(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Re : Child Coughing
my boy also coughing since last Thurs and cough until puke. let him drink the cough syrup and not much improvement leh. Doc got give him the reduce flem one but it is antibiotics. than Thurs night gt bring him go kk cos he Tue fell down and Thurs vomitted due to cough. so jst to ensure it is vomitted due to cough or cause of fall.

the doc check my bb and see his cough not too bad. so she said don let him take the antibiotic for the reduce flem cos she see not necessary. when giving him the cough syrup no improvement, my mum go Chinese medical hall buy the expensive CHUAN BEI and grind into powder. let bb eat than yesterday didn cough so much liao le.

yesterday night cough 1 time only during sleep.

bobo

Yeah.. is after tung lok signature.

Sbb

Hope yr boy get well soon as well... Chuan Bei v bitter 1 rite... Not every kids will like it...

Joey: take care of Urself... 2 sick kids is no fun... I usually fall sick after they recover...

Piggy: I think u Shld just follow ur instincts and choose the cc... A mother's instinct never fails... (I think... Hehe)

I'm on my way to Vivo now...

Cant join for lunch. My mil last min got things to see to. Can't help me take care of my bb. Haiz... Enjoy ur lunch.

So funny if I am the only mummy who bring my gal!

Liz,
hahah dunno leh i v scare make wrong choice...
tt day i also chose 1 end up after start den dun like... keke..

bobo,
LV is v ex to me leh u find affordable ah keke.. tink the CDA a/c can only last 1 yr..

random,

anyone purchase from iherb and shipped per airmail before?
any lost mail before?

now it is offering free shipping...thinking of getting some melts...

nice lunch... great company! we must do it again... whr will be the next location? bahaha~

SL:: our lunch $21. i helped u pay le.

piggy:: actually for LV.. the CDA cannot last even a full year!!! not saying it's 'that' affordable to me la.. but at least it's not more than $1k kind.... n so that's y i cant afford to do any family holiday trips or wat...n cant go jobless for the next 5yrs prolly!?! LOL... well..the rest of the part on hw to squeeze money out..no need to say liao la.. bahaha~

SL:: no prob.. it's POSB savings.. 207-17964-7.

for KTmum & Janice.. pls pay $18.00 to april. errrh..which.. let's wait for her to adv payment details. hehe.

thanks mummies for all the concern ...

piggy, i haven't send my gal to Gracefields yet as she keeps falling sick, her weight is only 9kg , probably wait till next year ... so now, she's still under Nanny's care.

i do send her to Zoophonics at jurong west every saturday. She can't sit still, doesn't appreciate story telling, walks away from me once the teacher starts to read the book ... for arts&craft, i'm the one who does the glueing/sticking/coloring, she tries to "destroy" the art by taking out the pieces of paper that i stick ...
but she enjoys singing and dancing, she'll go in front of the teacher and dance ... very cute hehe ...

hooo~ juz back frm a ha-la session wv colleague..n alot of snacks! i tink im gg to grow so fat n die!!!!

joeey:: yr girl is so cute.. will go n perform her dance n sing. haha. my 2 silly sam sengs duno hw to sing..(shit..dun tell me they're like their dad!!).. when they try to sing..it's all SCREAMS!!!

both my girls oso dun like books de...(this part im quite sure inherit frm me! lol~)

SL :
My boy a lot better liao le. At least he has not be coughing so often liao le.
Haha.. chuan bei okie. Not so bitter taste. My son can take anything except things from the syringe. He thought its medicines.

Liz : Sometimes my instinct failed me. Haha… why like that.

Had a lovely lunch.... Thanks bobo for organizing...

Piggy:just do it lor... But nowadays also hard to find a "perfect" one too... Have to take it both the pro and cons... Just take things as they come...

SBB: is it? Ur expectations too high lah... Hehe

Liz,
i also told my HB no perfect 1 la but at least the place mus be clean n neat la..

Fatbobo,
i also tink v long cos after checkin so many CC i come to a conclusion branded or not branded for their age the curriculum is more or less the same for their age they focus on self help skill even LV they dun teach alot of acadamic stuff usu it will start in nursery n as usu the extras enrichment curriculum at additional cost n they might increase the fee again.. so i rather sent my boy to sumwhere more affordable n i can still afford to sent him to enrichment class if need to cos i still need vacation n holiday leh tt y tt time after enrol him at LV i still look ard cos sum centres they may say they have v gd curriculum but end of the day whether they deliver anot we dunno cos like my previous 1 also i see like alot but they dun follow the timetable so end of the day maybe only half of the activities in the time table was carry out ya so i tink like wat Liz say teachers n enviroment la..

