(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Hello, hv lost touch from here. How is everybody? Talking about baby bites. Errr.... My girl has bitten 4 kids in school, all from nursery. She sick for one week, went back to school, a boy missed her a lot wanted to hug n kiss her but kena bitten on the face. Then during music n movement, 2 kids wanted to hold her hands kena bitten. The teachers looked so stressed cos need to inform the kids' parents. I compensated each kid a packet of yoghurt melts cos really very very paisei. Of course my hb n i gave a lot of "counselling" to her. Then another time my girl sick for a week again, when I took her back to school, i told her "lindy no biting" n she shook her head n said "no no". I told the principal to keep an eye on her biting but still she bit one kid. Now I keep very high stock of the melts. Normally she doesn't bite, just after a long school break then she will bite.

There's pte sale tomorrow? Aaarrgghh ....How come i din receive the pamphlet? This isetan always send the pamphlet to me either very late like the day b4 the sale or overdue where i'd only receive after the sale.

Puzzle
Ovann can do the peg puzzle very well but not sure abt shape sorter though. I was quite surprise he can do the peg puzzle cos i used to teach & guide him but he still cldn't get them in. Then i got tired of teaching him i just pass the whole board to him to 'entertain' himself while i do my chores. The next thing i know, he could fit every one in already.

I gave him the shape sorter a few mths back but he din quite grasp the concept and my hubby has since kept it .. dunno where is it now .. haha.

speech
Not sure if it has to do with the class but ovann has been picking up quite a no. of new words recently, and he'll attempt to repeat after wat we said if it interests him. Anyway, i'm just glad that i decided to move him to senior class instead of staying with the babes class. The classroom is more spacious, there are less tots and the teachers are alot more engaging than the ones ovann had at United sq.

morning mummies..

my boi can sort shapes n peg puzzle v well i bott a few for him from animal to cars now i am teachin him to say different shape n colours but he got 1 major prob... he not interested in food..... he started CC for 2 day but nv touch their food at all n nv ask for food headache...

i tink every kids excel differently n have different kind of prob for my boi learning n speakin no issues but he dun like to eat esp food he not familiar with

so mummies dun worry so much ya...

morning mummies

re: abbot survey
i did it recently but it's very detailed and it goes by the number of languages spoken at home - so yeah ..got to go thru twice.

zac still doesn't speak much, although he can say random words correctly. his favourite words now are car, where, how, go and out, esp when sending him to cc, he will say go go go (as in go away, not go in) when we reach the cc doors, and when picked up, he is ever so fast say out, out and to wave bye bye and flying kisses to the teachers and children.

re: cc
after 2 bad weeks, he's finally showing some improvement. he still cries when reaching the cc, but at least now he doesn't cling on to the teacher's lap thru out the day. he will sit with the rest of the kids and look on, claps hands on and off (at the right times). i am so looking forward to the day he will participate fully.

re: corrected age
jagiebaby
zac is also premature by 6 weeks and the PD did mention that by 2, they shd have all caught up. zac still can't point out his body parts despite being taught, neither can he say at least 20 words (any 20 words, the guideline for normal development by 18mths) and the PD expressed some concerns abt delayed speech development and will review when we next see him as to whether zac needs speech therapy.

if you have the appt already, it would be good to go just to assess javier's status esp since he has feeding issues when young cos feeding/chewing issues and speech delays goes together.

Mashy: I am going down later too... with the kids and helper... My Rei is having her camp performance this evening at Act3 so bringing both of them along...

Pegsfur: Yes... there is a private sale today... need to grab some stuff for the house so will be heading down later...

BabyS: Yup... #2 is registered already... Got priority for siblings mah...

Hihi!

bb development
my boy can do puzzle and shape sorter well but speech not so advanced only 1 word recently did speak afew 2 words e.g. "no more" and "take it" thats all.

liz: oh i see... i have a appt with them next tuesday to view.. wondering if i can register then.. hee.. try my luck. In case i really can register, what documents should i bring along ah? birth cert? our NRICs? marriage cert need or not?

does any of the toddlers here can recognize alphabets or say the letters and sounds yet?

i saw that some can recognize the letters and say the phonics.

jeni
the article for mats has been out quite some time, the ones suspect are the foam mats with alpha shapes.

LG/parklon mats that is one piece ones shd be ok.

BabyS: If i rem correctly, Birth Cert, Parents IC, That should be it. Anyway, if you forgotten anything can always reg first and give documents later... They will provide more info during orientation where u will buy the uniform and etc.

babymaking,

Ovann can say some of the phonics since his class is teaching zoophonics ... he can't recognise alphabets yet but is able to pronouce some of the letters.

He just surprised me just now when i was counting the steps at the stairs while going down. When i said 1, he followed with 2, 3 and 4! Very surprised cos he never attempted to say out the numbers whenever i count with him. So i guess when we teach them, they will absorb it and say it when they are ready

My gal is also very slow in term of speech... She can understand our instruction but she just refuse to speak... a bit worrying too... But I offen hear that its quite normal for kid to only start speaking at the age of 2... I always try to get her to repeat after us but she just refuse....

