(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font color="ff0000">enxuan</font>
ooh!!! can get from u direct cheaper or not? hehehe....
wah.....

u only supply to shops?? or also to individuals??
then my HB can bring his clients to ur shop.. hahaa...

Rach,
Ya, I don't wash. After use, just put into box then to fridge. Only when done with last pumping at night, wash with tap water (if have lots of time and good mood, then wash with soup), and sterilise. Assembly the next morning before leaving work.

~bbq98~
you want to try my contractor? I bought window grills from him and his men installed for me when i did my renovation 2 yrs back.
Eric @ 98550633

sandwich
hmm dont sterilise the VIA cups then can use forever huh?? cos i bought the VIA cups thinking can reuse and more economical, only to found out after that i can only use it for max 5x if sterilise so now nv use.. become white elephant.. so thinking of going down philip sale to get more bottles as storage.. so 20 avent bottles is sufficient? the 125ml or 250ml? mayb i should not sterilise the VIA cups then can use longer hor...

angel
u r welcome to join us too..

Rach
i also wanna ask the same qn u asked:
"wat do u do with the remaining milk that doesnt fill up to 30ml in the milk tray??
u keep and mix with next pump to fill up one slot??
coz i always have balance 10-20ml...."

milk trays
then i also got another qn.. how do u thaw the milk sticks? in the ziplock bag? or take out and thaw in the milk bottles? I realise the 125ml Avent bottles or 150ml medela bottles are not tall enough or wide enough to put 3 or more sticks... how ar?? need to use the bigger bottles issit?

<font color="aa00aa">rach</font> - Yah I got from your supplier.. then she very nice let me have the set she reserved cause I super urgently need a change of pump to see if my milk supply will increase...

Thanks Supplier.. hehehe

<font color="aa00aa">Jul</font> - will reserve 2 bottles for you. Pm you on TT details

<font color="ff0000">milkyway</font>
no answer for my qn yet... hhaha.. i suppose we can keep till next pump then combine..
but i pump like every 24 hours or almost... coz depends on situations... so i just freeze whatever is left...

u put into the bottle and warm up direct.. no need to that beforehand...
according to shelled. it thaws faster than milkbags n warm up faster in sticks...
ooh...125ml bottles too small...alternatively, u can break into 2 then put in...

i think shelled uses Pigeon 200ml bottles...
i have the bottles too but yet to use.. still using NUK NUK 125ml bottles...

<font color="0000ff">milkyway</font> wah, 20 avent bottles? Do you know whether philips warehouse sale will have the BPA-free version of avent bottles?

milkyway, i don't sterilise the bottles i use to contain ebm, so i guess you can don't sterilise the via cups, if you are okay with it.

rach
warm direct then the bottle cannot cover leh.. cos the sticks are too long and also cannot put more than 2 inside the bottle.

paige
sandwich mentioned she's rotating with 20 bottles daily mah. Not sure if there will be BPA-free version of Avent bottles. Mrs Wong Boh-boi says there is no need to use BPA free bottles as there could be added chemicals to make it BPA free.. so far there is no side effect but who knows 20,30 yrs down the road wat will happen? so i'm just using normal ones lah.. i'm not so particular too. not even thinking of not sterilising the VIA cups so that i can use it more than 5x.. hehe.. i go by the rule "la sup jia, la sup tua" :p

btw can pm ur recipe for muffins too??

I am also a September 09 mum. I notice most mums on this thread breastfeed. Anyone decided not to breastfeed at all? I have decided to stop giving BM to my baby completely already cos I had supply issues (tried to build up supply within reasonable limits but failed), sick of sore nipples and engorged breasts, and breastfeeding just made me very unhappy and stressed out such that I couldn't enjoy my baby or get much rest. I only enjoyed motherhood more when I started combining formula and EBM but I am stopping the EBM already. Plus I did my sums and realised bfeeding is NOT cheaper with all the accessories you have to get. And I feel like kicking whoever tells me breastmilk is free.

Caspinall, it's totally your choice. For me, if I have, I give them, if I don't have enough, I don't want to lose sleep over it. What's most imp is to enjoy your time with your baby.

<font color="0000ff">milkyway</font> PMed you the recipe, not sure whether some lettering will get screwed up because Rach experience some weird letterings...maybe they don't support .doc format.

My hubby bought some BPA-free avent bottles from his colleague's wife who's working with philips, but now have warehouse sale, thought might as well pop in and get them...I thought BPA-free means no chemicals...?

