(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

morning all,

yup...i also same question as pegsfur
confused liao...

pris,
thanks...tink i muz start drinking some papaya fish soup liao cos i dun like fish

janice

i delivered in TMC and eventually went to KKH's LC.

Pegsfur
It's to stimulate the breasts to make the milk come faster. And also, we will excrete colostrum for the first few days which has lots of antibodies and very good for the bb.

Jules,
yup...that's rubbish from TMC LC...
cos my ger was given bottle during night and she suckle well during day time...

Pegsfur,
agree with mashy...
that during the 1st few days "colostrum" is the goodness that most 1st time mummies overlook...
and they thot they no milk for bbs...

cloudme: all hospitals will have their own LC's that u can call, but is chargable one...

i think MAH's LC consultation is $53...

Mashy: WBB's reply is terrible!!! how can she so easily tell u to give up!!!??? Or was it cos she was busy cos she had to rush off to yet another seminar that she was invited for .... oh man...

mashy,

Oooh ... ok, so that means there will still be some 'food' for bb lah. I thot nothing come out, den why let bb suckle? Hahaha .. silly me.

So this colostrum is in small amt de rite? Not like breastmilk? So after the 1st suckle, every feeding time we shld oso let bb latch on?

jules

not sure abt them coming to our hse. But think if u pay more, they'll give hse visits bah. For me, i made an appt and went over to KKH.

And re: the letter from TMC saying the LC will call the mothers after delivery to check on them. Total rubbish. Coz they never called me...

janice, u can go to LC from any hospital after delivery.. money talks loudest ma! :p some LCs also do house visits, but v ex leh.. i was quoted > $100 last time..

cloudme, ya lor.. how can u say impossible?? nothing is impossible wat.. imagine how many mummies gave up hope after hearing such 'advice', then end up having to be slaves to the pump instead of being able to enjoy the wonders of latching bb on!

my experience at NUH was quite ok also.. was given bb to latch on immediately after she was cleaned up in labour ward and nurses were v v prompt in wheeling her in whenever we requested for her to be brought to us. but bfing was still a struggle despite gd support.. learnt all thru trial and error after discharge.

the baby's stomach is only the size of a walnut.. so we dont need to produce like a whole bottle of milk at the begining...

then as baby's stomach increases in size, milk will eventually increase in quantity too..

babys,
me no need to call ESH LC...
cos me giving birth at ESH lah...haha...
when #1 time the LC said can always go back ESH to look for her after we discharge...
she will attend to us when she is avaliable loh...

pegsfur

for the first few days, the bb will drink very little. So our colostrum is actually enough for them. They'll lose some weight upon discharge, but no prob, they'll put again after our milk comes.

Regg, dun rest well, I am waiting for my food to come haahaa. My brother's off day till Sat so he gone to buy breakfast haahaa.

Pris,
do rest well or dun rest well? hehe

I am ok, just feeling tired n was sneezing for the last 2 days.
now seaming the 6 pair of booties that i have done and attach button, hopefully can give them a nice wash by today

Regg,
take care ah

erm no 1 have any comment on Mt A LC??? also if short nipple anything we can do to improve the latchin?

piggy,
can enquire from april, may thread...

but my sis experience is not that good...
haha but still better than TMC LC i think...

regg,
So good .. and the weather is nice today! U shld make use of the nice weather to sleep mah.

pris/mashy,
Tks for the explanantion .. now i got a clearer pic le. Was always confused even though have read up and attended the antenatal class.

So, shld we bring our pumps to the hosp as well? I hope to let bb latch on in the day, and bottle feed at nite.

morning gals

reading the part abt BF - how to tell if we have short nipples? - what's the average size/length har? cos got come across the term short/inverted nipples but no idea how it looks like? so how to compare?

gottta drop a post here regarding my bf-ing experience in tmc.

i had induced labor, via normal delivery then. i asked the delivery ward nurse to let me try to latch on bb after he was cleaned up. and she helped me latched on the bb successfully. i was wheeled to my ward with my boy besides me.

i oso had problems latching on bb in the ward thereafter as i had short nipple. the ward nurse oso recommended me nipple shield which i stoopidly use. a LC visited me during my stay and told me tat i dun not have to use nipple shield for my case as it would obstruct the bb frm learning to latch onz properly.. so sometimes the bb aimed correctly, sometimes wrongly.

my milk did not came even after discharge. i was not worried, i read frm books that milk might come in late for some, but i consistently try to aim my bb into my breasts at frequent timing.

come, the 5th day, i was distressed coz bb not doing well, keep crying, milk oso not in. so i went back tmc parentcraft. and mrs wong attended to me. she told me bb is crying furiously coz no milk n hungry. she taught hb how to cup-feed bb (so as to avoid nipple confusion) and taught us how to dripple FM onto the breast while latching onz (to bluff bb that it's my milk).she also intro me the bf-ing pillow n medela pis dual breast pump to aid my bf-ing.

i made another 3x visits to them within 2 mths coz of clogged ducts, white blebs, breast ecezema, mastitis, incorporative bb, bb crying for no-reason they had been very supportive n helpful to me then, giving me good advice n assurance. sometimes we would leave our bb in their playpen while we went for quiet lunches n time-off in the cafe (they onli called us if bb had pooed :p).

as my boy grew, we brought him to see them whenever we were at the hospital.. n the staffs r always delighted to see how my boy had transformed over the weeks, months.. whenever seeing new moms, they would tell them "this newborn was very notti and always bully the parents but look at him now.... " which i smiled secretly coz it's the truth..

