(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

BabyS,
tink its babysafe...i bought the mattress too
but its ex

yen, you can ask if maid go back and dun employ is your mil willing to go to nursing home since you cannot cope alone, let her know that you are not the maid.

Jules, Kai used to sleep in a cot next to my bed, so night feeding is easy I dun even get off my bed, just carried him over and bfd him while I continue to sleep. Slowly, he slept together with us till he was like a yr old and move to his toddler bed next to my bed. In fact, my bedroom in Singapore is big which can have two toddlerbed, one at a side. Co-sleep with Kai was easy and he sleeps through the night and sleep better. Now he is sleeping on his own, during weekend, he still comes to sleep with us, it is bonding time haahaa. We did not really trained him but I supposed he feels so secure that he was able to sleep through from 1 month onwards.

I dun know how old is your daughter but if still pretty young, if your room has space why not co-sleep.

Piggy, it is not easy to stay with in-laws, there is lesser conflicts when you dont stay with them.

Pegsfur, my mil insisted that I get my p/t maid when we were in Sg to go on all four to mop the floor coz her mj khakis told her to do that. I told her, the maid is just making a living and if I dun go on all four to do that I would not do that, and for the small amount of money I was paying for her to help me not to torture her. Imagine my mil is changing maid annually.

Mashy, glad to know that your c is enjoying school too. You dun have to worry too much now.

pris,

Yes, she always want to get our attention by saying here pain there pain and keep seeing doc.. To a certain extend now I dun care and dun feel sorry for her. But my hubby will show care and concern lor … after all it's his mum so I dun want to say anythg .. But when it comes to going shopping wif us, never hear her say dun want or leg pain or wat ! regarding calling my office and hp, hubby already told her off a few times but she will forget.. her EQ is damn low .. to him, she is jst a lonely woman... sometimes i asked him why she always asked we all to go out .. then he will say, next time u old liao then u know what is lonely .. from all these thgs, i dun dare to badmounth her liao lor ..somemore only son, sometimes I thk abt having to live together in future, I can die .. I thk I die first better …

Mashy, I ever tot of breaking up before wedding .. But then becos of her like not worth it .. As she is old and one day she will die also ….anyway, but I guess I shd have done tat … my ex bf mother not so "fan" one .. So tats why I never really consider MIL as an option in choosing husband .. but now i always advise pple tat ....

ML, anyway, dh got pissed off a couple time by his own mother liao. I dun really bother about her but I make it very clear to dh, if his mum is feeling unwell, I dun want her to go out with us and near my kids coz I am the one taking care of my sick children while the rest of them can have a good night of sleep unless he is going to look after the kids himself. Coz my mil is those very inconsiderate one, she got bad flu and could come and kiss and hug my #1 when he was less than 1 yr old, I was pissed off by wat she had done.

I told dh, I dun expect my boys to visit me weekly even when I am old coz I am going to make sure I have a full life and lots of activities.

bean: I know the cardmember's special (additional 10% dis on top of store discounts) ended on sunday. i dunno about the other discounts, but i think still have wor..

Sharon: yeah ex.. but i bought the small pillow, so not too bad lah.

I'm back in action after so long... will try to read thru the archives later hehe!

Wah, Singapore is so hot! I cannot imagine how I survived last time? Still I'm so glad to be back!

Been spending these few days running errands and collecting the hand-me-downs from my sister. She gave me so many stuffs, basically I dont have to buy anything already.

Those thinking of going to expo... think twice hor. My ILs are staying very near to expo and I've been passing by there during these few days... The carpark is practically packed so you can imagine the amount of people inside!

BTW, our spree stuff are on the ship already! should be able to get it on the 20th this month.

kikilala,
welcome back to SGP...

yap...the weather here now is a killer...

yippee...
looking forward to meeting u and collecting my stuff...

good for u that u got hand-me-downs from ur sis...

carefreelife

u can see the beddings here. It's not babysafe brand. http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?cPath=4

They've latex mattress too but not sure what brand. I bought their latex pillow when my boy turned 1. Before that, he didn't use any pillow.

