(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Jul and mashy : doctor said it's very common for bb to get this it's virus fever ..it could like strike them 7 or 8 times a year! I was like one time I already so heart pain ..has to keep on sponging him to bring down his temp.. Now he is 37.4 hope can bring down lower

Jul04, ok ok let me know which day you will be in TPY, my mum usually get together with her frens in central i think, i will send you her contact number, can you also PM me yr cell

Liz~i can meet up with u guys next week
lunch or tea oki with me

porridge :
I just invest on a slow cooker , as I quite lazy and forgotful type better for me to get a slwo cooker just drop all in and the porridge is done .

today I try it with pork , spinach and dry scallop wooo the taste is nice as I cook the share for me and my boy .

My boy one I will use a hand blender to blend awhile so he eat the spinach and meats .He like it .

Good investment .I wont want to burn my whole hse as sometime I then to 4get I am cooking heehee

Weishy:

Is thursday good? anyone has any suggestions for locations?

Date: Thurs (1 April)
venue: Any suggestions?
Attendees:
1. Liz
2. Weishy

jul> same lo. replacing old stock. so everyday using 1-2milkbag -_- quite shiong. but ok la =p cheaper den milk powder i suppose?

babiesmeme> same lo. last nite baby high fever, 38.9, den we kept sponging him with wet towel. this morning ok liao =p he din remember a thing. juz so happily playing with us =p

dun worry too much, ur bb will get well soon

bb> mine baby worse.
1) no teeth
2) cant crawl (only in his sleep), can;t stand, cant sit -_-
3) can clap, but no sound, so he looks very sian when he see me clap with sound
4) nv call papa mama
5) super love to jump when i carry him to stand up
6) wear drypers M in infant care n pampers M when with us
7) no fav person. stranger oso can -_- sure kena kipnapped easily =x
8) likes to scratch his face n rub his eyes when tired
9) hehe gets hungry when he sees us eating. so much give him some solid food. 160ml of milk can last him 4hrs
10) like to play with our cold drinks. get excited to see de cup swinging in front of him =p

High tea gathering for Aug Mommies

Date : Sat, 3rd April
Time : 2.30pm
Venue : TBC (tentatively Tetsu @ Tanglin Mall) anyone has better suggestion??

1)Eunice
2)weishy
3)mich
4)Gin Oh
5)bb
6)Patricia.
7)joycec
8)jul (to be confirmed)
9)dolcevita (to be confirmed)

pls advise if spouses are joining?

dolcevita, we can change venue. do u hv any suggestion?

Hi michelle his temp did go down now is like 37.7 we kept sponging him too but he gets angry especially when he fall asleep we still sponge him, but no choice but to do it. We even gave him nurofen as given by the doctor, hope his temp will go down soon.

babiesmeme

u know hor, sponging has a technique. U need to sponge the lymph nodes. Under the arm pits, near the groin, neck behind the ear. 37.7 is ok already. Don't need to sponge anymore. It's considered low grade fever only. Can just give paracaetamol, no need nurofen.

hi mashy Under arms also have to? Near to dido also ? I only do on his forehead neck .. can wear sleeveless not? What temp is consider high? Fever patch is it the cooling plaster from pigeon do I still need to put

cooking porridge
not sure if this works for slow cooker, but i achieved super nua canto style porridge like those we eat at dim sum restaurant, by putting a porcelain spoon while cooking, it really helps!

Hi Michelle bb temp down to 37.5 I stopped sponging Then give him some fever orange syrup and put the pigeon cooling plaster it works his temp now is 36.7

Eunice~how about CITY SQUARE MALL???? loads of food outlets inside with FARRER PARK MRT below.

JG classes~personally find it veyr good n interesting.....attendees p;ays a big part cos alot of times......children just walk/run around disturbing others.....then we may feel our $ not well spend liao...so when going to al these classes...we hv to try to control them too.

their classes usually is the most expensive amongst all.other than them GUG is another good alternative.

