(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Sharon

oh dear, then maybe your friend belongs to the group that refuse to yield to the breast pump. Difficult to get a let down with a pump. Maybe she should try to hand express. I also can't get as much milk with pumps compared to hand express.
but too lazy, so I just settled for lesser milk.

Aaden was bitten in school today. Apparently he and another boy was fighting over a toy. The boy lost out to Aaden in getting the toy and bite him instead. Now he has this very deep set teeth mark on his cheeks, rather near his eyes. Aiyo...

Can complain or not? The centre mgr kan chiong. Called me earlier and also explain to my HB when he picked up Aaden just now. Heart pain lor...

joycec,
my boy also kenna "rolex" on his wrist last mth...

complain also no use one...

sharon,
that time i pump also not much milk, hand express more milk...

joycec: wah! kena bite near the eyes... so dangerous..

well, did the teachers punish the other boy or tell the parents? its wrong for both of them to fight for a toy but not right for the other boy to bite...

hi mrng ladies...

oh dear joycec..sounds bad..near the eyes! ya..hw cm the teacher din notice the kids fighting for the toy n stop them before the other kid set his teeth into Aaden's cheek?

i oso tink complain no use.. but i tink the parents of the other kid shld like find chance to say a 'sorry' at least bah.

oh no.. im worried nw.... my girls r starting CC next mon.. wat if they kenah bitten by others.. or worse...wat if they bite other kids!?!

My gal just bit her bro on Sunday. Also left a deep mark. Hehehe, no parents to complain to other than ourselves. Just leave it lah. Your kiddo might be the one to bite next time. :p

i agree wif mashy too..few mths ago my girl also bitten by my nierce near the eye blue black somemore. U know now she will bite her when they fight for toys.

I think teachers wil take note of this incident they will pay more attention on Aden think dun need to complain at this moment.

I also worried will be my girl bite other kids?

hey hey ladies,

anyone receive email from Abbott on "Abbott Nutrition'​s Toddler Language Developmen​t Survey"
upon completion of survey will receive a $20 NTUC Fairprice voucher.
logon to www.mrcsurvey.com/abbott. To qualigy, child has to be between 17.5-20.5 months or 24.5-27.5 months old at time complete the survey.

cloudme,
yes need IC to get in. not sure is it open for selected. i sign up as abbott member.

dolcevita,
i do it yday at midnight..agreed damn tedious survey i took 40 minutes to complete... now waiting for NTUC vouchers...abt 20 mintues i want to give up, tell myself endure endure juz for the S$20 voucher...

i oso did the survey and sent a lengthy feedback form.

language development is different from speech development mah ~

my girl can understand wat we say (language wise, eng n chinese).. only thing is that coz she is soo sooo slow in speech development that why, i never click most of the things..

the clock is ticking ~~~ she is reaching 2 in july.. and her speech development is still so slow.

April & Dolce, i received the invitation. is the questionaire multiple choices? if jz select i will participate for the sake of $20 NTUC voucher lolz.

donkeymami,
is it is multiple choice.

smurfy,
no worry on their speech. when time is ripe they will open their golden mouth. i want finish fast nvr click a lot too.

Smurfy: whats the diff between language and speech development? Language means how much they understand, speech means spoken language?

Then shayna excels in language developement but super super slow in speech man..

babys
yah.. tat's the way to me lor. same. mine is super super slow in speech. argghh think she can onli makes sounds most of the time..

e.g. cat.. she goes err the letter sound of C..

babyS:: mine same... Mattea & Keona understand watever we said.....be it english..or smtimes hokkien or mandarin...n of cos singlish.... (except smtimes depend on their mood if they wana do as wat we say or..)... BUT.. they're superdupersonically slow in speaking..n expressing themselves!

im worried of this la.. but.. will still let them be..as like.. im sure they will chat us deaf one day soon...

the other day i was with them... den i got so so so upset n angry n worried!!!!! my kuku girls.. CANT EVEN SORT SHAPES!!!!!! kns! i duno if they did it on purpose or wat.. especially when i started to panic n raise my voice..n 'force' them to sort the shapes (into those shape sorter toys).... the more..i mean.. the worse they 'perform'!!!!! my mum told me before they could sort the shapes some time back le.. that's really sm time back.. n HOW COME NOW SUDDENLY THEY CANT SORT THE SHAPES!!! i was really very angry n worried.....my girls cant even sort the shapes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so now.. dun even talk abt speech... i already faint le!!!

bobo:

xuen also cannot. she just dont want to follow instructions... but just expose them in the name of fun! hehe... They will learn very fast when the time is ripe. Xuen cant even speak much now...

tink my javier worst.. he can oni papapapa... then heard him say mamamama few times oni.. he always goes e, eh , o, r or oh o.. he's going to see a speech therapist..
as for the shape, he can put correctly back to the shapes board but dunno isit he recongize by color or shape leh..

joyce, just monitor for a while, and if similar accident happen again, then should bring it up. But I think the teacher would already be watching out for that kid who bites... these things happen alot in playgroup/CC.

mashy, that day S complain that Keith went to bite her when she reached the bookshelf first and got a book he wanted! Even at 6 yrs old, they are still doing this kind of thing. I am gonna tell S to punch him the next time he does that :p

bobo, dun worry too much... I think its just at the moment, they are movig on to develop other areas of their motor skills... its like riding bike, once we get it, we won't forget, so whatever skills like shape sorting they have will surely come back.

april, I also did that Abbott survey, for the skae of the vouchers... but it was super long, see the small words until eyes all crossed!

