(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

jenifur,
my bb is a boy and i can close shop as my 1st is a ger...
haven't been gaining any weight yet...but bb is growing fine...my gynae even joke to my hb that losing weight is good... :p

so any idea on ur bb's gender yet?

hope ur dad is ok...

had a bad day yesterday went home burst out...
haizzzzz
hope for the best ... suppose that y make me so crazy and paranoid abt my pregnancy...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Jul_04,

So far BB is growing well. Dr. Wong is just being careful as my blood pressure is low &amp; I've been losing weight so keep me home to rest.

U know yr bb's gender yet?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Cloudme,

Congrats!! So u've got a "好" now... Gd that #1 is a girl, can help to take care of e younger sibling.

Gynae is about 70% cfm is a boy again. Both HB &amp; gynae saw e birdie in between e legs during e last scan. My #1 DD is very happy.. She has been praying to Jesus every night to give her another didi.

I was abit disappointed though. I tot it will be a girl since I had almost all e same symptoms when preggie with my #1 DD. But nvm lah, all it matters is e BB is healthy now
</font></font>

jenifur

I see. Being cautious is gd. Need to take more care &amp; try to eat more then.

Yup, just found out on Fri that it's a boy.

JUL
u so smart huh. yah holidays r always super busy for me! cos each kid got different requests and needs!

jenifur
glad to see u back here! as i was sayg just now over msn, God is in control over ur dad.

regd breastfeeding, i agree that while breastfeeding is good, dun stress urself over it.i had depression after my twins delivery cos i had so much milk n wanted so much to breastfeed but mil wouldnt let me. she selfish lor cos she wanted to have the chance to feed my twins (first pair of twins in family so she very suaku) and if i breastfed them she wont have the chance mah. so i offered to pump out the milk but then she said took too long to warm up the milk, fm better. i was so upset i cried for days n nites till my supply dried up and till now i still remembered and still get upset at times. all in all i only manageed to breastfeed the twins almost 3 mths. yes lah its an achievement already many wud say but even that 3 mths there were so much struggles lor.

mamato6

I think it's all the fish oil I've been taking. Some of it must have been absorbed by me, so maybe I grew smarter hahaha.

kiddo,
what happen??

jenifur,
ur ger or boy is born Feb/mar 08 rite?...

low BP is not good..same goes wif the high BP...

doc at my comp clinic will sure measure BP if i see them for headaches, flu etc...

i am also losing weight b4 12wks but now stable at a certain weight but never increase at all...haiz...

how many children u intend to have?

my ger too young to understand how to take care of yonger sibling as their gap is only 16mths apart...

girlygirly... did u have a tough time when #3 was born as #2 just started to walk? i start to imagine myself carrying #2 while chasing after #1.. she sure will fall a lot during the initial stage of walking

sandwich... agree with u that pumping is not cheap. the electric pump i bought is ex. but still have to buy since gotta go back to work.

just to share that the glass bottles that i use to store breast milk are free. got a lot from TMC kekeke. when i bring the expressed milk in fridge-to-go to my parents-in-law's house to my baby, the glass bottles did not break at all.

milkway... i used Avent manual and Medela PIS before. just my 2 cents on these 2 pumps:
Avent manual: cheaper, easy to bring around, but pump till hand very tired, and very slow.
Medela PIS: expensive, bulky. but very efficient in pumping

New MTB... i'm using Pigeon steriliser. easy to use

pepper and Katherine... last time my parents-in-law always asked me when i start to feed bb formula, coz they comment that my milk is "thin". there was once after expressing milk, my MIL said, "huh, so little only?"
even when my #1 was hospitalised due to jaundice, i still breastfeed her as much as possible

some of u know the gender so early. my gynae said wait until next month then can see

waiwai

U mentioned a fridge-to-go. What's that? Not the cooler bag with the cooler ice packs right?

Aiyah our parents' generation are used to FM, so they think BM is very thin. Bobian gotta 'educate' them slowly.

