(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Babiesmeme-bbs can't take birds nest dun play play cos it causes allergy.

Pris-ya tats really a variety le

Pris
welcome back! so happy to see you around again! I am still bfding and am glad that I've bfd for 7 months. recently Zachary starts bites me atleast once a day with his small tooth. *sob*

Wow! Ray have tried a lot of food. Need to check with you, how to introduce toasted bread? isnt it too hard for baby to chew? what do u use to toast?

for pasta, did you gave it to him in a piece of made it in small pieces?

El-nino
initially when I started Zachary on swimming at home, he also puke but his was in the middle of swimming. the reason was i didnt do warm up properly and must wait for an hr after milk feed then swim. after swimming, must do cool down exercise also.

BB
I dont let Zachary watch tv at all. well, he does peek a little when we are in the living room and in laws on the tv. but however, he don't really stare at the tv for long. instead, he is more interested in the surrounding and people around him.

anyway, Baby Van Gogh, Baby Bach, and Baby Mozart are all under Baby Einstein right?
http://www.businesspundit.com/after-controversy-dinsey-issues-baby-einstein-recall/

Claire
hope ZR gets well soon

Sbb
yes! lock n lock is the best! haha. but super ex. =( where do u usually buy lock n lock from?

Next time must really buy a lot to store stuffs

babiesmeme
i only bought rompers for Zachary. those shirt my mil bought for him (only 1 - 2), i never use cos no shorts/pants.

Bird's nest: I was told by experienced mothers and from the book to avoid it cos it can cause allergy.

Thanks Sharon, I'll look around and pick up one or two first.

Reira, thanks for the link. But if you read the comments below the link, most parents love the BE dvds.

mich

yeah n trying to find space in the freezer for storage is a happy prob

sharon, bb

i also dunno y i try so hard not to let him watch tv. go mil's place, she'll surely be letting him watch

claire

any visible pisai in the nostrils? maybe 'kiaping' it out will make him more comf?

april

thks, got ur tt. so u just lemme know when u're collecting the stuff then

eunice

so next sat pm?

babiesme

bird's nest? highly allergic right?

but anyway my mil also dun believe in allergy. she'll insist that it's b/c they din clean the bird's nest of the feathers properly. just like peanut allergy.. she'll explain it as peanuts have a lot of toxins.

Babiesmeme

yah yah, the hole one!! Mil mentioned that too. But so ugly! That time hubby's aunt even say don't wear clothes also can!

Abt bird nest, aiyo, if my Mil does that I really dunno what to do. Cause I'm generally very guai and won't talk back at them. But I can understand ur agony. Good thing we already move our to our new place beginning of this year.

In fac relationship with my in laws are ok all these while. Only when bb arrived then I start to dislike the way they tell me what should and should not be done.

Hi ladies, thanx for the information on brown rice.
April, read somewhere tht we can soak brown rice in water the night before so tht the cookin time might be faster.
Was hopin to find some book for aaden this afternoon when I went to compass point library. But the kids section was in a mess. Haha...I couldn't find any book on cookin for babies as well.
Must say it was pretty interesting to bring the baby out alone. Luckily have baby carrier and ease of public transport. Tink will do this more often, confident booster for me, cos sometimes the people around me makes me feel tht I can't do it.
Eunice, r u feeling better? Recovered frm chicken pox?

babiesme, felicia, daph,
Haha..I am the one who kept saying bb is hot and kept putting him in tank tops even in air con places n kenna chided by my mum.

Jul,
Aiyo..the weather so hot now,esp with the El Nino thing,still wrap bb up! faint..

BB
you are welcome. yah, a lot of parents post their review there. you were asking if BE was good right?

joycec
for bukit panjang library, the books on cooking for babies is in the cooking section. i found all the annabel karmel cookbook from there. if i remember correctly, i think i found some in the family section before.

