(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

I had been following this thread since the earliest post liao....Juz did nt participate... Coz had mc last Aug, so quite scare, dunno whether tis preg will be okie or nt...Glad so far so gd...

I hav a almost 18 mths old gal... oso a sept BB...heeheehee...

Can upadate my data, thks!
EDD: 4th Of Sept
Gynae: Dr Woo Bit Hwa
Hospital: Mt A
Stay: Punggol
No. of Child: No.2
Guts feeling of no.2 gender: Gal
Hope to hav another gal but as long as healthy can liao irregardless of boi or gal.

rach,
ur bb is growing fast sia.... 12 weeks already 6cm.

my last gynae check is 11wk 4 days, about 4.8cm. think i must ask my bb jiayou le.. kekee

milkyway18

Actually can also "shop" online. Compare prices @ Kidzloft, Babytown, etc. I did SUPER INTENSIVE price comparison & research when expecting #1. (I think cos SAHM MTB, sibei free so spend a lot of time do research.)

Then I even read up on reviews of baby slings, prams, etc etc before deciding which one to buy. Cos single income mah, don't want to buy already then useless and waste money.

I also collected reviews/contacts of malay massage ladies, confinement catering, full month catering, etc before I was due. Really was sibei kiasu. But really good to pass time lor. And I didn't feel so... clueless about what to get.

Cos out of all my friends I am the 1st to get married and have kids. Until now only 1 more friend got married only. So now I become their walking dictionary.

OMG I don't even know how big my bb is now lor... I haven't seen my gynae for 4+ wks already. Supposed to go for checkup last Saturday, but it was my birthday and my wkend was PACKED with celebrations, flea mart, etc.

Going to checkup this Saturday. *fingers crossed*

Welcome funny

cloudme> nonono. i'm not that lobang queen..she got all kinds of frens.. and she's like obviously the one that is talking the whole time..i think even QYF also cant stand her.. need to in the end call names for others to speak...
hahahhaa.......

confinement is the one i was on 2-3 weeks back... last nite i was on as well...

mama5> haahha.... i didnt know it was showing till 8pm when i on Channel U lo.. hehehe.. :p
By then.. if u had came online.. u would see that the repeat is at 12am. hahaha... :p

shelled> hahahhaa... then good la.. u can be our big help.. share share ur list la... how is Capella's S705 Stroller huh?

Chern> cater confinement food? how does it work? then u still gotta take care of bb urself ah??
haha... actually got talk. but compared to that lady who yakk all the way.. is very little la... haha..she steal the show liaoz.... hahaha...

Mamijoan> you rem?? but i wasnt even sure if i'll be on.. hahaha... until the show starts..then i was calling my HB and Mummy to come and watch.. hahaha....
hahahhaa.. coz on TV i was soooo fat la.. that time already like 9weeks i think.. haahaha...

Hahahha.. yes.. i was on that episode with Chen Mei Er.. I was sitting at the same corner.. and i didnt know i was preggy then.. hehehe... i found out the next day... haha... :p
Yah..and believe it or not.. before i went on that episode.. i've NEVER watched a single Woman On Top.. so when they called me.. i was like... errr?? dun even know what to expect...
that one i literally didnt talk... a few sentences.. thats all.. nothing to contribute.. there to show face and add the numbers nia... hahahha...

Coz it was too technical stuffs.. Chen Mei Er provided us with a lot of information..

But this time round... i do feel and i did talk more.. and more dared to interrupt.. but still hard. the lady yak all the time.. by the time she finish..
i dun wanna continue on my point liaoz.. hahaha..

MMm... my MS is morning before go out..and at nite when i come home.. in between I'm good de... so.. its okay.. hahaha...

Catch me on 11 March 8pm Channel 8's Pai Pai Zhan Episode 1 la.. hahah.... that one is FUN!! eat and eat... but by the Dim Sum place.. i really wan to puke liaoz... u shall see how i got suaned by Bryan Wong...
But actually the truth was i was trying not to puke when he caught me "daydreaming.." But i never say la... hahahha...

myfavchoco> MMm.. i tot thats the norm?? hehe... actually gynae didnt measure... when i ask him after he printed out the scan.. he said...usually is abt 6cm.. haha.. so its his estimate.. heheh..

rach,
so u are the 1st lady being intro...
yah loh...the lady talk non-stop...
but i didn't manange to catch ur speech...

will be looking out for u...on channel 8..

cloudme> err... 1st to be intro is Cui Fang leh... I'm the other end.. sitting at the corner de.. hahahaha....

I talked more in front and at the end. in between i didnt get to.. hahahhaa....

hi all mtbs here, do u tink it's safe to go for those pre-natal massage during my 4th or 5th mth?

because i still left wif 5 sessions of massage but expiring next mth. so i called up the salon and asked if they allow me to extend my massage sessions till after i gave birth...but they dun allow...gave all sorts of reasons. finally they gave me an alternative to convert my 5 sessions of massages into 3 sessions of pre-natal massage. but im wondering is it safe to go leh...

jeslyn> piang. which salon is that???
so rigid??

most salon i know allows extension in the event of pregnancy de lo... why like that de?? kaoz...

mmm.. if they have professionals who really know how to do prenatal then why not??
But if its any tom dick or harry then better not..

