(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Good morning ladies! I am looking to Friday! Yippee but then I am very busy on weekend entertaining my little ger.
I am tempted to bring her to the splash park at sembawang shopping centre this weekend.
http://www.capitalandretail.com/malls_sg_ssc_open.html

Today I took the MRT as I miss the express bus, the train was crowded as usual and there was this uncle who step on my toes with his leather shoes! Luckily I switched from heels to a comfy "auntie" scholl slippers though it doesn't fit my outfit and the thick leather soften the impact or else I think the whole toe nail will drop off.

I feel it's good to invest in a good pair of footwear during pregnancy especially on rainy days, slippery floors etc.

weldonmummy, nw are u ok? Have the bleeding stopped? I used to buy my maternity clothes fr Taiwan yahoo too, they have nice t shirts, cheap and nice!

mtb, jul, I woke up at 1, 3 and 5 last night. My notti ger always woke up ard that time to “disturb” us.
When I was expecting her, the situation become worse during 3rd trimester, my mum asked me to bring a potty out, I was looking for toilet every 10mins, v chiam especially there’s long Q.
Yesterday when I went for dinner with my hb, I also have to look for the loo 3 times :p
Mtb, u wake up so early! U must be a teacher..heeehee..

Hi weldonmummy
oh so the same website i ordered
phewwwwww
I haven't collected items scare the outlook from website will VARY

Hi Kiddo
not bad already still have peck on cheek
Mine I have to ask him to wish me at times

jeslyn, hope you are well now. My colleague bled during her 17 or 18 weeks, her gynae say it's not a serious issue because the placenta is growing and it sort of "pressing" down on the womb causing bleeding. With enough rest, the bleeding stopped after 1 week.
Moreover her placenta is slightly low so it's not advisable for her to walk too much too.
Some mummies are very lucky, can go jogging, swimming, yoga throughout their pregnancies. While some have to take extra care. For me, I rather take extra care to be safe than sorry. keke..

susanna

Hmm.. I have probs finding good flat footware. Coz my feet are very naughty. They aws get cut by shoes, even flat & suppsoedly soft & leather ones.

WeldonMummY,
i still cant see my baby gender yet too... i been drinking chicken essence 2-3 times a week since week 6...dun dare to drink it everyday scare too heaty

jul,
i been veri careful leh...oso dunno y last wed will suddenly hv spotting again..the whole mth of Feb was veri gd for me...totally no spotting..
nowadays i try not to walk or move too much...my gynae told me usu by week 14 chances of spotting will reduce drastically..

susanna,
ya ok now lo...hopefully no more spotting...keepin my fingers crossed. how do we knw if our placenta is low? my gynae nv told me anything abt my placenta leh...wenever i asked her y i will hv spotting she wil told me usu it's norm and it's common esp during 1st tri.

Maybe it's just placenta moving or dunno what lor. Sometimes we really dunno what happens hor? Can only try our best to take precautions.

susnna

EYS at sembawang shopping centre only give out the coupons on sat & sun from 10-12 tis week, and yEs u can collect them on tis sat if u reach there b4 10am

me not sure going down anot cuz its pretty far.

delfine

not all pple the same la. there also have good germans out there. my boss is a german. :p

shoes
when i was preg with #1, i switched to wearing flats totally. had a pair of timberland and dr martens that i wear to work daily. also wore adidas on occasional fridays. since 2006, i haven't worn a single pair of heels because wearing flat shoes is so much more comfortable - both during pregnancy and when bringing bb out!

