I wonder if it's the teething

morning

re:breastfeeding mummies
how many times u all pump in office?
im thinking of dropping to once cos i really haf no time
will ss drop alot if i drop 1 pump?
any advice?
im just pumping enuff on a daily basis...need top up by pumping in the morn before i go work

Morning all

RE:BF for FTWM

i still pump 2 times in the office...

the supply will definately drop if u drop 1 pump...but again depends on individual body...
previously i did that for #1 and it drop...

i am only pumping enough for #2's 2 feed...

sharon/joycec> initially i was also reluctant to use de cry it out method. but i think de infant care trained him for me. cos dey dun haf so much attention to spend on one person. it was good in a way for me. cos at least now he can do his own stuffs independently instead of carrying all day long

sharon> will drop alot wor. i dunno how u count the pump. in total i pump 3 times in office. but once is before wking hrs at 8am, de other after lunch at 130pm, and de last one after office hrs at 6pm

yippie
my gal can go frm tummy position to sitting down position... so proud of this hardworking lil girl... she dun like exersaucer coz basically there's nothing she can do inside.. besides wasting time to play in it..but the moment u put her in playmat.. she would be working hard in her gross motor skills... until u can see driplets of sweats on her head..

michelle
u pump so many times in office??? i just reduce to one time pumping in office ever since she reaches 6mths old.. supply dipped alot.. and gonna let it die off naturally now.. she's taking 1 PACK of Frozen EBM every alterate days now

smurfy> keke. considered i only pump once during office hrs ma. so no complains by anyone. anyway i come office early to avoid de jam to wk, and go hm later, cos need to wait for hubby to pick me oso.

michelle
ohh yah.. one time in office onli.. hey then wat time u reach infant care to pick ur baby up? first time mummy right? got more time for u to be persistent n continue pumping k??? i need more time for my #1 instead of him waiting in the room to wait for me finish pumping.. that's why i am slowing stopping....

smurfy> i cannot reach in time to pick my boy. so my parents pick for me, den i will pick him up from their hm. waiting in the room to finish pumping? i dun pump at hm. only at 130am when hubby dreamfeed my booy. by than, my boy oredi sleeping. so no need wait for me.

hey Michelle how's your boy doing at infant care so far? i think it is good for baby as they are trained to be much more independent and learn things faster also... how they feed solid there?

my only concern is they tend to fall sick often, but i am still considering to send my boy to infant care maybe when he is 1 year+, so my maid can send him there and pick him up while both of us can focus on our work.. hohoho..

my baby also been waking up in the nite for few time for quite sometime liao i also gave him teethin tablet thot it is due to teethin.. but not workin so i tink not due to teethin. this few day he did not wake up in the nite liao hope it remain this way... *cross my finger* hopefully he have past the phase.

my bb too..woke up 1-2 times for the past 2wks...dunno why..pacifier & water also cannot work..must feed her then she go back to sleep..hope she will outgrown this soon.

waking up at night
haha mine also but a lot worse, 5-10 times, these few days wake up less than 7 times i very happy already sia..

solid
my boy does not take solid that well, half way always cries and rejects the food.. although we still manage to let him finish one bowl eventually.. these few days i have been giving him healthy times oatmeal cereal+manna biscuit+water, he seems to like it, but if i give him other things he cries often, so i have been feeding him the same thing almost every meal, is that alright? afraid that he is not getting enough nutrients from diff kind of food..

Donkeymami,
my boi more than 2 wk but i notice how for wkend he ok but on wkday he sure wake up lor dunno is it he know i need to work
but heng this 2 days he ok only last nite wake up once previously will wake up 4-5time make noise den i will pat him stuff pacifier to make him sleep ... i try not to carry him... now i tryin to train him to sleep on his own also...

