(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

fatbobo,
what jar the lady was using?
is it a small thermal pot?

sometimes the rice grain will also factor the texture...

RE: tiger jar,
i tried b4 not as good...as using thermal pot..
so i have already sent them to store liao...

Mine also collecting dust. I only use the tiger thermal containers for sun when she needs to eat lunch in church. Other than that she eats whatever we eat.

Fatbobo
I've a feeling it may be that they finish cooking it first before putting the food in storage. Just a little water to keep it moist.

bobo
i nv try self cook with the jar.. usually i finish cooking then transfer in.. but add abit more soup b4 transfer so that wun b too dry few hours later..

my monster boy still dun wan eat rice leh.. he will eat mee/beehoon/kway tiao but not rice. first few try on rice he still eat with soup after that dun wan liao.. but the teacher told me he eat in school leh, but muz have soup lah.. so sometimes i still cook porridge for him loh..

My ryan only likes porridge n not rice
Till now I cook every meal even when we go out
He taste all sorts of food but main meals still home cooked...Hee
I retire my tiger jar cos too heavy! Using thermos! Good and compact

Bbabyja,
Rya.n same...no rice..bee hoon/ Kwey tiao/mian sian
he likes

sharon
ya loh, he eat all sort juz not rice.. but if go out, usually either me or hb will choose something light like fish beehoon so he eat abit of our portion.. yesterday let him try kway chap and he likes too..

cloudme:: i paiseh to walk nearer to see wat sort of jar the lady was using! i couldn't tell by its looks oso..cos i din really do alot of research on the jars, juz went straight to tiger niah. haha.

re: food in food jar
i oso fully cook the porridge den keep in jar leh. i tried very congee style.. still quite dry up. those porridge style is worse, dry like duno wat. n no matter hw much more soup or water u add in..at the end of it, it will still be soaked up de leh!

my girls oso taste almost all of our food outside.. but most of the times, main meal is still their home-cooked food. they will be fed first, then have a little share of whatever we eat. so like bbja & sharon, my jar is still serving us.

fatbobo,
hmm...so far my porridge in my thermos wont dry up
if i put it soupy, when open its still soupy

u still using ur tiger one? prob it has the cooking function, so the water will dry up
so prob u need put more water before u bring out?

fatbobo,
hmmm,maybe i tried using tomorrow and see how it turns out...

thinking of using it for office lunch(dun wanna waste money on it!)...wanna fully utilise it...

My ryan only likes porridge n not rice
Till now I cook every meal even when we go out
He taste all sorts of food but main meals still home cooked...Hee
I retire my tiger jar cos too heavy! Using thermos! Good and compact

Bbabyja,
Rya.n same...no rice..bee hoon/ Kwey tiao/mian sian
he likes

hmmmm~ thermos arh... but ya, unless i need for another bb.. or for the next bb.... no point i buy one nw.

im using the bigger tiger food jar.. n smtimes the food can b filled up to the brim.. cos 2 meals for 2 bbs. errrh.. but i tried before.. smtimes i really put alot of water liao leh.. plus food.. totally till the top le. but will dry up de lor! ): next time i will buy another make liao le.

Need to do a general feel of how e kiddie r growing..

Mind to share how heavy n tall ur kiddo is now..

Denson 80cm 10.6kg (3percentile, I m worried)

joyful
Kiiron is 81.5cm, 12+kg. Not alot of difference. My boy is growing very slowly now.
Denson looks ok leh, not skinny at all from the photos.

joyful,
ryan is 10.8kg, 81cm (50th percentile)
weight is stagnant but he looks bigger now after the massage and multi vits
i have trying all methods to let him gain weight!
finally he can fit in 18mths clothes though some r still abit loose

how come denson is 3percentile?!

joyful,

I hv a feeling ovann is abt the same as denson. He's taller now but i dun think he has increased alot in weight. He's still wearing L diaper for mamy poko/huggies, but he can oso fit in M diaper for BabyLove.

I remembered 1 of the PDs who had seen him assured me that he's small not becos he din eat, but rather, he's small built like mummy & daddy :p

sharon,

tat's weird.. Denson at 80cm n 10.6kg is considered 3 percentile leh.. during the weekend he is eatting properly.. at least 3qtr bowl of porridge for lunch n dinner.. n he still snacks on our food.. 3.5 bottle of 220ml of milk every day.. he is on multi-vits too..

for the longest time we hav been saying want to go Yu Guo, we haven been there..

hmm.. mummy n daddy small built but not light weight.. haha.. 18mth clothes is just nice for him.. some r tight though.. he is short compared to alot of kids here.. he dun look small but lightweight.. worrying..

pegsfur
Denson is still using L size huggies too! n the 2 tapes is only 1 or 2 fingers away..

wen we went to the PD for review, i was askin the PD if he is too small for his age... haven even see the growth chart, she give mi a "Ya" look.. few patients b4 us, the kids are 10mth old, weighing 10.6kg!! Denson was having flu n cough every now n then oso.. n everytime he dun look very sick to the PD.. the PD always tink we got too much money to spend.. n always been bring him there at the slightest sight of his mucus.. *boo*

joyful: 3rd percentile or 30th?