I guess Babylet was cooperative &amp; opened his legs during the scan so I cud see lor. But I heard if the BB also closes its legs during the FA scan, then gotta wait even longer to see. I aws tot latest to see gender wud be during FA scan.

<font face="Comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Jul_04,

Congats!!! Really so far all boys hor.

True, it's gd to be cautious but HB said Dr. Wong too careful *hee*. She said even if she release me now, I'll hv to be grounded again when comes wk 28 onwards.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mamato6J,

Yupz, I know my dad is in good hand. Have been praying for him &amp; I know the biopsy report will be good.

I nearly had depression when I had #1 too. All thanks to my MIL/mum. MIL kept commenting my EBM too thin/dilute, even pour away my EBM &amp; secretly gave my DD FM. My mum on e other hand kept asking me to stop cuz I refuse to eat ginger &amp; drink tonic wine as my DD had BM Jaundice. Thank God that I've a supportive husband, if not dun tink I can TBF my DD for 1 yr.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Cloudme,

My #2 DS is born in Feb-08. 16 mths apart tt means yr DD is e same age as my DS right?

We hope to have 4 kiddo, best is to have 2 of each sex so they can tag-team when they quarrel or fight *hee*</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Kiddo,

Are you ok now? Is gd to hv occasional outburst, better den bottle everything inside e heart. It's e pregnancy hormone which is causing u to hv mood swing. Must learn to relax ya.</font></font>

Jul, u mean FA cheaper than oscar? haha.. i always tot FA more exp ley! haiz.. then shld hve skipped oscar then.. but nvm.. all for e sake of bb..

jenifur, hope ur father is doing well nw..

Hmm.. regarding bm.. i tot as long as we are hardworking, kept on feeding/ expressing then the milk supply will come in? Or really some of us will hve little supply of bm no matter wat i do?

mamato6js.. my frien same as u.. MIL dun like her to bf cos she wanted to have the chance to feed.. haiz.. sometimes its really hard to understand their thinking..

jenifur

Haha maybe her motto is better safe than sorry lor!

Maybe that's why it's gd to have confinement lady. They cannot stop u from doing what u wanna do.

Katherine

Yes, 33% of the price only!

jenifur,
my ger is younger than ur boy by 2 mths...
she born in early apr 08...
i often pop by the mar 08 thread to read...so find ur nick familiar...

KAtherine
which is why for subsequent confinements, i told hubby to ban her from my hse! she comes few hrs then she goes home that kind.

<font face="Comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Katherine Goh,

Jus curious, do you stay in AMK?</font>

<font color="aa00aa"><u>Glass Bottle</u>

I used Glass bottle to freeze EBM for my #1 DD too. But find it not very gd as max only can store up to 120ml. It's too bulky, takes up too much space in e freezer.

I prefer to use milkbag. Can lay flat so save alot of storage space den can freeze up about 180ml to 200ml per bag. I also got e 1 oz milk tray so can top up if BB drinks more</font>

<font color="0000ff">Jul_04,

FTG works e same as cooler bag but suppose to keep cold longer &amp; minus e ice blocks. Dun buy e Pigeon cooler bag, totally sucks. I find e normal cooler bag is enough if it's just to tpt yr EBM to &amp; fro work. FTG is gd if u r gng out for long hrs. U can consider e ones from e website below or the Playtex FTG.

http://www.fridge-to-go.com/ </font></font>

jul_04... FTG can keep cold longer, no need to put ice block inside. i need it to bring a few bottles of EBM to my parents-in-law's house for my bb when i go to work. but i bring a smaller cooler bag to work

one problem with glass bottles, like jnifur says, can only store max 120ml. but milk bag is really expensive, i used them only when freezer is almost full with bottles of frozen BM

for #1, i knew that i definately wanted to breastfeed, so i didnt even buy a single tin of FM for "just-in-case" situations at home. my mum and mil only urged me to introduce formula after my boy's weight gain slowed down as he didnt take to solid feeding very well. he kept wanting to drink BM only from 6 months to 1 years old. had to keep assuring my mum and mil that there are other development milestones to look out for (intelligence, alertness, gross motor skills) etc besides being a fat and chubby bb. i think a lot of our chinese elders are forever worried that our bbs are not eating enough, are hungry, not gaining weight etc. but since we live alone with bb and i'm the primary caregiver, i just continued to breastfeed till one years plus.

