(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

cookiezz,
The staff at Ecreative are all very helpful and patient. I kept calling to enquire and change dates for the delivery of the cakes and stuff cos I couldn't make up my mind then. Yet, they were very polite and kept reassuring and acceding to my requests. Tried the walnut cake myself, it tastes soft and not too sweet. Just call and ask them to recommend. Think they'll do a good job.

enxuan,
Don't despair. I had similar problems when I had my 1st child. Lucky thing was my ILs passed away so it was just my hubby as opposed to my relatives.. All saying opposite things to me till I didn't know who to listen to.. The head nurse from TMC then was very helpful and kept calling me to calm me down and got me out of my depression.

Just to let you know, men are quite tactless most times. Like last week, he still couldn't find our marriage cert to register bb's bc so he kept asking me if I'd kept it. I insisted that I didn't as the last I recalled was giving it to him to register for our son's bc. So, out of desperation, I called ICA to check if we could register with a duplicate. Was told to get certified true copy from ROM and that it cost $50. I told him last Friday to go and pay for one. He got a shock and searched very hard that very evening in the study room cos he's quite stingy when it comes to spending on such unnecessary stuff. Guess what.. he found it in one of his messy drawers. Still dare to say it's becos I put it in a kiddish file and messed up his neat and organized study room. I was so fuming mad that I went to sleep and ignored him.. Would've thrown something at him if I didn't stomp off.

<font color="ff0000">bbq</font>
aiyah..paiseh ma.. he keep forgetting and he forgot to tell me he forgot to post also.... sigh.... and i tot he posted..and i also forgot to ask him if he post liaoz... haha...

<font color="ff0000">Calls from Hospital</font>
sonnig, now that u mentioned.. i rem that Mount A's nurse called on the day i discharged too..and asked how are things and whether i could cope... quite surprised to get calls from them asking how we are doing...they called my HB's hp in fact and asked how i was doing.. heh...

Actually forgot what time I started pumping.. Been pumping non-stop manually while reading what the mommies have posted for today. Maid just knocked on study room door to ask if I hv enuf to latch bb on cos she's hungry.. Sigh.. got to bottle feed cos I've almost emptied my boobs. :p

Not bad, I think. I managed to pump about 160ml every 4hr or so. Looks like I can go to Taka for the Hokkaido fair tomorrow or Wed without all my bb. Wanna get the shiroi koibito fm Hokkaido that is being sold for the first time in Singapore. Trying to store BM in the fridge... only got half a litre so far cos she keeps wanting to latch and I can only pump in between feeds... Still, I'll take it slowly so that at least supply doesn't dip.

rach,
I think it's just the personal touch since we pay more for private hospitals as compared to govt. Anyway, that first time might be due to the fact that one of their nurses dispensed the wrong medication to my hubby when he was settling my discharge. I was quite upset and didn't give very positive feedback in the feedback form. Anyway, the nurse called to apologise the very next day and the head nurse assured me that it wouldn't happen anymore. Subsequent calls were made to enquire after my health and bb. So, I was practically pouring my frustrations out over the phone to her and she patiently listened before giving advice. Saved me from going insane, I would say.

<font color="ff0099">enxuan</font>
Aiyah, she's just being a bit paranoid then. I also TBF #1 until he was 6 mths old, and he's not "sticky" lor. Until now...
Suspect it has something to do with the new baby, so he's fighting for attention, but most times he still can entertain himself when required. Tell her you can let bb learn independence even thru BFing, cos even if they are on FM, still have to carry them and give bottle lor. Makes a difference meh?! Old ppl have all sorts of funny ideas.

Is your bra tight? Cos tight bras and those with underwire will cause the milk to get "stuck" and not flow out as easily. Will also prohibit breasts from producing more milk due to "lack of growing space". Have to find the article I read last time. If I find it I'll post up.

OMG! prohibit production of milk! i don't think my bra is tight and its not an underwired. But it may not give me the right support. haiz.. am waiting for my wacoal bra to arrive from the bp thread.. Oh and my bra are the ones from giant.. They are so cheap and I bought like a dozen of them to wear to sleep and at home.. hmm.. Tempted to go braless when sleeping and at home now. But worried they may drip.. Bravado bras really good? Maybe I should get some..

