(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Felicia,
actually i tink workin part time is a gd idea cos for me i also intend to work part time when i decided to stop workin... maybe u work half a day kind?

i see piggy, so what kind of part time job then? cuz i've been working in IT line for 7 years since i graduate and no idea what kind of part time job i can do sia.. hahaha.. maybe go checkout shop n save near my block see if they need cashier, haha.. 24 hours one so maybe i can work night shift for a few hours..

Eunice, hope u're feeling better. ur teething tablets r still with me. i'll only be in singapore till early next week. u want me to post them to u?

can u give me a call to arrange? my number is 98512951.

Felicia,
hahah NTUC also can or mac?? keke.. for me maybe work in clinic or admin/account den only half day kind or 1 wk work full day 2-3days kind lor...

hi sunshineg, i have actually sms u on 11 feb but didnt hear from you. probably u didnt receive my msg.

can u pls post the item to me as i hv to be quarantined for 2 wks.

my girl is also waking up multiple times at night. sometimes carrying works, sometimes it doesn't. she doesn't like her pacifier anymore. and sometimes only feeding her puts her back to sleep.

at first, i thought it was jet lag, but after seeing so many mummies n babies here with the same problem, i now think it's a developmental phase...

sigh... jia you, everyone!

Felicia
since you got the compensation package, maybe can stop work for 1-2 months to try SAHM life, then decide if you want to continue...
I'm also deciding if I should quit and join my hb overseas but like you say, I'll also be depress if I dont get pay on pay day.

I stopped working full time a few years ago when i was really sick & tired of my job, plus i was setting up my online shop.

Sales was slow but i was happy as i was doing something i liked. However, it got abit boring and the only time i'm busy is when i'm sourcing/purchasing stocks. So i started working part time at an IT firm until i got preggy last year. The plan was to go back to work aft maternity leave but there's no one to look after Ovann. So i have to quit and be a SAHM. Quite sa-yang cos my colleagues were nice, boss was nice, worked half a day nia, and i got to earn some money.

I think whether u wanna quit and be a SAHM has to depend on alot of factors also .. like having a supportive hubby, both financially and mentally, how much u r willing to sacrifice in terms of time & financial, cos u really have no me time and u can't spend money as & when u like. Not easy but need to have some planning & give and take.

I haf also been thinking bout tis for v long..if finances allow..i will definitely want be a SAHM
anyone has lobang for part time job? Seems so hard to find?

pegsfur,
wat online biz u doing?

eunice,
is ur baby better? Not chicken pox rite? Take care n hope u get well soon

sharon - at the moment is not chicken pox. according to PD is normal flu virus. i am keeping my fingers crossed that he doesnt get chicken pox. but since he is no well now, means his immunity is low, i think very likely he will get it

thanks for sharing your experiences
ya really not easy with just one income. I had a colleague who worked part time but she say very lugi. No more benefits, half the annual leave, half the pay yet still do 80% of work. Guess if do part time have to look for another job or something.

Being a SAHM is really a sacrifice. Loss of income, no personal time and life is devoted to baby. And I also wonder if I can do it on my own since hubby will most likely expect me to do housework too, so having a maid is out of the question. Being a SAHM is very 'wei da' in my opinion.

sharon
I'm selling pets' accessories

joia
I agree .. no more benefits for part-time job. Mine even worse cos i'm considered contract worker, so no MCs, no leave, no nothing. It's basically no work = no pay. But i'm not complaining cos i have half a day free everyday

kiki
yah lor the compensation package can last me till end of the year i think, as all i need to pay is 300 personal insurance and 900 household expenses including maid and baby cost, utilities, baby insurance etc. my hubby pay for another 900 to make it 1800 and that's the bare minimum we need to survive lor..

but heartpain sia, imagine if i continue working and this compensation package i can save up for Renzo or something lor..

pegsfur
wah your part time job sounds cool leh, what did you do then? i wish i could find a part time job also, although when i stop working i still contribute to household expenses as if i am still working, the diff is that i have zero savings then, so having a part time job is definitely going to help, hoho..

actually as a FTWM, i felt i'm not able to concentrate on work already. no more drive.

i dont have anymore ambition... as long as I get ok pay, can get off work on time, no stress... i'm satisfied already.
this is so different from before lor. Motherhood really tame me.

felicia,

I was working as part-time secretary/admin-assistant. The company is small size, only abt 30+ staff, so they just need me to do all the admin/paperwork. I was quite free everyday de, hahaha .. only month end busy for accounting. I really wished i didn't have to give up this job.

