(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Mashy: tats a veri scary scenario u gave mi... okie...i will check on the infant car seat tonite~! received one from cousin in law...

Joann S

There're a few different types:

1) Infant carrier type
- Rear facing, meant for infants and usually can sit till abt 6-9mths depending on how heavy your bb gets.

2) Convertible
- Can be rear facing and front facing and usually can sit till 18kg

3) Other car seats
- from 3mths and abv. Not meant for newborns.
- booster seats with backing/without backing, with seatbelts/without seats

So u need to ask for how old is the car seat meant for.

hi joann s

i m thinking of chinese medicine, no doubt surgery can completely cure it but he is too lazy to c a specialist...haizzzzzzz

any chinese medicient to cure it?

lin

then it's likely allergy prob. There's an operation to help resolve this. Think there's specialists for sinus, u may wish to call the hospitals to check on that.

Joann S
It's very important to have the car seat no matter what. Coz there's no room for regrets when u have an accident. U never know when an accident can occur. In fact, when i had the accident, i was just metres away from my boy's sch after i dropped him off. The teachers in the sch could even hear the loud collision. Some pp think, ai yah, short distance, never mind, no need. But things do happen when u least expect it.

lin

think u better send him to see a sin seh then. We aren't sin seh, so can't prescribe him anything. :p They may be able to find something suitable for him. But if it irks him so much, i'm sure however lazy u are, u will still wanna get it resolved.

lin

Not only for snooring problem. Ppl having snooring problem is also becoz of the breathing and nose block.

My hubby have both this problem, but it seems that it helps him in breathing but not snooring...

Maybe you wanna buy 1 pack and try first? I also bought 1 pack for my hubby and try first, just in case it doesn't work on him.

mashy: oh no!!

yeah I am prepared to fight it out, even if baby doesnt like it, she better get used to it, cos i am going to put her in her car seat whetehr she likes it or not.. its for her safety.

JUl: just advise ah... my friend got a hand me down car seat too, quite good condition.. one fine day he went to search the brand.. then found out, it was recalled!! thats why the family never used it! scary man..

lin: sort of like sensitive nose. easily blocked or sneeze... dust and sleeping in air con are my triggers..

so ask ur dh to check the environment or what he is doing when he starts sneezing... then try to avoid that, see if that is a trigger..

I agree that car seat is impt. I told HB yest & he was like... BB safer in mummies' arms. Always got stpories abt wei3 da4 mummies who die to proitect their BBs in their arms during car accidents.

If got car seat then mummy no need to be martyr right? Dun understand his logic!

So what brands are good for infact car seat, and what are good for convertibles. I think my SIL's is 6 yrs old liao, coz her eldest is 6 yrs ago (dinno got 6-year lifespan for car seats)*feeling very insecure*

I saw napisan selling in cold storage..but dun hv baby cares indicates on the box le..quiet a small box wif blue & white color right?

but got mentioned can used for children & family la. i forgot to bring my hp else i take a pic & show u gals!

mashy, i actually v obedient and followed that rule for my 1st pregnancy leh... luckily bb didnt kena food poisoning from me cos i was obsessed abt wiping and wiping esp the nipple/breast area b4 each feed.

this time i think i wont follow liao.. maybe try to tell my ILs to bring my girl for walk downstairs, and when they're gone, quickly bathe b4 they come back hehehe

liping, ya i think the JL store also having sale from 5-7 june.

lin, u might wanna get ur hb to see a gp.. most of the time if its an allergic nose/sinus, using a nasal spray eg nasonex helps control symptoms if used on a daily basis.

babyS

Not just your bb. Also the parents & ILs. My parents & ILs live in a world when there were fewer cars and lesser accidents and no such thing as seat belts and car seats. So they tend to ignore this safety feature. Many of my friends have been pressured to carry their bb in their arms to accomodate them/relatives in their cars. For me, my ans is always 'no' to them. If they're going to babysit my boy, I'll transfer the car seat into their car.

baby bleach

I saw this Pigeon BB bleach in Taka. Forgot the price but I think it wasn't cheap. It's in a bottle & sounds like little pellets when I sokk it. Is that same as Napisan?