KIKI,
really yours bb oso shout &amp; cry in their sleep hahaha... at times they will go back to sleep but sometime dun waste my effort to make the bb sleep lor.

btw, DID YOUR BABY TEARS when they cry... these few days i see tears on my bb when he cry.... very poor ting like tat...

<font color="aa00aa">rach</font> - I haven't submit the Milk tray order officially leh.. I only posted in this thread and wanted to do the transfer but you say dun transfer first..

So was my milk tray order captured or not? should I do the transfer now?

<font color="ff0099">enxuan</font>
Bravado bras aren't good... they're FABULOUS.
You'll end up wearing it to sleep cos you won't want to take it off. I used to hate hate hate totally detest bras to the core. The thought of wearing bras (esp the underwired ones) throughout my pregnancy and nursing drove me nuts. I'm only surprised my boobies haven't sagged til my knees at the rate I used to go braless. But Bravado... ahhh. That's a different story. Try try try!! *bad influence*

<font color="ff0000">sonnig</font>
oh thats not bad at least..they did the best they can by giving a call to make up..better than no calls at all..
never expected them to call at all..coz never heard of people mentioning that they'll call. haha..
no expectations = pleasant surprise,

<font color="ff0000">enxuan</font>
haha.. a dozen???????? I'm surviving with 4 Bravados day in day out... need so many meh? haha..
you can get it from... my supplier u know.. haha.. the current batch will be reaching her soon...maybe in 2 weeks time?
but she does have some extras from previous batch... u want let me know... or u can contact her directly...
u know who hor... :p
its at a low low rate.... hehe.. cant find anywhere else i assure u.. :p

<font color="ff0000">Steph</font>
oh yah.. its captured.. u can make payment already.. just tranfser to the acct i gave u in the email..
not mine hor.. dun transfer wrongly... hehehe.. :p

<font color="ff0000">shelled</font>
exactly!! Initially i wore only my 2 oNB..and i wear it like 24hours.. but later on decided that even if i stay home, its not too much to change in the morning and nite..
hahaha.so i got no choice but to rotate the 2 ONB &amp; 2BSS that i have... shiok la..
wear until now can easily one hand unclasp and clasp back the clip liaoz..
haha...

what is MMRV??

<font color="ff0000">Phneumococal</font>
its made compulsory already..... on yahoo news...

<font color="ff0099">bbq98</font>
Just saw it on the news. Sound like national propaganda to scare kiasu parents into getting their kids vaccinated.

My hubs was telling me we shouldn't bother to vaccinate our kids, cos all the other kiasu parents would have vaccinated their kids, so our kids have no one to catch illness from!

what a day for me.... i'm nw in thomson medical typing tis message.
My #2 was admitted due to Bronchitis.

<font color="0000ff">Freezer</font>
I got the same freezer for $329 including delivery. Is the same supplier that Jenifur posted a few days ago.

<font color="ff0000">Sensible Lines Milk Trays</font>
It'll reach supplier this week.. we can expect to receive it by next Tue! or earlier..

<font color="ff0000">shelled</font>
haaa... i like ur HB's thinking.. save money!!

oh yah..my GP was telling me the last time i went to try to get the vaccine done... its $100 for MMRV...
but MMR at polyC is FOC.. :/

Hi Happykae,

I asked the supplier (Lea Hin Co) that Jennifer provided too. Like that no need to consolidate 3 orders, we can just order separately. The guy is called Kelvin Lim, right?
Let me ask the supplier again then or do u have the contact person? Thanks.

MMR dun jab till at least 15 mths what. MMRV also i assume not so early right. im jabbing my boy prevnar (pneumococal) at 6 mths. did u read the news? 2 toddlers died from pneumococal bug this yr and many others caught the virus.

Enxuan,
I'm sorry, Don't think I am able to provide you with the Beansprout pillow at the moment. Am juggling between getting back to my business and increasing my supply which dipped DRASTICALLY!!!!

DIAGNOSIS OF MY SORE BOOBS.

Lactation consultant said there is nothing wrong with me! I am simply SORE!!! And guess what... My pump isn't suitable for me!!! Apparently they said it was my pump that I am not supposed to be using for frequent uses that made me sore...

Now I am finding a way to get rid of it as it comes with full warranty! Who wants? 1/2 price!

