(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

sharon, better quarantine.. cos incubation period is 7 days ma. or if u really miss him a lot, make him wear surgical mask at home for the next 7 days. pregnant women are one of the high risk groups for H1N1 - ie likely to get more complications.

babymaking, forgot to add - giving the jab doesnt mean that bb will def get hole in the heart.. just that there is an association from some studies done b4. hope not giving u wrong info.

Sharon, ya as what Pris said if he is from affected area it would be better if he could self quarantine himself before going back to your place.

But.... he got any place to stay ?

kiki
thks for sharing - nowadays babies need to be minimum 2kg before they can be discahrged as they need to be that weight in order to be immunised.

at 38 weeks and only 1.1kg is really small.

pink,
as above, besides maturation of bb's organs - another consideration is weight. bb has to be min 2kg before discharged.

jule
no worries, it seems that PDA (hole in heart) is more due to immature organ structure than the steriod jab itself. but anyways benefit outweighs risks, so if have to deliver early, i's still complusory to have the steriod jabs.

bb heartbeat drop drastically whenever there's a BH. gynae worried it's cord compression due to knot or loop.

i'm in state of denial - even though am reading up and everything - somehow can't process the info.

July in week

About the knocking / drilling etc hor... they said if timing not right and it "accidently" kana the bb than bb will have problem.

That’s why when shifting something at home or knocking drilling to install something during this time cannot especially your bedroom and if really required shifting of stuff, make sure the pregnant lady is not around.. meaning, she will probably have to go other ppl hse or what la..

Nothing to be done at your bedroom at all.

When we shifting furnitures, my hubby make sure I not at home.
When my hse stuff like lights and something drop out, he make sure I'm not at home than he screw back or change it.

Ppl tel me don drink cold also, but sometimes cannot tahan cos too hot now..i only drink once a while.
Don drink cold too fast la... I tink a bit of cold its okie la. Haha..

Some ppl just gobble down the cold drinks. I cant realy do that..
I normall will put at mouth, wait a while than drink. Haha.. got a bit warm.

babymaking, ya its hard to really point finger at whether or not the steroid jab caused the PDA, cos bbs who need the steroid jab are usually premature and hence more likely to have immature organs anyway. quite a lot of bias there. so thats why, no point even worrying abt that lor..

but why might u have to have c-section this wk? what is bb hp?

oops.. just saw ur post on the BH causing drop in heartbeat.. oh dear hope its nothing.. was this picked up during CTG monitoring? are u on adalat?

pegsfur, jacqueline
for the pillow, actually from what i see, the designs very limited leh!!! where are all the new designs hiding? so far i only saw one design i like T_T the others like not so cute.

small size is for newborn till how many months? what about big size? is the casing removable? so i can choose the inner casing either blue or pink ah?

jules
yep, it started with reduced bb movements, then we went in to monitor, so happen during CTG had BH, and the graph went craxy. heartbeat drop to 60 bpm (usually is 150bpm) had 2 episodes during the 45 min monitoring.

however the delivery suite gynae was wary and wanted to admit but we didn't want to as we didn;t have any control of the situation as hubby was not allowed in the suite, and the gynae also didn't explain much.

in the end we manage to get hold of our attending gynae and he recommended further 1 hr CTG, which register BH, bb hb still drop but not so drastically.

so he gave us the options, as we also have a fetal doppler at home, we decide to monitor at home and see how it goes. tomorrow will return for another hr CTG monitoring. If bb hb still like that, worse case scenario will be emer c sect. Logic of the gynae is that better to have a premature live baby than to have a full term dead baby as cord compression can lead to suffocation.

pris/jules/shirley,
he is in bangkok...my frend juz came back yday also...say its fine there lei...if really need, then he can go back stay wif his parents....dilemma

babymaking,
got do ultrasound scan? cos fr the scan, doc shld be able to see position of the cord?

sharon
that's the weirdest thing - gynae said ultrasound can see whether the cord is ard the bb neck, but it will not be able to tell if the cord is compressed or knotted else where as the cord is long.

waiting in trepidation for tomorrow CTG.

