(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Jen, tell me about the KKH class. I would be interested to know me once you have any update from your friend.

Pigeon warmer
+++++++++++++
Mine is really spoilt. When I put the indicator at 40, the light comes on for less than a min and then go off and never come off again (at least for the 5 mins I was standing there) and the milk and water remains cold. But when I set it at 70, I would see the warmer working well.

Anyway, can we leave the milk in the warmer if it's not consumed immediately after heating up?

I need to really figure this out because I have a stupid maid to teach. She went to heat up (using hot water) my freshly expressed BM!!! Straight from my breasts, the milk temp is perfect, why she needed to heat it up?? I was speechless.

bbq98 - haha its u huh? paiseh forgot! btw thx for letting me know abt the eclairs. but not ordering liao... cos she nv reply n i m lazy to call her!

flower - i m not sure of the cost but it depends on the hospital (pte or govt) and wards u stay. gg to poly is to get referral letter so tt its cheaper.

ur mum has ins or medishield/medisave? it will help chip in. if not can use urs or ur siblings medisave. hope this helps!

rach - thx! but which bra more comfy? cos quite ex leh... i hv been buying frm bp, $10-20+ each only haha

bbq98 - dun say ur maid stupid leh.... my mum n mil would hv done the same thing!! my freshly ebm they also say not warm... then i told them the only thing tt u want warm frm ur body is urine...

bbq98> i've been using drypers so far. actually find it cheap n good. can last 8-10hrs at nite. only leak 2 times so far. once fr side, cos i nv pull out de side gathers. another time cos really too much, den overflow fr de top. but tat's abt all.

ya. i've nv directly put glass bottles into de warmer. only put them into de steriliser. den check no crack, i use them to pump n store in fridge n freezer. before using will first defrost in fridge n transfer to avent milk bottles n den heat them up for bb's consumption. btw any brands teat can fit directly on to de glass bottles? otherwise y heat de glass bottles?

pamelia> u selling freestyle? hubby insist on buying new pump. cos he say direct contact with milk. anyway now ameda still ok for me. juz find suction not strong enugh. but than again, if too strong, nipple might not be able to take it. cos sometimes oredi quite sore n i only pump 2-3times a day currently. if nxt time need pump 4-5times, scared my nipple cannot take it if suction is too strong. so maybe i'll juz stick to my ameda =x

<font color="ff00cc">Michelle</font>
If really spoil before you manage to buy spares (choy choy) you can get from New Maternity lor. They have stores in IMM and Tampines One. I "surveyed" liao, and their Ameda parts are the cheapest for ready stock.

My cap already "seasoned" liao. I think cos I cap and uncap 1000 times a day cos I pump so many times. But won't spoil de lah (i think) unless very very suay. Also thinking of getting spares first, but my hubs say if spoil just go buy from New Maternity lah.
Cos my pigeon manual pump parts, I used throughout #1 also never spoil anything cos I'm very gentle when handling them. He say if I stock on spares, then I never spoil any of them, then I end up holding on to stuff I don't use again.

<font color="ff00cc">bbq98</font>
I find Pampers the most absorbent! And can hold alot more pee compared to Fitti and Huggies. Seems to lock away the pee smell as well.

Mine is also like that leh. If you wanna check hor, you set at 40, then when the light goes off for a while, you turn up the temp. I'm 100% positive that the light will come back on cos now the warmer's thermostat has to match the new higher temp.

The Pigeon warmer works that way to safeguard the quality of your milk, which is wy it takes bloody long to heat up even just 100ml of frozen milk. Ard 40 mins, according to my hubs. I've now taken to dunking the frozen milk into a small container of tap water to defrost, then once all liquify, then I pop into warmer to bring up temp to 40 degrees. Alot faster this way, I realise.

<font color="ff00cc">cookiezz</font>
Hahahaha. I think fresh saliva also slightly warm.

Cookiezz, I say she is stupid not due to this only. You are funny....

Michelle, yes, there are some brand teats that can be attached to the bottle.