Jul
<blockquote>I also have problems getting flats. Recently, I passed by a shop at Jurong Point. I think it's at Level 1 or B1. They have a shop selling very comfy flats. But not branded lah. Price is reasonable, from $9.90 onwards. I bought it in Jan and have been using the shoes for about 2 months. So far so good, but I don't know how long the shoes will last.
The shoe shop is opposite a row of eateries. I can't remember the name of the shop though.</blockquote>

new mtb

Hmm Jurong Point too far for me lah haha. Bue $9.90 very cheap hor? Even if last only 3 mths also v worth liao lor.

hey jul, maybe u can try pumps from cotton on. they are veri comfy and soft! i bought myself a pair last mth and been wearing it everyday since then. Currently they hv promo 2 pairs @ $25.

re: shoe,

when should we wear flats ah?

now im approaching 15weeks. have been wearing heels since, some mummies fantastic , wear heel til given birth. silut.

flower4

Actually it's up to u. PPle will say afer to wear flats coz less accident prone, but if u can manage, &amp; it doesn't cause u any probs...

rach
caught you on TV last nite but I only watched the chicken rice and yong tau foo. I think you kenna suan when tasting chicken rice right? You probably thinking, "going to throw up, what to say?"!

The yong tau foo looks good. Is it really good? I used to frequent that hawker centre many years ago when I was studying near there. Hardly go to AMK area after me and my parents moved out of the North. Doubt I'll go all the way there to try lah.

flower
dang shen and dang Gui are quite different. Dang Shen looks like little pieces of branches/wooden stems. Its for bu qi. Dang gui is good for women but I'm not sure whether you should take it during pregnancy coz it is quite a strong herb. I think better avoid.

flower4, jul,

i'm still wearing heels too but now i cut to lower heels and kept all my high-heels away...
i've also bought a pump from cotton on.. think there is more than 1 outlet.. i bought mine from bishan J8

Btw anyone going down taka bb fair this wkend? is it worth buying anything now? seems early still leh.. will there b anymore such fairs coming later mid yr, mayb during GSS?

jul,
erm...im not sure abt wisma basement...but PS cfm hv...hehe. they hv lotsa colors to choose frm too!

flower4,
hi, act i started wearing flats since the day i realised im preggie. cos im oso veri clumsy so better for me to wear flats. scare i fall dwn!

jeslyn Do rest well and take care.

WeldonMummY Thanks for sharing the maternity wear website. Am currently growing out of my current clothes liao. Have to start buying maternity clothes but those sold in singapore are quite ex. about $70-$90 leh.

Now i got any source to buy clothes liao. haha. But are there any begining and cut-off dates for the purchases?

sandwich
I'm like you. Even after giving birth, I have been wearing flats and at most low heels. Coz I have to carry my baby around everyday. Safer to wear flats. I once saw a mummy carrying a son and fell down a few steps together with him. So dangerous but luckily she wasn't seriously hurt. When I think of that, I always put safety before vanity. But that means I have so many nice pairs of heels that are being shelved. Used to wear 2 1/2 to 3 inch heels all the time in the past. In fact, when I went to HK in Dec, I bought 3 pairs of shoes, 2 pairs of heels and 1 pair of flats. Now I'm only wearing that pair of flats to work. One of the pair of the heels haven't even seen daylights yet.

flower
better to start wearing flats already. As we get heavier, your balance will be affected so flats are less accident prone. Also, less stress on the legs and less water retention. If you are going to buy new flats, my advise is to buy soft leather ones which can stretch as your feet will get bigger during pregnancy. And of course, don't buy too tight, give some allowance. After preg, most of the shoes you wear during preg will be too lose but sandals no prob.

all out for lunch? My MS quite bad yesterday and today. Guess it is because I got complacent and did not follow a regular eating schedule. Had late breakfast today and came to office and puke water and gastric juices. Yesterday afternoon, no time for tea break so just took a few oreo cookies. Went home, straight away rush to toilet and puke a lot. Having nausea since this morning even after puking and lunch also not much appetite. Having said that, I think I am eating more on the overall coz I'm eating more meals so managed to put on about 2kg so far. Less than my first pregnancy though.

Hi Girls,

how are u girls today?

My doc called me earlier to say my blood test for Thal n other blood count normal.. so quite glad..

