(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

sharon
hahaha... i have the slippers.. but dun like to wear ley...

mich
erm.. rather they dun wash often? i also dunno...
told contractors to make my new place floors with anti slip laio... cannot imagine if kiddos fall

mich
hahaha i went to hospital w/o hospital bag

tas, oh yah... anti slip is best for kids. wow, you are the best, go without bag somemore. So ur hb delivered the bag for you?

mashy, I am going with my mum to get the herbs end of June when my bro is not working. Longan, honey dates, dang sheng, bei qi, wolfberries, etc. Then buying black beans for papaya fish soup. Also going to the medical shop to ask them to pack ingredients to brew black chicken tonic soup, chicken tonic soup, etc. Buying also sesame oil, ginger juice, then mum will get those old ginger nearer to date. My friend's aunt is helping me prepare the rice wine for cooking for confinement etc.

mashy, ha ha, think he got over the excitement of going to new school. If he sleep until now, will he be able to sleep tonite?

I emailed u already, let me know if u didn't receive.

tas, ya think I threw a few things in the bag, like clothes, bb clothes and went off. Most impt was the bb bonus documents... cos that one means money mah ha ha ha

mich

maybe lor. i dunno leh. he sleeps with his daddy now coz i'm too big to share my queen bed. hehehe. His daddy will usually nod off first, so he also doesn't know what time my boy sleeps.

Got your email. Thanks!

mich, can pm me your list to check too?

I prefer to pack early so it is easier for me.

Miako, I prefer to prepare food fresh for my child.

mashy, just dry black bean to boil the fish soup to increase milkflow.

Mich, wat is the bb bonus document? Where you get that?

pris

i also like to do things earlier but this time round dunno why just find that it's diff to get things done. sigh.

Starting to wash the bb clothes soon.

mashy, so when's your due date? Mine is 2nd Aug, hope bb will be staying till at least week 38 haahaa.

DOM, my mum prepare liao when they came back from visiting me, she bought 3 bottles with my bro and aunt, prepare to see whether I am coming back haahaa.

mashy, I am thankful that most of my bb clothing are washed and sun before my friends passed to me even the carseat and also the bb cot.

pris

4 aug i think. aiyah, i also dunno already coz later dunno how became 1 aug. i give up on that. Anyway, my gynae said during my last visit that i was 29 weeks so i just followed from there. intending to go c-section sometime 18-20 jul. this sat seeing gynae again, so will see whether can confirm the c-section date or not.

pink
looking for u, i've email u abt the booties, u have bank in $2 to me, as i am only collecting $8, not 10. can email me ur acc nos? so that i can return u $2

pink
the hospital will give u a BB Bnous pack when u give birth
normally, when u do ur bb birth registration, they will help u to apply for the bb bonus at the same time. ur hb will just hv to fill in the form at the desk.

Tas
I may not hv the Chinese name ready cos need the fengshui
Master to calculate. So if I don't do the registration of bc at the hospital, I can still do it at the immigration later right?

pink
yeah like irene say, u can do ICA later... but not later than 45 days of bb's birth
you will need these:
* Notification of Live Birth issued by the hospital*
* Identity Cards of both parents
* Original marriage certificate of parents, with English translation (if applicable)

also prepare the chinese character, preferably print or written very neatly in case the officer processing the BC is non-chinese..

registration is $18 by either nets or cashcard.. so make sure u have either of these and enuff credit inside.

as for BB Bonus, ICA will give u the pack. the pack has the forms BB1 and BB2. (u can fill these when the hospital give u the pack... then bring to ICA when u register bb birth)

prepare the a photocopy of the above items (for birth registration) plus :

a. Completed Form BB1;

b. Completed Form BB2 (Direct Credit Authorisation For Cash Gift Payments for the first to the fourth child.)

Important: Please check with your bank for the correct bank and branch code of the account to credit the cash gift;

c. Completed CDA application form of either OCBC Bank or Standard Chartered (if you are a Singapore Citizen or Permanent Resident and the parent of the child. All your children born on or after 17 August 2008 will be eligible to open a CDA. If your child was born on or after 1 August 2004 but before 17 August 2008, he or she will be eligible to open a CDA if he or she is your second to fourth child);

d. Bank book or latest original bank statement of the parent or a nominated third person into whose account the cash gift is to be deposited and copy of the bank book (page with account number and name) or bank statement; and

e. Copy of Singapore citizenship certificate of mother if applicable (i.e. if a mother is not a citizen by birth).

mail back to them in the BRE provided in the pack or just fill in the forms on the spot

HTHs

Sharon, I take it weekly like wat BB S shared that her friend took it weekly to increase milk. And will do so daily during 1st week of confinement and 3 to 5 times a week for the rest of confinement since I will be also having tonic chicken soup for my meals.

Tas, thanks for your sharing about bb bonus, I did not have any bb bonus for Kai as he was borned before they decided on the bb bonus stuff.

Mich, care to share your list of herbs to get with me, compare notes haahaa, just hope my mum does not miss out anything.

Pink, will pm you the recipe.

mashy, why is your edd keep changing? According to Oz Ob & G, the dating ultrasound is the most accurate one. And all bb grow at different rate so it is quite inaccurate to calculate on later ultrasound.

Tas, wow, you go to hospital without the bag.