Piggy

hahaha. I agree with u. That's why I sent my gal to my boy's cc coz it's really cheap and they really just play at this age. Now it's more to teach her social skills.

mashy,
ya lo.. tt y i been tryin to find another cheaper option really headache the CC in west area r so full ... anyway i jus hope my boi will learn to be more independent la
till now i haven sucessfully toilet train him lo chiam..

Discipline
Lately Aaden has been showing signs of terrible 2! He will throw stuff or lie on the floor and cry if we tell him off or that he could get the things that he wants.

My HB tried once with the naughty corner but it doesnt seem to work cos he was still crying, lying on the floor and lasted for a while. How should i go about disciplining him. I think it is getting a bit out of hand. It seems to him that he can just throw stuff or lie on the floor and cry if he doesnt get what he wants.

Preschool Education
Just wondering if you mummies who had sent your kids to CC, would change school for nursery?

Piggy: I agree with u... As long as it's clean, teachers are attentive, environment is alright (I have seen kids at the cc at my plc swearing and pointing middle finger!), that's good enough at this age...

Joycec: I find my #1 who has been going cc since 2 months (infant) is rather independent, "caring" and socialable as compare to #2 who stays at home with me. I feel that kids who go cc will be more independent... Cos they need to learn to be with peers... I was contemplating sending #2 to cc to learn social skills...

JOycec,
if i can afford to be a SAHM i got plan to change my boi to a those kindergarten... else for FTWM CC will be easier... n the reason y i am sentin my boi to CC now is same as Liz becos i wan him to learn to be more independent....

Liz,
wah swearin n pointin finger ah.. tt terrible..

Joyce

u need to be firm else your son will continue like this for a long time. If it doesn't work, show cane. Not that I advocate such punishments but some of them really need the rod to behave. At least initially for them to know their boundaries. My 3 yr old nephew is still kicking and screaming when he throws a tantrum. His parents who believe that talking to him works better, end up bribing him. To me, that is ineffective parenting. They are bringing up a brat. If u don't want your son to become a brat, u need to think of solutions. Don't give in. If u need to sit next to him in order for him to stand at the noti corner, do that. Don't ever let him think that if he kick and cry long enough, he can get away with anything.

Joycec,
We tried the naughty corner & it worked for my boy. He still cried when he stood there. But he understands that he's been punished. Cos the next time when he's naughty, we ask him if he wants to be placed at the naughty corner, he said no.

Day 9 Jovia in CC & she din cry when we hand over her to teacher this mrng so proud of her

Btw, teacher commented that she vy demanding & jealous if teacher carry another kids, prolly she feel insecure in new environment? or becos she used to get full attention at home? but when she at my ils plc my niece is there as well. but i thk she's younger somehow my ils will still give in to her i feel.

Liz : No la, not high one. But my instinct to this is not as good as my hubby or my husband sister.
Haha…but I haven source for a school yet. Hmmm…

Joycec : my son has been throwing things when he is upset or angry. Cant change but after teaching and hitting his hand, he better liao le.
He always take his tutu or the things at this hand to throw. Sometimes, his hand don’t have right, he will take something around him and I will smack him.

When he cry, I jst don bother him let him be than he will cme to me lor and I haven send him to any cc yet. Haha..

Piggytoh : agree your point. Independence is very important. That is my main point too for sending him to cc in near future.

Zen : the naughty corner is the same as one of the show call what NANNY thing right?

SBB,
my son occassionally will also throw things n i will scold him n hit his hand tell him no. n take away his toy n can see he will do it less often if he wan to cry i let him cry wun give in 1... ya i wan him to be independent cos i see the way my IL give in to him i dun like plus with #2 i find it easier to manage also la

Sbb: you mean super nanny? Yipe it's the same concept of having a timeout.

Mashy: saw from fb you did notti corner with H. Any idea how to implement if outside?

Donkeymami,
No crying in the morning shows she gotten used to the idea of sch. That's very good. Continue to give her time to adapt to everything. Guess things were different when she used to be at home and had full attention.