I wan to check with u all.. the fish oil u all take is doctor give one or u all buy on your own one?

hi Sheryn,
I only take supplements provided by my doc. Safer. Fish oil comes from many sources. Some may be derived from fish that have high contents of mercury which is not suitable for preggies.

Also, my gynae has not started me on fish oil yet. I think she previously gave me later, nearer last trimester or after 20 weeks I think.

yesterday went for oscar test n blood test. doc have not call me yet on the results. Hand still got some bruise, due to blood test. i guess is quite normal.

anw for fish oil, the gynae recommend me to buy 2 box of Kidabion Omega 3. is meant for kids. Anw i bought another 2 at NTUC. Having promotion. 2 at $25.00. Clinic charge me 2 for $50.00. anw gynae also give me multi vitamins in pink. wat other brands to recommend?

Good afternoon ladies, feeling so sleepy after a heavy lunch! I realized that I really luv eating rice! I just had prawn fried rice from Golden Shoes and also a cuppa of Apple+Carrot Juice. I tried Apple+carrot+celery juice and it’s yummy too.
I am v tempted to get ice cream from Awfully Chocolate but I really cant stomach that anymore.

Rach look very sweet and photogenic on TV! I miss the Tim Sum part, where is it?

flower, Thanks for your info, I am not sure whether I can wake up so early, “nan de it’s sat” can sleep late..haha..

Heels
Actually I have been wearing heels to work daily until I discovered my pregnancy, it’s less straining on the backache and also my workplace, Raffles is v crowded so it is quite impt to get a good pair of flats to take train, go for lunch etc.

Jul, how about scholl? Birkenstock? Birkenstock have W (wide) sizes so might be more comfy and less friction on ur feet too.
I just joined a Birkenstock spree and I can’t wait to get hold of mine soon.

Jes, This is wat my frd’s gynae told her. However my 1st pregnancy during the detailed scan show that my placenta is on the low side too. I have to take care and avoid strenuous exercise.
It’s common to bleed during 1st trimester but the most impt is to take extra care, rest and avoid carrying heavy stuff.
Take more tonics and nutritious food too, keke..

mamijoan, Poor thing, drink more water to stay hydrated and hope your appetite will increase this evening.
Yesterday I had a very full lunch and got v bad gastric in the afternoon. Luckily I kept some Actual Antacid in the office or else I will be in deep trouble.
I put on weight too, around 2-3 kgs and hopefully I will gain less than 15kgs for this pregnancy, keke..

Sheryn,
my gynae havent gave me any fish oil supplements yet leh...

Huishan,
i went for my oscar and blood test last sat and my gynae called me up the following me to tell me abt my blood test results. im so surprised the results are out so fast. luckily all is well...

susanna,
i love apple+carrot juice too! usu i will drink 2-3 times a week. havent tried apple+carrot+celery thoug..maybe shall try 1 day. keke

u mean i will onli know if my placenta is on the lower side during the detailed scanning? Detailed scanning is usu done btw 18-22 weeks rite? so far my gynae nv tell me anything abt my placenta position leh..

so envy those of u who can put on weight...i lose abt 1.5kg during my 1st tri and onlu manage to gain back abt 1kg during my most recent gynae checkup. i been drinking milk twice a day since week 8...hopefully can gain to my desirable weight for this pregnancy.

jul,
mine's not the sandal type. it's slip in and quite guyish in design. i wear with socks to work with my pants. susanna suggested scholl and birkenstock. i dunno if birkenstock have covered shoes for work, but scholl definately does.

Mamijoan >

oh true.. my cousin passed me some leftover neurogains fish oil.. but last me only a week.. so i asked from doc.. but was told by nurse that i hv to pay for it at 60 bucks for a bottle which last for 2 mths. I find it quite ex.. and how come its not incl in the package one.. since i just took up the package last sat.