Actually i haven't really started bottle feeding, but want to stock up as infant care needs quite a few bottles. Also heard from sis-in-law must change bottles like every 3 months?!!

bbq8,
thanks for your supportive reply. Its really nice to hear. I didn't know who to turn to to discuss rationally why breastfeeding is not always the first choice for some mums cos there is so much social pressure to breastfeed to fit in. and sometimes lcs and other mums look at you like you are not quite right in the head if you tell them you don't want to breastfeed. But actually there seems to be alot of medical information/journals out there which suggest doubts about the supposed benefits of breastfeeding according to my friend who is a doctor

<font color="ff3399">sandwich</font>
I got your point! No need to post twice lah...

If bb is drinking immediately from bottle then of cos its ok lah. But if freezing as stored EBM, then it HAS to be sterile. Cos from my experience, the milk actually turns slightly sour from bottles that aren't sterile prior to freezing. And the milk is only 3-4 days old? After a few times like that, I damn careful liao. Now all my storage bottles are sterile lor.

<font color="ff3399">rach</font>
DUH. Of course touch got feeling lah. But it's the normal kind of sensation as per how it was before BFing lah. If totally no sensation then really must panic liao!!

<font color="ff3399">milkyway</font>
Can always thaw 2 sticks by 2 sticks? Slowly add in? Otherwise, what I do is break the sticks in halves so they fit into the bottle easily. Never tried thawing in ziploc bag before.

<font color="ff3399">caspinall</font>
Breastmilk is only free if you do it like how they did in the old days. Without nursingwear, nursing apron, breastpumps, storage accessories, etc etc etc. I guess it all boils down to personal preference lah.

I won't deny that I enjoy the closeness between baby and me during nursing sessions, but I do not enjoy being the one to wake up to feed the baby ALL THE TIME. And I also don't enjoy pumping every few hours for #1. Sometimes I feel like switching both the kids to FM cos I get so tired and lazy to keep up with it. But i am 100% positive that my ILs and Hubs won't be very happy if I stop. And down the road I'll feel upset (ironically) for stopping BF as well, like how I felt when I decided to stop when #1 turned 6 mths old.

Shelled, you can't stop bfeeding because you have spent so much on your pumps n pretty nursing bras n tanks....:p

Return on investment is not positive yet. Jia you

Paige
thanks got ur recipe.. No probs with the words leh. Not sure abt BPA free but that's wat mrs wong bb said. Anyway doesn't matter lah. Yah I heard have to change every 3months.

<font color="0000ff">glamourmom top</font>
I have a <font color="0077aa">Turquoise, size M</font> glamourmum top which I cannot fit...anyone wants to buy off me? Tag, etc still intact

caspinall,
As I shared before, giving BM is one of the best things we can do as a mum, BUT it's not the only thing we can do. Yes, do whatever you feel right, most importantly, enjoy your motherhood!

I didn't BF my #1, and he develops very very well and stays healthy too! I BF my #2 cos there is supply and I can still cope.

People said a lot of good thing about BF cos want to encourage more mummies to BF, but those real issues that mummies are facing are rarely discussed/published. Giving FM is not an evil thing. As long as our child gets fed, and he/she is happy and grows well, that's the best thing, in my eyes. BM or FM, I take it as faith bah.

<font color="ff3399">bbq98</font>
hahahaha. This time round I splurge on nursing accessories cos I know I will definitely BF longer than 6 mths (by choice or by no choice). So since I know I can't change certain things like how I have to be the one to feed baby all the time, I can at least get the stuff that makes me FEEL that BFing is easier. Pls note the operative word being "FEEL". It doesn't really make it easier.

Thanks Kam : )
yes, that's why I feel so angry. I mean, all I hear are the supposed benefits of bfeeding but not many articles that seriously address the problems or the downside of breastfeeding! like how you can crack under the strain of having to breastfeed round the clock, engorged breasts, etc. And now my doctor friend tells me that research has shown inconclusive results about whether breastfeeding is as good as it is made out to be..after I went through so much pain guilt and spending money on a pump!

