(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

joycec
PD also ask me not to let my boy sleep in air-con room, but I still let him, cos I cannot sleep without air-con. :p
The PD did say in that case, then better clean the air-con filters often.

My boy had been coughing for the past 2 weeks already. Got much better only when he started the antibotics after seeing the PD for 3 times.

Gosh, 3 times. Really hesitant to let bb start on antibiotics at such a young age. Guess no choice rite? Too bad tht yu guo is only openin this fri.

April, any comments in yr Chinese sinseh? Tink I might bring bb there tomolo. I prefer tcm cos I used to hav ashmatic cough when young and only tcm is able to fully cure me.

weishy> oo. i juz give, cos i scare he cranky n wake up at nite again. so i basically juz give him before he sleeps =x

hope it's no harm, else i better stop

janice> 20+20 is subjected to items. not all items is 20+20...

piggytoh> nv see tiger stuffs, but thermos was 20+20, zojiroshi only 20

Janice, tink nt all items, 20% + 20%

piggytoh, i normally dun go to household stuff at robinson, i go Kids section. Household i prefer OG @ orchard pt lah..

Joyce, 中医治根不治标, u dun hv to tell him anything he juz da mai, n look at ur toungue n face 气色, he will noe wat is the problem, medicine is in liquid & powder form. TCM hv 疗程.
i oni get to see him when my boy is 5.5 yrs old, tat is the time someone recommend tis sinseh to me lor, i see tis sinseh too. so my boy see him, i oso see him, coz i hv bad cough nvr get cure too.
eat his medicine for 3 mths. then nvr seen him liao.
my boy hv been eating medicine since he is a bb too, medicine will eventually weaken their immunity, coz the medicine dunno who is gd or bad one, all kill..esp the anitbiotics. like all mummies here, when i hv my no#1 i m at lost too.

joycec
I was quite hesitant to start the antibiotic on my boy, so told the PD dont want... but cannot recover with cough + running nose + phelgm mixture. in the end got to see PD 3x and I'm starting to get worried that the cough will get rooted.

Have to take for 7 days somemore... even I dont take antibiotics myself...

april, its good to know that TCM is so effective. I agree shouldn't eat so much western medicine which only cure the symptoms. Next week, gonna bring Isaac to the yu guo at Kembangan to "tiao" his body. He's only 6+ months, and already eaten 2 doses of antibiotics and been on the nebuiliser twice. Really need to do something about it.

michelle~nt sure too but best dun give so much too.

antibiotics~agreed tat dun take too much....my kids never need to have any b4 so "touch wood" continue like tat la.

Mich~yu guo opens on FRI.

Seem like alot of baby having Phlegmy cough. Both my gal also having the same problem. haiz....

Hope all baby get well soon...

weishy - today i went market place and bought karihome, wa very ex leh $24.95 for a small tin. Hopefully. my boy can accept this change of formula milk

weishy> ya lo. lucky u tell me not continuous eating. else dunno how soon my boy will finish de whole bottle of teething tablets -_-"

Morning ladies... Happy new year to you all!!!
Hope all our babies are always strong and healthy!!

me still struggling with Renzo's night wakeups, no improvement either after adding solid.. he still wakes up 7 times at night, almost every one hour, give him water and he can sleep back in 2 minutes though.. it's been more than a month and thought it is teething but can it take so long? really don't know what can i do now, luckily i am working from home so i still can cope.. my biggest worry is not whether he can outgrow this, my biggest worry is that it becomes his habit before he can outgrow it.. sigh..

felicia> have u tried teething tablets? last nite i din give my boy teething tablet, he start waking up at 4+am. gonna give him again tonite, c if he will wake up

Felicia
My boy also wakes up more often at night nowadays. You tried the teething tablets? It works but cant be eating it every night hor? Anyway, I think habit can correct next time ba. They way they cry at night is like very poor thing.

morning felicia.. u can really consider teething tablets.. i tried on Ethan for continuously 3days den stop...his slpin pattern improve slightly..

the nanny haven't seen him for 4days said that he lost weight... shld i b happy or worried? haiz

michelleya dun give so much le....me those "can dun gve dun give type"......anythign not natural i dun overdose.....prefer to let my girl eat more garlic n onion etc

kikilal~ermmm ur habit means the crying habit???? or the wakign up n drink milk habit

Weishy
Both crying/milk habit...

past few weeks, my boy coughing quite badly, so try not to let him cry too much at night. In the end, I gave in lor. when he cry, I just latch him. :p

have to postpone the night training to another time lor...