Wow, not working still hv to contribute as usual ... dat's really siong huh? Maybe can negotiate with hubby, ask him to contribute more?

pegsfur
i see, wah that's a really nice job then, i wonder if i have luck to find such kind of job after march, hoho..

well the problem with us is that his pay is lower, so i cannot expect him to contribute more already, and in fact if i can find another job with 500 more than my current pay, maybe we will discuss and see if he could quit instead lor.. as long as one of us is at home with our boy, i think that's good enough, and doesnt matter who is the one, also in fact only i am working then we can get govt subsidy so no matter how once my boy goes to childcare i must start working de..

children's been really sick.Damn the flu or cold. Both Big and Small have the same illness - cough, phleghm and runny nose.

Want to ask is that Yu Guo good in trating babies with this illness? Cos I dun really want my baby go western doc, eat too much xi yao is really no good man! But dun eat like worse. Any suggestions?

Pegsfur,

U set up online store too? I just set up mine ... haha ... As you said, sales really slow. But coming in trickling. Was yours like that?

kikilala> keke. sounds so similar. now i oso juz wan a job with a stable income, can get off wk on time to go accpy my boy, i happy liaos =p

now i even forbid hubby to change job, cos his job is paying well, allows him to leave on time, and can wk from home if need someone to stay hm do something =p

phy o,

Ya, initially is like dat ... must do quite abit of advertising den u'll get to see more sales. Wat r u selling?

Now i dun even have time to manage my shop .. so it's like the shop's open, but no people tending .. hahaha ... and my site kena hacked not long ago, and now having some problem with the site. Wondering if i shld give it up altogether

Btw, is yours a blogshop?

kikilala,

U first child already like that. Haha ... after my first kid I still got lots of energy. Now with no 2, then really zapped!

claire, can give me the tel no. or website for friso to get free sample? i am unable to find it on the website leh..very frustrated cos tired too...please advice thanks.

phy o
i just went to yu guo yesterday and my girls are still coughing...but they're like crazy active now. Maybe it;s from staying at home for so many days. But phlegm looser...

Hi pegsfur,

Ya, my's a blogspot. Cheapest way to start a shop. Selling Designer Bags, Wristlets, Wallets.

Am advertising in about 3-4 places. Competitive. THinking I should advertise in more places. Only started less than a month ago when my husband went KL for work trip then inspiration came. Plus lots of encouragement from friends. So tata ... up came my business.

Claire,

At Yu Guo is medication? Big M doesn't like bitter medication. She will spit out. Your two babies went to him for cough, phleghm and runny nose too?

joia, yes part time really no benefits leh, I didn't get any maternity benefits
But I was paid hourly, so the more I worked, the more I earned, so it was still acceptable.

felicia, 1.8k for household expenses is really quite good leh... with 3 kids, mine is sky high... haiz...

kiki, yes, my heart is always not at work. Its worst when the kids are sick! I keep going in late, and leaving early, if not for the fact this company is flexible, sure kenna fired long ago.

Mich
yup i understand, that's why i envy those with many kids lor cuz i want to have 2 de but now think about it, I dare not to plan for #2 lor.. haiz..

Halo all haven had time to log in these few days. Seems tat the topic these few days is bout sahm. In fact sometimes I think I'm selfish cos I can't bring myself to quit cos I need some me time and income but luckily my job allows mi to leave on the dot. So long I'm not working I always spend it with Ethan. That is 1 of the reason I continue to bf cos I wan to bond with him.

Baby ja, nice meeting u today and thanks for helpin to buy the fitti diapers!!

Ethan has been losin weight recently cos he has been skipping meals refusin to latch. I brought him out earlier fed him ard 345pm so supposingly 645 is his next feed till now he still dun wan to eat and jus went to slp. Duno wats wrong.

Re: pump milk
I pump twice at work once ard 930-10am the other time I pump ard 330-4pm. Sometimes at hm I'll put ard 8+ but recently quite lazy so skipped that pump

Mich,
My 2 Ms are sick again. Think tml will bring small M to see Dr Koh if he is in. Think will be the last time we see him b4 he leaves the co.

phy*o*,
yes...PM me?

kikilala/mich,
me too...dun care bout work anymore
last time i was quite a workaholic
now on the dot, i leave...dun care wat the boss tinks

phy, its really hard isn't it? My 3 kids are also sick together now, I'm running ard like headless chicken. Dr Koh will be at his new clinic soon, rite?

sharon, I already decided too if boss not happy, then too bad, kids more important.

felicia, u can always plan for #2 when Renzo is older, and your job stabilise again?