Jules: Thanks.. will go n check it out this wkend. By e way which john little sells more bb stuff?? Coz i went to the JL at causeway point b4, but nothing much leh...

jul

there's an expiry date imprinted at the back of the car seat. U can check behind it.

Haha, your hb very funny. So rather u die lah. But sometimes, we can lose our grip in an accident.

For infant car seats, many tend to go for maxi cosi. For convertibles, can try britax, Safe N Sound (also Britax but dunno why diff name - i'm using this), graco. Remember to check where it's made from, coz usually the very cheap ones are made in china. I just got a safety first for my boy which is also a convertible but can sit till 36kg. But i find not so good for infants coz it's very big and cannot lie down as low.

Also check that it can fit into your car, coz not all car seats can. Check too the lowest reclining angle (in a car) so that your bb can lie down comfortable. If not, u may need to get those bb pillow thing to give a better fit and support for the neck.

liping

near centrepoint. it's the biggest JL store now i think. But i haven't been there for ages coz very inconvenient. I go to the one at Marina square more often.

btw, i called Ulity to chk..oli The Living Pharmacy got sell napisan normal pharmacy dun sell..selling at $7 more exp than Cold storage.

liping

guess i should really try breathright for him, how ur hubby le? is he getting better? need use everyday?

n maybe i should try a chinese doc, any recommendations?

baby s

switching off air con reali wks but does not 100% cure cos he scare of cold...

jules

ya, he did c a doc n got the spray which helps abit, but he says it make him uncomfy each time after use hor... will it be 100% cure?

my husb uses Breathe Right too! it helped him breathe better, he said. n it helped quieten his snoring...

now he doesn't use everyday, only when his nose feels very blocked.

i used it when my nose was blocked from flu also.

lin

u can try this acupuncturist Xie San Zhe at Toa Payoh. He's at the Chung Hwa Medical Institution at toa Payoh central. He does ENT specialist services (no accupunture) on Sat afternoons ( i think) and accupunture services on weekday mornings. He's very sought after, so need to be there real early to get an appt. U need to tell the receptionist that u wanna see Xie San Zhe. regarding his sch, u may wanna check the website for an updated version.

http://www.singaporetcm.edu.sg/ecln/index.html

lin

He's still using now everyday... He say he can breathe better with that, so i guess he is comfortable using it. For best result is to use everyday... Give it a try, unless he dun like something sticking on his nose during slping time. Haha..

As for chinese doc, i'm not so sure leh...

If you switch on the fan or air-con dun blow at him directly... coz there's dust!

This is the one i am looking for..

NapiSan BabyCare removes tough stains and provides a hygienic clean to babies' garments and nappies. Its powerful germ-killing action ensures not only clean, but sanitised garments every time. NapiSan's antibacterial formula keeps working for a full 24 hours, killing bacteria that can cause nappy rash. And because it contains no enzymes it is suitable for all washable, colourfast fabrics that come close to your baby's delicate skin.

- Always read the label thoroughly before use and use only as directed.

- Available in: 1 kg

2526072.jpg

SunshineG

It doesn't helps the snoring for my hubby leh... Only helped him in better breathing lor. He still snore very loudly lor! Lol... Guess must use longer ba??

Liping, i always go to marina JL..

lin, the spray doesnt cure.. it just controls the symptoms. actually if it's an allergy, dun think anything will cure it leh. i also got allergic rhinitis/sinusitis.. but v v used to it already.

my nice & mild MIL still gets visibly irritated when she remembers how her MIL wouldn't let her wash hair, so i don't think she's going to do that to me...

Mashy: If later got time to go amkhub, will go n see.. hope they have it there. If not than have to go on wkend already.

Mashy, I found napisan tat i posted from cold storage under bb's dept...then i did chk vanish they oli hv pink bottle which is not meant for bb used i guess. Spore got sell vanish napisan baby cares? or i can jz get napisan from cold storage will do?

Re: Napisan

called up The living pharmacy at amkhub, they only have the 1 in blue box selling @ $7.09 not the babycare de.

AMK hub one dont have... the NTUC xtra at hougang point also dont have....

this sunday i shall go to the living pharmacy @ amk after church service, see if have or not.