Mich, for Kai's time, I was also moving into new place so I thought it was safer to get everything ready. Got up at about 3-4am and got bloody show, I still went to check my hospital bag and time my contraction, clear bowel and shower and wash hair. And when contraction got closer that I was sure I was in labour instead of BH that I got my dh up from his sleep after an exhausted marathon the day before haahaa to send me to hospital. And he forgot about the camera as he was too excited and panic at the same time since we were 1st timers. I walked to the car that the carpark still. Haahaa, this time round, I want to make sure I also have the camera, batteries haahaa, coz dh might forget again haahaa.

pris

oh, no lah. When they first dated it, it was 4 Aug. So that's the most accurate i suppose. But later i saw from my OB card was 1 Aug. So I'm also confused. Anyway, it's either 1 Aug or 4 Aug lah. Just a few days anyway...

morning!

pegsfur,
sorry to rake up your unhappiness with your MIL while mentioning abt your 18th years anniversary. You just "an tai" dun think abt her so much ok.

pris,
my MIL also infront of my hb said want to make tonics/birdnest for me but till now I did not manage to eat anything wor? :p

tas,
Lucky your fall is not serious. Do be careful, nowadays we are abit clumsy. Yesterday told my son dun make me move too much coz mummy like humpty dumpty and he stood there keep laughing, gain no sympathy from him. *sigh*

re:milk bags
I also want to know where to buy cheap milk bags? I have 3 boxes of Avents leftover last time but I think I need more...

hi sharon, can you ask your cousin if the brand "boots" milkbags are gd?

Im wondering whether to buy anot, coz dunno hw is the condition of the milkbags from the person who is selling online wor.

pris: haha... i said that but up till now i havent drink.. cos mummy's colleagues tell her to wait... shall ask her to do so soon...

Yest finally turn on air con to sleep... so shiok ah! hee.....

we were taught about breastfeedinglast night during my antenatal class.. BF doesnt sound as easy as i think.

now i read the link that adeline gave me about breastfeeding in TMC got me more scared (cos becos of swine flu, my delivery has to be at TMC till the ban is lifted).....

this isnt the 1st time i heard that pple got difficulty with BFing at TMC...

pink, I just email you.

baby s, I dun take much of the soup just a bowl coz mum said too much papaya now is not so good. So I alternate between papaya milkshake and papaya fish soup, which helps to prevent constipation.

I find fresh guava juice good to cease constipation as well.

I think we have to let Ob & B knows before hand we want to latch on bb straight away after birth to bfd which I did at Mt E, so they handle Kai to me after birth.

That reminded me to let Dr Wong as well as Paed Dr Ong know. I prefer to have bb given to me straight to latch on and sucks coz that helps uterus to contract and also the placenta to leave the uterus faster.

BB S, I think it is everywhere, just that some are luckier and some are not so lucky. Just have to be persistence and insist.

hmmm,
personally i find that ESH LC are good...

i saw in may's thread that some mummies got the ESH LC's number and they call them to their house when they have trouble with BF...

Pris

I went to WBB coz i had prob bf my boy at 2mths. She told me to give up and have better luck for the next bb. I was disheartened but refused to give up and went to see Yen Ping from KKH. She helped me increase my milk flow by teaching me how to massage my breasts, clear the ducts and express by hand. So even though i wasn't able to bf exclusively after that, i was able to increase my milk supply.

So i think WBB is over-rated. She's too busy promoting her own career than truly helping mothers.

morning!

babyS, breastfeeding is NOT easy. i wasnt prepared just how hard it was going to be despite endless reading before i delivered.. btw, while the nurses play a role in helping establish bfing, most mummies actually succeed in bfing thru their own efforts after discharge from hosp.

what u can do while still admitted in hosp is just to :

1)emphasize EXCLUSIVE bfing to nurses (total bfing does not mean exclusive hor.. exclusive means no FM, etc.. total bfing means u are latching on for every feed, but if bb make noise in nursery, nurses can still give FM to supplement)

2)request for rooming in with baby (this might be very tiring for you, but it helps a lot cos u are able to bf on bb's demands, and not have to depend on nurses 'changing shift' and hence not being free to pass bb to u)

3)request that the nurses supervise you each time u latch on esp if u are not confident which will be the case for everyone at the beginning - this helps to prevent incorrect latching resulting in sore nipples

4)latch bb on immediately after birth if possible or right after bb has been cleaned up cos bbs remain alert for abt 1 hr after delivery, after which most of them become super super sleepy..

Morning ladies

Wah .. mashy, u r making me scared leh ... i'm going to TMC oso.

Ok, i read the link posted above oso but i understand that we dun have milk coming straight away after giving birth rite? Then wat's the purpose of having bb to latch on within half an hr after birth? I'm really confused.

morning gals.. wah today topic is BF

any feedback on Mt A LC?
actually i was quite worried cos Mdm Ida told me my nipple is a bit short

mashy,
yup...that's what i feel too...when i saw her on TV...
and how blur she is when saw her in person(in a lift)
very fake leh...

my own experience with ESH LC is very good...
she remembered us even we were discharged and when we took our ger back to ESH for the hearing re-test...

i got my bb after she was cleaned up...and my BF experience at ESH with LC is good...
but too bad didn't get her name...will look for her again this time round...

mashy, another forum mummy was also told by TMC LC that "it is impossible" to retrain bb to latch on again after bb has been taking ebm from bottle. totally nonsense lor.. my bb was exclusively bottlefed from wk 2 to 2nd mth (for medical reasons), after which i retrained her to latch on again successfully after struggling for abt 2 wks. it was v v hard, but definitely not impossible. the other mummy was also able to do it in the end, and no credit to the LC!!