PJPJ
haha! same. sometimes I dont cover Zachary with blanket if i think it is hot sometimes when we are in aircon room. if i feel cold, i will put him in fleece sleeping sac.

Daph
some in laws will always think we should follow their old fashion way. so sian right? like i want to feed solid to my boy and wait for an hr or so then bath. but mil kept saying bath before feeding solid. i feel bathing after feeding solid is better cos sometimes feeding solid can get messy. end up after solid i still have to help him bath. haiz, really makes me feel that she got no brain to think.

PJPJ Reira

in conclusion I understand that the opinions that mil give are for our bb's good. Opinion can be given once or twice. But if they realize that we don't heed their advise after a while, they should respect us because ultimately we're the MUM!

On the contrary, think about it, if it is our own mum giving advise, we will pay more attention to it. so maybe we're abit bias towards mil also la. Haha!

joyce,
thks for sharing, maybe tis wkend i try n soak brown rice overnite. i do agree with u the Sengkang Compasspoint library veri messy. the Hougang Mall library much much better. next nearer one will be Bishan Library, went there once, i like Bishan Library.
Aaden hv dark eye rings, does he hv recently hv block nose maybe due to nasal congestion, which result him dun hv quality sleep or nap.

Daph-I dun even listen to my mom if wat she says is irrelevant :p

April-ya liked bishan library too as well as e new north point library :p

April, pls use back the water that u soak the brown rice to cook. Yah, next time should venture out to hougang mall with aaden.

Recently he was sick and wasn't sleeping well. But he has recovered. Maybe I should really try tht yu guo. He was ok after taking the cough powder frm eu yan sang and I thought that all should b fine.

good morning mummies!!!!!

ethan was on milk strike on sat.. drank BM at 3am den refuse to drink till 11am... haiz...jus too playful now..

pris, glad to see u back again!

morning ladies...

i also scare bb hot cos he sweat alot so i usu let him wear singlet n diaper only..

Re: TV time for bb
actually i feel tt for BE the call back is due to an interested group tt pressured Disney for the refund but tt does not necessary mean BE no gd rite ? also it says "too much screen time inhibits babies’ language development" so ultimate i feel tt as long as we parent control and n limit the tv time i dun tink it will pose any prob so i tink to let bb watch tv anot is quite subjective

Good morning mommies. My baby is allergy to nestle cereal so I'll wait for another 2 months n let her try the cereal again. Meantime, just have to grind my own cereal. Try not to soak rice overnight for babies cos may cause "hong=wind".

morning mummies
yesterday saw a very small white thingy from javier's gum.. touch it and its abit sharp.. his tooth? difficult to take a pix coz he will stick his tongue out whenever i open his mouth..

bb,
u let ur bb try the green can or the blue can for the nestle cereal?

the blue one is premix with FM, i give the green one w/o the premix of FM...

i also give another type of organic plain rice cereal(manufacture in germany) from NTUC...(not healty times)

BB,
thanks for the info.

joycec,
no worry lah, we learn together :p

weishy,
yes yes i been to north point library too. tat is good too.

TV Time for Baby
i let my bb watch DVD those that stimulate him, eye devt. bb will feel "xian" after a while of watching too. then hv to switch activity oso.

Good Morning everyone!

Seems like my gal having constipation..cos yesterday she poo pellet-like-stool though she didn't cry when she "gek" will cont'd monitor if her poo poo back to normal or not..else i should change her FM right?

If i chg FM do i nit to mix old & new FM in the beginning or can jz switch to the new one? I was TBF her before, jz started her wif Similac stage 2 for few wks..starts wif 1 feed, then 2 feed & last wkend full FM...then she dun poo like her normal way from yesterday not sure is it due to the FM.

I also heard when babies starts to take solid food might hv constipation problem right? any mummies hv tis prob wif ur babies?

For wkday my gal take porridge(by MIL) then wkend i give cereals & puree.