Huishan >

so the fish oil doctor is giving me is like so ex hor.. urs 2 for 50 leh.. mine one bottle 60 bucks.. why liddat? Like kena tok!

hi all.. does 1st trim end at the 12 or 14 wks? i'm now into my 12wk... hope 1st trim has already ended.. and this wk i noticed my tummy look big esp after i eat leh... is my tummy suppose to b showing so soon? going for my 3rd checkup tmr.. wonder how much weight i have gained!

susanna, u r working in raffles area too... me too.. i always get food from golden shoe.. mayb we can arrange a lunch with mummies working in the region...

milkyway,
first trimester is up to 12 weeks. Guess tummy grows at different rate for different ppl. Mine grew quite fast during 1st pregnancy. I started to wear maternity clothes from early 2nd trimester. This time, #2 even faster coz skin and muscle not as tight. I look easily 4 mths pregnant and in the evening, even 5 mths pregnant.

Fish Oil
I posted this be4:

I felt a bit cheated at the KK pharmacy, I compared 2 fish oil and the cashier auntie recommended
"Neurogain" to me instead of "Dhaxtra Softgel". However when I get back and compare
the ingredients (my frd gave me her Dhaxtra leftover), I realised Dhaxtra is so much better!
After I finished Neurogain ($38), I get Dhaxtra($30) somemore it's cheaper!

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>Neurograin</TD><TD>Dhaxtra </TD></TR><TR><TD>DHA</TD><TD>325</TD><TD>430 </TD></TR><TR><TD>EPA</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>90 </TD></TR><TR><TD>AA</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>OA</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>NA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Olive Oil</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>94 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Equiv Oleic Acid</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>70 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tocopherol</TD><TD>4.6</TD><TD>4</td></tr></table>

I am taking Bhatrax now, my frd get hers at $58+ from her gynae and it’s selling at $30 in KK. Meanwhile my friend who’s working in a clinic is helping me to check with her supplier whether I can get a better discount.

jes, try the celery, it add a refreshing taste. I took kiwi and strawberries too, help to curb constipation. Heehee..
So far if gynae nvr mention, placenta should not be a issue. Detailed scan is ard 20 weeks, another 2 months so we gotta be patience but then for bleeding, there are a lot of unknown reasons too as I read somewhere that during pregnancy, the womb lining is thick and bleeding is quite common.

sandwich, I am not sure about covered shoes but do check out the varieties of Birkenstocks here.

http://www.footshopping.com/main.cfm?wgID=155&amp;MI=31&amp;MID=22339

milkyway, No problem! Probably I've seen u be4! I cant get enough of G.S. There's so much yummy food at good prices!
What is your lunch time? Mine is at 12.

chinkerina> hahaa... I'm from Prudential Assurance.. MTBs, i provide unique financial solutions to meet individual's needs..

Jul> nachos is normal.. its those they got from supplier... the salsa is too fresh for me.. haahaha... I'm too used to those canned salsa... very saucy...
this one has a lot of ingredients in it.. i dunno how to appreciate.. but the taste is nice... i only dare to dip the sauce and eat...
alot of onions and etc... hahaha... not sure if i'll eat with the salsa again....

The cheese is VERY creamy.. has a little indian taste to the cheese.. some spice i guess....
both HB and I had like 10% of the chips.. and we are gelak liaoz....
the chips is really alot... i thinnk its like 8-10 portions of what we get from GV cinemas....

