(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Rach

I rarely watched Woman On Top bt so happened to watch it 2day. I was wondering hw come this lady juz went there to 'listen' only arh, supp to talk a lot n debate rite?? Oh...so tat is u neh...L****S**T**?? Haha..Bt u beri zai and fluent in ur mandarin loh...

girly> wah.. how come u rem my NAME?? yah.. thats me.. as u know..that day the topic a bit... out... hahahaha... its like.. medicine.. right and wrong... hehehe.. i didnt know i was preggy on the day of that filming.. realised only the day after.. so it was a very imformative session for me.. coz alot on confinement.. some cut off liaoz....

Did u see me tonite??hahaa... this time round talked more.. but the lady in the middle talked the most... she rattle non stop lo.. hahhahaha.....

rach, you were the one at the corner? i just finish watching... ya.. e one in e centre talked e most.. din know she so rich one..

Rach

Tat day one I didn't watch. Watched 2day's only. Maybe u did talk more la, bt as compared hor, u r still the most 'quiet' one loh, haha...

Btw my MS improved slightly, gt take a bit of rice le...Bt hor jia lut, craving starts to come in too!! Juz asked Hb to buy curry fish head fr zhi cha stall, so late still having fd hi in fats..oh and durians la and worst is feel like eating hospital confinement foods!! Gosh...

Katherine> yah.. that is me... hahaha... she very teh one... hahahaha... she grab the mike and start yakking all the time.. by the time i wanna come in.. i give up liaoz.. hahahaha....
but actually not just me.. the 933 DJ also talk very little... i did talk. but my sentences shorter...
not like them talk one whole story... the Lin Cui Fang also.. but at least she talk more sense... during filming.. the Jiahui talk and talk and talk... aiyo......

girly> haha.... actually i not the most quiet... the counsellor hor.. actually speak the least.. in the end.. quan yifeng gotta always ask her... so..counsellor..wat say you? then she reply. but they cut away QYF's question la.. to make it look more natural... hehehe....
they even wrote on a white board.. walk in front of us...ask the counsellor to talk more.... hahaha....

Aiyah I missed ur show again, rach! Why din u remind us huh? Told u my memory is poor,

Haha ur gynae so good, let u pay deposit then installment. Luckily u asked.

Jul> the repeat is at 12am. Channel U. Catch me again..

yah... didnt expect can pay in installments..he still tell me.. its okay.. just take up the package.. pay 2 times or watever...

so nice rite?? hehee. :p

so rach,
u are not the "lobang queen" labelled...

well, i didn't watch the whole thing as i was preparing my ger to sleep...

that lady "q*** *** ***" is really yakking all the way...

opps...<font color="aa00aa">rach</font>

i thot u r on yesterday's night show...
errh are u in it huh?

but i thot yesterday's topic is on the "bai jin = money"
erhh...got topic on confinement meh?

morning.....

RE: baby fair

there be one in taka around 12 march to 29 march but dates not very sure but around this period

the next one is by motherhood around june but can't remember the dates suppose to be around 6 or 13 june

kidkiddy

Morning! I personally think Taka Baby Fair got more good deals compared to the other baby fairs. But Taka website haven't reveal the promotions for March yet... I very kiasu one, always go to their website and check for their promos. :p

But I think this time round, nothing much for us to buy for #2. Most of the things can reuse.

morning shelled

hahah yap i go norm is buy pampers lar..
then considering a stroller that can contain two child so when i go out alone no need sling tired shoulder pain... and still need to take so many barang barang... then still need another car seat... last round i din buy a sterlizer and warmer so this time i need and also a good breast pump...
for certain things taka fair is cheap but as taka fair is pretty small and the choices aren't that much lor...anyway go to these fairs is to see see touch touch feel feel happy buy not happy can wait coz still early...

kiddo,
well said...agree wif u..
touch touch see see...feel happy buy...not happy dun buy...this is what i do too at all expo fairs...kekeke..

hahahahahaha
cloudme - is like that de mah... in the fair there are not juz one stall so many stalls must have a nice grip and feel of things first and serve me till happy then i will buy lor...

kidkiddy

I actually bought quite a lot the first time round. Steriliser, manual breast pump, bottles and all. And since my boy can walk for quite long on his own, and he prefer not to sit in pram unless he got tired, I think can save $$ don't buy double-pram.

