(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

I have done new series of Marry Jane with new stitch ribbon, special price for aug mummies. anyone interested let me know

3662543.jpg

hullo gals

i'm having one of my low moments..

i see one of the current topics is being a sahm. well, i'm temporarily one - took a leave of absence till sam turns 1. after that, the intention is to send him to ifc, or to get a helper n ferry him to mil's every am.

hubs wants me to stay home another year till he turns 2. but financially, really cannot make it. as it is, to stay home for 8 mths - i've to dig into my savings to supp h/h income. hubs doesn't earn that much.. n neither did i. we definitely had a few luxuries such as holidays, car, etc when we were both working. but now with sam n me income-less, really cmi.

hus is trying v hard. he's thinking abt cutting down office carpark, cable, etc etc to get $$ to let me stay home. but even with sacrificinf these litle things, it'll still be net zero savings. not to mention i'm really down at the tot of not being able to afford cable n a new hp n to order in pizza when i like. then.. there's future sch fees, food, doctor's fees etc. i keep telling hubs sam wun forever only drink bm. he'll need food, books, will fall sick etc. n i'm not talking abt buying him expensive toys n clothes, but he can't poss run ard naked.

other than the $$ issue, i'm quite sian of staying at home. being tied to the hse n facing sam alone all day is slowly taking its toll. guess having to pump 2.5h a day is a factor n if i stop ebm, things may get better. but there's still the fact that i'm not a household person - dislike cooking, cleaning etc. dunno how to survive.

hubs' solution is to get a helper to do the 'unsavoury' chores like washing botles n pumpsets n cleaning n cooking meals - but then $$ factor again.

and sam doesn't seem to like me. seriously, i feel he doesn't respond to me. he nvr cries when i leave him. he doesn't really calm esp quickly when i carry him when he cries (he responds to others the same). i dunno how to play with him. n he smiles at his papa n my ils n my mum n even strangers more than me.

sorry for the long grouse. guess i'm just depressed..

oh yeah, just to add that hubs doesn't want anyone else to take charge of sam. like mil will feed him porridge n no cereal/puree n use a lot of salt n soy sauce. she'll give pacifier.. i also dun like all these, but if need help, then gotta close 1 eye. besides she loves the boy n wun harm him on purpose. but dunno y hubs trusts me so much. i'm not that capable man. can't even cook, am blur 1st-time mummy.. y does he want me to stay home?

jul
I can understand your feeling. in fact with a good helper things will definitely be a lot better i think.. but again $$ is the major issue, we still can afford one now because although i am working from home, i am still getting the same pay but my expenses goes down as i do not need things like new clothes, transportation, outside food etc..

but i can already feel the pinch as i just got my 2nd last pay today, and march 24 will be my last pay day, after that i can imagine there's no $$ coming into my bank account, instead i have to draw out 1.2k a month just to make a living.. really scary sia.. and i cannot send away my maid as she's with me for only 4 months and her contract with me is 1 year till this Oct.. plus i still need to return back to work next year Feb-Mar so that my boy can enjoy the govt subsidy when i send him to childcare.. so by then i will still need her no matter how, thus i just have to bear with it till then lor, no income still have to pay for my helper, haiz.. but of course she is doing a lot of things and for the 500 bucks we paid, it is really worth it i must say.. nowadays put baby at nanny place also cost 700 like that leh, and only 7am to 7pm, my helper still can help me with all household chores, she can cook also but now i am the one cooking lah since i work from home and have the time to do that..

my sis just shared with me about this story of a mother bringing up a kid with autism, the baby lost his smile since 18 months, i heard about that my tears drop sia.. so now i try to talk more often to Renzo, although my helper is the one looking after him during daytime, as long as i can leave my computer for a while i will play with him..

so look at the bright side jul, true that we have no income and life is not any better than a FTWM, our babies do get a lot of our time and attention and love so it is worth sacrificing.. and i am also planning to send him to infant care after he is 1 year old, at least by then we have less worries and the only problem with infant care is that they tend to fall sick easily, but all kids will go through this period de..

