(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font color="0000ff">shelled</font> my exact sentiment! every morning wake up swollen, painful, wet and cold! hahaha...so am wondering if breasts knows how to differentiate DAY and NITE...day produce more as baby latches on every 2 hrs, and night produce less as baby sleeps through for 7 to 8 hrs now...

I'm soo tired.. Think my milk supply is dropping

just when im complaining abt my hb here, i went into the room n was shocked to find him carrying baby n rocking himself to sleep. haahaaa!! first time in his life lor!! i didnt on the monitor just now, baby must hv cried n i couldnt hear n he was in the room. then after rocking he gently put him down on the bed beside him n continued to pat his butt. haha.. God must hv heard me. i told my hub, im impressed! keep it up!!!

<font color="ff3399">Jul</font>
How come your ParentCraft number is mobile number?? Mine is landline de leh! 6251 4060. HOW COME ARH??!

rach
u mean ur bb hasnt fed from 9am to 4pm?? thats really long leh. if i were u i dun care whether she will reject my breasts later on not lor, i will just give her ebm first. she seems to be on nursing strike but this is a temporary phase most of the time, no issue. i will settle her hunger first lor

<font color="ff3399">Paige</font>
Tough luck, man. If anything, your boobs will just only make more milk at night due to rest and rejuvenation of your body. What I did to alleviate the situation back then was to pump and empty before I went to bed. So at least it only overflows much much later, rather than 3-4 hrs after i go to bed. You try try lah.

<font color="ff3399">Jul</font>
Wei, how come?! You so hardworking wor.

<font color="ff3399">mama to 6Js</font>
Congrats!! This is better than striking 4D hor?

went for pap smear and follow up yesterday...cleared for massage and crunches
massage and toned tummy..here i come!!!! haha

Paige,
Thanks for sharing , I shall start praying for a good night rest for both of us !! So far she sleeps after every feed. I will try to keep her awake for the 7pm feed then by the last feed which is usually 9 or 10pm then let her sleep. Its good that your little princess entertains herself, mine always want to be cuddle. Today I started to let her settle on the bouncer chair, don’t carry her ! So far its working, fingers crossed. .
Twiggy,
Which pouch sling did you get ? The Pupsik or MIM ? I am thinking of getting pupsik !! If you need to get rid of yours then maybe I can help to buy it off from you then you won’t be stuck with it? Let’s hope the colour of your sling is what I want !!
Rach,
Don’t get too worried, feed her EBM first. Didn’t she cry for milk ? Should be hungry after so many hours !!

Pam,
You are working in the day, yet at night you still latch her on. You must be tired in the morning ?

feed amt> actually these amts is not based on how big ur kid is. rather is based on ur bb's weight. my bb is 8wks old, but only 4.9kg. tink previously there was a formula posted here as to how much bb shuld be taking. weight(kg)*120/no of feeds a day.

sonnigt3> dun latch her meaning u bottle feed her?

paige> wow. ur bb sleeps thru. so good. how many ml is her last feed? keke. give ur milk to dog =p

shelled> ya lo. ok la. if u get more milk at each pump, saves time, den is money well spent lo =p

huishan> no leh. when breast feels hard harder to express leh. as in if 3hrs i can get 120ml. means 6hrs i shuld be gettin 240ml. but only manage to get 160max. de other 80ml lost or stucked.

bernice> i think it's common for bb to poo once every 5days too. not sure if fm bb's same. but bm bb's can be like tat

lynn> might be interested if size fits me. can give me link to see sizing n items u have? thanx

rach> erms. but my boy is smaller den ur gal in terms of weight ma. feed amt not based on age.

alot of yummie tummie tat i wan oos liao. thinking still wan orrder or not -_-

<font color="0000ff">lina</font> wow, your baby is mature enough to self support her head well? can sit on bouncer chair already! Yes, hope you both can have a good night's rest...it really helps with the milk supply too :p

<font color="0000ff">michelle</font> i latch my baby, so I don't know how many 'ml' she has before sleep, but enough to make her sleep for 7 to 8 hrs lah :p

<font color="0000ff">michelle</font> actually i don't really follow the formula to calculate amount to feed leh, I just measure her weight every week, if she grows, I happy, she's 8 weeks 2 days, 2.5kg at birth and now 5.6kgs, so i think my body is producing sufficient milk for her lah...