Regg,
ya lor i am sooo tired.. last nite thot can sleep who knows diarrhea middle of the nite

Felicia,
nvm la ur boi weight is v gd no need make him eat so much yet mah
my boi v v greedy n he eat v fast lless than 10min finish now regardless wat i gave he eat so quite heng...

felicia
is the solids too dry? try adding more water/fm/ebm to the food? or alternate between some spoons of water in btween feeding? or was it a bad combination of food mixed together?

sharon, when I dropped from 5 pumps to 4 pumps, supply dropped by around 120ml, which is still not too bad. So don't think dropping 1 pump will be too drastic.

my boy is ok with his solids, in fact he much prefers it to his milk. Give him milk like torturing him. see him squirm and protest also sian. Make me think why i try so hard to pump milk for him...in the end my helper just put the milk in his cereal and he'll happily take it that way. His milk intake is dropping drastically, maybe only 12oz a day

Claire,
haha mine also like gave him milk after drink half he will swing the bott admire the bott put in his mouth suck a bit den swing the bott again argh~

Ethan has grown 2 more upper tooth, that brings a total to 4 upper & 2 lower, he's cranky but like Kikilala, he still wakes up for 1 feed depending what time his last feed. after that he will doze off.

He still humpdy dumpdy cannot sit unsupported.
i bought the rice husk biscute and he likes it. i think the brand is wang wang carrot husk.

piggy
yup 9.5kg at 6 months 1 week, in fact i don't care much whether he eats or not de, hahaha.. plus he is still taking 570ml of milk (3 times) a day.. i am more worried about him eating too much, LOL..

smurfy
i see, the texture is just nice cuz too watery one he doesnt like.. but maybe you are right, it could be the food, so far i only mix cereal+biscuit+ one type of fruit or vege, and i know he doesnt like pumpkin, but the first time he finished one medium sweet potato puree in 25 minutes, then i give him half of it mix with cereal the next time he dun want to eat liao.. so i also dunno what is the exact prob sia.. haiz.. but i am sure he loves cereal+manna biscuit, haha eat a lot and can finish fast.. i don't mix with FM cuz i want to keep track on his milk intake so i only mix with water.. LOL

Felicia,
my boi drink abt 600ml now lor so ur boi ok keke ya maybe it the food.. keke... nvm la now they wan to eat gave lo.. as long they healthy can liao

Claire,
ya lor lately my boi start to blow out(PUI) saliva or food v piss off la now he advance from blowing bubble gave him pacifier he also spit out follow by blow out lots of bubble... alot of time can see his face cover with milk or puree haha...

felicia> he is doing fine there. even yesterday i forget to pack his pacifier in his bag, he can still sleep =p

good thing is his sleeping schedule is more fixed, he goes to bed at 8+, so i got more time to rest now. and he is more independent oso, can fall asleep by himself

ya, more easily sick, but hubby says take it as building up his immunity and try to bf more lo. i haven let him start taking solid in sch, cos i dunno wat solid dey giving in sch now. maybe one day i'll drop by n check them out

Claire
since you have a helper also, want to check with you, you started working already is it? so you leave baby to your helper at home alone then?

i am in a true dilemma now as in i do not know if i should continue working after being retrenched in Mar, or stop for a while, but since i have a helper also, if i stop working it is going to be very taxing.. but if i continue working then for sure my in laws are not going to let my baby stay at home with helper only.. for me i can fully trust her, but i wonder if she can cope or not since taking care of baby alone is really not that easy.. any advice please?

felicao
pumpkin is sweet leh, both my kids love it.. to make things easier for the maid.. i blend pumpkin with one kind of green veg. so that the green vegetable dun turn soo horrible tasting.. i tried avocado with green veg. and wasted half a avocado.. @#@%#%#$%#$

survey
What Foods Have You Introduced to Your Baby?

1. Roots - sweet potato, potato, pumpkin
2. Fruits - apple, banana, papaya, peach
3. Greens - Caixin, xiao baichye, spinach
4. Cereal - Boxed Brown Rice cereal, rice cereal and oats cereal
5. Others - avocado.

sharon,
have u been freezing your BM? If so then can supplement with frozen BM to make up for enough feeds. But know what you mean, feel so sayang after feeding for so long. I haven't decided when to stop but proud of myself to have made it to 6.5 months so far. Just find it tiring to have to wake up earlier to pump, pump twice at work and pump at night. Would rather spend time resting or doing my own things.