PIS and Freestyle.

Give me the reviews of it please... And is there anywhere I can get it cheap?

Rach,

I'm home.. And tired man... What pump are you using and how much is it? Give me reviews please~~~~

Hi Pamelia

Can I know if you get the LC to go to your place or you went to visit her?

I'm getting the freestyle from USA. If you interested, can let me know.

Prettymums,

The LC was from TMC. I went down to Parent Craft as I brought my daughter to Baby Clinic for her 2nd Hep B jab. They were out for lunch so I went to the nursing room to latch her on till they wee back XD

How much is the freestyle from the USA?

Steph,

My girl had her BCG and 1st Hep B at the hospital after birth.

I decided not to go for combined 5 in 1's and 6 in 1's. It's only $30 for this jab. She only squealed for 3 seconds when the doc gave her the jab... I felt pain for her though... X3

I am afraid that she may have a fever and stuff if to many vaccines are administered to her at 1 shot.. She is still small and frail to me. XD

ebm> i forget trf my ebm from fridge to freezer within 6hrs. how? can still trf to freezer? or consume within 4days?

hubby's grandma passed away on sun. now i got to give bb my store milk supply tat i accumulated over these few days of hardworking pumping. lucky got enugh stock. else bb will go hungry while i'm at de wake. so it's really good to express extra to store juz in case anything happens

twiggy> lol. den i bo hua. bought so many things. but only intended to tbf for 6mths. not sure if i can really tahan =x

really leh. i latch my boy fully for 6wks. only started bottle feeding. once a day max since he was 6wks 1day old. n today, he is 6wks6days, only 4.6kg, borned 2.85kg. so he din gain weight as fast compared to other kids here who bottle feed =p

but anytime my boy scream n i cant pacify him, i offer him my breast -_-

lina> sometimes bo bian. juz need to pump n latch tgt. keke i hold bb with one hand, hold pump with other. den when wanna on or off de pump, got to pump down n adjust settings n put back. very tedious. but milk flow is good

rach> once de light is off, means de temp is right. anyway test one drop of milk on ur hand to ensure is room temp lo

i eat ice cream n drink only cold water. anything not cold i dun drink, unless when i take medicine

nursing top ship via vpost? or ship via wat? if vpost den still need sometime rite?

jenifur> huh? as in u juz bottle feed him without waking him up n before he fusses?

stephanie> lol. den bo bian lo. take de ebm let him drink when u express juz before his fusses lo

shelled> how to start sleep training? if he wakes up how?

flower4> me too. bb now cry got tears. so heart pain. den i wil pick him up n give in to him

Rach,
Oh no.. Medela pump is better than Avent yea? Its so tedious to keep pumping &amp; pumping.. Really hope my girl will latch on. Your bb slept through the night till 8am ??? How do you do that?? I dont remember when was the last time I had a long sleep...

Shelled,
OKay will try to hang on for 15mins for each breast. Will watch see the pathetic milk flow.... sob sob. Thanks for the advise.

Steph,
Wow your bb drinks alot yeah ? 1 month old ? Mine turning 1 month this coming Friday, the breast milk I have is only enough for one day feed, night feedings still depending on FM. Hai~ really hope that my supply will increase.

Shelled,
One hand hold on to the pump while the other hand hold on to my bb head ?? I am already so clumpy with either activity by itself not to mention doing both at the same time....
She cracked my nipples till they bleed when she was 3 days old (now 1 month) therefore bottle fed since then, I think thats why she doesnt wants to suckle my breast anymore. Ummm I think she is properly latched on, she was happily suckling + swollowing for 5mins then she will stop &amp; scream out loud, then I quickly massage my breast till milk coming out (dripping on her face) she still scream... aiyo headache...

<font color="ff00cc">happykae</font>
Thanks for the heads up on the freezer price!

<font color="ff00cc">mei76</font>
So you think we can bargain for $329 per set? Still can get 5% off if we get more than 3 sets?

<font color="ff00cc">Pamelia</font>
What pump you using now? You wanna sell then you never mention what brand/model?!
I think if you get sore nipples easily, should go for Ameda Lactaline ($365 from Mumsfairy, including free courier delivery) cos its lowest suction is quite gentle. Can run on batteries as well if you need to port it around.