LEAP school house Trial lesson~was just okie to me.all teachers mostly locals.(perfer PHL ,better command of english,can sing n dance very well n more jovial)

classes are nt cheap so nt signing up la.but trial lessons u guys can bring bbs there to hv a taste of how playgroups are

Felicia~porcelain spoon can do such wonders???i go try try ehheheh.bt wats the logic har?

babiesmeme~good to hear that bb is better now
give loads of water

weishy
not sure what's the logic, maybe to break down the rice to smaller pieces? LOL.. like Claire, i used to put a spoon when cooking red/green bean soup also, but just learned that need to use porcelain spoon to cook the rice porridge, and the porridge i cooked today looks like milk to me, LOL..

Posted on Friday, March 26, 2010 - 9:17 am:       
Baby's Day out Event

NTUC members: $10 per person / $15 per couple
Non-members: $15 per person / $20 per couple

Get a Baby Bag filled with goodies worth more than $100 with every registration!

Entry requirements - have a baby that's 12 months or below 12mths old

Event details
Date: 17 April 2010
Time: 2pm – 5pm
Venue: The Little Skool-House At Tampines-Junction

It's Baby’s Day Out! Look forward to talks by a pediatrician and a child development expert.

What’s more, develop your baby’s cognitive ability and motor-skills through our hands-on activities at the gathering!

Highlights:
Talk: ‘A Strong and Healthy Child’
by Dr Ang Ai Tin, Consultant Paediatrician and Neonatologist, Thomson Medical Centre
Talk: ‘Importance of relationships to infant and toddler development’ by Dr Melinda Eng, Senior advisor, Curriculum, NTUC First Campus
*Baby crawling contest
*Photography sessions for babies and families
*Learning & Developmental Toys Corner
*Exercise with Baby
*Chopsticks Oriental Healing Massages (for daddy and mummy)
*Craft Activities (for baby’s older siblings)

Those keen to go, pls leave down your name, and email address (i will email you the information required for registration)
1) babymaking
2) mystifiedjan - [email protected]
3) [email protected]
4) gin oh [email protected]
5) sandy dee- [email protected]
6) eboey - [email protected]
7) piggytoh - [email protected]
8) Shirley - [email protected]
9) jul - [email protected]
10) Juliet [email protected] -- Count me in if still available
11) Cheerybabe - [email protected]

Babymaking - Can i join in too? As u mentioned min 10 families as a group... Count me in too if available! Thxs

babiesmeme> haha. my boy more den happy we dun let him sleep, cos he can play with us. maybe dif. my boy sleep whole day oredi. so super energetic -_-

my boy oso no more fever. juz sponging. highest today is 37.4 nia. now shuld be ard 36.7 or so ba.

Jeni, i have the big Endo magic pot. it's good.

aiyah, i didn't know Carrefour having sale. my mum helped me to buy a small magic pot but it's Indo brand. anyone knows if that's any good?

Good morning mommies

Avacado: The fruit store man said, if leave it outside still cannot soften it means the avacado no good lah. Must buy Australia Avacado, sure baby will like. I bought from him $1.50 each. It really taste good. Didnt buy much fruit for this week. The boss said, qing ming (March) and 7th month fruit normally not nice. Baby no rock melon this week lor.

Chinese herbs for baby: Yesterday really pocket a big hole when buying the cordyceps. I've to witness the boss grind them into powder. Took me 2 hrs in the store. Also must see her grind the pearl powder. Any mommies also feeding babies chinese herbs?

Baby cried very loud last night: Dont know if cos we brought her out whole day yesterday, or daddy played her most dislike toy (the music ball) last night with her (to train her to accept the music ball) or I really dont know why, she cried till I've to take over daddy's shift to comfort her and she slept on me almost for 3hrs. Baby's first time like this, cried so loud and long for no reasons.

Babiesmeme and Michelle. Thank god no more fever. Both of u must be very exhausted.

