(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

anyone got use the napisan tat i found in cold storage?

wanted to get a try cos my bb clothes alr soaked in water since last9

babys:

called the living pharmacy at amkhub le, they dun have also, so no need to go there and see already.

Than where the hell they have this product selling?? lol..

So confused over the Napisan thing??????

mashy

Wah! So many things to look out for. But er.. how I check whether my car can accomodate the car seat & if it can recline fully? Buy liao then will know right? Confused.. confused.. I think I shd change my nick to Jul_in_perpetual_confusion

Yeah, my hubby's logic very "good" hor? I shd let the BB get used to not being in car seat then he will jump & climb all over the car & irritate him (he gets irritated when his nieces stand at the opening b/w the 2 front seast).

But no lah.. I not so mean to risk BB's life to teach him a lesson *sigh* That means he will nvr learn his lesson???

jul

u can get the staff to demo for u. And if your car is nearby, can even bring over to try out if they allow. I tried the safe n sound one before i bought it.

Napisan is a product of Vanish. Is popular in Australia. And review are good for getting off the stains.

But than... very difficult to get in singapore. Most of it say they have it at cold storage, but when they have the stocks in, it goes off the shelves very fast. coz too pop already.

trying to locate the contact number for Vanish, see whether can we buy directly from the company anot since it is so diffult to buy outside!

Re: Vanish

Just found out that Vanish also recommend another stain remover for clothing. Call

" Vanish Preen - VANISH recommends spraying the stained area with Preen OxyAction Intelligence. Allow Preen OxyAction Intelligence to penetrate the stain for one minute then wash as per usual method."

Or you may wanna check it out from this webbie

http://www.vanishstains.com.au/cgi-bin/products.pl?template=rbdocs%2Fvanish%2Fau%2Fstain_solution.tmpl&datafile=rbdocs%2Fvanish%2Fau%2Fstain_solver.txt&SPECIFIC_STAIN=Babies+Clothing+%26+Bedding&x=200&y=16

I think when free, will go NTUC to check it out all the products Vanish has... Coz the webbie is confusing me leh...

donkeymami

The Pigeon bleach is in powder form also. And it's BB bleach., So maybe just forget the stupid Napisan lah hahaha.

mashy

Oh can do that huh? Hmm.. okie. Where got a gd selection of car seats then?

jul,
I prefer baby hypermart. The baby kingdom staff super unfriendly one.

Went there last weekend and GSS is already on. But a good quality / recommended brand car seat is still at least 300+

kiki,

Baby hypermart is the one where once u enter, u'll see all the strollers and carseat is it? Or the one where u'll see all the baby cots and playpens first? Confused between the two

Thanks gals, for the advice on the car seats. Now starting to panick, when all along I eng eng cheng cheng thinking my things got covered by SIL's hand me downs.

Din occur to me that we may have diff views on things & hence our requirements wudn't be the same. Sigh..

jul,

Baby Kingdom
83 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Industrial Park,

Baby Hypermart
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Industrial Park

Thanks! Aiyoh now must drag HB to go see car seat.

I haven't made up my mind whether Babylet will use my current room & I move my bed to the super small Master BR, or to put Babylet there & I stay put.

Then gotta set up beds, clean the room, get drawers for his stuff, wash clothes... *stressed*

jul

robinsons also sell car seats. So u can make use of this weekend to go see if u are member.

I find baby hypermart better too. They sell mainly maxi cosi stuff. baby kingdom sells britax. But i find the price no diff from the dept stores.

Pegsfur,
baby hypermart is the one on the left if you are facing the row of shops. You have to take the lift to the 3rd floor to go to the showroom.

baby hypermart is having a bundle sale for the quinny zapp and maxi cosi newborn carseat. $699
I didnt get it though cos I realised that quinny cannot lie flat one, so bb got to sit and sleep.
like quite uncomfortable leh...

Jul,
I also havent do much yet. all the hand me downs from my sis still wrap up in plastic, and I still have most of my things in the lugguage. Have not unpack yet!

mashy

Oh yeah hor, Robinsons got sale this weekend. But I wonder if those car seats stuff are on discount

kikilala

Very stressful hor? I think this weekend I MUST sit down & get a list of BB stuff to go over. Cannot be dashing ard like this aimlessly. Very unsystematic, & I think I will overbuy some things & forget totally abt others. Not good

Napisan

It's a bleach which we can use for soaking stains from BB clothes, towels etc right? Not just for cloth nappies hor?

I think if I can find it, 1 bottle will last very long coz not gog to use a lot or very often hor?

Cleaning of Hand Me Downs

How shd I clean my BB cot, car seat & pram? They are rather dirty & dusty coz SIL's youngest is already 4 this July. Just wipe with water? Need to scrub or wipe with soap?

And the cot mattress, pram padding & other cloth stuff? To wash or just sun huh?

bb cot, wipe with soap and air. Car seat, remove the cushion and wash and sun, same goes to pram.

If not, try to get your own pram and car seat. Car seat has a lifespan of 6 yrs, so you need to check the manufacturing date on the seat.