Why you say Ameda suction not strong? I didn't even reach half of it and I already find it strong enough.

shelled> but ameda one seems like will spoil. esp de funnel n de top part. dunno wat it is called. ok. will take note tat if mine spoils before i manage to buy fr spree, den juz get from new maternity =p

bbq98> dunno leh. juz find de suction not strong enugh to clear my blocked ducts. hard to get de letdown effect without bb latching too. i olways use max suction.

Hi Pamelia

if u intend to get Ameda pump and dun mind a 2nd hand one, I am selling mine... only used for 1 month... i have 3 pigeon bottles (extra) that can fit for the pump to store breastmilk, if u dun mind can throw in for you too..

u can email me at [email protected]

Want to share my bad experience with Singapore Babies - AMK with you all....

My daughter was coughing and sneezing last week, so I wanted to bring her to the PD... as TMC too far, and there is another Singapore Babies at AMK, I decided to bring her there...

I tried calling for an hour between 9.15 - 10.15am thereabouts, but no one picked up the phone. Just before I left the house, I tried calling again and someone picked up. When i mentioned that i want to bring my baby down cos she is unwell, the nurse immediately say "You have to make appointment one hor, you cannot just walk in cos we dun take walk-ins".. I mean, how can a clinic reject a patient who is genuinely ill??? She can tell me that walk'ins need to wait for a few hours. but how can she reject??

Then she followed on saying in an impatient manner, asking me how long i can reach. when i told her 25 mins, she put me on hold, and came back and asked me " How about you reach in 10 mins?? 10 mins can or not??" I was so angry!! I told her " I am driving from SK to AMK, alone with baby!! if you rush me like that and i get into an accident, how would you feel? u can tell me ur doc have no time to see my child, but dun rush me like that!" then i hung up on her

to me, it is really unprofessional of her to talk like that... so angry... will never go back to Singapore Babies again...

Hi Shelled, I called HappyKae's contact.. $329 is the lowest if deliver to different locations so no need to consolidate 3 orders liao.. But if deliver to one location, for 3 orders they can give us $319.

flower.. u decided which rocker to get? hehe my didi been sleeping in it since 3pm liao.. if u can get 2nd hand one in gd condition also ok as long as vibrator ok since the cloth can wash
bai fong wan will increase supply? nw i use milk bottles to just store in e fridge for the next feeding till my milk bags arrive lo

michelle.. def need to combine for milk bags.. so far my max after lataching is onli abt 160ml.. hospital very far for me ley.. hehe this mummy lazy..
wow bukit batok which part? if nearby n i know where maybe i can get the milk bag from u 1st then when mine reached then i return u

flower.. jen's latest spree onli $13+ for 50 pcs if i remm correctly.

for the rocker which KP u visited? i remm i saw some on display ley but i cant remm which branch i went to ley but that was years ago.. hw abt u try toy'rus?
i brought mine from toy'rus

warmer: is pigeon brand highly recommended? can i know e price for a brand new one?

poo leaking.. think e diaper istoo small? last time when didi wearing NB size kept leaking.. nw he s wearing Fitti S size hvnt leak yet

flower.. forgot to ans ur ans hehe.. my bb is on 2-3 hourly feed if full feed la abt 100-120ml.. he can nap for abt 2 hrs.. wake up fuss abit let him drink abit more milk n sleep back.. but this is when he gd mood
if nt.. backside once touch cot will cry n needs to be carried again..

Michelle>
Wow, then confirmed medela mini electric plus (the one pamelia and I are using) is strong loh.. It's maximum number 5, and I never go beyond number 3, and already always nipples sore after pumping.. definitely can empty breasts.. but freestyle is probably better (though I never try) cos more expensive mah!

Hollow>
Eekk.. the Sgp babies sound horrible! Since you're staying in north, can try Ooi Baby at yishun loh.. nice doctor, and reasonable consultation too! But you stay Sengkang issit? My 2 SILs always go to this PD at... hmmmm... I THINK it is rivervale mall or something.. very popular PD. But I never heard of PD need appt cannot walk in leh... thought only for specialist clinics right..

bbq98>
Why don't you try Fitti NB? It's good and cheap. Some polyclinics (the one at Yishun got) selling at $14.90 - buy 2 get 1 free, but only for NB and S size. My boy is almost 5 kg, and still wearing the NB. I like Fitti cos the adhesive is cloth kind and better than the plastic kind (which I think is Drypers).