Michelle. You baby not able to sit on his own yet? Must train him ah. My girl very poor crawler. She uses her face to push herself forward *fainted*. My girl also scratches her face and eyes, most of the time is when sleepy but now not happy she also scratches. Seems like she knows when she scratches her face we will stop her. She likes to clap to get our attention, very smart.

sharing a pretty gd deal. I bought the leapfrog spin and sing alphabet zoo at taka fair yesterday for $24.90. Think original price was like 40+ or something. I think my girls have more fun with it than my boy

Claire,
tt leapfrog top is gd... i let me boi play with it since 2-3mth now he can spin v well really train his finger skill :p

BB,
tt timee i buy aus avocado also dun soften v fast leh

weishy - which outlet in city square is spacious (in case some mommies bringing stoller). I hardly go city square so am not sure.

how abt TWG at Ion?

bb> hehe. me not so exhausted. hubby helped out quite alot.

my baby lazy la. ask him sit he wan stand. let him stand he wan jump. grrs. put him sit he purposely fall. i believe he can sit. he sit before himself. but now he purposely dun sit. -_- purposely lie down n show us, grrs

haha. my boy oso like to clap, but no sound. so he not fascinated

Eunice,
Oh city square mall is a bb friendly mall. Has 2 levels with nursing room. Hmm there are a few places that is quite spacious. Like one oli cafe, japanes italian restaurant at b2, cant recall name, royal cafe the one that sells pasteries.

Michelle,
My girl also everytime want to stand up when I try to put her down especially when I want to change her diapers.

BB,
Sophie also likes to scratch her ears. I though could be itchy so will use cotton tip dab w olive oil to clean. She will keep still when I clean but later will still scratch. Also don't know what's bothering her.

Eunice,

So sorry to be troublesome..heehee
But I would prefer CitySquare Mall over Tanglin.
Ive been there and agree with Joia that its pretty bb friendly. Didnt try out the cafes there as we just had a quick dinner at foodcourt previously.

Lets see which venue most are ok with bah...

Pegsfur,

How about swimming at the big swimming pool @ Sengkang ?
But if its a weekday, might be difficult for me....weekend is out for you right ?

need some help..

sam has aws enjoyed his baths. recently he's started to protest when i lift him out too quickly.

hoever we've been at mil's on thu n fri coz of my sprained wrist. on thu, mil insisted on bathing him rather than wait for hubs to get back from work to do so. she din follow my usual way of washing his face with cotton balls on the bed, b4 the bath proper. she din put him into the bath the same way i do either... etc etc.. basically sam just started crying in the bath, so mil quickly washed washed a bit then lifted him out. he was crying quite pitifully.

on fri evening, i washed his face on the bed, then hubs took over to bathe him. he also cried once he went into the water.

on sat, we did the same thing but in my own home, n he started crying too.

it seems that he's developed some sort of phobia. everytime we bring him into the bathroom, he gets nervous n wants to burst into tears. we brought the bathtub out into the living rm, put some toys inside, n he'd play a while. but strt getting teary when we try to put him in, even tho he was fully dressed n there's no water in the tub.

what cud have happened? he got a fright by mil? how to overcome this phobia? he hasn't bathed properly for 3 days n din even wash tdy!

<font color="#fd79a7">Jul

It sound really odd why sam is crying...even when you mentioned that he is fully clothed and no water in the tub! *puzzled. Have you actually seen how your MIL bath him? Maybe its the handling? Haf you tried a small piece of towel on his chest before getting him into the water? Or you can try to carry him in cradle style and wet him with the cloth on his chest and say some assuring words to him before putting him into the tub? How about not placing him in the tub and fill the tub with water and just tapping on the water?

What's your bath ritual like?

During my confinement period..my bb gal screamed and cry during her bathing time.. and I suspect my confinement lady made her kneel down (bend on her knees) and wash her back. She got 'scared' or phobia I think.

