(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

felicia,

aussion having end of season sale now till 14th march... u can take a look.. i got my bumper from ikea but i dun really like tat... the other 1 is from the taobao spree kiki helped to org last time...

baby ja, i've replied yr sms liaoz...

babyja, dun quite remember i buy it early jul09 tink less than S$60, is whole set come with 2 sets cot bumper, bedsheet, 1 bb pillow & 2 bb bolster. Tat time i buy together with the Avent steam sterliser. tat time OG Orchard Point hv promo. n i use their Free delivery svc.

weishy/april, the juicer looks impressive, would you know how much it is? I can consider getting this after my Philip one is gone. I'm going down to the organic place with my hb later as we both on 1/2 day, will try out the juices

Would u know if Robinsons still having sale?

hey thanks so much girls.. lucky i got ask here, if not i get from kiddy palace again sia.. will check out OG, robinsons and aussino then. heheee..

felicia

i'll say dun bother buying bumper at this time. coz will need to take out the moment bb can stand in the cot coz will be dangerous then. my gal is already standing in her cot.

felicia, I agree with mashy. It won't be very long before the baby can pull the bumper off himself which makes it dangerous.

mashy/mich
my boy been pulling the bumper and i always have to tie back.. but i still have to put leh coz he will always bang his head on the cot..

Good morning ladies!

Jac,
the other time when i had flu & fever, also got it frm baby, the doc told me jus take normal panadol & the yellow flu pill. (small one tat starts wif 'c') She advices jus take normal panadol, not extra etc. not sure abt the flu panadol though.

One silly question about making FM
If I use 120ml of water and add 4 scoops of FM, after shaking, it becomes almost 140ml
so considered drank 120ml or 140ml huh?

babyja, i can log in facebook fm office network...maybe u can try again.

mich, organic cafe @ cuppage plaza sell, one made in china, the other one in Korea. urgghh price for made in korea is like S$349. if u hv question u can call the owner Ms Vinitha Ang at her mobile : 9236 8402, she was a SGH nutrionist before she started tis cafe. she is a registered nurse. me & weishy learnt soemthing new fm her when we call her yday, weishy want to buy something for her daughter who hv constipation for 5 days.

smurfy

yah, but more like pull herself up from sitting position. Then she'll use her mouth and gum the rail to help herself up too. hahaha.

din haf time login n post...
still v CNY mood!

mashy,
ur ger is so fast!! my ryan cant even lift the body up on tummy yet....

smurfy,
ur ger so chubby....feel like pinching her cheeks! oppsss

kikilala,
i also tinking bout it...hehee...me also v tempted to start FM

re: cereals
i tried feeding ryan abit of cereals over the CNY weekend...but he keep vomitting milk lei...so these 2 days i stop the cereal
does it means he is not ready?? his stomach cant digest?
i feed v little...like 2 teaspoon?
but he can eat v well...will open mouth n suck the spoon...nothing gets on his bib
so im puzzled now...wat went wrong????

re: bumper
i also dunno to put or not to put
i put...he keep pulling n his head got caught between the bumper n cot...was crying in his sleep n i woke up n got a shock!
now dun put...he keep knocking his head on the sides

bb ja

she's still a bit wobbly, but have been able to stand for longer and longer periods. She stood up so long for this shot that i was able to take the camera from the living room to shoot her. Whenever i pull her up from crawling to sitting position, she doesn't want and will straighten her legs to stand instead.

jus fyi.. i jus call thomson parentcraft to check whether bfing mummies can take panadol.. and they say is safe..

mashy,
yr gal steady leh.. clever gal..

bb ja

think it's not a matter of no good for bb legs. Rather it's dangerous to use a walker coz can topple. What's the pt of a walker if u put a cloth below? Might as well get an exersaucer which has more toys and bb can turn around in it.

sharon

haha, maybe coz my gal is skinny? She's so small, only 6.2kg. So lighter and easier to lift herself up? :p My friend's skinny gal started walking at 9mths! Weishy's Hayley also walked very early coz small size.

bb ja
the padding can remove if you want. If dun want bb to walk around, then put the padding

mashy
hayley steady lah! zr cant even sit steadily. hehe, so dun need to lower the cot yet.

mashy
juz checking.. got a jumperoo for him already so thinking wat other thing can buy.. exersaucer quite ex also.. wanted to get something cheaper abit.. hee..

mashy,
mebby gers r faster? my frend's ger average sized....running about at 11mths! i was so shocked...ryan cant even sit unassisted

re: sitting
do we need train them?
how to?