But last time I went to all the EXPO fairs and all, I realise the exhibitors @ TAKA seem to give the best bundle deals.

I think mostly this time, I will be buying lots of Pigeon Breast Pads (last time didn't know I would need that much), and really that's about it.

jul_04

Morning! How are you feeling today?

shelled

Good, except that I received not so good news abt my blood test yest. Me &amp; hubby both have borderline Thal results, &amp; I have borderline blood count also. So need to go for Stage 2 Thal testing.

morning everyone !!

Shelled
You still keep your No. 1 stuff. Me give alot away, except the playpen. How old is your No.1 ? But my SIL is giving me alot of her DS bb clothes. So will save on that.

Kiki
You hiring someone to do confinement for u ? My mum won't be doing for me this time. Very sad, so i guess i will cater confinement food. I won't be getting a confinement lady to do it, too ex liao

rach
Saw u on last nite show. hehe, u din really tok alot. Wow, bb so big liao hehe. My appt is this sat. Dunno y , today feeling bloated.

jul - ooo what that mean????

shelled - wahahah i also still considering but it be easier for me to go out with double anytime juz dump her in to sleep while i can handle the other one smething like that so i no need to wait for hubby or need any help...

ya ya need many many breastpad!!! but if at home i dun bother only use when go out and at work....

kiddo

Erm.. means we need to do further investigation to see of we are both Thal carriers lor. If we both are, babylet got 25% chance of getting Thal major, which is quite a life-threatening disease.

Jul
my part time maid now comes to my place once a week for abt 5 hours and I pay her $60 per visit. She also goes to my mum's place for 4 hrs for $40. So one month, we spend $400. Foreign maid costs $500+ of course more worth it. But you have to provide her with food and lodging. You'll have to weigh your priorities lor.

rach
yes! I saw you on TV last night. I remembered and purposely switch channels to see you. But watched only a little while coz I had to go home already. You look quite different on TV and photos, I had to take a careful look to be sure which one you were at first.

Re: diapers
In my opinion, Pampers is still the best. It is the most absorbent and yet very thin. Until now, I still use Pampers for my son. In fact, it is so thin that a friend thought he was toilet trained already and wasn't wearing diapers. There are various types of pampers available. In the day, we use the cheaper one, Pampers baby dry with red packaging. It is very thin yet very absorbent so quite cooling for day time use. Night time and outings, we use Pampers stages with purple packaging. I think Pampers baby dry's price is quite comparable to other brands. So far, my son has never had nappy rash. In fact, I think using absorbent diapers is better than cloth diapers. Cloth diapers do not absorb well so if you don't change immediately after they pee or poo, baby's buttocks will be soaked in the waste. This was also what was told to us at antenatal class. But of course, I'm not being very environmentally friendly lah. Initially, I tried Nepia, Drypers, Huggies, all are very thick and warm so i gave up and stuck to Pampers, especially because my son perspires very easily.

Pampers baby dry is now available from Giant and Cold Storage only. Wait for sale at Giant and it is really quite cheap.

For Pampers stages, also wait for sale. Usually buy 2 packs, much cheaper. Normal price is at least 25% more expensive. This way, can save quite a bit.

mamijoan

I think maid levy now is like $170 right? Then salary is? $330? So $500+ lah?

Ooh.. thanks for your comments on diapers. Haha I rem Pampers coz that was the first brand of disposable diapers right?

Oh Rach
just read your post closer, you mean you were also in the episode with the gynae and Chen Mei Er? I was watching that episode coz I'm very interested in TCM. I don't remember you from there coz haven't seen your pix then. Plus you were the quiet one lor. But you very sporting leh. MS still attend such shows. What if half way want to puke? Agree that episode is very informative.