But such things also hard to say.. coz most salon rather not touch you during pregnancy... so if they dare to offer. should be okay??

But depends on how gian peng they are la....

rach
Got catering company that just do confinement food for mummy. Lunch & dinner lor. Last time, i also take care of cheralynn myself. So not much different. Just look after bb , house work get DH to do lah. Haha

But i wonder how i'm i gg to bath for bb. After birth can't squad too much. Think will get DH to take longer leave to be with me this time round. Cos no helper lah

Jul04
I believe things will be fine. Continue to pray & trust God.

Chern> wah.. but is the food nice?? how much they charge??
MMmm.. but its like so funny if i'm staying with my mum...and then i still get catering... weird.... but my mum claims she dunno how to cook for me....
hahahha....

I want more of someone to take care of the bb actually.. in that case.. i cater food and ask mummy to take care of bb la... hahaha.. then no need to ask MIL liaoz. hahaha... :p

rach,
ya...me so pissed lo...somemore the pre-natal massage they onli allow extension till end of Apr leh..the lady somemore assure me they hv experience leh...but i still afraid lo

funny76,
ya...maybe next week i will ask my gynae abt this...

rach,

U still got to pay for ur own food for her marketing, pay 2 times ang bao and some dun wash ur clothing for u....n CL is usually $1800 n above....

rach,
i know...but u r the 1st "common guest speaker" rite... when i said 1st to be intro i mean those not in showbiz..

funny> huh.... so its slightly cheaper.. but CL stays over with u ma.. rite?? Mmmm... i think my coll got hers at $1800 and supposed to be good.. i tot the caatering is like a few hundreds.. man.. its $1300+++.. kaoz.....

cloudme> yeah yeah.. u are right.. short hair wearing black and colored dress.... fat woman.. hahha....

rach

TV magnify you by a few times lor, bo pian. And yes, that long hair lobang queen kept talking about herself. And the short haired one is a DJ? Didn't know coz I missed the intro.

11 Mar is Wed. New series of Pai Pai Zhan is it? I thought Wed (last night) is the Zhi Chang Da Xing Dong or something like that? The "help pple get job" show by Bryan Wong.

Wah, catering costs $1,300? I didn't know it was so ex, then confinement lady more worth it. They prepare 3 meals a day for you and hubby to eat together, look after baby day and night, wash baby and your clothes. Mine also mopped the kitchen floor everyday and use magic mop for the rest of the house. But she also get to rest quite well at night coz at night I let baby room in with me except when I got engorgement and had fever so wanted to rest more. Let baby sleep with her and only bring to me for breastfeeding. And she even boil soup for my supper. All in, including ang bao, almost $2K. But that excludes your own marketing cost which can be quite ex coz usually for fish, it is recommended to eat threadfin and cod fish which are the most expensive types. Even pork also the expensive cuts. Can't remember how much I spent on these. Some were bought by my mum while my FIL also help us to buy some.

hui chern

actually baby don't really need to bathe everyday. Can just clean with cotton bud if they don't perspire too much. Previously when my son had bad eczema, my cousin who was a skin specialist recommend us to bathe on alternate days and don't use any baby bath.

Or you just use a small tub put on the table or even the kitchen sink, then don't need to squat lor.

rach,

ohhh.. kekekee... cos i notice our bb around same period... when our bb is 6 and 9 weeks, mine is bigger than yours... then suddenly 12 wks, urs become bigger than mine.. hahaaa

breast pads:
i used pigeon, tolly joy and avent before, think pigeon is good for me as it has 2 tapes to secure. the other 2 brands have 1 tape only. i every dropped a tolly joy breast pad outside, so paiseh, lucky quickly hold on to it before it dropped on the floor

rach... how do u get all these lobangs to go on tv?

Mamijoan>ya loh.... 20% fatter on screen...
hahaha...

yah... the one in blue adidas is 933DJ..

yeah... 11 March is Pai Pai Zhan Series 1st episode...

myfavchoco> but my gynae gave estimate based on his experience. he didnt really measure my bb.. hahahaa...

so... its just an average reading la. hehe.. :p

waiwai> opportunity.. hahaha..and i think they passed my contacts ard in the dept.. hehehe.. :p

maybe i'm good or they just lack people.. hahahhaa...

now looking for food tasters for Pai Pai Zhan.. anyone interested let me know..they want male tasters esp... coz lack of males.. haahaha....

mamato5

Look on the bright side.. U will get thru this v soon, whereas I have only just started out, & will not be able to rest for more no. of yrs haha.

mamato5

Nope, I prob will have another one. So I still have to tong for longer. Besides, I'm 31 this yr liao. Older than u leh.