I asked my pd too, how come shayna so light and he said her weight now is ok and its her friends that are overweight and not that shayna is underweight.. haha..

just check against BabyCenter growth chart:

Denson is in between 5-10 percentile wor..

he is end july baby, rmb..

i can only console myself by reminding myself his birth weight is 2.6kg..

huh, his birth weight only 2.6? Then i think he is ok bah.. or u bench mark against someone else who is born at the same time, birth weight the same and same gender bah, then accurate.. but personally, i think since his birth weight was 2.6 only, i think he'll be fine lah..

bobo,
i upload a pic on the porridge that i cooked on FB..

but that is w/o cooking on stove...just dump the rice and hot boiling water into it...

the pic is taken after 2hrs from the min i closed the cap...

let me check back later b4 my lunch time see if the water is being soak up...

RE: tiger jar,
bobo, u add other veg too...
i know some veg soak up water during cooking process...

joyful
I try not to bring kiiron to PD for running nose, so far just go to yu guo for massage and he will recover already.
PD always tell me the same time leh + only touch him for 1min, at least yu guo will massage for 20mins

Since Denson is eating well, then it should be fine.

My boy is 3.025kg at birth, 25Jul. Now about 81.5cm, 12kg. He dont like food and each meal time takes 1hr and only eat about max 1/2 bowl, sometimes less than 10 mouthful. No one has the patience to feed him, so I have to rush home to do the job. A lot of time is "invested" to stuff him with food. think when he start school in Jun will lose weight already, dont think the teachers will force him to eat.

kiki,

i try to restrict Denson's mealtime to 45mins max. was reading the pediasure brochure, it mentioned that recommended feeding duration shld be 15-30mins.

PD recommend Pediasure n Nestle Junior (a higher carbo) milk for denson. Tried the Nestle Junior, Vanilla Flavour on sunday. after drinkin 80ml, he puked half of it out.. was so afraid to try out Pediasure on him..

was reading up on Pediasure, is oso for fussy eaters.. n all the descriptions for fussy eaters describe Denson.. so so demoralised..

i am oso the one to invest time in feeding him.

after CC, he like to self-feed but he is not eatting properly kind.. oso another headache.. but at least he drink milk more willingly.. n Pediasure oso mentioned fussy eater prefer milk than solid.. haiz..

hi all, gd mrng.

re: baby weight & height
for the longest period of time.. i duno wat's the measurement of my girls. -.-"

re: tiger food jar
thanks cloudme for the 'experiment'. without cooking at all arh.. can mah? will it really get cooked?

tings we add into the porridge.. a small pcs of pork rib, sm minced pork, a little fish, smtimes abit of spinach (if we hv), or smtimes abit of carrot (if we hv n/or if no vege), prolly sm ikan billis, abit of garlic/giner. like dat lor...dun quite tink these stuffs will soak up dat much?

i tried before those teochew style with lotsa water, will dry.. those very sticky congee style, oso dry up... hmmm~ or izit i close the lid too tight? haha. or..errr~ put into the jar when the food is too hot? duh! or..arrr~ simply too much food? cant be!!

kiki
javier also like that.. juz now the teacher told me he dun open his mouth or open very small for his meal.. 1 spoonful can feed 3x.. then he is always the first one to feed and last one to finish... hahahahaha...

wat is the best time to take queue number n the shortest waiting time?

Denson got sensitive nose, just like the daddy.. he had 2 episodes that mucus get stucked in the inner area.. cant clear n start coming out fr the eyes.. imagine greenish mucus fr the eye.. freak mi out totally.. everytime he lie down, e mucus accumulate in the eye.. he can hardly open his eyes those days....

joyful
the feeding clinic in KKH told me to stop after 30mins of feeding too coz he will get frustrated too after too long of feeding. he can take up to an hour to feed sometimes especially rice..

mayb u can get some samples of pediasure from pd.. i m sure they will have.. i m giving javier 1 feed of pediasure for his school ever since he start cc.. coz that time the teacher told me he dun wan to eat his food. but now seems that he adapting so more willing to eat.. oh ya, the description for fussy eater in the pediasure brouchure match him too.. hahaha...

joyful,
greenish muscus from eyes could also means having bacterial...

