(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

honestly even now during pregnancy, so many funny myths ard too. of cos ppl ard you will start to tell not to do this, not to do that. i stay with my in laws and sis in law. so my sis in law (already a mum) will see whether i got take cold water. haahaa i dun care.

I dont intend to continue working after giving birth, will try to look after my own baby.

My mom is coming with age plus she is already looking after my niece and my MIL is not in SGP.

My mom is already telling me no bananas! Pineapple and watermelon I think I can understand but bananas? I thought they have lots of vit B that can help curb nausea?

Even now I wash my hair everyday and skipping a day literally "takes my life" I cant imagine a whole month!!! *cringe*

babybloom

Oh that's gd for the mum to stay full-time with kid. But I will be continuing working. Can't give up the income leh.

I am also very paranoid now when ppl start to monitor what I eat. I get pissed cos I feel that as long as I eat and drink in moderation, it's fine. Can't I even enjoy my own pregnancy? T_T

Btw I think ur mum means no Del Monte bananas, coz they r supposed to be very liang or something. Anyway I dun like bananas, so no loss to me haha.

Ya my mom means the del monte ones but i really love them!!!!! Even as I am talking about it, I am craving for it
~~~

For all I know, I might be yanking my hair out looking after the baby. Fingers crossed. I hope everything will be as plan.

This first trimester for me is already not too pleasant. I feel constantly tired and nauseous. I hope the satisfaction after delivery would be so good that I would consider a second one!

mamijoan/JUL
i need to ask my mom first. cos she just had a major operation last year and not as strong as before. if she agrees i let u know ok! but she also scared that if the maid doesnt work out for my frds, it will spoil our friendship lo thats why she quite reluctant to help my frds even though she has quite a few offers before.

i know what u mean by hvg strangers in the house. it will take some time to get used to. u cant have as much freedom lor. u cant put ur money/wallet/valuables anywhere u want etc... but once u get used to hvg a maid and esp if ur maid is a good help to u, then u cant imagine life wo maid! haha... i told that to my frd too who just got a maid recently and she abt to give birth to her 3rd. in fact she just gave birth today and she said what a relieve to have maids doing all the ironings, cleaning and washing. now she can fully concentrate on her kids.

but hor if u get a lousy one, gosh, she will give u more headache than a newborn baby!! my frd has many horrid stories too abt her maids.

mamato5

Yeah u better ask ur mum coz she may need time to recuperate. But it will be great to have someone help to weed out the really cannot make its!

My mum had maids for something like.. 15 yrs??? A lot of funny stuff also. Just cross fingers that we get a good one, no choice.

kidkiddy / babybloom

Haha. I also "broke" confinement rules. I only ate the food for 2 weeks (cos we ordered confinement catering and didn't get CL), and I also shower and wash hair lor.

Scientifically they make bullshit sense to me lah. My hubs only warn me don't let cold wind blow at me. So shower with hot water, and close all windows and doors. That's it lor.

I had a c-sec and I was Bf-ing. How can don't shower?! Imagine baby suckling from a dirty breast, so gross lor! Then don't wash my wound area... wait for it to kenna infection is it?

babybloom

Personally as a SAHM with no maid or in-laws to help, i think the toughest part is the first 2 months. After that once you get in tune with your baby's schedule and behaviour, things start to get easier.

Don't worry too much about it.

Jul
I have been managing it that way, part time maid comes to my house on Sat to iron, mop floor, wash toilets. Weekdays, I bring baby to mom's place in the morning, after work have dinner at mom's house, reach home around 9pm, put baby to sleep, do some housework like wash bottles, clothes, tidy up then sleep around 11.30pm. If your hubby helps out still quite ok, but if you are like me, hubby hardly help and come home very late, it is damn siong.

Especially when I was still breastfeeding. Luckily my job not that stressed otherwise i will go mad. I don't think I can manage 2 kids without maid anymore coz my #1 still very dependant. Need me to sleep with him, feed him milk, change diaper, clothes etc.

Also, luckily my mom can manage. It is the first time she is taking care of baby full time coz she has always been FTWM too. I told her if cannot manage I'll get a maid but so far she can cope with part time maid to help with household chores. I just have to try to go home early to relieve her and my dad also helps after work. As baby gets older, it gets easier. First 6 mths are the toughest.

mama to 5 Js
if she is not well then better not trouble her. I know even if she has tested them, it will not be foolproof so I wouldn't blame her at all. It will be better than nothing if she does help.

Bathing and washing hair