when i had a mc last yr, i dunno what to do when my gynae told me, and went next door to the parentcraft room and cried. mrs wong reassured me, when i re-visited my gyne on my next pregnancy, one of the LC (ling)dropped in the clinic to congrats me, when i was at EK Ong's clinic for my BB's regular jab, bumped into ling again and she told me not to massage my lumpy breasts (can induce birth)..

sorry for the long post, just felt that i had to say something to this team who had helped me successfully give my boy total breastmilk for one yr. (i stopped breastfeeding on my own wish then and they had oso given me valuable advice how to slowly reduce the milk for this cow in case i get mastitis again)

Pris:

heyhey!! i tried ur pork chop recepie... but my pork turn out to be very hard lei.. and the bread crumb part abit bitter wor.... hahahaha.. any idea why its like dat?? oh.. can i oso have the papaya soup recepie??

Durain Buffet:
Went to goodwood park for the buffet with Hb.. very nice.. but not wad i expected la.. cause some of the cakes is not on the buffet tray... but its a worth trying thing...

Baby Fair:
tomorrow is the fair... anyone interested to go together? i will be meeting some mummy's along..

can msn me at: [email protected]

Mashy, pegsfur,
ya i will, knitting now... going out after lunch, need to go lawyer's office for 2nd appt..hehe think of can collct the house key soon make me really excited and look forward!

cloudme, nono.. misunderstanding.. i meant how can the LC say impossible..not u! dont angry k??

pegsfur, u dun need to bring ur pump to hosp.. cos 1st few days even if u pump, nothing much will come out also. best to latch bb on regularly. only if u cant latch bb on for whatever reason, then u might have to pump to replace bb latching - can always send hb home to collect the pump for u then.

pris, i agree.. got most of my support for bfing from my forum friends i got to know on SMH

short nipples
dunno how to explain lor..until u see other ppl's breasts n start comparing hahaha.. but for my case, as bb learns to latch onz, the nipple gets pulled out by him.. so it was not a problem thereafter.. onli issue is that as bb grows, he likes to look ard, and loses the catch on the latch easily.

pegsfur
recommendation is to bring pump to hospital. no milk yet but we got to stimulate the breasts letting them think "bb needs milk", demand and supply. of coz we still let bb latch onz regularly for the colostruem

smurfy, I always think it is a heng and sway situation, depending whether you get a good nurse or a not so good one haahaa.

Pegsfur,
i bring my pump to hospital cos my HB not ard mah so better bring along..

Pris,
ya i agree with u.. jus hope i got no prob latchin my baby manz...

smurfy, actually i tried to pump when still in hosp, then realised that whatever few drops of colostrum i expressed was wasted in the pump! cos too little to pour out and give bb! it was just coating the surface of the flanges.. so sim tia..

pris
yah, i was lucky to have the support frm the whole parentcraft team then lor.. coz they saw my persistance in total breastfeeding.

i think to have successful BFing, is not so much the advice on the technical aspect of it, or the accessories, its the support thats most important!!!

Dolliepollie, did you overcooked it. And did you pound on both sides?

Pegsfur, I will loan the hospital pump haahaa, more effective haahaa, dun have to bring our own.

smurfy

you're lucky. I was devastated when she told me to give up and have better luck next time.

Re: bringing pump to hospital
Really depends leh. When i was at the hospital, my neighbour was busy pumping away coz of bad engorgement. SO u may just need it... If you have someone who can bring u the sterilised pump, then can just leave at home first. But no one ard, better bring.

BabyS, that is for sure!!! If you keep telling yourself you want to bf from day 1, you can definitely do it.
Whoever tells you not enough bm or ask you to give up hor, just tell them straight to go fly kite!

Hiaz ... i'm really scared of breastfeeding ... scared no milk, scared bb dunno latching on ... scared pump not good enough .... scared of sore nipples ... sianz.

other LCs

Yen Ping frm KKH
went to her once...she is oso very well experienced and professional. cares for the patient as well.. she called me back n sort of give me a timeslot when i told her of my super engorged breasts.

doris from NUH
heard good comments abt this lady as well.. seems like she's one of the first few LCs in singapore.

the pte service LC clinic in Tanglin mall
charges a high rate.. but heard good comments abt the team as well. if mummies prefer a softer and gentler approach as compared to tmc's parentcraft team who are too straightfoward, this seems a good alternative choice

smurfy, my successful latch on was not taught by LC but by the staff nurse who saw my persistence and help me during my stay there and she was so patience to guide me to latch on without nipple shield which LC recommended. And also to stimulate more milk, she loan me the hospital pump so it was not too bad that on day 1 I manage like about 25ml on a side, she told me it is common where LC told me too little.

mashy
it's just that she's too direct at times. she told me not to latch onz totally at one mth coz i got breast ecemeza and my boy's skin oso getting ecemeza. she oso told me to give up giving him total breastmilk and can intro FM when my boy is 6mths old coz i told her he hates my milk (anyway now he still hates any kinds of milk). she oso scorns off me when i told her me giving my boy organic food during the weaning stage.. :p

I got some hands-me-down bb clothes from a fren, but some clothes got yellow patches on the clothes...i try to soak using dynamo but yellow stain still there. any tips to share can clean yellow stain on bb clothes? hot water can?

pris
ur first delivery was where? i dun even have milk on 5th day. less than 1 spoonful after using manual pump. onli with pis, then i see about 10-20ml.