(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pegsfur

yeah man, what's all the fuss abt porridge? i'm not anti-porridge lah, but it's hard to cook leh
plus i read that tbf bbs lack iron so i wanna give cereal for a start for the iron till i start him on meat mah. another mth then eat porridge wun die right???

wow ovann has eaten so much stuff. sam looks so deprived.. nvm this following wk he has apple n avocado to eat liao.

oh sam likes to do that too. he'll feel n scratch textures. it's funny to see him try to feel a print tho, coz the picture cannot be printed yet he tries to grab n scartch it. so funny. but he's got a new iritating habit.. he thumps things! floor, mattress, me, toys,.. he keeps hitting them with his fists

gin

sam worse! got ringworm!

ermm. i haven't given sam anything for the past 2 wks other than cereal hee. but i wanna follow the 4 day rule coz i have eczema n sinus n i'm worried sam'll inherit my lousy genes.

phy o

haven't tried porridge but i'll do so maybe next mth. mil keeps nagging me abt porridge n asking if i have a crock pot. i'll just wait for her to buy me one since she's so concern sam gets his wu2 gu2 mi3 (5-bone rice???) *evil dil*

but i intend to use white rice to cook porridge. tastes better i think. brown rice porridge is like so.. yucks! n the taste will overwhelm the ingredients right?

anyway i'm a bit anti-medical hall. aws feel the stuff there isn't fresh or got funny things in it. remnants of the china herb scares bah

crystalbelle

hullo!

sam's 9kg at 6mth 1wk. but he's only 67.5cm!!!! he doesn't look that big for 9kg. dunno where the weight went to? bones? must be the big head haha

gin
Ya lah, i know they mean well .. but they shld just 'share' their views, not impose them on me, or any other people. I personally think this is an irritating point of most mothers, they always impose and insist u listen to them just becos they've been there, done that. I was really so irritated during Ovann's 1st mth celebration, cos friends, relatives keep asking & insisting to feed Ovann water when i told them i dun let him drink water. My sis-in-law quickly ask my hubby to get the water and fed Ovann right b4 my eyes. I won't be so pissed if she just feed alittle but she's looks like she's gonna down the whole 60ml on Ovann. I quickly stopped her & pulled the bottle away. There were so many other suggestions and beliefs everyone contributed. I was too tired to rebuke or explain my own rationale.

Ok, back to topic ... Other than spinach, Ovann has tried cabbage yesterday. He's ok with it, no frowning for the 1st time .. hahah
Oh, he din finish the whole spinach lah .. it tastes & smells so horrible, i dun expect him to finish it
If i give it to him alone, he tried to spit it out by the 5th spoonful. So i mix it in his cereal and he has no problem with it.

jul
So fun to watch them exploring things hor?
Ovann also has a bad habit now .. he keeps throwing things off his bed, esp his pacifier. I've washed his pacifier dunno how many times liao. Oh, and he's really like a crab ... when i put him in the walker, he'll zoom around the house, wanting to grab watever he sees.

jul,
ryan is only 66cm! worse lor

weishy,
yes..he is super sensitive
yday i eat the egg in my ban mian...today his eczema on his cheeks is back
so PD say drink HA version

crystalbelle
I think it is alright leh cuz your gal i so tall.. my boy is 70cm measured by nurse and 72.5cm measured by us so for his height 9.5kg is very heavy liao..

many of us are on facebook, you can add me [email protected]

if you want to take a look at my chubby boy, here's his blog: http://watchrenzogrow.blogspot.com/
sorry lazy to upload his photos...

pegsfur
what you want to do then? I am not a programmer, but a few friends are.. hehee

felicia,

My website lor ... u take a look at http://www.thedogchapter.com/shopcart

There's all these instructions on OScommerce which are not supposed to be on the page .. i want to delete them but everytime i tried, the whole page is gone and showed error. So was wondering if i got the coding correct or not. Anyone can help?