Jul,
understand ur feeling.
guess being a SAHM really not easy and not everyone willing to sacrify to be SAHM, myslef is one of them. I have house loan commitment on my own, my parents pocket money, saving plans that need to cont for years..just purely the above few items i need abt 1.5k a mth already. Sometimes i really salute for those mummies willing to put aside personal time n income to be SAHM, sincere words from bottom of my heart!

Jul,
ur hb prefer u to take care bb cos u r mummy ma.think of the brige side, thats bcos ur hb trust u

Ur boy dont respond to u as compare to others, well, u r not alone. my boy smile, react very excited when seeing my MIl more then me too, when we bring him out, no matter how i talk to him, he will nv bother me...i used to feel very sad abt it n talk to hb saying i think my boy tot my MIL is his mummy more then me but hb told me it is not true, bb noe who is their mummy just that they r very clever always take us for granted...so now i tell u the same thing hope u feel better

1. Roots - sweet potato, potato, pumpkin ,carrot
2. Fruits - apple, banana, papaya, peach ,pear,dragonfruit
3. Greens - spinach
4. Cereal - Boxed Brown Rice cereal, rice cereal ,oats cereal ,multigrain
5. Others - avocado

jul
SAHM isn't that bad.. i have stopped working for 2years+, but i m still giving my father pocket money, but not that much compared to the time i working and HB's paying handphone bill for him too.. i still got my own insurance to pay..
understand $ is really a issue but if u dun think of luxury like holiday or designer products, life still can carry on..
Ur HB trust u ma thats y want u to take care of Sam.. u wun want anybody u dun trust to after ur bb too right..

Regg,
when i return to work n left my bb with my MIL i also v jealous cos he seems tolike my FIL more than me but surprisingly after a while he seems to know i am the mummy now when i pick him up after work he will be v excited jumpin up n down... maybe for my case not lettin my boi go to my IL house durin wkend helps bah at least wkend is he only get in touch with me spend all his time with me....

Jul,
i agree not every1 can be SAHM until u try out... but sometime if u wan something u have to gave up something lor.. maybe this is ur #1 so ur HB appear to be a bit over concern abt the upbringin of Sam... maybe talk to him n see if u sent ur boi to IFC so u can return to work? cos u r rite as they grow up more expenses will incurred..

Babyja,
i tink being a SAHM the main issues is $$ but maybe ur HB pay is more compared to some of us so i feel tt cant really compare 1 to 1 la
for me with my HB current pay even no luxury like holiday or designer products i also cant afford to be SAHM :p

Jul/Felicia/Regg..

although im not a SAHM.. but i cld understand hw u all feel.. even as a working mum..im hit hard financially too. but before i touch on finances....i muz say that my elder twin oso.. for the past mths..i smtimes feel very depress cos she seldom look at me, n even when i call out to her..she hardly smile at me.. or smtimes oso dun even wana look at me. she will owas turn to my helper, smile at her..n 'chat' to her... or smile to anyone else calling her. it breaks my heart... but i tink in these couple of weeks, the situation got better, duno is that she 'realised' im her mummy.. or dat she nowadays abit siao-siao.. owas smile at everyone..or even to the air!! -.-

anyways.. financially.... sighz, i dun earn much myself, high fixed expenses (insurance, parents allowance, helper's salary, etc).. at least almost all of u hv BM.. my nehneh bu zheng qi, no milk supply from start.. spend so much on FM. 2 babies drinking.....the nos of tins of milk we hv used...i cant count. diapers, wipes, and other subsistences...............

for me case... not chance at all to be SAHM.. no need to think.