YW last wk just got it and have him on the anti-bacterial eye drop for 3 days...before finally clear...

bobo,
haha...u r welcome...
cos that "experiment" is also my lunch today... kekeke :p

joyful/kiki:: im the worst mother! im the first to be out of patience to feed them. personally i like my food hot hot..n i simply cant stand 'wet' food eaten cold..like, porridge, noodle soup, etc.. ok, rice is ok to eat colder. so, once they start to take too long to eat..i flare!!! i noe this is so NOT right, cos will hv neg effect on them wanting to eat. but i juz cldnt control myself!!! esp Keona, she's like a hamster, likes to keep food in her mouth, smtimes Mattea will go n poke her left cheek (whr the food r 'stored') n ask her to swallow her food!! likewise, aft they started CC, they wana feed themselves, of cos.. this is a good development.. independently eating on their own! but they r not eating properly too. scoop little food, food drop to the lap..etc! see liao even more 'hot'!! they're drinking ok la, but ever since they started CC, quantity oso drop le. cos they used to drink abt 180ml per feed, but for CC, we oni pack 120ml..dun wan too much wastage mah! my mum owas call Keona 'tortise'..cos like drinking milk, she oso take very long time to finish..n smtimes towards the end, she might get alittle tired..n if smone help hold her bottle or keep her entertained, she will finish! SIGH~

nw after one whole week of fever/cough.. Keona lost even more weight.. n poor thing, eye bag out, dark circles out.. face jiam jiam nw. (but my sis said she's looking more like mattea nw with a sharper face).

bottomline, i tink my girls oso fussy eaters.. so tat's y i hfta keep their basic meal as home-cooked food.. n supp with outside food.

joyful/cloudme:: my girls oso started hvg discharge at the eyes couple of days back! n both on the left eye!! is it a must to administer eye drop? can buy frm pharmacy? spent $100+ last wk'n at the PD le. ):

btw, whr can i get hold of a pediasure brochure?

cloudme
strawberry!!! hmmm.. mayb i ge a packet from u to let javier try.. he tried chocolate and vanila but not strawberry.. dun dare to buy leh, wait he dun wan drink waste $$$.. hahahaha

fatbobo, if the discharge is little could be jz 眼屎? due to heaty so you can boil some chrysanthemum tea wif rock sugar can help to 清热 this is wat i does usually.

Tips for dealing with your child's picky eating11*

Avoid distractions while eating – food should be eaten in a calm environment.
Adopt a neutral attitude to eating behaviour – avoid excessive praise, criticism, stimulation and coercion.
Feed at specific intervals and avoid snacking to encourage appetite – feed 3 to 4 hours apart and nothing in between.
Limit the duration of meals – meals should last between 20 to 30 minutes or 15 minutes if the child is not eating.
Use age-appropriate foods.
Introduce novel foods one at a time and expose the child to the food up to 15 times before assuming it will not be taken.
Encourage independent feeding.
Tolerate age-appropriate messiness when eating.

==================================================================================================

arrrrrrrrrrrrg~ i failed big time on these!!!!!!

Jagie,
u r fast.. i just got the link, abt to post..

my PD did wanted to give me a sample tin, but the clinic ran out of it.. only a sample pack of the Nestle Junior loh.. tok a few more mins on his growth considered long consultation charges us $45 for consultation.. no more sample tin so discount $10.. usual consultation is $35..

bobo,
if it is excessive then go to PD.. PD dun even allow mi to buy over the counter, insist to see Denson in order to prescribe..

Cloudme,
so nice of u.. my fussy boi neber like strawberry flavour.. tat's y i tried vanilla on him first.. i m trying to avoid flavours actually.. i scare he dun wan his unflavour milk..

the greenish mucus indeed is bacterial infection.. tat's y antibiotic is administered and only PD can prescribe..

bobo
i fail too loh.. hahaha..

joyful
nv see nestle junior b4 leh or mayb i missed it.. cant find online how its look like.. how much is 1 tin? pediasure price went up.. so ex now.. haiz..

ya..haha.. nestle junior sounds cheaper.... i tink when they reach 24mths.. or our expenses go up (due to their sch'g n watnot)... whichever cms first... i wana chg them off enfa to a cheaper formula milk le. same..i oso try to avoid gvg other flavoured milk.. afraid they will lose interest in their regular FM. evn ribena, milo, holicks, honey drinks... all i oso tried to gv quite tasteless kind. except the honey i gave juz the day before..quite concentrated, cos i tink their throat not too well.

http://www.nestle.com.sg/Our+Brands/Healthcare+Nutrition/

NUTREN JUNIOR® Complete Nutrition for Children is a balanced nutritional formula specifically designed to meet the nutrition needs of children ages 1-10. The protein blend of 50% whey, 50% casein contains more whey than any other intact protein pediatric formula. High whey protein content can improve tolerance, facilitate gastric emptying and support normal growth and development.

NUTREN JUNIOR can be used as total or supplemental nutrition support for children who are unable to meet their nutrient requirements from regular food.
--------------------------

they dun provide much info on e website

btw.. we can gv the little ones soya bean milk rite? like those frm jollybean, pin le, etc? hw abt if it's almond flavoured de?