Jul, Napisan can use for all bb stuff. Get the baby care one, usually can get at cold storage, if I am not wrong Jason should have too.

Jul,
I'm also buying new mattress and use the hand-me down cot frame. Kidsloft is support to have 50% off, dont know if it applies to mattress or not, if it does then the latex mattress is less than $100 after discount leh

the pram padding and covers, I think can just scrab off the dirt and then dump into washing machine bah... i will also throw into dryer to kill the germs.

hihi...i found vanis napisan baby cares from Tiong Bahru NTUC selling at $10.95

tried on those stained hands-me-down clothes will knw the result tmr

napisan,
i saw the napisan dat donkeymami posted previously..not the vanish one..at cold storage serangoon gardens at $6.30...the medical shop besides it sells the napisan for $5.50

instructions can be used to wash baby nappies
its a blue n white box

can experienced mummies share if i can use this for baby nappies?

donkeymami,
wats the packaging of the napisan u bought?

it's been 2mths + since i come in. hv been super busy wif work, new house etc. EDD drawing nearer & i realised tat i've not bought so many things yet. now panic! need some advice frm some of u. thanks in advance!

RE: Baby Wipes
i remembered we touched on this topic early part of the year but can't remember wats the conclusion. which brand is good huh? pigeon or J&J?

RE:Diapers
which brand is good? nepia, goo.N, mamypoko, pampers?

Morning all

RE: Napisan,
can't find in tampines...only saw the one that donkeymani post...
anyone saw in the east area?

zen

re diapers

it depends on your bb's butt. Some bbs prefer nepia, some mamy poko, some pampers. So just choose and buy 1 first. Maybe the cheapest first?

Re baby wipes
If i'm to choose between the 2, i prefer pigeon. Find that J&J is too thick and diff to clean bb's butt.

Ya Zen,

As what mashy said, Diapers is really depends on individual baby, some baby got skin allergy to certain brand, only after you try it out then you will know what type is suitable for your baby.

My son have a cheap butt, he only using NTUC brand at the day time, night time, I sometime let him use Mammy Poko and Huggies in the night time. Pull up pants type when we bring him out.

Liping
for bb, i wash everything regardless whether hand-me-down or new before bb uses them.

zen,
agree with the others abt diapers, must trial and error. Can try contacting the brands and see if they can send u a sample to try out. With my #1, we tried everything from petpet, MP, huggies, to housebrands and eventually realised that my gal has a gold butt too, only pampers active (at the time was premium) will suit her. With #2, better, can use petpet

There's an ad today on the Motherhood fair at expo. Some discounts on cots & strollers so u may wanna take a look at it.

There's a cot (with mattress/beddings) & free stroller at $359 but only limited to first 100 customers.

I'm from Apr 09 forum.
I have Ameda Lactaline Dual Electric Pump to let go, used less than a month. In good working condition, warranty expires Jan 2010. Bottles, valves, tubes all in place. Will top up a Medela Purelan nipple cream. Letting go @ $200. PM me if keen.

Just wan to air my frustration here…very pissed off.

Remember, I told u all abt the nanny which my SIL is using, to take care of her 2-yr old son. She quoted us $700 for day to evening babysitting.
She stay nearby Bukit Batok, at Jur East, to be more exact, around 5 mins car-drive away from my house.

Last nite, we went to the nanny’s house to visit the nephew , play with him. Actually, my intention is to go and negotiate with her the rates.
I told my husb beforehand what I am going to say, which are the 2 main points : The mkt rate outside is $500 to 600, and she is not going to take care of my bb exclusively next time, since she will be concurrently taking care of my SIL’s 2-yr old son.

My husb find that it is not very nice to say out the 2 main points, so he suggest that we tell her…our expectation of babysitting charges is around $500-600 nia. So, I agreed. Fine…I will just say that,

So, I brought up this topic and asked the nanny “ Last time, u mentioned u going to charge us $700, but actually we are expecting to pay $500 to 600 nia…is it possible that you lower your rate?’

The auntie replied us “no, my rate has been $700, sorry, I cannot lower any further”.

Wa-pang, I very pissed off…she never give us face, and din even offer a mere $50 discount.
After we left her house, I complain to my husb…she din even want to give discount, and ur whole family treat her like insiders (everytime jio her for family and Birthday gathering…what kind of logic is this? )

I told him: the infant care near my workplace only charge $500, and she charge $700 and non-negotiable somemore.
I said…u let my mum take care , she wun charge us so high…
My husb said…but she stay so far, AMK leh..

But my husb said….’aiya, nevermind lah…$ can be earned back…u dun wan to stay home and take care of bb yourself….what to do? Then have to find a nanny wat.”

Then I said..” of coz , I dun wan to stay home full-time face your mother lah and become the FULL-TIME MAID”

Wa-lau, after 1 nite, I still pissed off by that auntie’s attitude and my stupid dumb-dumb husb.

yen,

Wah ... the nanny so ya-ya de.
So have u reached a decision on who to take care of your kid?

I think yr hubby and mine is the same ... they'd rather pay more to save their trouble.