I come accross this web where the
Training Brief is designed in a easy way for little boys to learn urinating. They do not have to pull down the brief. It is designed with a side hole at the center of the brief for easy urinating"
Any one get these?

need some advice on the following:

6.00am milk-120ml
9.00am cereal (playgroup "pg") breakfast
12 noon porridge (pg) lunch
3.00pm snack (pg)
5.30 milk-180ml(pg)
7.00 dinner ( 2 bowl fish porridge or 1 bowl rice with meat and veggie, and biscuits too)
10.00 milk 50ml - 120ml (so little!)

My concern is he used to drink 200ml for every timing but since i started rice or porridge, he has somehow his milk intake is getting lesser and I was quite worried. Is he eating less?

babiesmeme: cos the rice is more filling mah..

when i started shayna on porridge, her milk in take from 180 drop to 150 or sometimes lesser..

i haven't been participating but i been reading and since i have 2 girls i have a chance to compare, so just want to re-assure some of you.

Re: CCC biting incidents
my girl was bitten in ccc too and about 2-3 times, i guess can only hope the other children faster outgrow it otherwise, it is no use complaining...

Re: Speech
My elder girl was very slow in speech too, she only really started talking way past 2. And after I sent her to ccc, she starts talking SO much that she cannot stop talking sometimes she can just go on and on and on...nonstop...oh now she's 3 more months to 3yo.
For meimei, at 19 months, she is talking alot as compared to her sister at the same age, a lot of words i guess she picked up from jiejie especially when they fight.
So no worries if your children are not talking yet, they will and they will surprise you with the number of words they can speak and even say in sentences

My PD was concerned at my elder girl's speech too and hinted for speech therapy but things turn out well so i feel there's no need for therapy, at least not now.

just my observations from my 2 girls
hope can make those worried feel better, believe i was super worried about my elder girl's development too and keep telling my friends that my girl must be stupid, can't even call mummy, worst that she had tongue-tie at birth, which the PD had warned will affect her speech!

Nd's girl

cannot talk definitely not stupid. I don't think my boy is stupid at all lor. Maybe personality also affects. My boy is an introvert. The things that he read is so chim. In fact I'm learning along with him in case I look stupid in front of him when he asks me questions. He was into space and planets. Now he's into the human body. He's taking a lot of interest in how the baby grows in the mummy's tummy now. And he's only 5!

morning mummies..

i'm going to view a kindy tmrw for pre nursery next yr.. what questions should i ask and what should i look out for?

hi good mrng ladies~

re: qtn to ask cc/kindy..watever
bahaha~ like u.. i hv no idea wat qtns to ask or wat to look out for.... but so far, of the couple i asked.....the big qtn (for me) will be "DO YOU GIVE SIBLING DISCOUNT?" lol~ like so desperate n hard-up!!! but ya.. mostly, i juz go for the feel..hw i like the place..n i see the toilet!!!!

re: cc
oh, my sam sengs meant to start cc today.. but Keona juz got better today niah..n Mattea just started to fall sick ystrday. im still not fully recovered yet, still on anti-biotic... n my hb oso at peak of flu/fever/cough!!! hmmm~ i realised the past couple of times, the whole family owas get sick tog! the joy!!

good morning!

talking about pre-nursery...can share your thots with me regarding Pat's Schoolhouse versus MMI? These 2 are near my plc....

celine
both schools r different. one is montesorri based, the other creativity n such. make appt with both schools and see wat kind of environment u like for ur child since the sch fees r not such a big difference.

hellllooo all, still talking about school and CC?

Wah Baby S, so fast already planning for a kindy class!

Sending my gal to cc on the 1st April. She's still on her milk bottle.. CC never asked me to bring.. and they want to me to wean off her milk. now, i'm thinking if i should bring her milk bottle or the cc will train her to use a cup. haizzzzzz

i'm so moody today... affected by a stupid call from a school's clerk, it affected me so much. that clerk is so bloody rude. can't even talk properly. aarghhh

Good afternoon.

mashy,
i think your boy has hidden talents, i'm sure you can groom him to gifted class.

babyS,
i think pre-nursery is more of play than learning ? i think i'll ask the teacher-student ratio because i believe the smaller the ratio, better attention is given, but of course, we have to a pay higher price.

sweetmama,
take it easy , it's only the start of the week.

sweetmama:: although todds shld be more into solids now.. but i believe milk is still an important part of their diet now? hw can the sch want parents to wean the todds off milk? i guess almost all our babies still on bottles now bah.. they're only 19mths. yes, the sch shld b teaching the todds to use a cup instead..but cannot say not to give (milk) bah. at least for the first few months until 2 or 3yo?

ya.. dun be affected by those ppl.. wat for get upset ourselves n dampen the mood. hope ur already feeling better now. cheer up~ :)

fatbobo : yes u r correct wor. cc cannot ask them to wean off the milk.
i think it is very important till they are 3 years old. still so young wor. but for 19 mths to start gg to cc hor. they should be trained to feed bb ma right?

sweetmama
the cc want you to wean off milk bottle or milk?

my boy is going to LSH in Jun/Jul and they will provide 250ml of milk everyday. I suppose in cup as it will be during meal times. They also told me to bring milk bottle + FM if more is needed (i.e. before nap time)

don know leh, my cc ask me to wean when i was there. hmmm then hor, i asked them to give me a copy of their timetable and the menu of the week. the administrator did not want to give me!