Sophie is liking her cereals. Yesterday she was introduced to bananas at the infant care and she likes it. Even the teachers commented that she's eager for more food. So going to give her apples this weekend and progress to pears and veg slowly.

Baby sitting up
Sophie has been trying to sit up when she's in her pram. Guess she's also getting more curious and wants to see more things instead of laying down. even when we put one level up (using capella by the way), she'll try to pull her body forward. Looks so tough like she's doing crunches! Haha

Part time
I've been contemplating working part time or taking a break from work but feel insecure with lesser household income. For those not working or took a break from work, what are the things to consider? I told hubby that I can stop work for a while but what if have 2nd one? After all if working full time still have 4 months of paid maternity leave and govt subsidy. Contemplative mood...

Joia,
my Hb also ask to stopworkin but like wat u say if got #2 will loose out on the maternity leave etc.. so i am hangin on to it..
my bb also even i level up the seat he wun wan to rest his back against it but sit up n lean forward instead:p

Babyja,
maybe u can try fruits puree see if he take maybe he dun like the cereal ?

smurfy
yah lor pumpkin is my niece's favorite so i introduced that to my boy and expect him to love it also de.. but tried twice once puree, once porridge, end up have to quickly make cereal for him instead..

answer to your survey:
1. Roots - sweet potato, pumpkin
2. Fruits - apple, banana, pear
3. Greens - none
4. Cereal - Boxed Brown Rice cereal, oats cereal
5. Others - avocado, manna biscuit

joia..
i have not been working even b4 this bb coz got past miscarriage.. the most to consider mainly is $$$ issue loh..

piggytoh
let him try puree also like that.. few spoonful and he dun wan liao.. haiz...

michelle/mich/joia
i hope can cont tbf..but pumping twice at work is too time consuming..din haf much to freeze..a few miserable packets only

i pump 630am, 1130am, 430pm, then 830pm or 1030pm..he latch twice a day..so thinking pump only once during lunch but scared not enuff for him to drink..dilemma
he drinks 4x180ml when im at work

babyja,
jus keep tryin lor if he dun eat much ok la at least he still drinkin milk:p

smurfy,

What Foods Have You Introduced to Your Baby?

1. Roots - sweet potato, potato, pumpkin, carrot
2. Fruits - apple, banana, papaya, pear
3. Greens - spinach
4. Cereal - Boxed Brown Rice cereal, rice cereal and oats cereal
5. Others - avocado, Happy Baby puff.

baby ja
try banana puree, no core cos got seeds are hard to digest, just skin the outer part, you can add to cereal so it goes down easier. i figure out babies have sweet tooth

smurfy
you dun have to waste the other half of avocado cos you can blend avocado milk shake for yourself, add a lil honey and its great filler

Hi ladies , good day!

What kind of bananas are suitable? Malaysian type? or Philippines type?

I am keen to let my boy try banana, so far he tried apples and like it.
I cook fish porridge until very long , very fine last Sat, but he spit it out. Wat a waste.

baby ja
yah.. try something natural... instead of cereals.. maybe banana? sweet potato?

wat kinda pears u girls bough ar? the variation is like so limited these days?

yen
:p i buy zenxin bananas :p

el-nino
yah.. i blend half avocado with yakult for myself.. the other half blended for the baby got breastmilk.. which i die die oso will not touch :p

yen
i also dunno what banana to buy but remember they all say cannot give the big one, i bought the medium one from shop n save from philippines, but i guess the recommended one is the small type but i myself dun like the taste so never let my boy try that.. so far his favorite is banana i think, just finished one after eating half a bowl of cereal+biscuit.. i used to puree it and mix with cereal, but want to train him to chew and swallow food so i cut into smaller pieces and he didn't choke himself so far..

smurfy
i bought those big big ones with light brown color skin de.. cuz those green skin ones a bit hard, and yellow skin ones are not sweet, so i prefer the brown skin de.. hohoho..