jenifur,
i used an FTG bag from the link too. i used the bag together with blue ice blocks

hnZBZU
Viagra Online - Click here for more information...
* Fast worldwide shipping!
* 30 days money back!
* Really prices and Free bonuses!
* Customer support available 24/7!
* No prescription required!

F1LLpp
Viagra Online - Click here for more information...
* Fast worldwide shipping!
* 30 days money back!
* Really prices and Free bonuses!
* Customer support available 24/7!
* No prescription required!

interestingly, i have decided not to bf because i think bm is over rated. i only bf my gal for 4 weeks and most of the time furing the 4 weeks she was on FM. and touch wood, she has grown tall and stronger than my friends' who babies were on TBM. My gal's bones are very heavy and i think the calcium from FM is much higher than my bm which is too diluted. My gal also fall sick less often than my friend's babies on TBM. I think certain women are just too undernourished to produce good quality BM. And i think best is to give enuff nutrients to the child. As for the anitbodies, i think Singapore is such a hygenic place our child will gain immunity over time. I believe that nature is telling me that my body is too weak to produce enough milk, so i don want to force myself by taking fenugreek etc. It is just not natural.

I also found that i enjoyed my baby much more when i stopped BF. Instead of focusing on my milk supply, i spent more time playing and interacting and no longer felt depressed or bounded by time to do things every 3 or 4 hourly.

So morale of the story is if you dont have enuff BM don feel guilty or force urself. FM can be just as good.

haha mamato6s.. at least ur MIL will listen to ur husband lo.. but my frien no choice cos live together w the in laws..

jenifur.. nope.. i stayed in jurong

wow.. so envy.. i really hope that i can see my freezer full of bm also.. jia you! hehe

oh i forgot, for frozen or cold BM, the heating up process if not done properly may overheat the milk and destroy the nutrients. Many times i noticed my mother and confinement lady overheat the cold BM, i just think it is a complete waste of effort as all nutrients are lost.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Waiwai,

I used e Playtex liner (http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2792434) which still quite cheap, cost me bout S$12 for 140 pcs. Find it not necessary to get the Lansinoh milkbags, too ex.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Katherine Goh,

Then wrong person. U had e same nick as another mummy who used to join my orangebear spree.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Mummies,

Breastfeeding Mother's Support Group do conduct workshops on BF. If keen can go sign up. Here's e link for more info:-

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/breastfeeding-workshops.html</font></font>

*mama to 6Js*

wow, beri boyish activities camping, rugby, soccer...never been involved in such sports :p hope in future i do
end of the day, think for mommy like us, we juz want our kids to be happy. they happy we also happy. juz that simple...

*milkway*

I've been using the avent manual breast pump...coz i don't fully breastfeed my bb so the main purpose of the pump is to relieve my engorgement and to express the milk for storage. Manual one can be tiring bt will get used to it. furthermore it's so much cheaper and also quiet.
for electric or battery operated ones muz take care that water don't get inside them lor...

*sandwich*

haha... the glass bottles are nt so vulnerable la. juz a suggestion, end of the day, the user muz be comfortable using it mah, right?? otherwise one more thing to feel stress abt...

*kiddo*

no worries la, i still haven't gain any wt also. in fact lose wt during the 1st trimester. till nw haven't even gain back those lost wt...