Katherine>

My boy also on 120 ml every 2 - 3 hours.. but then.. it means 120 ml x approx 10 bottles a day.. that's 1.2l leh.. I wonder if that's too much...

Lil_jade: ya lor, so bad... in the end i went to the one at Rivervale Mall... Kid's clinic... Also need to wait 3 hours cos no appointment, but they much nicer... they said I can go home first. and they will call me half an hour before when there is a slot..

your boy can fit NB? The only NB size diaper my girl can fit now is Goo.n, the rest all cannot liao... she now 4.6kg....

<font color="119911">Bebe Au Lait Nursing Covers</font>
Ask all the lobang and shopping queens here, where can I get Bebe Au Lait Nursing Covers at good price? I can't find it in shops. I can only get this online issit? Any mummy using this? Or anyone have recommendation for nursing covers? I very clumsy so have to use cover, else sure free show.

i third shelled recommendation of ameda! today first time i tried my pump yield which was all the while hovering abt 150-180 today reached 200ml after using ameda
somemore only need to pump for 15 mins usually i pump for 20mins. and best of all? my lopsided left which is usually lesser than my right today yield the same amt as my right! so amazing right i could hardly believe it!!

<font color="ff0000">Bravado Nursing Bra</font>
Alright..due to popular demand.. its back!!!!!!!!!!!

www.bravadodesigns.com

Let me know if u are interested...

Please PM me for the price list and ordering details..

Please DO NOT ask me for the price here...

If you are keen to place orders, or check pricing, just click on my nick and drop me a message...
I'll send u the price and ordering details!

Those who have PM-ed me previously and i've missed u out, please PM me again for the pricing!

THanks!

Hollow>
Yeah, my SILs raved about the PD at rivervale mall! Hahah, they also always go register first, than gai gai around and the nurse will call, that's very nice! :D

My boy can fit NB leh... I think he got very slim hips for 5 kg leh.. hahaha... good, next time can wear skinny jeans!! :D

Ameda pumP> WOw, it sounds good! I also heard of good reviews all this while from other mummies.. if my current medela spoil (TOUCH WOOD!) I will invest in Ameda.. but hopefully will not have this case then I can save the $.. :D

itsy> your question can only be answered by THE lobang queen aka rach.. :D

LIL JADE.. u gave ten bottles a day? u r doing total bottle feeding? mine normally 3-4 bottles when i'm out or my MIL is helping me.. e rest all latch on.. hmm.. he seldom vomit out also so i gues shld b ok? haha mayb tt explains y he cant fit into nb clothes liao

haha...skinny jeans... u so funny leh..

I must say bravado bras are fantastic.... i bought to try cos i saw shelled recommendation a few months back

rach, can u pm me the price list? one of my friends might be interested...

Fisher price: I just bought the rocker swing.. very good.. my baby always sleep in it. best part, battery operated so no need to rock it myself haha... can be converted into an infant rocker and a toddler chair as well... i bought it for $199...

Katherine.. ya the PD good... very patient... not like some PDs like rushing for time like that... u stay in SK too?? ok i pm u the contact...

michelled, u sooo lucky.. once they give u 30bottles, my only 12bottles.
i go mt a tmr try try hee. which floor ah?

my bb very big tight hor.. whenever i bring him out pple tot he 3months old

ooh combining ebm.. im these days very hard to track timing lioa.. sigh...

bbq.
i will try to figure out wat happen manz... always got leak poo poo..

Kat,
i think i will get the portable one which make of plastic. i went to Marina sq KP , no display one.

wow, ur bb can na at the rocker for 2hrs. soooo goood. u jus place ur bb there and start the vibrator ah? isit battery operated?

Shelled,
I tried Pampers, mamypoko, Drypers all leak...last time i use NB.now i use S for pamers oso leak.. mamypoko now the poo poo push back wards type always leak at bb back

<font color="ff0000">Michelle</font>
i also tot so.. but i dunno why in the initial days my girl also got tears leh... i was reading the growth thingy..
they said "your baby is developing tear ducts this week.."
then i was thinking.. huh? i saw tears long ago leh... >.<"

i store my milk only 140-160ml in each bag..coz thats how much per feed..
if put till 300ml too full then once thawed must ensure finished within 24 hours...

buy milk trays loh... hahaa...

yah...pacifier saves the day!