Pumping:
hey, wanna check with you all whether have you all heard b4 that 1 month b4 you go give birth, we all can start pummping to 'strengthen' the nipple?? anyone doing that or heard b4.. i dun mind trying if really can strengthen since i have brought the pump liao.

jac,

regarding the pumping.. if u decide to pump before bb is out it may trigger contractions..

coz i was still bfing my #1 when i got preggie and i had to wean # off my nipple coz the suckling motion will trigger off premature contractions.. very dangerous..

or you may want to check with your gynae first on the pumping?

with regards to strengthening the nipple hor.. eh.. it took me 3-4mths of bfing before i find it not that painful anymore.. 1st time mummies who wanna do bfing really must be mentally prepared that it is really VERY painful! everytime the first suction from pump or bb really hurts.. but it gets better with time.. so do tahan in there..

ino

yah, had #1 with Eunice as well

fatbobo

ok, so long as gynae said it's ok for u. U take more 'bu' now to get your gals to gain more weight...

jac
u wanna deliver your bb now, u go ahead and pump. Don't be crazy! It'll only bring on labour.

babymaking, Im starting to be worried lor. My baby seems to have abit of decreased kicking.

If I dont remember wrongly, the kicking must be more than 10 times per day (24hr) is it?

RE: bb movements

Is it 10 times kicking or 10 episodes of kicking movements? coz when she kicks, she kicks many many times each other. Already exceed the 10 times in a day lor.

jac, yes pls DONT pump now! will cause contractions!

ur nipple will get sensitised after bfing for a while la.. for me, it was painless after the first 2 mths. for my other friends, some didnt even have any problems or nipple pain when bfing. think its all to do with whether ur bb can latch well or not.

babymaking, oh dear i really feel for u.. u must be so stressed and worried.. but ur gyne is right.. better to have bb safely outside. anyway now already 31wks? keeping fingers tightly crossed for u! update us after ur appt tomorrow ok?

actually cord ard bb neck wont harm bb right.. cos bb doesnt even breathe when still inside our womb.. so how will the cord be able to strangle the bb? cord compression on the other hand is more dangerous right? cos blood supply to bb is impaired, and hence oxygen/nutrient supply likewise.

sharon, if i'm not wrong i remember thailand being as one of the countries that have H1N1 already? think better be safe than sorry lor... u and bb's health most impt now. H1N1 in preggies can cause preterm labour, miscarriage, severe pneumonia..

sharon
CTG at 4pm tomnorrow, gyane appt at 5pm.

pink, mashy
thks for yr thoughts and prayers.

carefreelife, mashy
bb movements shd be minimum 10 times per 12 hr period. a grp of movements at the same time is considered as 1 time.

also to take note is if baby movements decrease, for eg if u note that yr bb is moving 30 times a day, then the next day reduce to 15 times, it's still considered as decreased movements.

kikilala

Haha she wun believe me lor. Coz she aws thinks that HB & I LOVE cold drinks hahaha.

jules

I confused.. pre-term is before 34 weeks? Then before 37 weeks is pre-mature? Or the other way round? Confused..

Haha I aws think in my own head : "Then I die from heatstroke then BB how? Got phlegm better right?" haha sounds like rebellious teen hor?

claire

I think u better quickly fix the aircon. B/c if last min u cannot stand the weather, u will be so kancheong & bothered having to look ard for contractor, buy aircon, fix etc etc. Very stressful esp during confinement right?

reira

Haha must be either Hyundai or Kia lah

jul, if not wrong, pre-term = premature = bb born before 37 wks.

i also v rebellious now... hahaha.. tea/coffee/coke i will still drink. for #1, i didnt touch a drop!

sbb

Thanks for sharing.. Yeah I've heard these before. But.. erm.. I dun believe lah. But thanks for ur concern

babymaking

Take care & keep praying & stay strong hor. Impt to keep ur spirits up at this difficult time. Hope everything is ok 2moro.

jacqueline

I tot not tuppsoed to stimulate the breasts & nipple too close to EDD, coz may trigger delivery?

Jul, premature is before week 34, preterm is before week 38. Week 38 onwards is full term.

Today my bb is not kicking as much, think yesterday, we did not really sleep as we were fighting Kai's fever with him. Thankfully, Kai's fever has subsided.

Jul, I am a crab lover, have been eating crab weekly or twice a week when I had Kai and also cold drinks. Kai was borned ok.

Same here, with #2, I have been taking crabs too and cold drinks, this type of water need lots of cold drinks.

hi mums, my dad got me a binder from bangkok n it worked for me so just wanted to share with all the mums n if anyone wants to order as well? he will be coming back at the end of this month with the binders.

pm me for details!

re:binder
its $35 for 1 binder, only one colour - nude colour with some design on it.. very thin material.

3 hooks and sizes S, M n L.

S - waist 23-28 inches
M - waist 29 - 35 inches
L - 35 inches onwards

the entire length of the binder:

S - 23 - 25 inches (from 1st hook to last hook)
M - 26 - 28 inches
L - 29 - 31 inches

2584287.jpg

2584288.jpg

jules

Haha we must be nightmare DILs to our MILs haha.

pink

Issit BH? From what gynae said, monitor if it continues even after u change position or walk ard then sit down. Also, see if it's getting increasingly frequent & longer in duration. If so, better be safe & go c gynae.