<font color="aa00aa">Pam</font> - I buy 7 frozen packs once weekly... So just have to reheat everyday.

Its interesting that you will not be able to boil the same taste as them... got extra ingredients one.. lol..

Its the same fish soup served in their wards..
Yummy

<font color="0077aa">stephanie</font>
buying fish soup from tmc? how to &amp; where u buy.. from the cafe? they take in orders? :p
i luv the food in tmc ward!.. lol

<font color="ff3399">Steph</font>
I also want the fish soup!! How to buy? How much? I super duper loveeeeeee the fish soup! But only the fish soup cos I generally don't like hosp food. It's so devoid of meat.

Lina,

Tired I am... I even teared because my eyes were burning this morning at 5.30am whilst talking to Shelled on MSN whilst pumping... I latch her in the morning or night.. No fix.. It depends... I'm dead tired after I'm done with all the washing, sterilizing etc...

Stephanie,

The soup is just fish right? Why don't you add green papaya to it and boil again? Maybe you will get more milk? =3

Angeline,

Wipe with clean cool water after feeds and keep clean and dry.. Near the mouth, I don't think you can apply anything.

Angeline: i use calendula cream for my bb for rashes on her face wor... could it be milk rash?

reusable pads: came across a BP on reusable pads- lunapads. It works almost like Bumwear i think hahaa just that the lining can wash..

Paige: wah your dog very shi2 huo4 leh! Even my tam jiak dog was given BM last time (tenant express de), she sniff sniff then walk away...

<font color="aa00aa">Jess, Waiwai, Shelled</font> - You can get from the 155 Cafeteria... the one up one flight of stairs.

I buy 7 bowls frozen fish soup and its about $49+. One box think about $6.50 if I'm not wrong...

But hor, their soup sometimes nice sometimes not nice one leh... lol No QC hahaha... I have ordering since I discharged...

Their number is 62580963. Must order at least one day in advance one k... Actually they do sell this soup in cafeteria one but only when there are extras after serving inpatients, which normally dun have extras one.. lol. They are the same kitchen serving inpatients one...

The Chinese lady there already know who I am cause I order every week.... hahah she remembers my name liao.. lol

And she advise max keep soup for 7 days to retain freshness...

RE: RACH

Her bb is down wif fever so i guess tats the reason why her gal doesn't want milk....must be feeling uncomfortable somewhere tats why rejecting milk.

<font color="ff0000">Pam</font>
Rayanne feeds 10-12 times a day...and recently reduced to 8-10 times...
but last 2 days its 6 times!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

and since 9am, she hasnt latched on, i called TMC Parentcraft...
she advised to give her bottle since she doesnt want my breast..maybe not feeling well or too shocked with my strong letdown on my right..

after i pumped out and give her the bottle, she stopped after 5min... and only drank 25ml..
then started crying non stop...
i took her temp, 37.7... then wanted to send her Mount A, but realised nobody to see her even if i sent her there..
so decided to go to PD...

PD says chang wei bu hao, tats why no appetite and maybe feels like vomiting also....
and her poo at the PD was greenish black in color... with green streaks of dunno what.. like seaweed...
but even at home when i changed her it was still mustard color...dunno why reach PD became greenish poo...

and the crying at nite could be colic...tummy got wind...

so given medicine to get rid of wind and pain, and diarrhoea and another to improve appetite....

just now reached home wanted to latch her, she screamed and cry at my breasts again.....
bo bian, i warmed another bottle for her.......

now mum is feeding her...and i'm pumping hard....
siaoz liaoz..
1st time i feeling soooo stressed abt BF........
if she reject my breasts forever then i die......... does any mummy experience such things?
will she ever want my breast again??????

no........ my breast is too fast for her,....... i press the milk flows out in gushes.........
and she hasnt been on bottle for 3 weeks since CL left....
sun nite was the 1st bottle in 3 weeks and she was still drinking on sun nite and morning.. it was mon evening suddenly she cries at my breast...
and till now............. >.<"

at least u latched and Kairi wants... Rayanne totally screams and yells and PUSH me away!!!!!!!!!!!!
*Stressed*

<font color="ff0000">Jul</font>
dun shove in how to latch huh..................she see my breasts coming she scream liaoz.......................

<font color="ff0000">shelled</font>
i was given the same mobile number when i called the land line earlier on..... 91193502....