<font color="ff0000">Kam</font>
hehe..my girl will pui out the pacifier before she goes to sleep..
and if i push it in, she will close her mouth tight.. hahaa...

<font color="ff0000">bbq</font>
ah...huggies not absorbent ah??
how u check whether absorbent or not??
for me.. my girl change so often also no time to differentiate...
poo 1 inch lenth also weh weh must change.. >.<"

<font color="ff0000">cookiezz</font>
heheh..bravado costs about $40-80 range.. different range ah. :p

<font color="ff0000">Kat</font>
brand new pigeon warmer is $70++.
go to WTS /WTB thread..got people selling at $45 or $25 de.. BN or slightly used...
i got mine there.. at $40....BNIB...though the box look a bit old.. hhaha..yellowish.. but the warmer does look new..
she say kept in storeroom very long no use at all..
so ok loh..

<font color="ff0000">LIL JADE</font>
i also like huggies coz its cloth adhesive... hehe..
just went to stock up 9 packs of Huggies M...woohooo...
6x Huggies Dry &amp; 3x Huggies Dry Comfort..
and i bought 4x Huggies Ultra from WTS...
i've storeroom of huggies now.. wahhaha..

<font color="ff0000">itsy</font>
www.monpetitjardin.com nursing poncho u can get frm me..

bebe au lait u can get from www.prettymums.com or check out the BP.. search prettymums...

ermm...can get special discount also.. hehhe. :p

<font color="ff0000">hollow</font>
i dunno how to PM u the price list..coz its an excel sheet.. why dun u PM me as stated above??

<font color="ff00cc">mei76</font>
Will PM you to discuss further. But we need 1 more set, right? You and me only 2 sets wor. Would prefer if they deliver to me directly.

<font color="ff00cc">Re: shelled = bad influence to buy buy buy</font>
You all make me sound like I'm bad influence... Bravado bras, glamourmom tanks, milk trays and Belly Bandit... Next time if I chance upon good stuff, should i still share with you all or not??

Katherine>

I latch on in day, give ebm at night.. so nighttime always every 2 hours 1 bottle! So I agar agar estimate about 10 - 12 bottles a day loh.. Dunno if I overfeed liow...

Rach>

Huggies is tight for my boy... it's the purple one right? Small leh.. But mamypoko is good, Fitti also.. Haha.. I also like to buy many pampers to fill up storeroom.. feel happy looking at my purchases! :D

shelled:

no la u not bad influence.. good recommendation... actually i bought belly bandit because of your recommendation too hahaha

flower.. ya.. he's still in it.. just nw he fuss abit.. i pick up him.. ley him suck for 5 mins then put him back till nw.. i onli on e vibrator awhile.. its D size batt.. once he slept i off haha then i will use my feet to rock him as n when lo

rach.. i saw e threads but collection all so far away for me ley.. ya i tot $25 is very cheap!
Is warmer alot hassle free then i use warm water to heat it up myself?

fitti also cloth adhesive ley.. i quite like fitti.. n my gal using e new pampers tt is so cheap also i tot its quite gd.. but i remm someone says nt gd before in the thread

hollow... hahaha.. my keeness on warmer is triggered by this thread when u all started talking abt the warmer lo

lil_jade. wah hw mani times u wae up at night? EBM at night ar? ur bb can wait? haha mine cant.. so i latach at night.. wll try the dream feed method today b4 i sleep. normally i will give ebm ard 9+ he will take some time to finish n really sleep by ard 11+ if he gd boy will wake up ard 3+ n 6+ to latch on
errr.. if nt over weight then shld b ok?

i gg out now.. all PMs replied liaoz...

lets keep to last order on sunday 10pm for last order for bravado k???

ETA: 3 weeks time..