My gal also cannot put the shapes in the shape sorters. She can do wooden shape puzzles though. So maybe the shape sorters are a bit too hard for them now. She can talk and copy what I say. Can point out and say the stuff in her book. It's a huge relief for me and I'm rather pleased with her progress.

I think some of u may remember, my boy started talking only at 2.5 yrs old. So I can understand your anxiety. He can talk rather well now and I'm pleased his speech therapy helped. So if u gals wanna try speech therapy, by all means. But must do homework. U need to practise what u did at the sessions else it's wasting money and time. My boy only started improving after we had intensive speech therapy sessions and we practised everyday. Before that we just wasted money and time at the therapist.

jagiebaby, isn't it a little too early to send the kids to speech therapist? Maybe can wait till around 2.5-3yrs old before determining if there are any real issues. My cousins' kids didn't speak till 3 yrs old (father was late talker), and now she wishes they would keep quiet.

Mich
just a little while back, rc also bit my boy for messing up what he was doing. So ya, even at 6, they still bite. Heard from your hb he's on 3 mths leave. Wow wow. He must have accumulated a lot to go on leave for so long.

mashy
javier can do the wooden shape puzzles too.. i dun have shape sorter so dunno he can do it anot..

mich
the speech therapist was arranged by his feeding clinic. its @ end Mar.. my HB was tinking of cancel it coz he say too early now too.. will check with him again loh.. that time the feeding clinic therapist say by his age shou b able to speak more than that.. then my hb say alot of people say boys tend to speak later but she say no such things..

jagiebaby,
seem to early for speech therapist leh!
as long he understand and he follow your instructions dun hv to worry much on whether they speak or not. my elder boy oni speak at 30 months old.

april
seems like quite a few toddler oni start talking @ 2.5 years.. hmm...

kiki
oh, coz he got sucking problem when he was borned then now he still cant really chew his food loh..

bbja:: juz curious.. the feeding clinic access him nw by his actual birth age or corrected age? so for javier.....developments like such..shld go by his CA? or not necessarily?

Shayna's PD at first told us if she's not talking soon, then send for speech therapy. but he was saying since i was slow to talk (after 2yrs) then most likely she follows me..

he says most prob just one session then the rest is up to us liao..

I read in a magazine this month about helping a child to speak, everything they suggested, i've done it already! but she still doesnt open her golden mouth..

let me go find the article and i scan for u..

things like talk to them in proper language, when they express interest in something like a car reply with "yes baby thats a car" or make them say what they want instead of playing charades with them..

very general things lah. i go find the article for u..

thnx alot.. but juz by the tings u mentioned above... we oso do with Mattea & Keona leh... same lor.. they oso not speaking lor.

they do try to express abit.. but say weird tings instead.... although smtimes there's certain consistency in wat they say.. but.. it's their own language lor. n nw in turn..we hfta learn their language!

like, Mattea's "baba" can mean alot of tings! (although sm times hv different pitch..but..it's like...) we hfta go n understand wat she's trying to say lor. "baba" can mean 'banana', 'barney', 'umbrella', duno-wat-else!!!!!

my mum said everytime i call hm.. they will tell my mum "@!&^%$!*@#!-pon"! n make her go asn the phone...in their own language!! but after being corrected..they still refuse to chg or at least once to repeat aft de lor!!!! sigh!

Babys
it's like that. My boy also refused to talk no matter what we said. Then he just suddenly decided to talk one day and he formed sentences very quickly after that. It's all in their head now. When she's ready, she will talk. That's also when I realized that as parents, there's only so much we can do. It's really not up to us.

bobo: shayna's main word for everything is "ma!" or mama or mug (which means her magmag) hahaha.... one word- many uses!

RE: Talking...

for me...i started to sing to them when young...and often repeat the same song with actions(like itsy bitsy spider)...
and if they mumble bb talk, we try to assume that is the thing they want and from there they got some confident and they start talking word by word...
seems that it works for both #1 & #2

and well, my boy is talking a couple of words (not in strings) based from feedback by IFC techer but is still not very clear with his pronoucing yet...

mashy, David is on no-pay leave... so not getting any money for 3 months! But well, he needs the break after working day, night and weekends for the past few months... so I'm happy to support him.

jagiebaby, I guess it depends on whether you and your hb feel that javier should see a speech therapist so young... mb the doc at the feeding clinic is paranoid!

BABYJA

I also wonder if it's a bit too early for speech therapy. He's only abt 18/19 mths CA right? Don't scare yourself. Maybe he doesn't talk much coz you know what he wants and ge doesn't need ti express himself. Or maybe he's not just a 几渣公 like sam haha

BABYS

Wow i wanna read the article too pls? Just curious if i've been doing anything right instinctively with sam for once haha

PEG PUZZLES

Sam can't do this either. I just let him be till he's ready. At least he's 'upgraded' from cleaner to masak masak once in a while faint

Me!

I think no harm going for 1st appt. Not that ex anyway. Can get prof opinion abt the progress and what is considered as normal development esp if he has prior feeding probs. Feeding prob and speech delay go hand in hand.