*waiwai*

of course i do...bt nw even #3 is running around nw. nt easy in the initial stage...somehw those difficult times will passed...

hi hi ... i juz going crazy onli lar...hahahah

WORK is always WORK...
BOSS is always BOSS...
haizzz don't have much choice juz got to learn to let it go juz that really so mad that i keep cursing and swearing the vulgar words.....

workload has been getting heavier so not much chance to post but just want to share some experience on bf. I fully breastfed my #1 for 7 mths and weaned him off during the 8th month. To prepare yourself for successful breastfeeding, it is good to read up as much information as you can and to talk to friends who have been successful so you know what to expect. Many people are worried about baby starving when they do not have milk in the first few days but actually that is perfectly normal. Babies can last for up to a week without milk after they are born. Their stomachs are only the size of a walnut when born. Once you feed them formula, the stomach expands and your milk supply will not be able to catch up with his requirement. meanwhile, if you just let baby latch on when they want, they can get colostrum which is full of antibodies and your milk supply will also come in very soon. Of course, if your doctor advises that he has some medical condition that needs formula milk immediately, you also cannot be too stubborn. My baby also needed some formula milk on the first day as he was premature and blood sugar level was extremely low. However, once he was ok, I requested the nurses to stop FM. I just let him latch on whenever he wanted, as frequent as hourly. The frequency slowly reduced over time as my milk came in.

The most important thing to remember about breastmilk is that the more you latch/express, the more milk you have. It may take a few days for the supply to catch up with baby's growth spurts but if you hang on, your supply will come. Once you introduce formula, it will be very difficult for your supply to catch up with baby's needs.

sandwich
wow, you are really solid. You can express in meetings, in the bus, and at your cubicle. i've tried breastfeeding in public but not expressing. I really can't imagine doing that. It is quite a messy affair.

Thks to girly,jul,sandwich, delfine &amp; many others that encourages me . Appreciate , i do feel much better after sharing here. Believe things will work out. I just take one step at a time slowly lor

mamijoan.. hehe that's what i wanna hear! thanks for your sharing

hope u're fine coping with your workload.. busy but happy

but as what pepper says.. i must eat nutritious food so that my bb can get the nutrients from my bm..

hehe jenifur.. tot no one will hve the same as me with my name n surname haha..

huichern.. *hugz* be brave and strong for urself and ur family ya.. u can do it
tt's e power of mummy's love

*flower4*
woah so scary ah... you can feel it ah?? I still can take cheese and milk... i hope my gynae doesnt give me any calcium pills or whatever cos i really totally cannot swallow any pills... yucky! i rather take from food.. i dont mind drinking lots of milk!!!

jenifur

Just checked out the FTG. Looks cool yeah?

Hmm why do u say Pigeon cooler bag sucks? B/c it doesn't keep cool? I rem seeing it at Taka BB fair. It's tall &amp; hard, black, like those old-fashioned strofoam cooler bags that our mums used to use issit?

huichern

Anytime. Pregnancy &amp; motherhood is hard. Let's help one another out as much as we can.

I'm also v grateful to the mummies here who give so much advice on breast feeding etc etc. Really "eye opener" leh.

waiwai

I suppose if I do presevere &amp; Babylet is willing to drink BF, I will get the FTG also. Let's hope he's not a big eater or I'll really be a cow man haha.

*jul*
pregnancy really very tough eh.... ): whole of 1st trimester is terrible for me.. making me phobia leh..... ): sobsob... now i still hv night sickness... sob sob.... waawaaa....

i am thinking what's my baby doing lor... i wish i have the machine and scan whenever i like! LOL!

Seriously i compare myself with all the mummies here,.. i very lousy leh... w0rk also cann0t w0rk.... -.-" complaint so much! LOL!

i also wanna try BF my baby.. as long as possible! :) if really no BM, then no choice... got to change to FM... but hopefully i have enuf BM!!! hahaa... i am afraid i don't know how to lor.... sob sob..

princess

I also! If I have a machine, I can scan everyday &amp; make sure he's ok haha.

Aiyah everybody suffers to a diff degree mah. If kena very bad MS< what to do? As if u ask for bad MS right?