Phy'O'--> zelia was having cough and later develope with phleghm and runny nose for more than 1week. Had taken the western medicine but dun seem to improve and keep puking out the milk during coughing.
In the end i bring her to yu guo last friday. As the doc said she is too young for chinese medicine so she was given "yao bao" to put at her tummy 24hrs for 4days. In fact with 1 day of "yao bao" her runny nose stop and the cough and phelgm also improve. So i think the "yao bao" really works for zelia. Her appetite for milk also improve from there. Oh ya beside the "yao bao" baby massage was also done. Yday i just went down for antoher review too and ask for "yaobao" to relief my baby tummy bloatedness

phy o
yu guo goot consultation followed by tui na and was prescribed medicine. The doc told us the med a bit bitter. I dun dare to take coz I dun like chinese med, but was told that can mix with honey to make it more acceptable to their taste.

sharon
me too, last time as a tr sometimes gotta stay late for CCA or stay for overnight camp...if can siam, I try my best to do so, otherwise I really dun get to see my girls, esp #2. I was preggy with #3 and had to handle terrible 2s of #1 and also toddler stage for #2, plus juggling school...that was quite hellish.

1 March - new clinic at Mt A

Mt A = horrible parking

I most prob will just stick to SCBB at AMK. Now my elder one I have decided to just send to GP nearby, not bad. Cos send to SCBB also no fixed doc. At least this clinic only one dr, better. Also a lot cheaper.

Small M no choice - still too small, so tot best send to specialist at SCBB. See her suffer my heart hurts. Somemore dunno is it cos she sick, eat her cereal only ate half of the usual for the last 3 days.

Patricia,

No need give meds for baby? Good, I like! I dun approve of giving meds to baby so young too. But I am really at my wits end. Cos she is so sick. Now even my hubby is sick. Sigh .. I'm the lone survivor. Plus my maid - who on off cough and I have to keep reminding her to drink water, buy pi pa gao for her to take.

So scared I too succumb and fall ill.

Claire,

You went for yourself or for your baby? So u still teaching now? Can understand the "hellish" part. Life is never easy as a tr. Not many pple can see it from tr's pt of view.

phy o,

Can pm me your blogshop too?

Aiyoh, both yr hubby & kids sick huh ... u must stay healthy oso, if not u'll be the next.

phy o
brought my 2 older girls coz they weren't really responding to the western meds. bb still ok *touchwood*.

Took 1 yr no pay leave this yr. Last night was askng hb if he'll cry if i take another yr off...then he was like, "mmm". I understand that if I really do, we might have to let go of our current helper, and forgo luxuries like holidays and fancy dining. As it is, our discussions last yr abt bringing the girls to HK disney is on hold indefinitely liao. Any income I have now from piano is going to insurance and domestic expenses, and barely enough to cover that. So we're always keeping fingers crossed no big expenses come in, like red or white bombs...or medical expenses.

I'm hoping he'll get a better offer than what he has now, then I can really stop working

Hey Claire

so I see that u teach piano. Me too, teaching piano. In fact I restarted work when bb was one and a half months old. For me I don't think l'll quit my job. Timing is flexible and I usually leave bb with my parents when I'm working. But I normally need to take afternoon nap when I need to teach in the afternoon or night. Or else I'll be like a zombie!

Claire,

Ya, I took one term NPL. Now going back, my family wants me to take lesser workload. So opting for 2/3. Going to discuss for options. A colleague has 1/2 workload but goes to school everyday. I'm going to tell them I'll do 2/3 of everything. Or at least have one day off. Maybe next yr quit and be adjunct. Haha!

Understand what u mean by no income. Me too, that's why brainwave must start online buz man. At least u teach piano. For me, it's totally nil.

Breast pump tubes cannot be cleaned, must just pump till the water inside clears.

Pegsfur,
My store just started, so adding a little infor each day. But if u add as fan to my store's facebook, you'll get updates more regularly.:p

Mich
haha when Renzo is older i am older also leh, my plan is to have number 2 by next year so i am still about 32, if not then i rather just have 1 lor, i am afraid when i get old it is more tiring during pregnancy, and i have no energy to look after baby already, haha..

good morning ladies!!

re: no.2
Mean SIL told my son u better treasure the moments u hving now when no.2 is out there is no one to dote on u liaoz... that makes me wonder do i wan to hv no.2? in dilemma...

sorri huh ppl dun like MIL/FIL here i hate SIL