Fatbobo,
u not alone my neh neh no use also mus sub with FM all the $$$$$$ see liao also scare keke... but ur case more siong la so can understd..

jul
Re: SAHM
Same for me! it is so boring at home. I don't mind doing household chores but it will be so much better if Zachary doesn't scream cry whenever I am doing chores or out of his sight. so stressful. I also don't know anything about cooking so I went to library to borrow books on baby meal planner. Initially I was so stressed about it but so much better to have instructions to follow. =)

RE: FM
For those bb who on Frisco, anyone using their delivery package? I just called, current charge for Friso Stage 2 : buy 5 get 1 free, total 6 tin of 900g @$155 deliver to ur door step.($25.80/tin),so far the cheapest i found at Yishun medical hall selling at $27+/tin so i am considering to order 6 tin at one go.

Hello. My situation is similar here. After baby comes out healthy, HB wants to clear all loans, so one time clear everything. Choke choke for a few months. Now back to normal and must work very hard to save up more money for my baby. All mommies jiayou!!!!

Any mommies feeding green peas to baby? It's recommended in the book. Errrr guess no fresh green peas in Singapore hor? I'll get the frozen one from NTUC.

Reira thanks. I'll check it out.

BTW, I also scare my baby will not be close to me so I insist to take care of her in the nights. Lunch time I'll rush home to see her then rush back to office. I also wake up earlier to bath my baby and my hb comes home around 7pm to bath her. It's tiring to stay awake in the office some times but must jiayou!!!!!!

anyone like this crochet flower clip? can use on it alone or on beannie, anyone interested let me know i can customise the colour for u too, since i have most of the colour yarn

3663612.jpg

jul
i wanna share with u this...
http://lilsmurfy.blogspot.com/2008/01/letter-to-son.html
i know it's very difficult and i remember i was crying then... but hey 2 yrs down the road... he's still pretty much a koala bear

for staying at home, no comments on that coz err kekeke i think i mentioned before, i still love myself more... but i can guess why ur hb trust u so much in taking care of bb is that no matter what.. u r still the baby's mummy mah... watever wrongs or things u do poorly are never on purpose and no one else will have as much love as u have to ur baby.

green peas
where u all find arr? i was sooo tempted to get frozen green peas cube yesterday until i tell myself... frozen food at a later stage.. u know 2 yrs ago.. the ppl in my other thread soo soo crazy and onz abt frozen prepared food.

aiyah dunno y feeling so emo tdy. can't even blame it on pms :p

thanks 4 the consolation, understanding etc.. it helps having a place to air the negative tots then carry on with life

babyja

i've nvr bot a single pc of designer stuff in my life. i think to be sahm on my hub's salary, i can't even afford small things like cable or dye hair

fat bobo

hmm.. i'm working so hard to pump to 'earn back' the money spent on buying 2 pumps, 5 visits to parentcraft, countless bottles of detergent to wash 2 stupid bottles n pumpset afer every pump lor haha

regg, bobo, smurfy

in my low moments, i feel so hateful. i stay home with sam all day n he treats me like dirt. so unfair

smurfy - gosh i teared reading ur letter

jul
yah lorrrrrrrrr the amt of money spent on giving the babies breastmilk.. mine oso... who say Breastmilk is free?????????????? ... u gotta consume health supplements (calcium, fish oil n multivitamins) oso right? those hidden cost that ppl dunno.. 1 got 3pumps (1 avent manual, 1 pis - died oredi, 1 freestyle)...

will understand wat u are going thr lar.. difficult now.. but it's a phase lor.. he just to ignore me last time oso
eyes can purposely look elsewhere

smurfy, breast milk is our blood, sweat, and tears, its definitely not free indeed! How come your PIS died? Mine coming 5 yrs already.

jul, when the kids grow up, they know mummy is important. I looked after my #2 24x7 when she a baby, and later when she was 7 mths old, I went back to work, and she was super sticky my to MIL. I kept wondering where did all my effort in looking after her myself went? But now that she is almost 3 yrs old, she will come looking for me for this and that... its a phase, and it gets better, so hang in there.