Shelled,
yes, i just read in an article online that mentions why 1 mum chose not to breastfeed her 3 kids was cos she felt that breastfeeding would set up an unequal dynamic in her marriage. like she is the one who has to feed and express and when she becomes the one responsible for feeding the baby, it just subtly shifts the domestic burden of caring for the kids on her slowly but surely. hope people are not offended by what I am posting but I don't know how to sugarcoat my words...

caspinall, i agree that if the father is not the "automatic" kind and the bb is on tbf, it will eventually be the woman's responsibility to take care of the child. i know of friends who bfeed till damn unhappy and bitter because they have to be the one to wake up, to suffer all the engorgement and inconveniences etc while the men just slept through and relax one corner.

At the end of the day, i agree with what kam said. it's a good thing, but i don't think it's the best (assuming there can only be one best thing you can give to your baby). if u are happy, your bb can feel it. if u are bitter and depressed, you won't be able to love n appreciate your bb n the journey of motherhood as much.

Michelle,
no reply yest as i was busy trying to put him to sleep. in the end i have to call Mac delivery for lunch again
(its nice once or twice after confinement but not so nice when i had to eat it twice for the same week)

for the daytime, think from 11plus to 5plus he only slept total 2 hours! not right for a 5wks plus baby right... can tell he was v tired as when carrying him he will doze off quite fast.. but before he gets to his deep sleep moment he will open his eyes big big and look at me.. or try not to fall asleep and struggle to keep his eyes open. the moment i put him down less than 5mins he woke up again :p

then i realised that all these might be bec i went out on tues from 11am to 4pm and my mother came to help me look after him. then wed and thurs he didnt want to sleep. he must be scared that i go away ! ahahaha i have a Mummy boy here.. o no!

prettymums
i use mamypoko. can hold quite well at nite as long as you following the right way of wearing. initally i didnt and leak poo and urine..

Rach
i have a "yang or" boy too... o dear mummy boy and yang or ... keep telling him he is a boy not a girl.

girly/steph
me MIA not becos i out to celebrate evryday hor. cos my mom has gone back n im v v busy at home. plus i hv resumed my driver duties so really hardly hv time for anything at all. that aside im thankful my mom stayed thru exam period to help me cos i really cant cope revision plus taking care of older kids n baby!!!n i oso v thankful exams over! at least i can let the kis go wild at home while i tend to baby. gosh how do u cope with 4 kids n no maid? i wud hv died many times over!!one of my maids who been with me for 3 yrs plus went back for good so i only left with one more good maid plus one new incompetent maid. perhaps that explains why i been extra busy cos my kids dislike her n she is so slow la!!

my kids did relatively well for exams. urs? my younger twin did better duriing sa1 but this time round its the older one. they were 2nd n 3rd last yr n last semester dunno abt this time. seriously i dun care cos no time to care lor.

everyday im rushing like mad dog. everybody has diff activities, piano lah, swimming lah, drama lah etcccc today i drove with one hand and bottle fed baby in his car seat with the other hand, even reversed parked with one hand. tell me if i super not lor. seriously v stress lah but i dun have anyone else looking aft baby for me so no choice. now i looking forward to my baby sitting up and able to play with gor gors and jie jie so can relieve me a bit. meanwhile just enjoy the moment ba?

<font color="ff0000">milkyway</font>
mmm... i think gotta use the 200ml bottles loh..
i think 125ml is too small..and u gotta break into 2?

<font color="ff0000">shelled</font>
then what abt the milk trays?? i dun sterilise them at all leh..
i only wash with tap water and bb detergent...coz cannot be sterilize..and i dun like the idea of soaking in the smelly tablets..
then how???????? my milk will go sour??????????????
siao liaoz la... i got those ziploc bags of milk leh... Mmmmm....

ehh..my touch of feeling hor.. is not like before BF de leh..its... stingy one.. not VERY stingy..
but... its "pain" kind of feel loh..
not shiok at all la... hahaha...

<font color="ff0000">Paige</font>
did i tell u Glamourmom S is better for u??

<font color="ff0000">Glamourmom Batch 2 Orders</font>
Its on liaoz hor..
those who want...send in ur orders... or get list from me.. :p

<font color="ff0000">caspinall</font>
dun worry.. we do our best. have then BF...if the benefits of not BF is better for u, why not?
Rather than to have u go bonkers...and break down ur mentality or soundness.. hehe.

<font color="ff0000">prinzess</font>
hahaha..yah... mine wails like nobody's business. haha..

<font color="aa00aa">mamato6Js</font> - Wah.. u really super leh... lol... like that also can...