I didn't take a closer look at the cots, but i think it's the 'I'm Toy' brand of baby cots. It's standard size cots.

kikilala
Welcome back!

yen, i dun think i wanna be the replacement maid if i were u also - rather go out and work too! that way, got time of my own, and financially more independent too. actually i dun think i will survive as SAHM lor.. working part time wld be the most ideal.

pris, my girl also cosleeps with us on her cot, which luckily is the same level as our bed. but no rm for a 2nd cot/bed so the poor girl will have to migrate to my IL's room to sleep.. kinda worried that the new baby will disturb her sleep every time he cries, and there is NO way i can handle 2 upset babies at night alone.

Mich: it is quite difficult to let my mum take care and bring bb to amk every morning and bring home the bb every nite, becoz she stay in AMK, and we stay in bukit batok. That's why my mum said..she take care until fri, if we free on weekday evening, come n play wif bb.

piggytoh / bean : yes, man dun get it..my husb said, no need to look after his mum at all,l since his mum is quite mobile now, she can get her own lunches /food from coffeshop downstairs ( now, the maid cooks for her meals and keep her company at home, since we work during day-time). But, in real-life, how to NOT look after his mum? skarly his mum fall down at home, all blame will shoot to me. His mum also quite insistent that she dun need a maid..she can sleep at home, when hungry, go down and da-bao food.

Pris: I ever suggest to my husb to put MIL in nursing home then nite-time bring MIL home. He said..it's unfillial, and his sisters wun allow him to do so. Furthermore, the house we staying is under her name. This is the reason why 2 yrs back, they hired a maid for her after she got a mild stroke, becoz she dun wan to go nursing home, she rather stay at the comfort of her own house, anytime can sleep and more freedom.

bean

i usually go to their warehse coz can sometimes find better deals. And some items listed as sold out aren't actually sold out. :p

yen
when your bb comes, your hb will realise that it's impossible to look after bb and your mom at the same time. Looking after bb is a full time job. And like u said, if there's no one at home in the day, what will happen if there's an emergency? What if she falls down or suffers from another stroke? If there's a maid at home, then perhaps she can be saved in time. But if there's no one, she could die and no one knows. Old folks always think they're so mobile and so independent. BUt they have to realise that they do need help. My hb's grandma also same thing, changed many maids and refused to have one coz find too much of a hassle and insisted that she can do everything on her own.

BabyS,
i nearly bought the pillow too but tink wont need it so soon...in the end din buy

Pris,
heard n saw good reviews of babysafe latex so invested in the mattress...hope its worth the $
i bought it at 20% at $140

kikilala,
welcome back!

MAshy : oh thank I see hv time to go down anot

Anyone try the true yoga -pre natal yoga before ? How much ? how many course ?

Nowsday keep having aching , so dunno shld I take up Yoga or go for pre natal massage .

So if u are me where will you throw the $$ to?

SHaron: haha.. i just buy first lah, cheap mah... then i will not look at it during the next taka sale (scared even cheaper..hee!)

mashy, ya lor, it is a full time job looking after a bb, no time to care for another adult.

Good thing I stay at my mum, mil's maid is leaving end of June. She was trying to get me over to stay there to help to look after my pil who recovered from 2 episodes of strokes and at the same time looking after newborns and my 5 yr old while I wait for visa. Heng, I told dh I am staying at my mum.

pris, my girl turning 2yrs old in 2 wks time.

bean, kidzloft quite established liao i think.. so shld be quite safe ba. but be careful when u buy things from BP thread cos got quite a few scams there b4 already..

yen, actually really shld get a maid after the old one leaves in oct.. whatever ur MIl says. very worth it given that u are gonna have a kid, and the maid can do all the chores, and help look after ur MIL also. then after u come home, can concentrate on ur baby ma. more quality time.

bean

if you have not done yoga before, u shouldn't be doing it now. And it's too late to start anyway coz it might make it worse. And i think prenatal massage is also too late right? Someone here mentioned abt cannot do massage after dunno how many weeks.

