(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

bean,
my male colleagues also will make jokes about my breast milk whenever they see me go pumping or see the bags in the fridge but i dun give a damn. I go biz trips i also pump till I very well known in the office for being persistant in bfg :p

mashy,
I love to sleep alot so need alarm clock haha...my hb said I really can sacrifice alot of things for my boy even my beauty sleep.

bb powder
not recommended.. coz these fine powder can easily make it way to the respiratory tract

bean
yes, some of the mummies have told u, u need to maintain the supply.. and that's by regular pumping even while bb is not with u.

jules/celine
me oso obessed. 2x mastitis. lumpy breasts. white blebs. breast ecezema. boy who hates milk.. pump 5minutes after each latch onz. crazy then hahah

bean, why cant u pump in office? i used to pump sitting on the floor in a dusty storeroom.. then after that whenever i am outstationed, i will use nursing cover to pump just surrounded by a very flimsy cloth partition. Storage of milk - u can put in a plastic bag before putting in the fridge so that pp wont know it's EBM ma. or use a fridge to go cooler bag to store - this can keep milk cool for 12hrs.

what i'm saying is, dont let others/environment stop u from providing the best nutrition for ur bb lor.. if cannot TBF, its ok. but try to give whatever u can.

celine, i also set alarm at night to pump.. so depressing for the first 4 mths.. but at least the efforts paid off cos was able to TBF and save a lot of money... hehehe

smurfy... ooh the milk blebs i kena many times! until i was so used to it that each time i see it, i will just get hb to prick it with a sterilised needle.

bean, if u cant do the regular milk runs daily, u can always freeze the milk then bring over every friday to ur mum's place.

Celine : Yr male colleagues sure make fun and Think of other "thing" Milk supplier . Must hack care and let them get use to it . FOr my BB and myself good . Last time my ex colleague also dun dare use the office fridge she like bring a box to put those milk she pump ,them ilke wont spoilt meh .

So mean that Mon - Friday I pass for next week supply for my MIL if bb in her hse har ? wont spoilt right

Cos i remembered my siblings all kena slapped on tons of powder after they bathed/ changed nappies. Er ... smells very nice lah .. bb smell

My hubby persipire VERY easily, and i'm afraid bb takes after him ...

Ok, bear, at least u use powder huh ... i thot powder is more 'efficient' in preventing heat rash since it sort of helps to absorb the sweat.

Hi MUmmies,

Sorry to interupt. Anyone interested to get Huggies Ultra S, unopened. I over stocked & my gal have outgrown it. Selling at 12/pkt. 5 packets available, Self collect at Punggol. Email me @ [email protected]

bean

u need to freeze your milk if u wanna last till the weekend for your bb to drink. So everyday, after u bring home, put in the freezer.

bean, must freeze it then wont spoil. ebm in fridge can only last 48hrs.

smurfy, v sim tia to pump and throw leh.... made my hb drink it at first, then after that he refused cos he said bm v v fattening. :p

celine
oh mine's just a one week biz trip. so pump n throw.. while bb crying away at home drinking frozen EBM

jules
yah hb oso always drink the extra EBM.. mixes into his milo or drink pure... disgusting guy..(i oso not a milk person)

Donkeymami, Dr Wong will do the swap test on week 34 to check for Strep B and infections. From week 30 onwards, it is forthnightly check-up.

Dolliepollie, mine is very tender and yummy. Maybe the heat etc, or you can tried squeeze a little lemon in. I also dun know how to explain. Coz I have done this many times eventually for dinners for friends and dh's colleagues, did not have such problem.

Pegsfur, I used bb lotion and even now Kai is using body lotion, we dun use powder. For rashes on skin due to heat, I use aloe vera gel on Kai.

smurfy, I used the extra ebm to let Kai bathe haahaa, coz he refused anything from freezer except ebm not place in freezer or direct latch haahaa.

Hello gals! So busy *pant pant* But cannot help but log in & see what u all are doing. Addicted liao haha!

Oh talking abt breastfeeding huh?

What's mastitis, milk blebs etc?

Pegsfur, I heard powder not very good then if baby got sensitive nose also not so good for them. But I see my mum use when we were young so I use lor. I like the smoothness of powder and smell.

Baby S, go and eat lah during lunch.

I go zzzz awhile then going to continue clear stuff and making room to keep things and throw away a super big luggage coz the handle just came off haahaa.

napisan
I saw napisan at OCEAN from china town (cheong choon also got but donno the pricing) for $4.60. If we remembered correctly, last time we discussed this and someone said that both type is suitable for nappy stain.

pegsfur
I don't plan to use any powder on baby but personally I love to use powder and switching to those 100% talcum free powder. If you want, can look for Pureen Pure cornstarch. Cheong Choon selling the 300g for $3 a bottle. The texture kind of feels like those flour for baking.

coconut drinks
Are we not suppose to eat the coconut "meat"?

bear,

Same leh ... all 5 of us siblings used powder oso .. i oso like the smell

Maybe i'll just get both the powder and lotion and see how bb reacts to it.

pegsfur
I've heard from doctors from those baby talk that talc powder is bad for baby. There are some research showing that when baby inhaled the powder, some might have respiration problem. =_= now hubby is like trying to make me not use powder but i really cannot survive without powder leh. i've been doing that since i was young! but now i only apply in toilet lor. powder makes room dusty haha.

edit: yeah, i did attend the doctor's talk last night. lol my hubby was falling asleep listening to the female gynae.

diapers
read from june thread that Nepia is having promotion if purchasing 1 box from them directly. like $14 a pack for all size. After calculation, it is like quite cheap! But is it as good as mamy poko?