hi, i mix abit of brown rice with white rice to grind n cook in slow cook for few hours. they say brown rice more nutritious. cos i never feed cereals at all. my baby quite ok with it, he loves porridge. he is only 8.2kg and 69cm leh...at 6mth 2wk. some of ur babies really heavy ya!

pegsfur

yeah it's fun (n irritating) to watch them

oh i hate it when that happens. it's bad enough when they nag n nag. worse when they "just do it". totally no respect lor, i feel.

sharon

but what's ryan's weight?

felicia

hey better than sam. his bmi is 19.8 haha.. urs only 18

hello how's everybody??? hehe...

another saturday. haha...and very hungry now..

BHG Bugis having this baby fair sale till 7MARCH wor.. yesterday i go and buy a wide neck glass btl and man it was expensive. nw i changing all to glass btl liao le..

i bought even flo few days back, my boy don like it and always left 20-30ml. today he can finished all his milk from pigeon one. GOOD! and the teats can be use at philips one.

later going to buy few more. i ned about 4big ones and 2 small one. i think its about 95-96 bucks. wow..

Anyone take Frisco?

Get a Bonus Voucher from Friso!
You can get a voucher just by submitting receipts showing your purchase of $100 worth of Friso products to FrieslandCampina (Singapore) Pte Ltd, Jurong Point P.O. Box 140 Singapore 916405. The first 100 senders will each get a $10 Friso Baby Bonus Voucher.

Voucher is valid for purchase of Friso products at Watsons Personal Care Stores only. Friso Gold 1 (900g), Friso Comfort (400g) and Friso Soy (400g) are not included in this promo.

http://networkedblogs.com/EpQB

Food

actually i tried a lot of food for my bb liao le

apples
pear and those big li
tomato
potato
carrot
pumpkin
sweet potato
brocolli
spinach
some veges my mum bought put @ my fridge
banana
papaya
and some more wor.. haha...

jul
Re: pears
how come they are not ripe? i bought for a week, forgot to eat and it is spoilt =(

after reading the books i borrowed, it is actually quite fun to introduce solid haha. it only took me 30mins to plan a month's menu (by following the book's recipe). if you have any trouble, i can share with you detailed menu of what i introduced so far

Re: old folks
Yeah, most old folks are like that. rarely can find those understanding old folks that are willing to accept modern ways. I almost argued with my mil about egg. told her cannot cos it is high risk allergy food and research says so blah blah. then she cannot fight liao, will end it with "last time's kids also eat those and they are stronger blah blah". but ofcourse last time things are not as advance as now. even if there are a lots of kids that died from food allergy, news might not even broadcast cos DR might diagnose it says common sickness (or something).

Some old folks just cannot accept that things have changed over the years.

haha lucky you that you got sil to support you. my auntie also let Zachary taste mandarin orange. but since she is my mom's sis and i like her a lot, so i just close one eye. haha.

there is no rush to feed porridge lah. for me i am ok with it and i am not the one who have to keep an eye on the double boiler. so why not? else i will just throw in rice cooker to cook lor. where got the energy to double boil or slow cook.

pegsfur
old folks got their own belief and OLD ways of doing stuffs haha. The "first food" book which I borrowed is written by Asian (weishy recommended) and after cross referencing with Annabel karmel book, it is safe to give fish, pork, chicken puree now. but read that certain fish is high risk allergy (eg: shellfish). but overall, no rush to feed baby with meat lah. most importantly is to introduce veggie and make them used to eating veggie now since they still not as good as resisting compare to toddler.

i am not really that good at php but have some knowledge. want to send the file to me and i can take a look at the coding?

Gin
you are welcome.

phy*o*
today is the first time i use brown rice for Zachary's porridge. for the last 2 weekends, i used white rice. last sunday then went to buy brown rice to try.

sbb
wow you tried so many food le!! for me i fed the same food for 2 days (or use the same ingredient and mix with something i've fed before).