I don't believe in not washing. A TCM doctor said on TV the other day that it is practiced in the olden days when water is from well or river and not sterilised so mummies can risk infection if they bathe in those water. Nowadays don't have such risk. Especially for those of us breastfeeding, it will be so unhygienic to latch baby on. I'm sure you don't want to spread germs from your body to baby when carrying them. And with the wound from delivery or C-sect, need to keep it clean otherwise even higher risk of infection. Agree with shelled this practice is bull shit. I cannot understand why some well educated women still believe and follow.

But the confinement food got TCM findings lah. Like ginger and sesame oil help to purge out the wind. And some food are not good when body is recovering. I'm quite a believer in TCM so food wise I try to follow. Anyway, breastfeeding cannot take too much dome and ginger so my confinement food is almost like normal food. I quite enjoy it especially the pig trotters vinegar. Yum yum! My friend who had a baby when she was 25 didn't used to believe and went jogging 1 week after delivery. She says now she has bad back problems (at 38) and she thinks it is because she didn't take care of herself during confinement. My mum also said her body became much stronger after pregnancy coz she really ate a lot of bu during confinement. Before pregnancy, she was very weak, always fall sick. So I think it really helps.

This sunday going to expo for the bb fair any one going????

maybe can have a short meet up there!!!

pm me hp number if any going!!

kiddo,

i feel like going but its really far from my place. also on the other hand its like still too early to get things. do u know if they're going to have another one again this yr? normally this type of baby fair how many times a yr?

hvnt been here so the longest time! was so so tired after work.. even during wkends too and was hooked to my pet on facebook trying to bring her to a high level in the society hehe.. saw that some of you mummies are in facebook as well.. my email : [email protected].. you all can add me ya

I'm going to renew my maid in jul when her two yrs is up. Actually i planned not to have her since my 1st gal is big liao.. but nw with the 2nd one inside my tummy, dont think I can survive with me.. even if I can, dont think my mum can.. I'll say its really luck whetehr u get gd/bad ones.. but sometimes also cannot expect too much, as long as they are honest, love kids, willing to learn and listen then very good lo

mamijoan, your fact on the bathing and washing hair makes so much sense! wasted. shld have asked my mum to watch that! haha but i'll still try to go according to her wish la, I'm sure she meant the best for me, but i'll still hide in the toilet and dry clean myself always when she's not looking..

hi... dont know if i'm going too... need to check with hubby.. and i think still too early to get anything rite? somemore i can't stand for too long.. advised by doc... no shopping so soon...

somemore natas fair this wkend too.. sure to have lots lots of pple at expo... so sian with so many pple ard.. yah anyone knows whether there will b another such fair later this yr?

Normally around March is so call the biggest... the next up would be at taka maybe around June period...

hahaha coz i need to buy pampers for my #1 stock up things for #1 at the same time buy some other things such at the breast pump, warmer etc... mostly would get these bulk items first...

is it really super cheap to get stuff like diapers at the fair? better than those supermarket promotions by diff brands sometime?

Feel like going to see see look look but when I think of the crowd.. and all the cars.. Q to make payment.. i half hearted liao

hahaha hmmm generally is pretty cheap .. i remember i purchase cartons of brand "PAMPERS" of diapers is at least $2 to $3 cheaper then NTUC per pack.. coz NTUC is selling at like $25++ but bulk purchase get something like $20++
Last sept i also purchase a carton of NAN 3 milk powder from the fair it is abt $2 cheaper then NTUC and about 50cent more expensive then the provision shop but at that time the carton is brand new/fresh juz manufacture (must remember to check expiry dates) so buy a carton home....

I would say must know abit of the market price then u go down see see once cheaper can buy... and stock for certain items no all items.... the crowded for sure is there but i guess would not be as crowd as the IT fair...

So sleep after lunch...

re: Expo Fair

I wun be gog. Too early to buy stuff, besides I dun even know what I need to get. So I will prob wait for the Taka one, or those Robinsons 20% event to get the BB stuff.

mamijoan

I was also considering doing exactly what u were doing for #1. Except maybe get the PT maid to come 2x a week instead of 1x. But in the end, someone pointed out to me that the cost of having a stay-in maid is prob like the cost of having a PT maid 3x/week. So from economics pt of view, feel like shd get a live-in maid lor.

Guess I just have to live with the inconvenience & probs of having a maid in the hse.