They also have this new Hygeia Enjoye pump safe for multi-user as well (not that you'll need it), and it comes with cooler bag + ice pack + black messenger bag. I thought it'll be quite convenient for you since you'll need to bring EBM home. They're having a BP thread with special offer @ $499 for the whole set, maybe you can take a look?

<font color="ff00cc">Lina</font>
I think you have to find a way to adjust your pump settings (and your psyche) to allow yourself to get multiple letdowns. Took me almost a week to find the pump settings that suitable for maximum letdown effect, and I realise I have to distract myself from the fact that I'm pumping. So I'll watch TV and totally ignore the fact that I'm pumping (and stop obsessing over how little is coming out) then suddenly I will feel my nipples harden and alot of milk will be flowing out.

Apparently alot of sources say that the more you obsess over the amt while pumping, you tense up due to stress, which in turn prohibits you from getting a letdown and having more efficient pumping.
You try try lah. A few of us moms MSN each other while pumping to distract each other....

Maybe your baby is the impatient sort. I'm just making a guess. Maybe next time massage first before you latch her? If you want to do tandem pumping while latching her, it's best to have the aid of a nursing pillow (or any pillow) that can help hold the bb up closer to your boob instead of needing you to cradle her. Must try try all methods until you get what works for you lah. It'll be frustrating in the beginning, but once you've found what works for you, everything will be a breeze! Good luck!

Shelled,

Am selling away Medela Mini Electric Plus. Would be best if I can sell it for $200. Bought it at $300+ and didn't submit the warranty card... So it's still full warranty...

I feel so stupid for buying it on impulse without doing my homework.. Baka Baka Baka...

I am wondering if the suction for PIS and Freestyle is the same... Just that Freestyle is handsfree?

Pam> I'm also using Medela Mini Electric Plus, recycled from my #1 and now still using it for #2. And yeah, I constantly got sore nipples loh.. cos the speed I have to put to number 3 (cos any lower no suction..).. higher speed i will freak out cos it's really painful!

Not sure about freestyle though.. But maybe while you're waiting to get the new pump, try to use your existing one and pump longer for a gentler speed? I pump at least 30 - 40 min each time leh.. to completely empty the breast, cos I set at moderate speed cos my medela is rather painful, no choice.

However, I pump every 5/6 hours now (if not latching) so it's not that painful at the end of the day lah.. Take care!!

lina> if u supplement with fm without latching on, dere is no way u can increase ur supply like this. now i olways clear my breast after feed by pumping esp in de nite to increase supply. i think it's working. cos everyday i c de amt i pump increase, even a mere 10ml increase makes me happy

shelled> but i find ameda not powerful enugh de suction, esp for pple with low milk flow like me, de milk very hard to come out. not sure if medela will be better. haha. tempted to buy n try. but not worth leh. intend to bf only 6mths. like tat i spend too much buying new pumps

Shelled,
Doesn't Bravado bra with underwired cause block ducts ? This nursing bra with underwire different from the normal underwire bra ? Coz previously I wore this strapless underwired bra (normal), end up in pain.

Any idea on strapless nursing bra, all nursing bra have ultra thick straps. Prefer skinny thin strap or no strap at all

<font color="ff0000">Pam</font>
Medela Freestyle anytime... thats if u have nursing bra..coz u need to clip it to ur bra...
the difference is mainly between one handsfree and one not...
for PIS, u have to hold it with both hands.. i have coll sayin she use hands and legs to giap it before pressing the on button..
but some people manage to slot it into the nursing bra for support...
but may or may not be safe...

Freestyle allows u to clip n viola! u can do other things..(like typing..like what i'm doing now with both hands..)
there's a battery that even allows u to walk ard doing other things.. (but guess u dun need to walk out of ur pumping room..)

if u are getting the US version, freestyle only needs an adapter... which costs $1.80 for international plug..
PIS would require a different kind of adaptor..which cost $60++ i think from the spree i saw..

Freestyle US version is available at $469.. or u can check forum for 2nd hand piece.. much cheaper...

PIS is about $300+++....

I'm using FREESTYLE! Bought from US... $469...
Spore selling $988....

Check
1. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/3069972.html?1254895867 - check how much she's selling..

2. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/3035512.html?1254745384 - try to bargain for $400 at least or cheaper..

3. "I have a brand new FREESTYLE for sale

It is a local set with local warranty.
Sealed in box and sealed sticker still intact.

Its a local set with local 1 year warranty.
Selling at cheap price of $699 (neg)
Retail price is at $988.

I aslo have a BN PUMP IN STYLE ADVANCE.
Local set also with 1 year warranty.
Selling at low cost of $570 (neg).
Retail price is at $750

SMS me at 9766-0508 for more info."

i suggest 2nd hand..coz brand new needs 3 weeks of shipping time....
or u can check with my supplier if she has brought in new shipment...and has spare to sell....

Freestyle is only palm size big..very portable and light...
PIS is more bulky and troublesome to lug ard...

Ppl says PIS may be stronger.. but like i said.. i use Freestyle..and i only use level 2 and 3... sometimes 4...
and there're 10 levels.... i dunno those who say suction not enough using level 10 or what..
else they got power nipple.. my nipple will get sore if i use anything more than 4 loh. haha...

this is the best i can do for u yah...

<font color="ff0000">Michelle</font>
ya la...vpost loh..sigh...
so need another 2 weeks loh..at least there's progress... hahaa.....

my baby cry always got tears one leh...since week 2 or 3..

<font color="ff0000">Lina</font>
i didnt do anything..either she was super contented, or she's super tired....
but today she woke up at 6am..after 1am feed... so its 5hours.. hehe...

<font color="ff0000">LIL JADE</font>
huh... i already collated TWO batches of Bravado bra HERE in sept thread leh.
u never seen before?? once in August (not here though..bt some mummies did post and mention..) and another one in late Sept.... >.<"
u mean u never seen my posts at all??
i'm like spamming whenever the deadline is closing loh.. hahaa...
BP is EXP la.... at least much much more exp... wahhaha...

PM me for the contact la..

<font color="ff0000">Lina</font>
Mothers En Vougue has some skinny strap...
Bravado to me is fine leh. not that thick..normal. hehe...

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="aa00aa">Milkyway</font>

I usually don't latch @ nite cuz Daddy wants to relax &amp; chill out w Jed over e milk feed after 1 long day @ work. DH said wana share my burden but hor actually nt v helpful as I'll b busy w xpressing also. But since he requests den let it be lor.

<font color="0000ff">Michelle</font>

Yes.. I'll just give him his milk w/o him waking up or fussing. Yesterday is the 3rd night we tried &amp; works v well. He just woke up for his feed, only problem I've now is his overflowing diaper...

<font color="aa00aa">Pam</font>

Why don't you fix an appt with Breastfeeding Mother's support group to try out the various pump before you commit again. Diff pump works for diff ppl. Like I personally find tt Medela PIS &amp; Medela dual do not work for me whereas Ameda works great lor.

<font color="0000ff">bbq98</font>

I'm planning to go for the Baby Massage class @ KKH. Now waiting to hear feedback from another mummy to see if it's gd</font>

Hi Happykae,

I asked the salesman n he asked if u could provide more info like the Invoice no., date of purchase, model no. Could you pm me if not convi to post? Thanks.

Regarding other questions:

This is his reply
"
No problem, we can deliver to 3 different locations but please advise the addresses and telephone numbers. We will issue 3 separate invoices and kindly make payment upon receiving of goods. Our warranty is one year.
"

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">Happykae</font>

Hope yr child recovers soon. You must also take care ya. It's nt easy for mummy to juggle w sick child &amp; a newborn BB.</font>

<font color="ff0000">jul / shelled / mama_to_6js / and whoever has one side of "not-so-productive-boob"</font>

So do we need to do anything to it? I also observed that for the not-so-productive-boob, only 1 hole has milk shooting out only. Though after massage, a few holes have milk comes out, but after a few seconds, it goes back to 1 hole again. And I figured because only 1 hole is working so hard, it actually takes a long time to match the amount of the other boob, say if I continue to pump for another 30min or so, then will reach the same amount, but I am not going to pump the extra 30min.

What can I do? A visit to the LC will help?

Mama_to_6js - you have successfullt bring both boobs back to the same amount right? By latching your baby more often to that boob?

Any other suggestions? Please.....