it seems that my boy loves what i love, like banana and carrot, for those i dun like that much de, eg: pumpkin, he doesnt like much either.. luckily i love all kinds of food so hopefully he is fine with everything.. my hubby say no need to think so hard, buy what i like and feed him should be alright.. LOL

piggytoh
it's egg white after 1 yr old.. i will start fish most probably at 8 or 10mths.. will refer to her older bro's bible where i kept log of all his food intake... :p.. no time to read books oredi kekekee

El-nino
banana is the oni food he ate most.. can finish 1/3 of it.. hahaha...

smurfy
he tried apple, pear, carrot, sweet potato, potato... for cereal, frisocrem, nestle, and HB brown rice.. all the same leh except banana..

Just to share my experience:

Once i had #1, we hired a helper and would ferry bb and helper to mil place every morning and back every evening after work. Did the same when #2 came along. But now with 3, I've taken a yr's no pay leave, so staying at home with bb and hlper while the girls go to school.

Reasons for taking leave: need more time with my children, supportive hb, tired of working. Also had enuff in CPF to cover a yr of housing loan, so I decided to try it out.

I still teach piano on my own time now, so during those afternoons when I'm out for like 5 hours, I'll send them to mil place. Also give bb some time to be in a different environment (won't jin chu "recognise house") and some time to bond with the grandparents. If you ship them off full day to your ils, just be careful that your helper is not overworked. Coz mine had to come back and do housework, sometimes till pretty late. Then I was a teacher, so she'd to go over early in the morning, meaning waking up early to do the laundry.
Maybe you can just have them go over 2x a wk or something?

my boy is down with flu and cough. Felt a little feverish this morning, quickly brought him to PD.

Looks like most mommies have started to give cereals/puree etc, but i have yet to. When he recovers, hopefully can let him try.

piggytoh: my mum and MIL said now can give fish, so last sat, i tried mash the fish meat until very fine, but i think my boy dun like the fishy porridge smell, so he gave a yucky face look, and spit out. I gave up after trying 3-5 spoons.
Maybe dun taste gd, I dun think i will try it ..probably wait until 10mths or so.

smurfy / felicia: Thanks will try bananas tonite. zenxin is the organic brand, is it? most of the older folks will think smaller bananas are better, those long long ones are cooling.

thanks for sharing Claire... when i bring my helper to my in law's place, i asked her if she knows the law is that she is only supposed to work in my house, she said yes, so i told her then go to my in laws place no need to work just keep an eye on my boy.. but in fact we go there for a few hours just to visit my in laws so most of the time my in laws are playing with baby in their room, and my helper just watch tv in the living room, hahaha..

anyway making a decision to stop working is really tough sia, can't tahan the fact that there's no income on the pay day every month.. maybe things could be better if my hubby's pay can cover our household expenses, but too bad i have no choice but to live on my compensation package only.. of course the good thing is for sure i will have a lot of quality time with my boy..

yen
yup i got the medium size banana, remove the core and i also cut the outer layer, so far my boy has no phlegm or real constipation problem although once a while his poo is a bit dry..

my sis also said can start giving fish liao, add that to rice porridge with papaya.. but i have not tried that.. she also said can cook pork rib and use the soup to cook rice porridge for baby now..

joia, when my #1 was born, I left my job as I could not find a good nanny. Later on, my boss called me back to work part time and I did that for the next 2 years. During that time, I also had #2. It was only when #2 was 6 months old, that I went back to work full time. I enjoyed those days of working part time, as I had the best of both worlds, some decent income + time with family. I really couldn't become a full fledge SAHM as I was slowly going crazy those months I didn't work. So if you can have a part time option, it really is the best

Smurfy/Yen,
oic cos i heard for fish best is after 8/9mth when they start porriage so abit reluctant lor...

Felicia,
actually hor for my maid cos she paiseh not to do anything so sometime when my MIL not in sg she come over to stay with me she do help me to do housework w/o me instructing.. so if she ok not complainin i tink ok la.. but of cos we shd not overwork them:p