My boy did much better than I expected.. I honestly just wanted him to pass cause he behaves like he knows nothing when I ask him to do assessment or asked him questions.. when he comes back, I will ask him what teacher taught in school and his reply is always "I dunno"... always homework never hand up even though it was already done.. hahah literally dreaming in class one..

Hahah but this time round his exams all he got above 80... which I'm very surprised... cause his school P1 no SA1 and no CAs so no results to compare with but I very happy liao...

<font color="aa00aa">rach</font> - If anyone wants to order bravado let me know.. my items OOS so I want to order them on the next batch k? Thanks.. Glamourmom.. may order again.. washing the tops.. maybe tomorrow can wear go out.. Yipee!

<font color="ff0000">Stephanie</font>
ahhaha..i didnt wash 2 of the tops and i wore them out before i washed them..
but i did washed my 3rd Strawberry color Long Tank!! I love it!!! ehheehe... :p

Received my Bravado Batch 2 10min ago!! wahahhaa..
i love Blush and the Bikini Panty (its not anywhere near our mentality of bikini... just a nice cottony panty...)
I received a Blush ONB and Blush Panty!! wohooo...thrown into the machine liaoz.. kekekkeke.. :p

But honestly, the panty sizes are sooo huge, i dun think anyone here can fit unless u are about my size or bigger than me...
I'm wearing Bravado's M size..and i half suspect i can order a S.... regretted again for ordering another M... should have ordered S... M is loosely comfortable...
S would be SNUG SNUG! hahahaha....
Their sizes come in S, M, L, XL!!!
If i wear S, i dunno people like bbq and Paige wears what... hahaha..
they dun have XS or XXS loh..
(no pun intended hor..)

So petite girls please dun try their panty..

But larger build mummies like me, you may wanna try.. hehehe.. :p

<font color="aa00aa">Fenugreek</font>

Fenugreek - I ordered a total of 20 bottles and its at $19.85 including shipping for 200caps.

Please pm me and add on to this list to avoid descrepancies. Here's the current confirmed bottles taken:

1) Stephie1735 - 4 bottles
2) Infinity_star - 2 bottles
3) jul_04 - 2 bottles
4)Im_emily - 2 bottles
5)
6)

<font color="aa00aa">rach</font> - Honestly if I dun have helper, think I will also wear without washing... hahaha

I ask my helper help me hand wash first... lol

Now I thinking since Bravado Tank was OOS when I ordered.. maybe its fated that I should order Glamourmom? hahahh

I wear tomorrow first and see the sizing first

Sorry, just starting read this forum again.

Stephanie>
How would I be able to collect the Fenugreek pills? I'd like to try an bottle

Rach>
What's the link to the Bravado website you're raving about
I wanna see.

Hi Marie,

You can collect it from either locations:
1) Mcnair Road (Anytime weekday)
2) Bukit Batok (Evenings or weekends)
3) TradeHub 21 (Weekday Office hours)
Or by post.

Steph

rach> de troublesome part is washing de steriliser =p actually oso dun find sterilising troublesome la. haha. juz tat lazy, n if i m back to wk, bring de steriliser meh? =p

haha. juz now went to my parents place. let my dad play with my little boy n i went to sleep after feeding him. but somehow when he go to my parents place, he will wanna sleep, at hm is eyes big big -_- tml i m dropping him at my parents place n i can go philips fair with hubby

hey. one of my glamourmom stuffs oos, supplier nv refund me, ask her how much i need topup of yummie tummie after deducting de oos item, she oso nv reply me.
she must be very bz =)

kam> power. even after pump u dun wash? juz keep in fridge. i shuld learn from u. save alot of time =p

milkyway> if u intend use long, better get the 250ml one. think very fast bb will drink more den 125ml =x i will be going down tml. dey open at 9 right? =p

caspinall> haha. ya. definitely u can choose not to bf. think got some mums here who dun bf too. dey find tat the time dey save from pumping n latching can be better spent with bb. it's all diff thinking.

paige> cannot juz give infant care glass bottles n let them transfer to milk bottles for us when dey wanna feed meh? must put nicely in milk bottles n give them?? like tat very shiong wor. i only got 5 125ml n 4 250ml bottles.

prinzess55> haha. i now decided tat as long as i feed my boy n if it's not feeding time, i'll ignore him if he cry =x got to play de evil mum here now =x

btw, wat's de correct way of wearing mamypoko?

mamato6js> wow. 2nd n 3rd. keke. congrats. but i seriously dun tink i wanna stress my boy with his studies. i remember being stressed when i was very young, so i olways ended up with bad results. n when i reached poly, my parents give up stressing me. surprisingly i did well enugh to go nus =p so maybe i dun stress my boy he can go uni too =x

Fenugreek

Fenugreek - I ordered a total of 20 bottles and its at $19.85 including shipping for 200caps.