<font color="ff0000">mama6</font>
yah... i tot if she's hungry enough she'll take my breasts but i was so wrong....
she still didnt and in the end i pumped out fresh ebm for her..she stopped after 5min..and only on our way to the clinic..then she drank the bottle..
abt 125ml she finished...at 6pm... means she didnt drink from 9am - 6pm....
my mum just gave her another 100ml....930pm....

i really pray this is temporary.. but why huh??
if she rejects my breasts till tmr, i'll make an appt to go down to TMC liaoz.......
man... i was just thinking in my head how nice that i DUN have to go to TMC parentcraft........
and this had to happen.. i'm feeling stressed pumping for the 1st time..
and i threw away 1Litre of EBM 2 days ago..................... >.<'

<font color="ff0000">Michelle</font>
yah.. my girl is 5.11kg now... weighed at PD earlier on....

i'm feeling STRESSEEEDDDD for the 1st time in 7 weekkkks!!!!!!!!!!

paige> so good leh. latch can last 7-8hrs. omg. when can my boy tahan 7-8hrs???

wah wah. ur gal growing faster den my boy. keke. happy for u too

stephanie> lol. must specifically go tmc buy fish soup?? very nice?? how much is one pack of frozen fish soup? maybe i shuld try too =p

wow. quite costly hor de fish soup? maybe i shuld try it one of dese days n see if it's really nice. =p

rach> oo. u nv take ur bb temp daily?

*rach*

u mean ur girl is nt latching bt prefers btl nw? don't think there's anything to do wif the pacifier...hope she is juz behaving tis way coz she is unwell...hope she will feel better soon and latch on as usual after tat...

and why r u throwing away ur precious EBM??

rach
i want the shortie!! wait for me.. i give u my order later.. when is the dateline?? but hor i'm also thinking like paige if i should order 1 size smaller.. keke..

oh dear.. hopes ur gal gets well soon!!

shelled
not sure is my gal is growing or wat so she dont need to be fed often or was it due to her stuffy nose leh.. now still need to monitor awhile to see if she will slp thru going forward also.. keke.. i hope so lah.. but my breasts will suffer if i tahan till morn lor.. :p

flower4
not sure if my gal is tam jiak or wat but she does not have probs with my breasts, pacifier or the bottle teats.. i'm using avent and medela teats. U might have to trial and error.

Btw for mummies who are returning to work after ML, do try to introduce bottle-feed to ur babies earlier as my fren told me some babies might reject bottle. So i already introduce bottle from 3rd wk.. starting with once a day.. then now i try to latch and feed bottle only when i'm going out without bb... so far so gd :p

<font color="ff0000">girly</font>
coz that day no more space to store.. so i threw away those in bottles and odd shaped milkbags.......
>.<"
wanted to soak my feet but that was the day she fell... no time to soak....already warmed up lo....then midnite i threw all away....

ya... she'll drink frm bottle now... but screams at my breasts... if she still reject tonite..tmr i'll make appt go TMC liaoz..

I Feel Like An IDIOT!!!!

I didn't bring my funnels home!!! I had put them in the fridge in the shop... I took out my EBM... But left my funnels in the fridge, to only realize only when I'm home and need to pump!!! @#$^%

Mamato6,

I finished my last customer at 10+, finished doing daily sales at 10.30pm... Keep thinking must take my EBM out of fridge.... Send staff home... Didn't think of funnel... >.<

I went out of the room after realizing that I didn't have the funnels and said.. "Kill Me I forgot about the most important part of the pump!"

In the end HB drove all the way back.. Opened shop... And took it back...

Sonningt3,
yalor, he oso a baby, my baby look like him I will use ur method..

I did talk to my hubby jus now. He say he simply angry with himself why he can pacify bb and he keep crying like very cham..

Mamato6js,
Ur baby sooo patient,,so good, my hubby whenever bb cry he will quickly run to baby and try to dun make him cry… run faster then me ..

I have talk to him again, about nanny, he say as my last incident with Lisa Chin who oso experience in her line, also fail us.. Nanny experience yes but see lisa chin example? He say he will give himself a chance for 1week see how things works.