Now she truly enjoy her bathing. My bath ritual will be saying 'Pom Pom', then I wear my 'bib'(I used a piece of nappy and tie around my neck) and wrap her up when she is done bathing. Step into the bathroom and look at her in the mirror..and say YAY! BATHING TIME! and her legs kicks like mad. She taps alot in the water and recently, I introduce a 'waterfall' style. (Showerhead runs for a short while and make sure water does not splash on her head or eyes) and she starts to use her tiny hands to 'collect' water.

Keep us updated yay!

Avocados

When I was in Australia back then, the avocados I ate always turns darker or black when ripe (turns really fast). When I get the Australian avocados in Singapore, they take a longer time to ripe and don't really turn that black and yet its firm and slighty soft when i press it. My experience is that there is a 'raw' veggie taste whenever its firm. And when I press it and its soft, the raw veggie taste is gone.

olive oil
any of you introduced olive oil to your baby's diet already? I feel so sian to make porridge everyday and steam/boil fruits snd veges only... guess baby eat till sianz also leh.. can fry some veges with olive oil?

caden's fever: thank for all mummies for the great concern. Yes i am very exhausted i wake up every hour since friday to monitor his temp. his temp fluctuate very fast like shares - one min he is 36.8 so happy to see that the next moment he is 38.6. its very stressful. Today his temp quite stable and hope he can maintain the normal temp
3784053.jpg

Mashy, the avocado I bought recently is still green whether its hard or soft so I just feed when its soft. Should be considered ripe liao since can scrap.

Hi Liz / Weishy

I will try to go for the meetup this thurs. I seldom go out alone with BB Elise unless someone is with me. She is 11 kg so quite shiong on my shoulders.

Let me knw

joia> my boy cant stand or sit up himself. so he will be super happy when i carry him to stand. den he'll be jumping n jumping away

Eunice,

me a FAN of city square mall. my hubby aniti social kind, any gatherings he will not join lah, since all lady..heeee..now with baby i hv to find places convenient for stroller lor...m kan cheong type of person, i find stress parking the car. not crowded lots of food outlets too.

Felicia,

yday i went to buy bellamy's pasta stars, n i cook it for Edric dinner, he love it. new taste! i cook it with pumpkin, carrot, potato, threadfin fish, mince pork n chicken. taste gd.

babiesmeme,
Caden smile to the camera, no worries, he look cheerful. fever shd hv gone. u take care too.

morning all....
so sad its mon agaib

super tired

re: itchy ears
ryan also has itchy ears...he is always rubbing his ears...but his is due to eczema so i gotta keep putting moisturiser but still no use
dat nite he rub n scratch until it bled...i was scared out my wits when i saw blood...luckily its only the ear when i switch on the light!

re: city square mall
i haf been there once...nice place
not too crowded

babiesmeme,
yup..caden looks so cheerful in the pic
hope he gets well soon

karen,
ohh...elise is still leading! she looks like a 1yr old bb in ur pic!
ryan only 8.2kg lor n starting to lose weight

eunice,
wat's magic bullet?

ohhh...finally i can feel it
ryan first tooth!
hahaa....so slow...tink most aug babies already has teeth
no wonder he has been esp fussy these few days...yday he refused to eat porridge n cried
then i feel his gums...felt his bottom right coming out
yday nite was bad...he woke up twice crying n crying
even latching didnt calm him down immediately...

can give teething tablets twice a day? he is really super cranky n noisy
daytime also keep eh eh eh...
normally how long will this last?

april> de pasta stars nice ah? i bought the porridge, haven cook for my boy. oso bellamy one. wait till i finish de 2tins of happy bellies first =p

sharon> haha. i'm still on leave. cos my boy is going for his medical review later. btw, i thinking of taking long leave this wk n nxt wk. cos office wan me to go site to train the users. wah lau. u know those airforce camps, no place to pump lo. go there machiam send me go die -_- think i can chao keng n stay hm too =p

btw, this wk 4days only. hang on.

michelle,
wish i can be on leave too! Yah i noe..no place pump one..u still pump twice? I only pump once..keep gettin blocked ducts..tink cos my boy teething drink v little