thanks gals..

yup i tried teething tablet on Renzo, the very first day was not that bad, he woke up 5 times so i thought it must be teething then... but after that it doesnt work anymore, he still wakes up every hour, and i dare not to give him too much already.. haiz.. he used to be sleeping quite okay de, never sleep through but at least for 3-5 hours.. True that 7 times wakeups for a total less than 10 minutes a night is not that taxing on me, but i am so worried that this bad habit will be with him for years..

hi all, mine also waking up 3-4 times a night for one month plus alraedy since i went back to work n sleep on same bed n latching at night. but just realise and noticed that he seems to pass gas each time he wakes up leh..n will struggle here n there...so maybe it's tummy colic then wake up..but how to improve or prevent tat??

weishy, Isaac still on antibiotics, so my MIL suggests we visit yu guo next week when he has finished the 'western' med cos TCM and western med cannot mix?

weishy
thx for updating on yuguo opening. brought my girls to see PD yesterday; super busy at the clinic. Going to try the medicine she gave. Then nx mon hb also on leave, so we'll bring the girls to yuguo together. I now have onions in my bedroom to try and keep hb, didi and myself safe. my helper asked me if I put it there, or my girls!

claire~tot they opem tml????????????? i gave noth to my elder...oki ....dunno work or nt but she dun get sick easily

mich~hummm think so la.anyway anti biotics hv to finsih whole course first le.

weishy
thx ;)

dr said #2 has bronchitis, and will be prone to it once she kena. So really want to strengthen her immunity. Everytime she gets well and I want to bring her to some jab, she'll fall ill again. Very frustrating.

mich

ya, it's true cannot mix. But can wait for dunno how many hrs in between doses. But think it's better not to mix coz a lot of meds like that.

forgot all abt the onions. Shall try that tonight. My hb lost his voice last few days.
Maybe i'll bring my boy to yuguo next mon since C's going to see the endocrine.

mashy/weishy, I also feel that better dun mix, so I'll wait till Isaac finish his western med, then go yu guo is to help strengthen his lungs.

claire, my kids been eating sambucol, so far so good. They are older now, dun fall sick that often, and recover quite fast also.

My boy completed his antibiotics already. the phelgm is cleared and coughing is almost gone. luckily no bronchitis. Should still bring to yuguo or not huh?
Going to bring him for his last jab this sat.

Claire
My boy started solids already and I'm giving him those cereals with probotics. Should be enough ba... dont know if can mix with colostrum / sambucol or not.

Yu guo-the massage even though bb or Child oki also can go.just like we go foot reflex
调理身体 also gd.

Claire -ya quite headache like tat but gt time frame right??then how ar?as long as bb no fever oki bah.

teething
Zachary's right lower central incisor has cut through a little! can feel that right one is about to cut through too

japanese sweet potato
the flesh from yellow became dark green after i steamed. is it spoilt?

How is everyone? Learn that a few babies r unwell, do get well soon. My baby has just recovered from rashes. Still dont know if the cause is the injection or new cereal. She has slight constipation so today my helper is going to feed her pumpkin and later yinchoy.

Baby has been sleeping side way since last week (she prefers her left side), worry her face will be flat on the left side. She is able to sleep better in the nights now, guess cos her side way sleep relief the heat on her back. Baby slept in the air-con room when she had sore throat, running nose, and cough, ... errr PD didnt tell me not to sleep air-con room... but she recovered within 3 days after the medications.

Happy New Year everyone!

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 25 responses!! I am hoping to get 5 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

can we start doing facial etc. while still breastfeeding? ok to use products wif amino acid?

Teething
my boy's top right tooth is out.
but looks big compared to the bottom two. is it supposed to be tat way? my mum said milk teeth shd be all small ones leh.

my boy still dunno how to sit up. but he tries to stand. sigh.... i kept saying him, haven't learn how to sit yet still wan to stand.

mashy
Re: sweet potato
The 1st sweet potato i steamed for about 30 mins, without peeling the skin. when i cut it, most of it is like brownish (very hard so cannot eat) and the rest is dark green + some yellow flesh.

Ended up the flesh is very little, so i decided to steam 2nd sweet potato. this one i peeled the skin then steam for 15mins. End up it didnt turn green at all. all the flesh are yellow color...

So weird! Do you have any idea why?

But Zachary seems to like the 1st sweet potato more compare to 2nd. I taste them and find the 1st one too sweet, the 2nd just nice.