Mich, ya lor, weather is terrible. Good thing is Kai takes his medicine automatically and he will drinks lots of water and he is still active and eating well.

BBmaking, dun worry too much, be happy and keep talking to bb to be strong and healthy.

pink, weight plays a part for bb to be release home.

jules,

same! for #1.. i was very guai.. but now #2 hor.. everything also take.. bad mummy.. only care for #1..

actually what u said is true.. some mummies will not encounter pain for bfing.. i'm one of the unlucky ones.. so end up just solely pumping for the first 3 mths.. after that then dare to latch bb on and realised that latching is not as painful as pumping! hehe..

jac,

yah.. pls dun try it hor.. can pack it into your hospital bag and after delivery, pump every 3 hourly to stimulate milk flow.. and latch bb on inbetween pumps too..

pinkmama,

monitor closely and if there is pain and the tightening interval gets lesser and lesser.. call ur gynae to check.. sometimes it might be braxton hicks.. false alarm...

but just monitor and see how first..

pris

Good that Kai's fever has subsided. Esp with the weather now, & the virus floating ard.

I c. Thanks. Wow nvr knoew got pre=term. Only knew got premature.

I also ate some crabs on & off thru'out my pregnancy. I like chilli crabs best of all the diff types of cooking methods

jul, no leh.. i think i am quite angelic in front of mil :p hahhahaa... follow all rules v obediently. just that when not with her, i havoc. hahaha!!!

btw, no diff between premature and preterm labour la. its just diff words.

Definitions of premature labour on the Web:

premature labor: labor beginning prior to the 37th week of gestation
wordnet.princeton.edu/perl/webwn

Premature birth (also known as preterm birth) is the birth of a baby before the standard period of pregnancy is completed. In most systems of human pregnancy, prematurity is considered to occur when the baby is born sooner than 37 weeks after the beginning of the last menstrual period (LMP). ...
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Premature_labour

Onset of labour before 37 completed weeks of pregnancy. Tocolytic agents (medications used to inhibit labour) are widely used today to treat ...
www.babynames.com.au/glossary-of-terms.htm

Jul, haahaa, my mil is monster-in-law so it is fine for me to be a nightmare dil to her.

Ya lor, the stoopid weather and so many people are sick and also those few sickening H1N1 carriers who went around shopping, concert, work, school, really irresponsible!!

Petrina, welcome to the thread. I also preferred to latch on but will still pump in between feed to stimulate more supply.

jul, hahaha must know how to act obedient ma. eg for confinement i already plan sui sui.. not going to be allowed to bathe/wash hair for 12 days.. which i really followed for #1.. but for this pregnancy, no way i am gonna tahan like that. gonna ask my ILs to bring my girl down for breakfast, then when they are gone, i will quickly bathe, wash hair then blow dry. and nobody will be none the wiser.. and mil also wont think i am being rebellious. hahhaha :p

pris

Oh ur MIL ah.. another monster-in-law hor? Me MIL quite nice, so I cannot bear to me nasty to her haha.

jules

U very jialat leh! U mean she wun smell u clean clean & nice nice meh?

Jacqueline

Pumping

When I had my #1 and I attend the antenatal class, they told us to do so this is help to make the milk flow in faster.

But when I check with my gynae, she told us NOT to do so, this method already out of date. Also nipple stimulation will cause contraction.

jul, huh... hope my MIL wont come and sniff me leh!! anyway after bathing with herbs, wont smell that nice :p

my MIL also v v nice.. so i try to be gd to keep the peace also. dun want her to think i am trying to zao fan or something lor.. since she really helps me a lot in taking care of my girl now.

pris, yes, esp that 1 German fella who only reported sick after 1 week and he went to work, shopping plus a function at the French Embassy.. geeze

Jules, haahaa, you rebelled huh!

Jul, it is nice to have a good mil, I am not so fortunate and dh is just unfortunate to have a terrible mum. Coz when she could not pick on a fight with me, she attacked dh just a couple of weeks back. I pitied dh sometimes to have such a mum and also a terrible eldest unmarried bro, just his luck for such mum and bro.

Thankfully, I have a nice mum and bro haahaa.

Shirley, to pump to stimulate milk is only after bb is borned, cannot do it before that as it will trigger contraction and early delivery that's wat I learnt like 6 years ago before Kai was borned during the classes.