Jul, dun nit to wash & sterilise every time u pump..mayb oli wash 2 times a day i thk many mummies here also doing tat including myself.

I guess u also stressed up by your pumping..if u nit rest dun nit to pump every 2.5hrs..mayb 4-5times/day cos now your supply more & less stable liao so can drag longer then pump.

Jul, hug hug ok.
It seems like you need some time of your own. I always believe in that. You stay in Sengkang rite? Next time when i am clearing leave i ask you out ok?

As a FTWM, i regard work as a time of my own and even that, sometimes when i am on leave, i will view that as personal time without baby. This is to maintain my sanity. Do not think that i can be a SAHM. Guess i can be deemed to be selfish to some, but this works out best for me.

Yah, i think that babies are weird. I can be carrying my little one, but he is looking at DH and smiling at him. He totally ignores the one who is carrying him. Maybe it is just a phase. But i am just happy to have him around. He makes me talk like a crazy woman, sing and make funny sound in public.

Apr, may i know which type of the sunblock that you bought? Saw in kiddy palace that there are quite a few types, in the end i did not get it at all. Lately he has these rough red patches on his face. Not sure what is causing it. BUt i have been using the mustela cleansing gel for hair and body for him recently, don't think that it causes the rough patches right?

fat bobo/piggytoh
my neh neh bu zhen qi too.. i tried my very best to breastfeed for 6 months but was not exclusively.. for the first 2 months mayb still can but after that drop feed by feed.. till i can oni gave him 1 feed a day, i gave up loh..

i was forced to be a SAHM but after being, isn't that bad afterall coz i got to see wat my HB miss.. but really got to give up certain things to be one loh.. but i wun b a SAHM forever lah.. till bb bigger will go look for job again..

haiz.. my father hospitalised, then my sis got to take care of my mum alone.. i cant go help her coz got to look after my bb.. feel so bad..

donkeymami, I am still pumping but its down to 4 times a day, and only 10 mins per time. Overall ss down to 300ml only. Planning to drop to 3 pumps tomorrow, and from there, should be able to stop in about 1-2 weeks time?

Looks like u can stop almost soon! I feel very sad to stop, but yet very relieved at the same time.

yen

then change her lor. SHe's not like MIL cannot change. Since you're paying her, change. This is just the start. Next time she'll ask for more things. Why make yourself angry? Are u sure u want her to continue taking care of your bb?

BAWWWLLLLL...!!!!!!!!

sam fell from my bed n crashed face first on the floor. my bed frame is the higher than usual type plus mattress also 14inch thick. poor sam *sob sob*

i left him on the bed n went into the bathroom to wet a hanky to wipe his puke. stupid mummy. who gives a **** abt some stupid puke n rash when bb might die from a fall. argh! i m overwhelmed by my stupidity

Felicia: I also show my black face , heck care, this auntie know my husb since he is a small boy, so my husb will greet her nicely. They know I am the difficult person to talk to,conparing me and my husb. My husb is the qingcai person whereas I am the type will lay down instructions for the nanny to follow.

Mashy: I cannot change her, I have no alternative person. My husb strongly against infant care. He dun have fren who put theirbabies in infant care so he is skeptical abt thelevel of care and attention there.

Jul: my baby also rolled from my bed to the floor. I also feel guilty n stupid. Most impt is to look out if he has vomit or loss
of appetite etc.

yen

i heard a loud thump n rushed out of the bathroom n sam was lying facedown on the floor. i snatched him up just when he started crying n rocked him n sang n comforted him. brave boy stopped crying after 5min, but then i started crying after the immediate crisis was over n i think he was so shocked he started crying again, so i forced myself to stop crying too.

sam has a red nose like rudolph now. n a bump has developed on his forehead

Hi everyone...

how is your day today? me super tired and working very hard. sian...