Hollow, Katherine:
my 2 children see Dr Lilian Lim at Kid's Clinic. she is good. the staffs are also friendly

Re: sleep training
at midnight my boy sometimes will make noises and move his arms n legs, but eyes are closed, then he goes back to sleep after a while, then start to "exercise" again. should i feed him? unlike my #1, she cried till whole house torn down so i knew i must feed her, but for my boy, i'm worried i disturb him for his sleep if i pick him up when he "exercise" with eyes closed...

btw, PD advised skip the midnight feeds only when baby doubles his birth weight, for nutrientional reason.

my #1 skipped her 2-3am feed at 3+ month old

Diapers

I say pampers and huggies not absorbent because usually, I will change diapers at 9plus at night and then next change at 5 or 6am. But for these 2 brands, there will be urine leakage around 2-3am. The pampers NB is okay but the S one leaks. I still have drypers, Nepia and Mamypoko in stock. Will test and see.

waiwai,
my bb oso have tis kind of sleep is like disturb sleep..

BTW, mummies
my baby smell so stink!! no baby smell at all. how come ah, he sweat alot and isit due to his rashes &amp; his rashy flakes from his scrap ah?

help! sam has been sleeping from 11pm last nite till now - except for a 2h stretch around noon when he had his bath, played a while n had his milk. the whole 19h he has only woken up for milk, or during diaper change. is something wrong?

I wish my babies are like Sam. Mine slept for only cumulative 2 hrs since this morning and cried the rest of the time.

<font color="0077aa">jul</font>
try to make bb awake during the daytime.. i will try to disturb him and wake him up and play a bit with him so not to let him sleep too much during the day... need bits of planning...
mine wake up at nite a lot too.. so i need to practise this

Jul, you have to wake him up....even if that means getting him angry and crying out loud. Mine are supposed to be awake now but they cried so much in the past few hours that we are totally drained pacifying them so I am letting them sleep so that I can have peace.

Kat..

I got somemore FM milk glass bottles which i got from mt a.. u wan them? i can pass to ya.. I nv use..but no caps.. only bottles..=)

hollow.. my in laws stayed in SK.. we do visit them almost every wkend and sometimes my gal stayed there too.. so gd to know that there's a gd PD nearby

sheryn... got ur email! thks ya.. i email u tmr if i can collect fr u ya

kat,
i went toys r us lioa, its has on display i try both on bb, he felt scare and not confortable. i guess i cant buy lioa.

flower4,

I hv to go into my store to see hw many i hv.. and hv to see how many Kat needs too.. hee =P

Tmr morning then i go take out ok? My dad packed nicely into the store le..

katherine> not sure how much milk lasinoh milkbag can contain hor?

i stay in btw bukit batok mrt n de swimming complex. is juz 5mins walk from mrt. blk 201, bukit batok st 21, ya. if u wan i can pass u one box first. den u return me when u get fr jen's spree. i got no urgent need for the bags. cos i got 2 now. still thinking whether i shuld combine n start storing in milkbags soon

so cheap from jen's spree? include shipping from us? i paid 17.5 per box not inclusive of local postage

lil_jade> lol. maybe my nipples more tolerant to pain, n not medela mini electric pump more powerful den ameda? keke. now with constant pumping, i can feel de pain in de nipples liao -_-

yaya. drypers adhesive is plastic. keke. but i've been using it since i finish de pack of nb huggies de hospital gave. find drypers cheap n good actually =x now gonna start fitti S which i got from polyclinic. wah. ur boy 5kg still using NB? my boy is 4.6kg n i switched him to S long long ago.

tot dey say bb only need to drink 120*weight per day? ur boy drink too much wor =x

itsy> i using it. rach got supplier who have. prettymums i think =p i got from her at ... price. not sure if can mention in forum. u email her. but she only haf certain designs limited stock. so u got to check with her wat designs she have ready stock. find it really useful. can now nurse in restaurant n car =p

mamato6js> keke. ameda got so good to u? haha. y my not as effective? tink my breast are lousy!!

flower4> haha. to get 30+ glass bottles each time, must thick skin n go all nursery to collect. i think is on lvl 3 if i din remember wrongly =x

rach> keke. milktrays troublesome. need to go pour into tray etc. since i got enugh milk bottles, use milk bottles first ba. if store based on current feed, den if bb increase feed, oso troublesome =p

bbq98> wow. pampers no good? tot pple say good. zzz. make me buy so many -_-