Reira

ya lor..i also tried green peas, dried strawberry, blue barries and raspberry.
corn haven tried yet. going to do so if i buy.

myr bb food is everyday fresh one wor.. haha.. not those fridge one. but one day give him 2-3 types of stuff.

we fed him rice millet, cereal and brown rice daily. one day 2-3 meals depends on what time he wakes up la.

when i look after him, i will prepare everything one shot than put at lock and lock.

sbb
wa! actually books ect advice to introduce a food one at a time. but if family dont have history of allergy then those low risk allergy food like apple, pear is ok to give for 1 day.

but 2-3 types of stuffs a day might not be a good idea incase certain food caused allergic reaction. then you wouldnt know if it is due to which food that baby ate.

i love lock n lock haha. best container ever. can keep food fresh for a longer time compare to normal container

Brown rice cooking-ladies did u grind t first before cooking? Portion of water has to be more just like japanese rice

Reira-spree noted

anchovy-I didn't give any to my girl cos alot of salt n probs bacteria(cos they hv to sun it ......sure hv flies hovering )

Crystalbelle-hi there
yes I bring my girl to all those places too but fine very ex :p

Sharon-orhhhh then bêtter HA looooo he's really sensitive.think eggs u can introduce him later 18 months or more

SBB -it's good to introduce a variety to bb
alot of effort done there mommy

weishy
what i did for anchovy is washed it a few times, stir fry it dry then grind. hopefully still can maintain the nutrients.

can i have ur bank acc # then i refund you?

grolier books
any mummy here bought their books? seems quite interesting, not cheap but can pay by instalment, i think i will sure get the set if i am still working.. so want to see if any of you can give some advice on this.. hehee..

Brown Rice Porridge
edric lunch, i make brown rice porridge with treadfin fish (午鱼)together with Japanese sweet potato for him. m so happy to c him finish all!

Fresh 银鱼 better than anchovy.

Edric had finally done his 6 mths jab, hep B on thurs at polyclinic, next will be at May, 9 mths old development assessment & hearing test. the senior nurse @ sengkang polyclinic advise us to give him egg yolk when he turn 9 mths so to get him ready for the MMR jab on his 15 mths old.

Grolier Books
nice to hv and invest, most imptly u need to spare out the time n read to them on daily basis, else it will be a white elephant.

april
thanks for your advice on the books, me will stop working for 6-12 months so sure a lot of time to spend on reading books to my boy sia.. if not whole day at home also dunno what to do besides cooking..

i always want to cook treadfin fish porridge, can teach me how to cook that please?

Hi All Mummies,

I'm a March Mummies. Any of u using tollyjoy detergent (Powder type)? Interested 2 buy at a cheaper price? i had 9 boxes on hand to sell. Kindly PM me if you are interested. Thank you

Felicia
I find it really sweet that both you and ur hb contribute to renzo's blog. It'll be a wonderful gift for him when he is older and able to read and appreciate this

eunice

Compass Pt ah? Weekday or weekend?

If weekday, more of non-office hr leh. If weekend, I try to arrange. Coz norm will go out with hubs on weekend, so if go compass pt, maybe short while only.

Oh btw, ur jacket very very nice! (even tho they wrapped it up in such a horrible folded halfway plastic bag keke)

I'm so envious. It's OOS now and anyway it'll make sam look fat haha

been so busy at work i haven been to e forum for a long time. planning to start FM for my baby. any advice on either NAN or similac?

i tried feeding my baby friuts. was wonderin how to start feeding veg for them? do i just steam and grind them? or must give with porridge. plannng to start porridege only next month. cereal is so much easier to prepare for now.

cereal

Btw tdy upgraded Sam to 20ml of cereal - I use the cough medicine spoon to measure 4 scoops. Hey wait a min.. 1 scoop = 5ml or 10ml? *scratch head*

Hi Weishy,
For brown rice,wat i do is wash it,then leave it to air dry for a while then fry dry it (no oil used),takes about 15 mins for 1kg pack.
And finally I got the water ratio correct!So happy!
It is 1 : 3.5,brown rice to water proportion. Then when it is cooked in slow cooker,I add one more spoon of boiled water n then press it thru the super small size sift to further mash it.
Voila.
I tasted the brown rice..like the nice smell n non gluten..i bought the American organic brand type from Cold Storage.