1. WORKING

i thinking of quiting my job cos i have been working hard. i always reach office arnd 9.15am than leave work around 7.30-8.
but since last thurs, i have been leaving after 8pm. frm bugis to home, its about 1hr + journey at night cos train like slow??? hehe..

haiz.. hw to survive like that. bb ned to slsep at 9-9.30 leh.. my office like gg to have some changes and it will be more work load for me. its time to leave. its like pushing game.

2. Staying at home

i still prefer to work though. i have 2 weeks leave at home and i can take care of bb well but not myself. i don like do housework also. my god... if ask me clean this and that and face bb one whole day, i really don kw how to survive. im more a work person. haha...

3. Food

I let bb eat 2-3 meals a day.
i read a book, they suggest do not give bb milk before and after a meal. its better to have like 2hrs interval else the meal nurtitions will not be absorb well.

always give bb 70% full so it is better for their health. but i don kw how to gauge.

4. Extra job

i used to sell korean/jap/hongkong style clothing online. but i no time to do although it was good business. than they change to GMARKET and i'm an idiot to that. haha..

close the online selling after that and now got one whole stack of clothings at home and sometimes i take some and wear for myself. some i lalong to my friends.. sgd8/pc

5. Glass milk btl

which brand is better. pigeon or evenflo?
i bought one evenflo for my boy testing. my god, he needs 15mins to suck the milk cos he not so used to it. haha... how huh?

i thinking buying pigeon brand tml let him try. haha..

but i use phillips sterilizer for the glass btls and still okie till now. haha..

6. SALE

I know OG bugis having 20% sale. so most bb stuff all have leh.

Some of you want to buy flask can go there and see ba.

i don kw taka if still having 20%. last time i go have leh.. maybe till end of Feb only for CNY? i would prefer taka than OG

jul,

I'm sure sam's fine except for the red nose & bokok on his head
. Dun blame yourself ok? Just monitor for vomit, bleeding and fever.

Jul,

i scared that my bb will fall so when i leave hm at my bed and goes to d toilet at mstr bedrm, i will always tel him don flip and stuff something at his side.

when he is about 5mth old, he at my mum hse slip to d floor. luckily we alredy prepared for this so we got a bed low to d ground. so he was like slipping to d floor. lucky

Jul,
oh dear hope Sam is alright now.. Tt time Kyler fall I also feel v bad jus monitor him first k

bbja,
my boi also tend to ignore the person carrying him I tink v common..

Sharon,
the 41 1 my friend told me pretty small v fast outgrow so she suggest me to buy bigger if not later I mus buy another 1 waste $$.. I bott 1 recently at og cos sale only 68 n it bigger than all those in the bp

Hi Jul,

Aiyo, you having post-natal blues? I was feeling blue earlier this year too. Then one of my relatives commented maybe I have post-natal blues. So I decided to perk myself up and go gym and do stuff that I used to do.

My bb also fell off my HIGH bed. My fault actually, few nights ago, I was sleep latching her, then too tired, dunno what happen, she slipped and fell. Cried like mad. But dunno why I was not worrried. Maybe too tired to even feel worried. My HB was the super worried one. So dun feel so bad k? Got one mummy here worse than u :p

phy o
you have a very nice blog site there!
i am looking for a evening pouch for wedding dinners, still cannot decide to go for coach wristlet or LV Eva clutch.. haiz both are expensive to me since I will be a SAHM soon..

you are referring to html code right? thought in blogspot you don't have to do that manually?

if you are talking about this forum you want to do that, i noticed we cannot do it in every thread but not sure what is the reason still...

Good Morning ALl!!!!!

jul,

i understand how u feel..ethan fell down the bed on the 1st day of CNY also.. i damn guilty... till today i still think bout it and feel really bad lo

Hi mummies have you try the weaning bottle with spoon from pigeon brand .. Need to squeeze the bottle so that the juice will flow to the spoon