teng. went back to the first class.. aiyoh.. turns out. chinese laoshi handling a nursery class.. teaching them some chinese words.. and where was teng? right by the side of the chinese laoshi! looking on at the nursery class learning chinese, all quiet and seated!!! wah!!!
then laoshi saw me.. signaled me to knock on the door. then she told teng.. in chinese 'see mama lai le.. she knock on the door liao.. see laoshi told u mama will come and she will knock on the door right?'..
then teng got so happy to see me.. stood up.. then laoshi said ' u must give me a kiss before u can go'.. teng turned round and said byebye laoshi and went hug and kissed the teachers.. then the nursery kids said byebye to him. he said byebye back! and walked out of the room, smug and hands in pockets, smiling!! i kept thanking the cinese laoshi!!
omg is that my hysterical boy in the morning?!!!
ha

then he saw the malay teachers.. went to them and said 'avocado' to them and went 'hahaha' (haha. i told him to do that :p yesterday).. then the malay teacher went' see rayner now i can talk to u when u not crying.. avocado? having lunch for avocado?' teng just said yes.. and then byebye teacher.. blew a kiss to principal and hugged her.. then went out of the centre.. the very same parents who saw teng kicked a fuss were also there.. they went 'wah.. what a difference!' coz now teng is all beaming and smug looking with his hands in his pockets.. then they said.. 'wah this kid stylo ah!'..
hahaha..

sorry for the lost post.. but i am really relieved.. coz i was preparing myself for the worst liao..
ok. teng still cried for an hour or so. but definitely he stopped for 30 minutes and more.. i am happy liao.. and the fact i am paying the $$ soon.. no more 'centre insecurity' for me liao..

what a relief.. sorry for rattling off so abruptly like that.. but what a relief .. seriously

teng better not be playing an april fools joke on me!

RYC: I had spend quite close to that amt. Mostly is the herb and fresh ingredients.... Cos only certain fish and veg can be consumed during confinement.

Astro: I am so glad to hear that Teng is able to settle down with the Chinese teacher. He has 180 degree change from morning till he left the school.... Let's hope it will have a better beginning tomorrow.

Anyone knw wat to eat & wat nt to eat if breastfeed baby? coz my previous 2 nv breastfeed, so thinking if can tis gng to breastfeed, but heard lot of confinement food cannot eat leh, like ginger, herbal soup all tat...

Me thinking to hv post natal massage after give birth but as i will go for c-sect, n the massage can only start 3 wk to 1 month later for c-sect, dunno will it still take effect as for slimming. Anyone hv it & it still effective on u coz dun wan to waste $$$ leh...

I have the following items for sale. Please visit and for bulk purchases i can give you discounts and freebies! I will deliver to your house if it's near to Bedok and Jurong.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/gracecmx/

Also, i have a almost brand new Medela Swing to let go at $460. It comes with the cooler bag and 4 storage bottles, carry bag, additional storage bottles, valves and membranes. I'm hand expressing due to low supply and this is why i am letting it go. I've only used it 3 or 4 times. Bought it Mid-March.

Grace

joanne
If you intend to go for C-sec, surely the healing time will be slower, means slimming down also takes a longer time. But it depends on individual ultimately, if your wound heals faster. You can definitely slim down quickly too!
May I know why you insisting on C-sec.
how is ur MS coming along. Me also having bad MS, still have to work. Are you working?

Hui min: i opt for c-sect becoz my previous 2 labouring all very long, first 16 hrs in the end nd to focep out, 2nd one 14 hrs, in the end cervix only open 3 cm, so go for emerg c-sect, so for this dun wan to go thru the long labouring process anymore, pain for so long then go c-sect, double pain plus hv to pay for delivery ward & c-sect. worst. Plus i wan to ligation after this so might as well 1 time off dun hv to pain 2 times also. My ms still on & off, specially evening to nite time is the worst, will keep vomitting, giddy, tired...

Hi Joanne, once you have opt for the C-sec, the only thing that you should avoid is sesame oil... that will make making your confinement food a challenge. For the breastfeeding, the only thing that you should avoid is alcohol. Ginger and herbal soup will not be affecting your breastfeeding.
If you dun have the medical reason, I think is better to go for natural delivery.... My friend who delivered her first by C-Sec regretted her decision cos for her the total healing that more than 3 months. So for the second one, she opted for natural delivery and the healing process only take 2 weeks.... and she successfully breastfeed the second one. Because the first one, she was so in pain that she made her to give up breastfeeding.
Hope you can reconsider your birth plan.