I also afraid I dunno how. But nvm, the antenatal class will also teach us some basics. During the hosp stay, can ask the lactation consultant for tips too.

Anyway if really no BM, then feed FM lor. We also grew up on FM &amp; nvr die also mah. Just jin4 li4 er2 wei2 lor.

RE: Breastfeed
the most difficult time is the first month... the BM is little but if u determine must go beyond 1st month then can see results... also must keep latching and it is not that easy... BUT must not stress too much coz would worsen the situation facing... so if latching is hard can try pumping keep pumping at the interval of every 3hours slowly u will see the results ..
Of course not all will be like this...for some BM supply alot... regardless the case is relax and enjoy the motherhood... it always hard to start... saying is easy

yo all. totally agree with princess and jul.
Maybe i a bit negative. I keep thinking whether my baby is there sometimes. cos my stomach has not been growing and my weight sometimes up sometimes down by 1-2 kg. have not been eating well. but sometimes MS until mood affected.

anw recently i experience a bit of pelvic pain.
if i continue to experience that, will see gynae.

huishan

It is prob the womb/ligament stretching thing. I have that on &amp; off the last few weeks. Now the "pain" has moved upwards, not so near the pelvis liao.

thanks jul.
ya i read some books. is quite common to experience that right? i hope so. the pain is bearable.jus a bit worried. tend to worry too much. heehee anw my EDD is late sep. u MTBs are more experienced than me. heehee advancing me at least 2 weeks.

RE:latching...

i very bad mummy...
when i latch my ger that time i told her u drink properly otherwise u go hungry...
and she did latch proper...hahaha...

huishan

Haha I think I advance u almost 4 weeks, coz me early sep one.

cloudme

Haha must show her who's boss mah haha.

katherine goh
actually I've got a friend with exactly the same name as you but I don't think you are her.

Glad you found the info useful. One more tip is to let baby latch on as soon after delivery as you can. For those going through natural birth, you should start within 1 hr of giving birth coz babies have a natural instinct to suckle once they are born. If c-section, then just try once you wake up. Mine was c-section and fortunately, my baby was keen to latch on even after a few hours. Allow for skin to skin contact for bonding too, it helps. The first time you do it, you'll be overwhelmed by the feeling.

*jul*
the antenatal class is must sign up? sign up at where? Hospital? how much? i no idea of these even though i heard of these often. LOL!

i also keep thinking what's my baby doing.... cos now it's still early to feel the kickings... but i will experience tightness from evening onwards... and my tummy can becom quite big in the evening... and my hb is so amazed... hahaha... got once i quarrel with my hb, make me so angry..... i haven sleep lor but hb thought i sleep liao.. he go and sayang my tummy and talk to my hb. dont know talk what secret. LOL!

*huishan*
Sometimes experiece MS also good cos usually people say baby is growing well mah.. but really very uncomfortable lor... i am like angel in the day.. then night time i machiam devil.... cos i got so grouchy grumpy irritated..... and can anyhow scold people if things dont go my way.. LOL!

Hmm... many of you know the gender already hor... so far all prince.... seems like boyboy really can detect so early hor....

*jul*
you think if i can ask my gynae check gender this weekend?? LOL! i also not sure she will check anot.. usually she very fast one.. sometimes i no time ask her things also..

princess

I know KK, MtA &amp; TMC all have. MtA &amp; TMC charge cheaper if u r delivering at their hosp. And weekend more exp than weekday. But roughly shd be ard high $100+ lah. U check KK website. I rem I saw b4.

They will teach us abt exercise, childbirth, taking care of BB such as bathing &amp; feeding, breastfeeding etc etc.

Haha ur HB using BB to get to u wor! Smart guy!

princess

Everytime u c her she will scan u right? If so, u ask her if can check for gender lor. At most kena rejected only mah. Dun ask, dunno haha.

But yeah seems like boys are norm "seen" earlier.