Hello everyone!

sweetmama

I glanced a bit thru your posts. Pardon me, but your CC sounds a bit 'fishy' to me. It seems that they're trying to make you wean your gal off milk so that they can save the work of making milk for her, & how can they not give you a copy of the timetable? Yes, perhaps menu changes a bit according to what fresh ingrdients they can get for the day, but why shdn't they give you the timetable?

hello jul,

yalo, in fact, i asked the lady twice. first she said she needed time to look for the file to print, second visited, she asked me to ask the big boss during the first day of school. i was unhappy but i don't know how to deal with her. so..i'm going to demand for it on the first day in school.

heee, jul that's perfectly correct. the big boss told me that they need to wean her milk because there are too many children and they can't manage to treat every children differently.

btw, my cc is sparkle tot.

sweetmama : I just recently started my ger at GUG... most of her peers from the class can speak, she cant... but i guess its good to expose her to session like this.

huh, our kiddos still need milk what.. if they cannot manage giving such a important thing as milk then maybe they should reconisder their man power rather than making the children miss out on their milk right... hmm..

Talking about GUG, i am keen to let shayna try.. Any reviews so far? and how is the Suntec branch?

baby S: Can u imagine I call 3 of their outlets all full! I talk to mt batten outlet, when i request for 19th month to 3 yr old class... they ask if I have attended their 8 to 18th month class... I say No... they say they highly recommend us to go for the 8th to 18mth class... because my ger is not exposed to ABC yet...

I got a shocked... I dun expect them to learn ABC yet... When I call the novena sq outlet, they happen to have a slot (cos they are approaching the end of the term)... so I took that slot... when we join the new term, I realise her class quite small... I guess they should still have slot....

They do art and craft, zoophonics and story telling... etc... Most of the time, I think they are teaching the parents than kids... hahahha maybe because the kids are constantly "exploring"... some of the kids are more "stable" and can sit still... like my ger, she is constantly "kaypo-ing" and she dun repeat after wat teachers do or speak...

I cant comment much on how effective is the class for now cos she is only into her 3rd lessons... But I do see some of the more "seasonal" kids doing quite well.. they are able to repeat after the teacher and pay better attention in class.

what is GUG ah? hahaha, sorry ah mountain turtle. hahah

Jul, different branches different management. there's another sparkle opposite my house. that one v v good. the place is also v neat. unlike mine, i feel the environment is ugly.

so ya the one opp my house was fully booked. i went there when my gal was only 5 or 6 months old.

so in summary same school name but different management different treatment.

Sweetmama : something wrong with the sparkle tots cc your child sending to wor..
Normally the time table is very easily obtain one.
Previously I sent a lot of emails to cc before cos I checking and than they got give me the time table wor. I only shortlist green tree Montessori. Haha..

Those which I found their staff like rude or what hor, I will not be requesting for the time table le.

sweetmama: GUG= Growing Up Gifted..

Puroland: huh, i also ??? like u... u mean the pre requisite for the 19 months one is must learn ABC first? I'll like to see how many of the kids know their ABCs man..

That time i asked Suntec one, they say got vacany wor.. I will probably ask for a trial after shayna's kindermusik ends...

sweetmama
the school should have planned time table and food. When I visited my boy's cc, the menu is displayed on the notice board clearly and its a 4 weeks plan which they will rotate.

so if they give you once also not good. ask them how often they change the menu and give you a copy when they change

Sweetmama
Yup, javier in sparkletots. The teacher told me to prepare his milk bottle and FM for him everyday. I use those 3 compartment for FM so they will keep there for 3 days then after i bring home and refill again.. I tok shou b about the same coz still under pap ma..

Baby S: Only mt battan outlet comment on the ABC... the Novena one din... So we went ahead with the 19mth old class... they started with H... hahahhahah So we din learn from A to G... we started with H... hahhaha

Jagie,
so one milk feed for a day?

kikilala,
got, the timetable and menu are displayed on the board. 4 weeks plan????? no leh, my one is a year menu! hhahahhaha, and i remember asking stupidly... eat the same thing for a year? i wonder if the administrator there bochap or what? she's the only administrator working there.

so i planned to take a photo of the timetable and menu on the board. hahahah. i don't dare to complain for now. i scare they will bear grunges on my gal. hahaah... so i better keep quiet.

ya, but i think i gonna request for the milk feed. but seriously when my gal wants milk, she will ask. but i don know if she will ask the teacher or not. haiz..sien. worry worry...

sending my gal in JG this week. hopefully it's fun..will share with you all more.