Now we manage to figure out, infact bb crying out his lung is due to teats he dun like….sigh.. so weird last two attempt, bb actually drink…

Im going back to work mid nov ,u think I still have enuf time? I jus go grap pigeon peristic nipple M size cuz I have existing one NB size, I tried jus now, bb cry again…sigh…

Jul,michelle
As compare to you I really didn’t do my homework well lor, maybe I got MS til 7-8months preggie…

Yes, I think my last resort will be infant care, since hubby say will give himself chance to tackle of bb cry for one more week.. or til end of the year , then he will find new job… when bb are more stable

Itsy,
Finger cross, later 4am I let hubby try on pigeon teats we jus bot S size..

Lina,
I keep having neg thought duno why, I jus cant help it… am on diet ,cant take junk, or else effort wil be wasted….

Kam,
He answer, he have to stop his paisai…if baby cry 10mins , he say tat will abit too long to react, mus really find all means of solution to sooth baby.. example, bring him for a walk.

Ya, by seeing your post on FM, I feel much a ease now, not as guilty to have FM into my mind..less stress, but I will try my very best to BM til the last if realy cant I go partial FM first..

Thnk is the bottle teats, will try the pigeon one see how. We tried NB size but fail so we jus bot M size… I jus cant have a cool mind like yours KAm….

Girly,
I will try the pigeon one size M if fail, I try tollyjoy, Pray Hard. Oh God..

Bbq98,
Temp of milk my hubby will turn the pigeon warmer to 70 once Frozen EBM melt, he will turn to 40, but its hot type , he will leave the EBM to cool down a little then feed baby…

THANK YOU very much!!! Mummies.. all your advise &amp; encouragement really help alots, I felt much better now… if don’t have tis thread I duno where am I now…..

-> Frozen ebm has wierd taste

hey mumies, any of u know if ebm tt has been frozen b4 will have a metallic/fishy taste n smell? Mine does n I din dare to feed my bb with it

not sure if this is due to the sensible lines milktray as it is not airtight n might mix with the food smell. Any mummy using the milktray n oso experiencing the same?

<font color="ff0000">Michelle</font>
no leh.. i never take temp daily... it didt occur to me to do that....... >.<"

<font color="ff0000">Pam</font>
ooh...at least ur HB can drive back to get it.. he's really nice..

<font color="ff0000">xiaowei</font>
i think my milk itself when i latching my girl already has a mettalic smell..
for fishy, i heard frozen ones does have that smell..but some says fishy means spoil alos...
not very sure wor....

my girl slept from 11plus till now....last bottle fed at 930pm...
i tried to latch her...she closed her lips tight tight... but no cry or anything.. so i leave her alone..
dun dare to pump in case she wakes up later i no milk to try latching... think i shall go back to sleep and see if she wakes up later...

demoralisd....

<font color="aa00aa">Pam</font> - its the same papaya fish soup served in TMC wards
Later I going TPY Kiddy Palace buy new teats for baby so I will go ur shop pass u the Goat's Rue for u to try k

<font color="aa00aa">rach</font> - phone number difference is cause the HP number is supposed to be exclusive for TMC mummies... the Parentcraft lady told us cannot give the mobile number to other non TMC mummies cause else TMC mummies cannot get through. This is like an "extra" srevice for TMC mummies whom encounter problems...

For ur girl, maybe the knock scared her so slight fever and green poo?

<font color="aa00aa">mwerkz</font> - Fishsoup: like I say no QC at times but their fish soup is effective for BM... think got put fenugreek seeds cause at times soup inside have small small seeds...
but its really yummy when its the rich and nice soup

<font color="aa00aa">Xiaowei</font> - heated BM smells like that, like metalic taste... as long as you never put the BM outside for too long, it should be safe for your baby lah

<font color="aa00aa">Baby crying and struggling while drinking</font> - My boy today also like that and I realised that its time to change teats. Think the single whole teat for him is too slow... after 1 month, I am supposed to change to Size 2 teats... So tomorrow I go buy and see how... should solve the problem

<font color="ff0000">Steph</font>
haha.. i not the one who asked why diff... its shelled.. hehehe...
but i called main line and she gave me that hp number to call.. wooohoo...

i certainly hope so and that she'll not reject my breast anymore..she dun even want to go near my breasts.... faint....

oh u mean size 1 only meant for 1 month?? i tot 1-3months????

21min and i have 150ml.. think pretty normal.. but its after 5 hours.. hur hur... i shall be up at 630am to pump again..man.. this is so sad........