As for the bathing during confinement, I agree wth u. How not to bathe? So unhygienic right? Esp since I'm the seaty type of person. I get hot easily & I like to smell & feel clean. I think I will def bathe.

But I also believe abt the confinement food. The purging of wind, & the tonics to bring the health back. Depending on my MIL to cook for me liao lah haha.

kiddo, u mean i hve to buy at least like 5 pkts n above isiz? for bulk purchase? wah.. my house not tt big to store ley..

oh ya.. metro sales 20% also hve bb's stuff.. waiting for that to buy new milk bottles for my gal..

Jul, yes, e cost of getting e PT maid 3*/wk is abt e same as a stay in maid.. but remm that u need to provide meals for your stay in maid.. and also for myself, her daily necessities i also buy for her.. then when we all go out bring her along.. need spend food on her as well..

but well.. its all the price of more free time for us!

Katherine

Yeah, the cost of her living will be counted as more rest time for me lor. At least if the BB makes a mess at nite, can get maid to help clean up etc this kinda intangible convenience must be accounted for also.

So I guess in terms of value for money, live in maid is def higher than PT maid. Just the tot of those maid probs I feel so sian lor.

Jul
Got any special offer when applying the robinson card i haven't apply always use my fren card....

katherine
yup something like that .. got to buy many then can save alot.... i only remember my car was full of boxes of the milk and pampers last round but it last us quite a while no need to headache or source cheapest.... coz pamper is daily use so to us is okay.. space also okay for us coz rather lazy to keep buying so once saw got nice promotion would always stock things up

u planning to get experienced ones?

well, have to keep your fingers crossed and hope for the best ya.. my mummy used to test their honesty by putting money in the clothes pocket when washing and see if the maid will return or not.. it works.. my mummy managed to catch once and my sis send her back to the agency immediately even thought she's quite gd in other areas.

kiddo

No special offer. But I cannot wait liao. Coz I expect anytime they will have 20% sale, then who knows how long OCBC will take to process my card right? Better apply now, so that if they have an Apr sale, u can go & get the stuff urself.

Is Pampers the best brand for diapers? What are the very fast go-thru items ah? Diapers, BB wipes, detergent, anything else?

Katherine

I dunno leh. I guess with all the horros stories, I will look for mature ones. As for experience, I will let my MIL traing the maid. Haha I v bad hor?

hahaha.. kiddo..can imagine ur car boot full of milk n pampers..

I just finsh a fillet-O-fish.. die.. too full liao nw feel like vomit.. shldnt have force myself to finish e whole burger

Jul : ya, maybe look for those already with families and kids. Mine was no experience in Spore but she has experience in philippines.. So still quite ok.. not much trainning needed.. haha let ur MIL be the bad one then u be the gd one ya

for me I only use pampers when new born.. after that i switch to cheaper brands.. hehe pampers too exp la.. i quite like huggies.. but at home will use those cheap ones like pureen cos can always change for her.. now my mummy helping me to toilet train my gal so can cut down on diaper usage at home also

jul - hmmmm was thinking also but coz use fren card i no need go shopping juz order to buy hahahahahaha lazy me....

Not sure if pampers is the best but it works for my gal especially no diaper rashes .. i got pamper and mamypoker this 2 brand never create diaper rashes for me and can last the whole nite without need to change...
I use other such as drypers & huggies often have rashes...

hmm depends on ur usage and lifestyle... i would buy diapers and wipes these two very fast finish especially on newborns but for some prefer to use nappy and wash bb buttoms with clean water etc...

For #1 would need a long list but still depends on individual lar... *i still haven't find my list*

For #2 norm fast items is diapers, bb wipes and milk powder!

wahahahah Katherine use papmers for new born very expensive ler...

i the other way round when newborn i use the cheapest such as fitfit, petpet and the other brand can't remember the name think got jap words de... coz newborn every 2 to 3 hours will change once... especailly with breastfeeding poo super fast de....
then later stage progress into middle range dryper & huggies ... now older use the most expensive one papmers & mamypoker as can last longer and child start their toliet training...

Hmm.. okie thanks for pampers & BB items advice. I hope I can BF so that can save money for milk powder for at least a few mths haha.

haha kiddo, cos when bb is new born wanna give her the best ma.. to protect her skin.. so naturally the most exp one shld be the best lo.. ya.. new born pampers are so so exp! but no choice.. haiz..

Jul, i also hope i can BF.. i hope will hve excess than I can let my big gal drink also! hahaha.. but I dont have much milk when having my 1st.. hopefully this one will hve more

so pampers is the best for diapers? when i go to the supermarket, i see so many brands until i headache. not sure what to look for. keke