RE: CONFINEMENT LADY

I paid $2.2K for my last confinement lady and I think it's worth it. We are a family of 5, me after delivery, hb, 6yo eldest, 16mths old 2nd, and infant.
Basically my conf lady had to prepare separate meals for us. Me conf fd, hb and eldest 'normal' homecook fd and my toddler bb fd.
For breakfast, she will cook porridge/noodles for me. For lunch and dinner, there will be a meat dish, a vege dish and soup. For supper, there will be tonics soup. She take care of bb day and nite, including changing of soil diapers, feeding of milk and bathing. She bathe my two older kids as well... She washes the clothes for the whole family. She mopped the flr at nite after cooking "daily" and sweep the flr when free. She even help me wash the toilet when free!! When I need to bathe, she will prepare a tub of hot water with 'da feng cao' 2gether with herbs like 'changmao' etc for me...
Sounds like I very 'kok tok' rite, like making her do everything?? Bt she volunteers to do all these one loh... Of course I also nt a bad employer la...I also help out in some light chores whenever possible esp during the day and of course the bb when the conf lady is busy...
I also chingcai person. When the conf lady throws a lil tantrum, I closed 1 eye coz i understand tat she muz also be beri tired tat makes her behaved tat way. Hard work to take care bb day n nite...Everything she wants or don't want me to do, I'll try to listen n obey...
can eat i eat cannot eat i don't eat loh, no big deal mah...
Even after she left, she will contact us when she doing confinement for others in singapore (she's fr malaysia) and ask hw we r doing...

This time round, Im asking her back. She says ok even though she've gt another lobang around 18 sept. Say will give us priority. Tat one can turn down.

That put my mind at ease...It's nt the money prob bt i was so afraid tat no confinement lady willing to help given the sz of my family (6)!!!

My mum in law goes to the mkt weekly to buy all the fd i need during confinement. She is nt stingy on these and will get all the gd and expensive stuffs for me like cod fish, threadfin, yeoh bah, yeoh chi, black n white chk, pig stomach...I feel quite blessed and appreciates her. So... save time for confinement lady also, no need go out.

After delivery, my hb will call the medical hall to tell them to prepare the tonics and dried gds needed for the confinement mth. He juz need to collect them and it's all beri completed. Red dates, black dates, longans, herbs for tonics soup, and herbs for bathing purposes...

Sorry for being so long winded...Im more lao gu dong lah....So Im beri particuliar abt confinement. maybe coz of my poor body constitution and no proper confinement after my
1st delivery, I lost my 2nd, 3rd and 4th pregnancies. Maybe I think too much lah, I find it no harm doing a proper confinement. I don't get tired easily thereafter and every1 ask me hw come my face can still glow with a nice pinkish complexion even after delivery...

I totally agreed wif girlygirly. A gd confinement is veri impt. If u r weak b4 ur preg, a gd confinement will definitely nurse u back to a better health. At 1st I feel there is no big deal whether to hav confinement or nt...After I had mine 1st...I feel convinced liao... A gd confinement is definitely a must...Thks to my mum who took great care of mi during my confinement.

girly> wah.. i didnt know u had so many kids already.... hehehe.... chim...

Thanks for the info...

what other options does one without any budget for CL, catering, helper have?

*Rach*

ya, this current one my 4th kids out of 7 pregnancies...

hmm...Why don't u consider those local confinement lady who help out in the day?? They will help to clean/bathe bb and cook ur breakfast, lunch and dinner and leave in the evening after the last meal of the day is prepared. They will take care of the laundry also..

*serriz*
My 2nd and 3rd are 16mths apart. meaning I was pregnant wif 3rd when 2nd was only 7/8mths old... Bt I do haf friends who r pregnant wif 2nd when 1st was around 6mths old. Are u facing this situation??

Btw, I luvs confinement food too!!! I also find it amazing that despite eating all the supposely beri 'heaty' food like ginger, red dates and longan drinks, sesame oil, milo, tonics...I don't have constipation prob at all, oops paiseh arh...

hi girlgirly,

yeah i'm facing this now - i was 3 mths expecting without knowing and i was still breastfeeding my #2 till 2 weeks ago.
i'm in a total dilemma becos i dun intend to have #3 -
today went to the clinic then dr told me is ord coming to 12 weeks.

serriz

U mean u dun intend to haf #3 at all? Or dun intend to haf #3 so fast?
I onced haf the same dilemma as u bt i guessed all the mommies here will hope that u can keep ur #3 like they r also glad that i made the decision to keep my #4....

Furthermore u are passing ur 1st trimester soon in a easy breazy way. Many of the mommies in this thread are having a hard time with their morning sickness, with some of them basically living on liquids only...And imagine 12wks already, bb shld be around 5/6cm and fully formed with all organs in place...

If u need any advise or juz need a 'listening ear', juz pop in here. All the mommies here will be happy to help and share. We have a bunch of helpful and kind soul here....

hi girlygirly,

sorry to sae i dun intend to have #3 at all. It wasn't a breezy way also - i been vomiting badly since 2 weeks ago - i tot it was becos of the medicine i took hence i didnt bothered much - however recently the puking session became more so hubby suspect wrong.

baby is 5.11cm now - fully formed - i felt so bad and cruel if i need to remove -

how old is all your children?do you mind to share what gave you the courage to have #4th - the time commitment, the $$$ and the surrounding, is really nt easy.