Please pm me and add on to this list to avoid discrepancies. Here's the current confirmed bottles taken:

1) Stephie1735 - 4 bottles
2) Infinity_star - 2 bottles
3) jul_04 - 2 bottles
4)Im_emily - 2 bottles
5) Marie - 1 bottle
6)

<font color="aa00aa">mamato6Js</font> - Aiyo.. how could I have misread the 2nd and 3rd place thingy... I thought was 2nd and 3rd child's result.. hahah must be the lack of sleep.. hahah

Congrats! That's very good leh, they must be doing really well during their normal school days.. which school are they in?

michelle
yup they open at 9am.. but i think might have queue forming b4 that :p i very doubt i will be able to reach by 9am lor.. sure miss out on the cheap lobangs... u mean they will drink more than 125ml at a later stage? when will it be ar?? i dont have so much BM now!! *stressed*

<font color="aa00aa">Marie</font> - Can no prob.. but where u work or hubby work at? If we can find a point that coincides, then u can save postage.. heheh

U pm me on more details then we see how... if really cannot, we go by post k?

*michelle*
Actually i oso wash under tap water only. oso didn't use any detergent made specially to wash milk btls, teats. if i find the pump oily, i use MAMA LEMON, HAHA!! bt of course muz rinse well la.

*mama to 6Js* *Steph*
My gal was 1st in class during P1, thereafter in P2 n P3 (nw) she is in the 'so-called' the best class. Her results so far has always been within the top 10 of the level lor. Her studies wise muz give credit to daddy coz mommy is only concerned if gt scored 90marks n above or nt!! SO BADZZ! Only gt the result for math and science, the rest don't know. Faring v well for math and fairly well for science.

Bt for my gal, other than sch, she doesn't attend other extra courses or activities lor.

<font color="aa00aa">girly</font> - wah... 1st in Class ah.. hahah Congrats Congrats.. got Zhuang Yuan at home..
Wah.. top 10 of that level some more... I really envy you leh..

I don't dare to wish that for my boy leh.. ahahah he's more prone to art and play kind.. lol..

Which school is ur gal in?

milkyway> haha. i oso dun think i can reach by 9 la. cos 8am jab. need bring my boy to my mum's hm, settle him with his paracetomol, see tat he is ok, den i go off to philips ma =p

haha. of cos drink more den 125ml. u ask jul how much her boy drink =p my boy now i oso give him 100ml at 2mths liaos. nxt mth shuld be up agn =p

girlygirly> haha. i bought de bottle detergent for bb. juz tat i lazy to take out n use. n ya. most of the time juz rinse under water n when i find it oily i oso use mama lemon, cos it's oredi at my sink -_-

steph> aiyoh. see u all comparing abt sch n results. feel so stressed for my boy =p

*steph*
haha..1st was 2yrs back le! Jurong Pri...

haha..no need envy coz fingers gt short n long. nw worrying for #3 coz in two mths time, she will be off to nursery at 3.5yo. told her she will need to go sch soon and she asked: mommy...can wait till 4yo then go sch?? and she doesn't really like books. when she's happy, she juz doodle n scribble, otherwise she's juz happy playing her 'cooking cooking'.

<font color="aa00aa">mwerkz</font> - hahah aiya... just discuss only lah.. for me, I definately no stress and never stress my boy.. only expect him to pass cause I know his "pattern"... hahah

So only can see and hear then envy, hahah..

Think my #2 &amp; #3 will be better cause their temperament more to the listen to mummy and study type.. ahhaha

<font color="aa00aa">Girly</font> - Your #3 like my #1 loh.. lol... My #3 super like to read type.. not read words but read alphabets.. hahah good enough for me.. lol

He go any place, eg KFC, he will start reading " "T-H-A-N-k" Mummy see T!!!" hahahah

Have you ever done the DISC evaluation for your kids? I have determined that my #1 is a I kid... prefer to humour others, more prone to art and is a follower...

So this type of kids cannot force them study one.. must have a different approach