Is it advisable to stock up some diapers during promotion? Like buy 1 pack of S, M & L for future use?

eh how to compare with other's nipples?

re: baby's powder
try not to start with the habit as it can also clog baby's skin pores, having said that..i'm a fanatic powder user - now trying hard to cut down on habit cos like what reira mentioned - the room tend to be more dusty.

another suggestion is that if you HAVE to use powder on bb, put powder on yr hands, rub together to get rid of excess powder, then rub onto bb's skin - this mtd taught by ante natal class last sat.

re:mood swings in 3rd tri
hmm anyone having mood swings - blues etc...in 3rd tri? in the beginning i thought it was just the hot weather thats getting me down...but even the weather change for the better, i'm still very moody and especially tired these few days. wondering how to cope.

pegsfur
For the gynae, nothing interested cos most of the stuffs are covered by mrs wong already. cept maybe some new pain relief method thats not commonly use (unlike epidural, everyone knows) but a lots of new stuffs from the PD. PD talks about some skin abnormality on baby (which isn't really a problem to the baby and it is quite common). He also talks about what are the common real skin problems/ infection on baby.

babymaking
Ya lor! Now i dont even apply powder in the room but only in toilet. then just now my hubby was complaining that toilet floor got a lots of powder and blah blah blah. >.< last time was complaining about room dusty. hate it when he complains about my powder usage! zzz

moodswing: i am also having moodswing. well more of like bad temper lah. cos hubby always bo chap about everything. till now he dont even know what to buy lor. sian.

today i finally made him call starhub and dbd to change his mailing address after telling him that if he dont change, his mobile phone line gonna get cut off cos he never receive the bill and never pay. havent got the chance to talk to him about the car seat yet...

bbmaking
I don't have mood swings but I feel very tired easiliy and the backaches are really hurting. It doesn't help that I still have to work full time. Really counting down to the day when I can start my maternity leave.

pink
our bb will hiccup in the tummy? I didnt know that.

Went to see dr 2 days ago and BH was like 10 times throughout the day, she said its fine. then from yesterday, I'm been feeling alot of movement from bb and BH is like more than 3 times per hour. so much until I cannot really sleep. is this normal?

Just now I suddenly stomach very pain , scare me as I just have my watermelon juice with Black carrot cake . run to toilet heng is real stomachache -LS

reira
know what you mean, hubby used to complain..until we got a maid :p i was quite enthusiastic abt getting good buys, but nowadays just can't be bothered.

pink
yeah, i wondered how those full time MTB to be cope, but sometimes i also wondered if it's because of the prolong house arrest that make me have prenatal blues. I'm trying to keep myself occupied by doing lots of stuff at home but somehow cannot combat the feelings of being 'confined' - i can;t wait for Aug to deliver and then 'freedom' :p

bb hicups is rhythmic and over a longer period of time like 3-5min or longer, bb kicks is more pronounced and it's usually once off.

kikilala
u have BH more than 10 times a day and yr gynae said that it's ok? my gynae put me on ventolin to relax the womb and prevent further contractions. He did mention that even painless contractions will shorten &amp; dilate the cervix leading to premature birth.

Thanks Pris,

Ya, my nxt appt will b 2wks from nw..nxt appt i shd b in 33wks not sure will dr wong do swab test wif me or wait till 35wks then do..

btw, swab test is something like pap smear is it?

reira

really ah? Then must go and order nepia already. I used nepia for my boy. Liked it very much. And its cutting is quite big, so NB also can use for quite long. Until 5kg apparently...

pinkmama
bb hiccups is constant pulsating like heart beat. My little gal is same like her bro. Always hiccups. Kicking is just 1 off.

jules,
fridge to go can last 12 hours? so even if i pump in office in the morning, then bring home at nite to freeze it? wont spoil?
then tink i shld buy one if i wan bf when i go back to work

babymaking,
yah my dr say ok leh... previously it was quite painless, just like tighening.
but since yesterday it became like 3 times per hour, sometime painless, sometime some pain until I cannot really walk gracefully (got to stick out my butt!)

Sharon: yeah fridge to go quite good i think. but best would be if u can store the EBM in fridge first, then put into bag when u wanna go home.

I bought a pigeon- fridge to go cooler bag at the taka sale.. $59 i think.

BabyS,
do u know which model is yours? thanks

i dun haf fridge in office but air conditioned...is fridge to go sufficient?

nicole: if u feel that regular beat thingy, u will realise its too slow to be baby's heartbeat or ur heartbeat....

sharon: its pigeon brand one. at the bottom of the bag, there is a fridge to go logo....

inside got two ice packs (one on each side) each with its own pocket.

EBM is ok to put it in fridge(not freezer), and then endure the duration home to be put in freeze ? or to let baby consume ? Would the difference in temperature introduce bateria ?
I assume during trip home, we need to put the EBM in the cooler bag ?
Im confuse over the storage of EBM....