Cereal & Puree

I mixed pumpkin puree & cereal for my gal but she dun like..instead i feed her i scoop cereal then 1 scoop pumpkin she loves it..finished pumpkin puree over the wkend.

donkeymami
you might want to monitor first before changing FM, cuz it could be caused by solid food.. Renzo had pellet like stool once also and i was quite worried but i know it is because of solid food since he's been taking FM all the time. but it happened once only, after that he is okay already.. i think that was the first time he took brown rice and my neighbor said brown rice is heaty i dunno how true, so now if i give him brown rice i give with more fruits..

so maybe you want to see what solid you gave to your gal so far, and i rem that time i need to bring him out during weekend so instead of 2 solids i give 1 solid the next day so he got 1 more feed of milk, and immediately his poo poo is back to the FM poo type, so i can confirm it is the solid that is causing the problem..

to change FM, another way is say now you feed FM 3 times a day, you might want to change the daytime one to the new FM, then for a few days if okay you change 2 daytime feeds to new FM.. if no problem the change all feeds to new FM..

donkeymami

i forgot that i should mix feed step 1 and 2..and i just wholesale switch to step 2. Similarly, she has pellet like poo...its terrible.. cos she cries and she was on milk strike for 2 days. Sighs. Even fruits didnt really help her to poo. I had to keep inducing her poop... it was so hard that i felt painful for her. I got this sample from enfapro..now trying it.. Hopefully it'll be good for her. If ure gg to switch fm, wad r u gg to switch to?

Sophia, so u gal taking similac all the while? but oli stage 2 gave her prob?

I will try to give her some fruits see how..cos may due to the solids i gave her.

Hmmm, i jz asked for sample from enfa tis mrng..dunno when i receive it..i considering enfa..if enfa also cannot then mayb go back to Nan..when she was born she take Nan 1 but she oli poo every 2-3days also then when she on TBF she poo 2-3times a day so vy different.

Donkeymami,
he take cereal haven start porriage intend to start when he 7th mth.. when i gave him similac his poo also v hard wor...

phy o
in the end you went to chee seng tong or yu guo? My girls still coughing and quite a lot of phlegm. zr still dry cough. Now using the otrivin nose drop for him.

re birds nest
when we went to yu guo, sinseh said that my girls had sensitive airways, so have to avoid things like birds nest and egg white coz it'll trigger the phlegm and cough. When I told my mom, then she boh bian, stop asking me to give them birds nest for their cough. If mils dun listen to western doc, maybe they'll listen to chinese tcm?? But really must be careful coz it's those proteins in egg white, birds nest, nuts etc that trigger allergies, so if possible, try not to give. esp if got history of allergies in the parents.

donkeymami

i was bf till 4mths plus..starting working n switched to similac step 1. No issues at first..poo normally but extremely stinky. I suddenly switched to step 2, and cos it smells and taste better, she finished all her feeds. BUT. suddenly the constipation occurred. i was worried sick and gave her lactus. Didnt help soften the stool much..*sighs* hopefully papaya will do the trick! gonna try later..

piggy, my gal's one not tat hard & she poop vy little also..see if her poop back to normal tdy MIL said will give her apple later.

morning mommies

donkeymami
a few days ago Zachary also poo pellet-like-stool once. then a day before that, he didnt poo.

Pris
ok thanks =)

donkeymami
javier taking similac from discharged till now.. initally when FM was like 1 feed per day. he can poo 2-3 times a day but after become full fm, he can poo every 2-3days but not hard and really alot.. nowadays he poo 1-2 times a day.. btw, he has not start with stage 2 and cereal oni once a while coz he still cant take well..

I received samples for mamil stage 2, and Similac stage 2. Anyone keen to exchange wif me, becoz my boy is drinking enfalac. let me know ya.. Thanks.

April / BB / joycec: my mum also taught me to soak the rice grains overnite, this way, the cooking time for porridge will be faster.