Hi pjpj,
May I knw which brand u bought? Tinkin of lettin my boy take brown rice too. Actually my mil also just started cookin porridge for my boy. Bo pian, she sort of insisted tht cereal is heaty cos my boy fell sick a few days later after eatin happy bellies. So wasted. Even addin carrot to the porridge I hav to 'encourage' her abt it.
May I know is there a reason why u fry the brown rice? Cos I know tht brown rice takes longer to cook does fryin hasten the process of cookin?

Claire
thanks so much, yup hubby was the one started the blog.. hehee..

Jul
so cute you, still calculate BMI sia.. LOL

Pris
hey morning, great that your internet is finally up, how's everything there?

Pjpj-good good needs abit of trial n error evenfor me cos me a terrible cook

brown rice -if scared ma fan can buy from Yu ren sen -already innpowder form but still need to cook

Pris-hi hi~~~~~~~ how's things!!!! Must be very very busy

Hi Joycec,
I bought this
3675342.jpg

Hmm..I wanna save time so i dry fry (0ver low fire) lor..u can air dry it all the way actually if u prefer.
Aft i fry dry it,i place the rice on a large plate to cool down,if u grind straight away,there will be condensation.
Aft tat I keep it into a lock n lock and those air tight glass containers from IKEA.
It may sound a bit tedious but we only need to do this twice or so til abt 8mths,then no need to grind liao.My fren said her 1kg pack can last her abt one mth for starters..
As for cooking time,it is abt half hour-let me give u the exact timing soon.Cos usually I will wake up,pop water n rice into slow cooker,take a shower,and it is abt done.

Pesky folks :
Have been reading abt the "pesky" mils,relatives n strangers (yes i was lectured on giving porridge to bb by a stranger in a foodct!)
..find tat as well intentioned they may be, they can be rather imposing.

Sometimes,when they go on n on,i m smiling at them externally,but inside i m like "bla bla bla say wat u want,this is my kid n i m doing it my way"

So whenever my mil or anyone for tat matter started giving me some advice,I will say wat the method I am using (which is always different from them ha ha) and then go on to do it.

If they go on n on,I will say "last time policeman wear shorts!" or "last time u dun see so many pp get cancers rite? cos the food we eat now is very different." telling them times are different so ur method is outdated liao la.

joycec
i saw this brown rice powder from shop n save, moon rabbit brand, instant one no need to cook just add water and stir.. not sure how good it is but definitely can save us a lot of time, i bought the one with ikan bilies and need to add water then cook and stir but usually cook till boiled so only about 3-5 minutes.. will give the instant one a try after i finish this pack..

good morning mummies
any advice what my bb could be experiencing? reflux?

yesterday he puke after I brought him for a swim, after 5mins. In the evening, after 3.30pm feed, he puke again. I went to the PD, since he's not feverish, & no sore throat Dr ruled out infection. Yesterday I gave him pomela pulp, papaya for breakfast after his milk, half bottle of Heinz strawberry & banana custard after his lunch.

I went to another PD, cause we are out of BKK, ask if reflux can still occur on near 7mth bb. possible? and reflux can even lead to pnemonia, but need to monitor over the next few days if sorethroat, phlegmy cough, fever occurs.

el nino

is it a lot of puke or just a bit?

sam's very prone to puking. i notice that when he has has a bad feed (maybe distracted/struggling) pukes once due to indigestion, he may puke again the next 2 or 3 feeds. after that, if he settles down n stops struggling he'll be ok.