Taka sale
I bought most of my stuff from Taka sale previously coz my hubby has got a few thousand dollars worth of vouchers from Taka so everything like free lor. Most of my stuff still around and got 2 sets coz 1 set at mum's place and one set at home like steriliser, bottles, cot, rocker etc. This time don't need to buy much. Everything still in good condition.

shelled
actually milk leaking depends on the individual. Mine didn't leak much after first 1st month. When at home I also don't care, don't even wear bra coz my baby feed every 1 1/2 - 2 hrs. Wanna drink, I just lift up my shirt. Haha!

Some friends also advised me to buy more breastpads, I bought so many boxes and still got left over can use for 2nd one now.

breastpads

I gather it's to absorb milk leakage from the breasts. But got that much leakage meh? How many pads per day are we talking abt? And are they disposable, or need to wash type?

shelled/kiddo
I'm also not getting double pram yet. My boy will be 2 when #2 comes. He cannot sit in pram for long. He hated it from day 1 and we usually put him in only when he wants to sleep.

Also, double pram looks quite bulky to me, like quite difficult to manoever around crowded places. Do give me your feedback after you have tried.

When is the Taka fair usually?
Moms with #01 (or more), can you all advice what 1st timers like me should look out for at the fair? From previous msg, can see that I should get breastpads. Anything else I should look out for?

Haha my hubby is gona be so amuse with such thing as breastpads!

JUL
what u mean u and hub both thal borderline? ur hubby also went for blood test? im a thalasemia minor myself. when r u supposed to go for the stage 2 blood test?

RE: DIAPERS
i only use pampers premium for newborn until 3 mths i will change to cheaper one. agree with one of the mom here (cant remm who) who said newborn's skin is so delicate, i cant bear to use any other diapers on baby. after 3 mths i will change to mamy poko although its almost equally exp! haha... i tried drypers or pet pet on them but all ended up v bad nappy rash. what to do, they got exp butts!

Jul,

like I said, depends on individual. got both disposable and washable. So far I've used Pigeon and Nuk. i usually use when I go out to play it safe. Very embarrasing if you've got two wet patches on your blouse right? Especially when you are not sure when the next express or feeding is going to be. For my case, I only needed 1 pair a day when I went back to work. Guess I pump regularly so don't quite leak.

bitsy
you can look out for everything you need to buy like stroller, rocker, cot, steriliser, bottles, pump, breastpad, clothes. For me, I bought almost everything at Taka fair previously and my due date then was mid Aug. Quite kiasu but guess it helped coz my baby came in July. I was quite well prepared already.

RE: baby stuff
Most of the things i used for #1 is borrow hahahaha coz not sure will work for me so i know what it works for me and what not i need to buy many this time round!!!

RE: breastpads
Depends on individual, at the highest leakage i need to change my breastpad twice a day (when at work) but when at home dun bother coz bb will keep on latching...
of couse i buy disposable. save time juz throw. buy those cheap brands such as trolley(hope i spell right)

RE: Double pram
Ya i saw that it is pretty bulky but easy for me in the sense that if i wanna go out i no need to worried abt #1 sleeping time, i can go freely anytime. Otherwise i be lock at home and go out must cater timing... but still under consideration coz not sure if worth it as by then #1 is going to reach 2 and half when #2 is out...

Jul - not sure what kind of diease this is but everything will be fine....

talking abt leakage, the worst is my overnight leakage lah. my babies usually only feed once at nite after 6 weeks so usually i too lazy to wake up and express usually woke up in a pool of milk! bedsheet got milk, clothes all wet and pillow also can get wet! urrgh.. the disgusting side of breastfeeding

mamato5

Bioth my hubby &amp; I went for the blood test mah. Then seems like the readings are quite borderline, u know like BMI borderline gog to be overweight that kinda thing? Doc said they will check if the lab has enough blood to test. If not, we will draw again when we see her at week16.