Pu,
yah. but not one whole CUP SIZE lah. hehehe... just cant stand it when they lie so blatantly.

joyce,
u friendly charge for me isit?
thanks ah! but seriously i dont like lah. first i dont like fish. second i dont like all those funny ginger things. HOW TO EAT???

P,
great lah. now can relax a bit about "childcare anxiety".

my #1 is thru csec.. ok la.. recovery quite fast.. and also slim back to pre-preg weight within 4 mths, maybe coz of breastfeeding? hee... i took my 1st step the next day, and can drive to see gynae one week later... i think depends on individual pa... ;p

hmm.. vaginal birth after c-sectin can be tricky. coz the wound might burst.. but anyhow.. it can be done.. some gynaes are more pro-natural.. i know paul tseng in TMC is more keen on this kind.. some gynaes avoid coz of the risks associated..i think vaginal birth after C section is cshort formed.. VBAC..

jus rem for csec, after the op u MUST move ard to aid the recovery.. it is to help in the blood circulation.. the nurses and doc in MT A keep asking me to move my legs and waist.. and ask my hubby to massage my legs.. ;p

Astro: Aiyo... cannot turn 360 degree lah.... then isn't it back to square one again??? kekekeke

But anyway feel happy for you....

Jacelyn : my 2nd one also c-sect & my wound also heal very fast, next day also can go dwn bed walk arn liao...nt very painful also.

Joyce : 2nd son i hv c-sect, my mum cook the confinement food she also put seasame oil leh, i didnt knw cannot, can i knw y can take seasame oil? Cannot take alcohol i knw but i like the rice wine cook with mee suan, so think hv to skip tat liao but i also dunno whether i will give up breastfeed 1/2 way like my 2 previous one...anyway this fri c my gynae will ask him if i wan ligation which birth plan shld i take...

at 1st i also dun want csec coz some pple say csec very diff to breastfeed coz no supply.. but mine ok haha.. maybe is due to the confinement herbal soup i took during confinement.. ;p

joyce: how's ur bleeding? erm.. i am getting all confused all the mums' nick here! :S
pardon me if i asked the wrong person the wrong thing!

hrd: i think she use one cup size smaller to show off lah. hahhaa.. that's y when it looks big she say it grows one cup size bigger!

p: congrats wor! teng is showing great improvement.. i think the chinese laoshi also quite patient with him lah... she should be a pretty good teacher...

joanne: i think confinement food is fine for breastfeeding leh.. my sis breastfeed for all three kids with all the confinement food wor.. shouldnt be that bad i think...

i'm feeling so lazy...

for MTBs who remember the discussion sometime back abt mercury levels - here's the f/u (follow-up) reply from AVA:

"The imported fishes that we have monitored for their mercury level are mainly the common ones such as snappers, pomfrets, gold-banded scad, prawns, threadfins, groupers, tilapias, toothfish, salmons and mackerels. The mercury level ranges from 0 to 0.22 ppm which is vey low. Therefore, they are all safe for consumption."

jacelyn >> I've engaged a CN. agree, it isn't cheap..but since I am a first-timer, and have no MIL, mum, domestic help...boh bian..cost: $2000 incl herbs.

hi xoxolight, how much is the herbs? coz this time round want to have the herbs soup again hee.. including the bathing herbs too haha.. must bathe must bathe,..

the herbs is so ex?

i think 2 yrs ago, i only bot for ard $150++ leh.. now increase until so ex liao ah?? ;(

ya impossible not to bathe lor.. i switched on aircon and fan for my #1.. haha

mrs L: i think it is.. not so clear.. probably both hair and pigmentation.. anyway, i hpoe it doesnt happen on me.. i'm beginning to feel itch around tummy area... will moisturizing cream help as much as stretch mark creams?

could be a combo...i have a fade line below belly button and a few hair here n there...i shaved it off becos i can't stand to see it...kekekeke.

not sure about mositurizing cream. i got this 3-in-1 PALMER'S brand pack at kkh the other day @$49 instead of the usual $69 i think. The pack consists of Cocoa Butter Formula 1) Massage Cream for Stretch Marks, 2) Massage Lotion for Stretch Marks, and 3) Dry Itchy Skin Soothing Oil. They smell nice and I have not feel any itch so far. The pack also comes with a free "The Best Baby Name Book".