<font color="aa00aa">rach</font> - Size 1 for Avent think is Newborn... Size 2 is 1 month... wait I go find...

Oops, was shelled har... hehehe... sorry

Found this on Avent's site:
Which teats and why?
The teat size is important as these are designed to suit babies at the
different stages of their development. Most packaging bear age indications
to help guide you on finding the right teat. Keep in mind though, that these
indications are approximate as babies develop at different rates. You will
know when your baby is ready to move into a faster flow rate because he or
she will try to suck harder to get the milk more quickly. They may also show
signs of tiredness or frustration during feeding.

Source:http://www.consumer.philips.com/consumerfiles/pageitems/master/categorypages/AVENT_Bottlefeeding_2009/assets/pdf/bottle-feeding-guide.pdf- Page 2

Rach,
wow 21mins 150 ml.. i can only yield 60ml.
well done..

Paige,
Attempt to train my girl to slp through the night. mission FaILed.

flower4> nvm abt doing homework k. at least u r trying ur best now. need any help or queries, de mummies here will gladly help u. but do take note tat infant care registration n space allocation on first come first serve basis. n not olways have vacancy wor. so if want, must decide fast

xiaowei> think i read before tat frozen milk got wierd taste. but my bb nv reject. so i juz give it to him. so far no prob

rach> haha. do remember take daily temp from now on. esp when bb acts wierd

keke. my bb slept from dunno wat time to 4am. wow. last feed ard 10pm. so happy =p

stephanie> oo. so de fish soup good for milk supply? keke. ok. will go try =p

lina> slowly ba. dun rush into increasing milk supply

<font color="aa00aa">mwerkz</font> - hahaha increase supply with fish soup coming out from my mouth like not convincing hor cause nothing seems to work for me but many mummies say it works. I do think it works too even though my supply low..

flower4,
ummm no chocolate too ? Well then be strong hang in there, this too will pass. In a year time, you may look back &amp; laugh over this. When you start having negative thoughts, think the motherhood forum, think of positive stuff !!

huh? size 1 is newborn? den my bottles n teats all for nb. grrs. so many haven use oso. nvm la hor? let him dun use so fast n be so fussy =x

Dr confimred baby and I have got thrush. That explains the sore nipples despite bfing for quite awhile, and the baby's fussiness and discomfort when feeding. Mummies who have these symptoms, please dont ignore it and think the discomfort is normal, otherwise you end up getting fed-up with breastfeeding and give up.

ACcording to the sites, the symptoms include :
- Sore nipples which are whitish, pink or red at the tips
- Sharp shooting oain in breast before and after feeding
- Baby fussing during feeding (because of pain in mouth)
- sometimes white spots can be seen in the baby's cheeks.

http://www.moh.govt.nz/moh.nsf/indexmh/breastfeeding-questions-thrush

http://www.breastfeedingonline.com/yeast.shtml

oh manz. partialy sucess in bottle feed with new pigeon size M.

hubby lost his temper again , initially bb suck but 3-4mins. bb cry &amp; refuse again.. and when i say isit the temp not right. he say , do u think im so crazy to give bb hot milk and cause hurtto him? say why i blame him when bb fail to drink..?

i see bb cry &amp; cry. i go take over with the bottle, initially oso cry , about 1mins of cruddle and soft spoken to bb, u wan milk ah, then i play the pigeon teats around his mouth, 1st attemp to put in he cry,, so i takeout then i play again around his mouth..and 3 time i pop all into his mouth, bb suck cry a little and he suck all the way and finished 50ml EBM bottle..

at least he suck...

Praying hard later will try again, hope he will suck..

Michelle,thanks , for reminding me infant care need book early, i almost forgot. will take tat into consideration.

Lina,
i think my mainly stress is my hubby handling bb , really freak me out. he feel tat i blame him if bb keep crying or refuse to take bottle. i only say isit too hot or temp .. he say not hot, its warm but not hot tat kind near to room temp... maybe i not tactful plus he too feel sad &amp; stress when bb crying very cham...

Rach,
i can understand ur feeling..when are u going back to work?

paisay i have lost track, who working mum who full time mum..

at what temp should i bring baby to see doc??
her temp has been going up and down since last night, but very hard to get an accurate reading since she keep struggling. highest we got was 39, but 1 hour later, it can drop back to 36
go hospital already? or pd will do