Claire

i actually wanted to lower the cot when Hayley started sitting up & crawling abt. Then within a few days after we finally moved it down, she started standing up in the cot. So who knows, maybe when your cot is lowered, your boy will start to stand up too? :p

sharon

yah, i think gals are faster. My boy only sat up at 8mths and walked at 15mths.

I trained her by letting her sit down on the playmat daily and putting her arms in front to support herself. At first she couldn't sit up and will topple down. A few days after she practised that, her arms were strong enough to support herself well and she progressed on by sitting without her arms as support and then to crawling after that. So i think it's important to train the arm muscles first in order for them to be able to sit up and crawl.

Mashy/Sharon, I don't agree girls are faster leh. I just went to see some old photos and it seems like my boy is faster than my girl. So I guess it could be individual baby bah.

irene

:p then it's up to their character then. My boy was a laid back bb. Very easy going, lack of 'ambition'. My gal on the other hand wanna do things her way. She can spot a remote control from far away and crawl her way there just to gum it.

I remember there was a boy in the infant care which my boy used to go to. He was barely 1yr old when he was already speaking a few words. I was shocked when he started repeating words after me.

mashy, wow...can speak before 1yr old is really fast.

But I think its amazing how 2 kids can have such different character when its from the same factory.

irene

ya. some more they look alike. :p They've different blood groups too. Weird hor. Maybe it's the blood that's making them like that. My hb says my boy is like him while my gal is just like me. And yes, my boy belongs to my hb's blood group while my gal has mine.

irene/mashy
agreed very much on diffrent characters.. mine's oso totally opposite. imagine the baby dun cry n whine away while watching her 3yrs old brother whining away.. haiz....

mashy
got a feeling my #2 oso as ambitious or hardworking as ur hayley..
... the moment's she's on the playmat, she would be working hard..

Tried Ovann with the happy bellies cereal yesterday ... he din like it. The first few spoonfuls he was still tolerating and managed to swallow. After that, he cried and refused to eat any of it. He's probably too used to eating Frisocrem which has FM in it.

So today i tried the HB cereal again today, but i add in his usual formula milk and he's pretty ok with it. At some time he frowns but still opens his mouth to ask for more.

baby ja
My Ovann is busy zooming in his walker, chasing my dog around. I think as with all other toys, just need to have supervision in order to let bb play safely.

sharon
Ovann has also been able to sit up for longer period of time le. Like Mashy, i also sit ovann on his bed or his playmat and let him play with his toys. Now he still needs his hands to support himself but can see that he's getting better at it compared to just last week

Sharon,
I agree it individual BB I din train my BB jus try to put him in sittin position see he can support himself anot n now he can sit v well can even sit up himself when I put him in his rocker ..

sharon/piggy/mashy
sitting needs to be trained meh? kekeke i tot put babies in sitting position coz they can see the world higher n better n more comfy, as compared to lying down on tummy or back.

smurfy

haha, not really training lah. More like giving them chance to practise. Same like if a baby is carried all the time, the bb won't get chance to practise sitting, crawling and walking and will thus take a longer time to learn lor.

Mashy,
Wow Hayley sure is fast! She's born a little earlier than most babies here, in July right?

Sharon,
I trained Sophie to sit by letting her sit with her hands in front so that she's doing a 'tripod' position. I'll also make her sit back against a pillow or cushion on the sofa and bed so that she can learn to support herself. But after a while, she can topple over if she's tired and she'll just be contented to lie there.

Yesterday she managed to flip back on her back on her own. It used to be only one way and she'll get stuck. But which also means she's going to be more and more mobile and have to keep an eye on her. Contemplating getting a play pen as she now plays on the sofa...getting dangerous.

Walker
I'm not so keen to let Sophie sit in a walker as I read before that babies are not really learning to walk but only cruise around on wheels. And like what other mummies mentioned, it's also dangerous as they may hit themselves, lose balance and hurt themselves since they cant 'brake' and topple over.

janice / sharon
got free FM samples from PD, so let bb try to get use to the taste. I scared later like my nephew, my sis BF for 24 mths and he dont like FM. so very difficult to get him to drink milk once stop BF.