U can try swimming. Swimming may be able to help relieve the backaches.

mashy
for kidzloft cot @ $199, does it include any mattress, bedding sets ect? I plan to get a cot at $329 from baby kingdom which comes with latex mattress (this one is the best for baby right? better than foam?), 9 pcs bedding set, 2 toddler bed rails.

for kidzloft cosco carseat @ $150 or so, they didnt put it in the website?

babyS
for the latex pillow, is there a round shape thingy in the middle of baby's head? and the pillow is round also? i saw that at robinson selling around $18 with pillow casing worth about $9.

kikilala
welcome back! haha yeah, the weather is so hot recently especially afternoon. every afternoon i will hide inside my room cos hubby always on air-con to sleep.

pris

wow, your MIL really knows how to cal. If you're ard, she can go play mj anytime and leave your FIL with u. I doubt she'll even care whether u can cope or not.

mashy, she still go play mj daily left my fil to maid. Dh told me the maid is leaving, I was like heng ya, I am at my mum. Then she tries to convince dh to go over haahaa, then dh told her, he has to work and the place is nearer my mum's place haahaa. When new maid comes, dun know when, need to train maid somemore for her, no way I am going to do that. The previous 2 maids, dh trained them. Anyway, my mil's maid will not last longer than a yr, no matter how nice the maids are.

Bean, think your bed is not offering you enough support.

I am almost done with my hospital bag liao, just need to get the surgery float and the open front nitegown.

bean, i also have v bad back pain and right hip pain, and its worse when i lie down.. poor hb gotta massage for me for the past few nights until i fall asleep..

i was doing prenatal yoga for my 1st pregnancy, it did help with the backaches cos the poses are all very gentle and easy to do even with no prior yoga experience (which i didnt have). Was doing yoga all the way till i pop at 37 wks leh.. and other mummies also do until they pop.

kikilala, welcome back to sg! and thanks once again for doing the spree! cant wait to see my loots, esp the ergo!

hi babes
just got back from hospital
slipped n fell at hm in late morning, then gynae on hols.. so told me go hospital checkup...
heng bb is fun, though tummy was painful n felt like having minor contractions and tightening..

heng okay liao... hv to monitor..

so many posts...
hehe

kiki welcome back

okie... i better go rest... n drink my an tai med

pris
ur mil... daily MJ? she takes the cake.. i pity ur FIL... poor thing... next time just tell kai to YEYE can liao.. PO PO.. suan le lar...
ur mil too self centred liao

Mashy: my MIL find fault with the maid since day 1 she come, but we find the maid ok. we told her..if change maid,must incur extra $. If terminate the contract, must pay even more compensation. This is why she bo-pian, let the maid complete her 2-yr contract.

Jules: i also find it very worthwhile to have a maid to look after bb and MIL, and do housework. Maid - each month cost $500-600 (salary & govt levy), and she do everything. nanny wan to charge me $700, end up i need to do houswk on weekends too, not to mention the daily bringing bb to nanny's house. But my MIL already warn us...to hire a maid at home to look after bb, she will not help to 'ja-ga' the maid while maid looks after bb. She is prone to the idea of passing the bb to nanny, so that she has less responsibility at home.

Pris: your MIL very smart also...wan u to move over to help look after FIL. lucky ur husb is on your side. I can almost predict what my husb will say in such a scenario, he will say...we are afterall family, next time parents also leave us the house, so we are obliged to take care and stay together wif them.

Yen,
i totally understand whe i told my HB if stay with their parent as DIL i mus do my part mah if not even his mum dun mentioned in front of me i will feel bad den he say y i tink so much-_-

kikilala: welcome back to sunny sgp. Thanks, we really look forward to receiving the spree items

Taslyn: lucky, all is well. better be careful at home.

Pris: so fast u get ready ur hospital bag. wat r the items to bring huh? erm, need to bring disposable panty? or hospital will provide?

yen, actually i think as long as there is someone at home (even if that someone is not actively watching over the maid), the maid also wont dare to do anything funny to the baby. i mean, ur MIL will definitely come and see whats going on if the baby keeps crying and crying right?? so even if ur MIL v hands off kind also doesnt matter much. u can tell ur MIL that the maid at home is also to help jaga her :p shld really try to persuade ur hb to hire new maid.

taslyn, aiyooo... be more careful ok?? luckily u are ok..

any 1 heard of the brand safety fits for car seat?

Taslyn,
oh dear glad both u n baby r fine... pls be careful k... have a gd rest

yen/babyS/jules
yeah heng lor...
this is not the 1st time i slipped liao loooo..
when preggy with #1, coz pils never keep that kid;s toys, i tripped b4 and my knee bleed profusely, blood trickled from hall to my rm, luckily i was able to stop the bleeding...

this time is kitchen.. heng i broke the fall.. but maybe still knocked #2 in some way thats y pain..

i go nap liao... cannot tahan... let bb sleep to calm himself down... also finished my an tai med, bb seems to be at ease le