Will prob eat once or twice a week..not everyday.. now i think of the taste i abit scared.. hahahah...

haha.. ops.. too bad.. this one no repeat telecast.. unless u got mobtv. hahaha.. :p

yes yes... i have prob looking for foot wear too.. always get cut one... blisters all over.. so sianz..

sandwich> whats puriton for???

mama> the dim sum is really not bad.. but i was really full by the time i was there.. i was like 8-10 weeks pregnant then already... be glad i could still eat like that..
hahahaha... i almost puked... but thank God they cut away the suaning part.. hahhah...
the prawns all very fresh... and ingredients used are fresh... or at least thats what they served us then... normal days fresh or not.. i dunno la.. hahhaha..
the banana with prawn is really very very nice.. not oily at all.. and u can taste both the prawns and bananas... slurp!!

milkyway> like what Fiona said.. its reasonably priced la... not like restaurant price.. $0.70 or $0.80 for per piece of fried dim sum...
the rest is like $1.80 - $2.20.. depends on what u ordered... very reasonable lo...
hahaha. i guess u all staying in the east one rite?? hahaha...

jeslyn> hahaa.. got car then easier to go.. coz its at some ulu part of Aljunied loh.. haaha....comments as what i stated above..

me too.. been tossing and turning for 3 nites liaoz.. but i think last nite not so bad... hee... i also get up to pee 2-3 times per nite... esp before i sleep..
need to go again and again till i fall asleep.. heheh...

I havent been drinking as much milk as i'm supposed to now man... jialat... hahah..

susanna> splash park is openeed already?? wah.. u stay where????
so u wearing scholl huh??? i got some cheapo flats.. $29.90 somemore.. as i've broad feet... my sides all blisters liaoz.. i cant wear covered shoes..
sigh....

hey... u like mango juice??? the air con foodcourt below Golden Shoe has very nice Mango Juice.. I think called May something one.. there's a fruit juice stall..
Mango juice $2.50 for a cup.. i love it.. will get it whenever i'm in the area.. hahah...

Me thinking of buying some milk and fruit and blend my own juice.. so much cheaper.. Orange Julius one cup already $4... faint...
I can blend whatever i like too.. hahahah...

Dim Sum is at Blk 119 Aljunied... some ulu place.. haha.. need to take bus from MRT de...

weldonmummy> wah.. the chinese words made me all blurry... most of the clothes are pretty small size leh... MMmm...spend 1 hour looking through most of it.
hahahaha... hopefully i dun spend too much on it.. but some dresses are really so pretty!! too bad too small for me... hehehe...
Ask u ah.. those skinny pants... when it says thigh measurement is 23cm.. means what?? where got thigh so small de??
can stretch to how big??

mamijoan> huh??? chicken rice i suan for saying putting in some green thingy... i wasnt throwing up then ah....
it was the 1st dish.. its more of.. we were asking what caused the ginger to be green... there and then.. really cant think of anything on the spot what caused the green color...

Yong Tau Foo is not bad.. try the dry one or the laksa.. chee cheong fun is the special one..
the bee hoon texture very diff too..

Angeline> comments on dim sum.. as above..

sheryn> fish oil is actually DHA given by my gynae...

Mavis> I'm taking DHS softgel...2 gels in the morning.. though the box actually says one a day.. hahaha..

Outing> SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO when are we gonna have outing???? next week.. who can????

rach.. i'm staying north east.. so amk or aljunied quite convenient lah... i think i tried the yong tau foo and chicken rice b4 cos i frequent amk and that hawker centre during my jc time..

to all, i'm only taking folic acid and multi-viets at the mom.. not taking anything else.. and i'm not drinking enuff milk too... only drink them on wkends... haha... i getting sick of the milk taste in my mouth already... guess i will b those that lack calcium! wonder if my gynae will give me anything new tmr

Mavis... i cant stand the milk taste anymore.. and i dont like soya bean... so i tried taking cheese slice too.. but quite sick eating them like that... so i think i'm a bad mother... sure not enuff breast milk for bb next time.. haha

rach,
took it because i had very itchy eczema on my hands and legs and they kept me from sleeping well at night. mamato5Js took it before in her previous pregnancy too, but for a different reason (which i can't remember)

susanna... mine is at 12 too... but nowadays i went out earlier at 11.40-11.45am to get lunch cos too hungry and i wanna beat the crowds...

anyone else working in the area?