Been one week since my op. I had a myomectomy to removevthe fibroids growing in the uterus. Created a record for the doc and the hospital when they took out 33 fibroids. Biggest was 6cm, the rest were smaller. Now on MC at home. But really no fun coz I feel like a semi vegetable. Good thing my mom is staying with me during this time to cook and care for me. I told my hubby that after all my womb went through, can't imagine having to conceive a 2nd one. But we are very keen on no. 2 so gotta plan for it after at least 6 months.

Piggy, 1st wk oli there from 9-12pm so called orientation wk.
The 1st 2 days one parent can accompany the child.

Joia, guess she still cry on & off but can see some improvement at least

Poor you, hope you recover soon. How many wks of hospitalisation leave u got? take this chance to rest well & recuperate ur body for TTC #2.

I usually use the noti corner or taking away their fav toy or activity or food to punish them. I dont believe in Caning myself. I rather educate them to respect/fear me than the cane. What if i am out? Bring a cane? LOL.

My #2 will auto go to noti corner and face the wall when she know she is at fault.

Joycec: Maybe u have to try to be firm in whatever punishment u are going to give him. I rem once my #1 threw a tantrum in the middle of Toapayoh Interchange during peak hours and i was soooo angry that i told her i am walking away at the count of 3 if she still doesnt behave. And i Left hiding behind a pillar for 10 mins. She was soooo scared when she couldnt find me. After she found me, she say sorry and *tadah* she dont dare to misbehave in public again. hehe. but that is only when i am around... haha

Joia, take care and hope u get well soon... ;)

Speaking of throwing tantrums, ovann also will throw things. Most of the time i just turn away & bochup him. Seeing that, he will purposely fall down or hit his hand real hard and whined, den show me where it hurts and wants me to sayang. Huh ... using reverse psychology on me?

Haven't tried out notti corner yet cos most of the time i just ignore him if he whines & cries at home. But if outside i still dunno wat to do and most of the time i let him hv his way.

joia
take care! 33 fibroids sounds like a lot...
how do you know there're fibroids in the first place?
when I'm preggie my dr told me there's one but she say not affecting the baby so bochap it.
I'm starting to get worried now...

Donkeymami
doc gave 6 weeks of hospitalization leave. He mentioned it's usually between 4-6 weeks. Guess mine more jia lat.

Kiki
I knew about it from a routine check up. I also had it when I was pregnant but the size was not big then and not so many hence did not affect the pregnancy. Most of the time the doc will advise a wait and see attitude because if it doesn't cause pain or affect fertility it's ok to leave them alone.

Pegsfur
Haha yah boy think he looking for attention. I guess you should teach him that this behavior is not acceptable if you want him to stop.

Thanks Liz and Mich for your concern.

Joia
good to hear you are well now. I don't use noti corner outside coz I think they also want mian zi. It really depends on is the situation. Like if he wants us to buy toys, we will tell him no firmly. An if he acts up, we leave immediately. So now he knows to just play there. And when it's time to go, he'll say bye to the toys.

Lizz
I ever tried walking away from my boy. He totally didn't care. He just continued with what he was doing. He didn't even bother to look for me. I think all discipline depends on the kids we have. And of course boys and girls require diff mtds. I don't really cane my gal and I don't think I will do that as much unless she does something dangerous.

Morning ladies, TGIF, finally back to office, have been working from home for the past 3 days to help Nanny look after my gal. I'm quite lucky to have an understanding boss which gives me the flexibility.

donkeymami, jovia doesn't cry at school now, that's good!

joia, take great care now.

re: naughty corner
i make my gal face the wall, the same place each time (so it's like naughty corner) then she realise she did something wrong and will start crying and hug me, she cannot stand still for 1 minute. Then i'll say "cannot beat people ah" ... think i'll have to keep trying to make her stand for a minute.

Piggytoh :
me too..although my in law doesn take care of my son but sometimes when he goes over, alamak.. I don like the way she handle the kid.
Everything give. Like I remember he wanted to take a toy car back from her hse to our hse. I rejected and hand the car to them. She was like why give him take bk never mind. I said no, cannot teach kids like that and she buay tahan. If he naughty there, I also hit him so that he knows that no matter where he is, mummy will not giv him even got other ppl there to save him. Haha…

U no 2 coming liao le.. must take good care more. Xin ku le. I wanted to try soon but now still thinking maybe wait a while more. Haha..