kiddo
double pram is definitely v bulky considering the space of the malls in spore. but those tandem ones are not too bad. i used to have twin prams, brought back from aussie when we used to stay there for my twins. in aus, v easy to manouver cos the malls r huge, here a bit cramp but still v convenient esp if u have 2 young toddlers and many stuffs to carry. u also gotta consider the boot space of ur car.

hi... seems like mummys here have oversupply of milk? hmm i wonder wat will i need also as a 1st time mum.. like everything also dont know leh... haha.. but doc advised me not to go shopping yet.. so i guess i'll skip this.. and with natas fair at the same time, can imagine the parking condition and crowd...

hope there will b another one when i'm in 2nd trim then i start buying things... in the meantime i can start thinking of wat to buy...

bitsy
there are many many things need to buy and/or can buy.. so subject to individual and the place constraint and help given etc.... there be a long list of items... if free can start looking around first and jot down things that u think can help u and u wanna buy and slowly buy one by one....
Not like me last round i din buy many items as i borrow from friends this time need to get my own items....

JUL
i see.. any thal carriers in ur family? i also dunno who i got this gene from! and worst, hubby refused to go for test cos he scared of blood test! what a man hor! so gynae said nvm then, he shld be thal-free since all my kids are ok. even thal also got alpha and beta. the alpha, which i fall under, is ok. imagine the stress i have to go thru when i had my gal!

i was the same as u. my first blood test showed my MCV v low and i have traces of haemoglobin k so gynae suspect thal and asked me go for blood test again immediately. then bingo lor!

kiddo

I already preparing for 2 kids from day one so bought a lot for #1 coz can use 2 times mah. Haha! So glad everything is turning out according to plan. Whichever of my friend or relative who gets pregnant after I have #2 will be very lucky. I will have so many things to give away. All well kept. I even kept many of the original boxes.

mamato5

Not sure leh, but I nvr really asked abt Thal family history b4. See this weekend what mum &amp; the ILs say lor.

mama5 - ya lor really got to think again and again lor...

jul - not kuazhang ler really leak alot de... at least 1/4 of the bed would be wet.... if lazy to pump .... worst the whole body feel sticky sticky de ..

milkway - not to worried there another one in June also in expo... expo paarking is always problem de... so far been to couple of bb fairs it is not as crowded as natas or IT fair...

well i suppose the doc meant not to shop for a whole day or straigh 4 hours without break... but ur condition is more impt the bb stuff can get anywhere any time not to worried...

kiddo

Haha then we shd sleep in a bathtub. Then the milk leakage will be used to moisturise our skin like Cleopatra? Muahaha

milkyway

Dun worry, it's still early to buy lah. Most impt not to strain or put the BB in danger. There will be plenty of fairs, GSS etc later.

mamato5

Yup, thanks. I will start praying harder tho hee.

Haha soak in pool of milk... like Cleopatra!

Kiddo, I'll be most happy if I can borrow from friends but their babies still need those items so most prob I'll have to get my own. Life have been really busy, First it was busy with wedding then honeymoon, followed by flat reno, reno not even done, now must think of baby staff. Never ending things to buy and prepare.. our $$ really thinning out v v fast.

jul_04

I hope everything turns out ok for you. *fingers crossed*

mybb

My #1 is will be 21 mths old next week.

Hubs and I plan to have our kids spaced about 2 yrs apart, that's why we kept everything lor. Even all my maternity wear I also kept. But... still backside itchy went to buy more pretty maternity/nursing wear from GAP, Old navy and Japanese Weekend. *LOL*

Re: Pram

My boy actually can sit in the pram for damn long. Until he started walking that is. Then always leg itchy wanna walk by himself. His pram has been sitting in the storeroom for the past 3-4 mths liao. Never use at all.

Re: Breast Pads

I had bad case of engorgement and oversupply lah, so used up a lot of breastpads. I cannot stand wearing wet bra/clothes when I leak. And cos my #1 started sleeping thru the night @ 4 mths old, every night i sleep sure will leak unless I damn hardworking to wake up @ 3am to pump.