but my MIL say can't use diapers all the time as the baby buttoks will rashes! i juz cannot imagine having to wash soiled nappies. how like that?

Katherine

Ur big gal still wanna drink BM meh? I thibk by now they wud have tasted sweet & savuory stuff, wun wanna drink tasteless BM liao.

kiki

Aiyah dun care lah, just use diapers lah. Unless ur MIL wants to wash?

kiki

I forgot.. u're living with ur MIL? If not, then u just use diapers lor. She wun be able to control u right?

jul,

no, i'm not living with MIL. and i dun think MIL will be looking after me or bb during confinement. but nonetheless she has a lot of 'comments'.

jul,

yeah.. i juz listen listen lor. but these days, i think its my preggie hormones, i actually feel quite irritated. keke...

kiddo, ur new born ok with the cheaper brand pampers? anyway think my mummy will help me wash the nappy so we will use nappy most of the time unless when going out or at night.. can save alot ley.. mayb i'll try to get cheaper brand for my new born this time to try...

jul, hopefully when she sees the bb drinking, it's something new and she'll want to try lo haha

Even nw.. i'll stand in front of the rows of diapers and calcualate which one is cheaper hehe

1 more hour to home.. its such a long day..

katherine
coz that time we did try to use the nappy but terrible terrible... and use the cheap one is about 20cent per pc the work and water u spend on washing the nappy i think is not worth it lor...
hahah not 100% use the cheap one lar like day time i constantly change like very 2 to 4hour so no issue.. the issue is when poo got to be careful as not all diaper fit ur bb size and shape.. then at nite use like dryper or huggies.. or abit of pampers...

hahah ya ya always stand and calculate each pc of diaper cost and which one more worth it...

flower4> haha.. yeah... back last nite.. and now i'm back from gynae appt.. had a good nap from like.. 2pm till now?? hahaha...

Updates from 4th Gynae Visit>

BB is 12 weeks now.
Measures abt 6cm.

Today was a little difficult to see... dunno why... coz the gynae scanned my tummy a few times to like get a better angle or something...
and he did it MANY times.. previously he just did it once or twice and he got the pic....
And the scan is a bit blur this time round.. maybe i didnt had a full bladder... Mmmm.....

Supposed to sign up package. $500.
I managed to ask for installment. Paid $100, remaining $400 next visit... woohoo.. nice!

And i was given DHA & Multivitamins...

Total cost:
Package Deposit: $100
DHA: $45
Multivit: $10

GST:

Total: $165.85

And for the following visits, i'll just need to pay for extra vits and blood tests...

Next visit, gotta do blood test. Est. $80.
And need to fast from food and drinks 3 hours before.

So gotta go there... take the blood test liaoz.. then go and eat and come back to see doc..

Yup... and also informed the doctor we're not going to do any of the DS tests... he said okay.. noted in his notes..
But also explained why its good to do coz if in any event that its a positive.. we can be prepared for it, and read up on it earlier beforehand.
No need to wait till birth to find out and be in for a shock...

But well.. we are praying for a healthy and strong bb.... so... God'll keep bb safe and healthy.

bathing and washing hair during confinement:
i bath at least 1 time and wash hair everyday. dun care even my MIL "lectured" me... breastfeeding leh, how can i not make myself clean?!

diapers:
i find Pampers too expensive, during 1st month, bb poo almost 5 times a day... somemore when my #1 poo, the "gold fountain" still overflew, as it is normal for breastfed bb to have "explosive" poo.. so used Dryers after finishing the packet of pampers from hospital. think Drypers should be one of the cheapest. think twice if u want to use cloth nappy, as breastfed bb's poo is very difficult to wash, need to bleach to get rid of the dirt... unless can get a maid to do all these :p

flower> yeah... i did see bb move about a little... oh.. and before doc was able to get a good angle of the scan.. he on the heartbeat first...
we heard the heartbeat and then he continued to look for the angle... scared me a little.. i tot what happened.. why he cant get the picture....
bb was moving his limbs a little. i could see bb's leg float up and down.. heehe...

bitsy> 1st Trim is at 14 weeks la... its just ur MS that went away.. not 1st trim..

I Loh> welcome to the thread..

jul> MMmm.. maybe i'm more fortunate.. my bra cups are still doing fine... they use to be more bare in the past.. now filling it up great.. hahahha... :p

mamijoan> u were watching that episode of Woman On Top?? I WAS IN IT!! Hahahaha..the one sat at the corner kept the most quiet is mE!! hahaha..
I may be in tonite.. not sure issit tonite... hehhehe... catch me there!!

the backache is coz she went joggin la.. wah lao. siaoz.. not supposed to do exercise la.. supposed to rest...
Confinement is all about REST REST REST! if u rest ur back...then u wont have backaches....

kiddo> i'll probably be dropping by the bb fair..

Huishan> going to the fair doesnt mean have to buy anything la..