Joia:
ya the show is SUPER NANNY. Hahha.. maybe I should have a naughty place for him. Haha..so he will stand there and think?
Hey, you take good care. Cos your womb requires time for recovery. But at least already one come out liao le. Hehe.. still not so bad if we think about this?

Mashy:
My boy when he throw things hor, he will glance at me or look at my with guilty eyes. I think that kind of looks also want to test see what mummy have in reaction. Alamak.

hi mrng girls... so sianz! today is my 'actual' working day of the week.. as like.. hvnt been doing any work even whn i was in offc tue & wed! ling shi bao fo jiao.... mon boss cmg back liao.. hfta start wrking today le... big sianz!!!

joia:: rest well... ya.. 33 fibroids sounds really alot. i tink aft my c-sec, my ob-gyn actually removed 2 fibroids...he din even tell me..oni 1 day aft the delivery. kns! made my insurance claim so luan..so messy!!!

re:: disciplining kids
i agree different kids different method..boys & girls oso different method. sigh.. most of the times i oso duno hw to discipline my girls. they totally dun listern to me de.. (even my fengshui master oso kept repeating this to me!)... at hm i will b loud with them..but outside, normally is the dad who will discipline them!!

liz:: the walking away de wun work for me... my girls will juz like.. "oh, she's gone..i'll juz proceed or let's proceed with what we had wanted to do..blah blah!!!" they'll smtimes juz walk away in another direction or wat..n i will be like a kan jiong spider chiong to catch them back!

re:: cc
sigh, i oso need to bring it forward to send the sam sengs in cos they r too reliant on the helper to pick n pack aft them le. i dun like it this way! my mum will owas ask them to keep their toys..but they will merely put them into the toy box....then pour all out n mess up again or move on to start messing another spot! these days, they dun play with toys already. they like moving chairs, play with shoeboxes, rubberbands (for hair), papers, bags, or juz pushing my mum to a corner n start bullying her.. or make her sit in the middle of the bed, n they start to play catching ard her!!!
my hb was juz saying the other day.. actually our girls quite cheap to maintain...no need to buy toys (they dun play), no need buy books (they dun read or even touch it), juz some used or unwanted stuffs frm ard the hse will keep them occupied liao. haha.

sbb
my inlaws' dun take of my boy too and whenever we go there, my mil will always dun wan me to beat or scold him.. say always beat next time he dun scare anymore.. then my hb will always say her back say last she always beat him too.. but this still goes on.. tink my boy know my mil will not beat/scold him. if my mil at home, i scold/beat him, he will somehow go to my mil there.. haiz...

bobo
same same. javier used to like to play with the potato chip's can, empty tissuebox, empty kodomo powder bottle and moving table/chair. but tink now he "upgrade" liao.. likes to play his toys especially his cars...

donkeymami
wa, jovia is great.. yesterday javier still crying until very jialiat.. this morning i brought to school, he din cry.. like very drama leh..

bbj:: that's wat i hate abt... my MIL oso owas everything owas give give.. n FIL oso lar. den i especially hate it when like hb & i trying to discipline the kids....she's go like.. "why.. oh cm cm..nainai sek sek..." F la.. i mean.. seriously! wat.. we're trying to discipline n u be the angel arh? _|_ when cm to the time whn i really wana sternly discipline my kids n if they ever wana interfere.. i will make sure i tell them off! nw i still lun n keep quiet n wait till or gv my hb stare for him to 'control' his parents.....(which he hardly will de!! big F!)... darn i hate this.

Mashy:
Of course I won la. Haha. U kw sometimes when he got temper he will also stare at one corner while my mother and me stared at him. He will like scared and thinking what to do next. Haha.. but everytime I won. But he likes my brothers and than of course also scared one of them cos he use cane slightly hit him.
So now when we said jiu jiu beat beat, than he will quickly sit down at one spot and eat and will not run around. Haha..

Fatbobo:
Y u last min hug the Buddha leg. Haha.. u huh so funny. Haha..
What is this fibroids actually? I know it has to be removed but I don kw the exact terms.

Y not try with other disciplining? For my boy, my hse those table tops stuff, he will move them or shift them up and down all over the floor.
When he first touched and we hit him hard on his palm than he don dare liao le. So now when I said no no cannot, and tel him later drop how or etc, than he will stop and move away.