(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pink

glad that you're ok.

reira

So you're getting a car?

nania is not suitable for babies. Only for babies at least 3mths. And for booster, it's for very much bigger children even with backing. My boy at 3.5yrs now still can't sit in a booster with backing & without seatbelts.

U can try Britax, Safety First, Graco & Maxi Cosi. Alternatively, can get Mothercare ones. They're a lot cheaper. For those from infants and above, u need to get either the infant carrier car seat which can last only abt 6mths - 9mths or u can get convertibles which can last from infant till 18kg/36kg(for Safety First). But bear in mind that this type of carseat can't really recline all the way, so your bb will still be in a slightly sitting up position.

I'm using Britax for my bb. My boy has moved on to Safety First car seat since it can sit till 36kg.

pinkmama,

Same lor .. my hubby oso insisted on sending & fetching me from work ever since the swine flu thingy started. And now with more local cases reported, he even told me to avoid going to foodcourt and to hold my breath when in the lift. I was like ... my office is on 27th floor leh, he wants me to die of suffocation is it?

As for confinement, i dun see why he can't tell his mum cos all along he knows both she & i cannot get along de mah. If can't get along, he can't expect me to allow mil to 'take care' of me rite ... and all along i've told him i want my mum to do confinement for me le. So i honestly dun understand what is his problem.

pegsfur

I wonder if your hb is the traditional type of man? The MCP type? Coz this type may think that his wife go back to mom like 'no face' for him? Either that, or your MIL might have spoken to him abt not letting u go back? Personally I don't like man who clam up whenever there's a potential conflict. If there's a prob, just say so mah. At least can resolve the matter rather than hide away from it. So 'po ma'.

Pegsfur,
i tink ur HB maybe jus dun like the idea lor since he cant move over with u n yet he wan to spent time with u n baby no doubt he can spent the afternoon with u but first time daddy mah.. maybe u told to him n insist on a reason?

Reira,
i am goin to buy maxi cosi 1 tt day i go west more Tom & step they havin offer at $238 frrom birth to 3-4YO u can go n take a look..

mashy,

Ya lah .. so gu niang de.

I think the reason he din want me to go back is not becos of 'no face' but dat he really wants to see bb and be involved in taking care of him. Another possibility is like wat pinkmama said, that he dunno how to tell his mum cos she's harder to deal with.

Hiaz ......

piggy,

I think u r right abt him lor .... i'll try to 'dig out' more info from him .. cos there's really not much time le and i dun want my mum to do/buy things in hurry.

Pegsfur,
dun stress urself over this la if he really dun like maybe consider employin CL? at least u can rest at the same time u wun worry abt ur MIL doin something funny? den ur mum can cook for ur own family as well?

Pegsfur, maybe you can explain to him that during confinement it is easier for you if your mum takes care of all your need and your mum knows your preferrance more than your mil and you can communicate with your mum more.

My dh and I has an agreement before I come back, that is we will also stay at my mum's place whenever we are back, we will only visit my in-laws once a week. This time especially I made it very clear to my dh that I will come to my mum's place and I dun want my mil to come over during my confinement as she knows nuts about confinement and she stressed me up so much during #1, if I dun have strong will power I could have post-natal blue. I told him I want a quiet confinement.

Talk about being selfish about not having children, my mil has been telling every1 about that b4 #1 was borned too but I shut her mouths by asking those who questioned me who is helping me with baby and they do I will give birth in 9 months, that shut every1 up since I told them it is mil who told me I have to look after my own children coz she is not helping with any grandchildren so all her dil gave birth late.

wahhhh so many post!!!

pegs/pris
aiya ignore all these pple, they only add to our stress levels... not productive pple.. only talk with hot air...

whenever my hb ask MIL y never buy things for my ger, she will ask what my mum buy for her -_-"""""
i was like.. so what if my mum buy things for her anot? u see my ger almost evday but what have u done for her? even take care of the bastard is more of a priority than looking at my ger... PUI~ save it lor...

ask her to look after my kids... SHEN QI LAI.... that kid she loking after, 2,5yrs still cannot say ABC, or 123... basic english also cannot speak... need i say more? if my kids let her look after, i think they will die in this kiasu kiasee kiabo society... MIL can yak to pple but i dun give a damn, mouth belongs to her, she can say what she like.. those who listen to her, well, shows how shallow they are too, coz they dun listen to both side of story?!

pris

can't stand those ILs who kept pressuring us to have kids but yet don't wanna help at all. My ILs also same thing. Before i had #1, kept stressing me. Then when i was trying for #2, kept harping on it again and kept asking me. Until i fed up and retorted her that of all pp, she should be the last one to ask whether we're trying coz we've told her we're trying for a kid. Also said it's her son's prob, so don't bother me. hehehe. For some reason, pp always pressure the women but not the men abt child bearing. Don't they realise that besides an egg, u also need a sperm?

mashy, haahaa, I told dh, whether we get another bb or not, it is his problem not my coz I am sure I am fertile haahaa.

Tas, I just let the rest know how selfish she is and I am not the one to be blamed if I had children later haahaa.

Anyway, after all the things she and bil have done, I dun trust her with my children, let alone leaving them with my in-laws for an hour or two, I rather suffer a little and bring them with me.

mashy
IL are liddat de.. full of nonsense
imagine hor.. when i was doing confinement for #1, they already ask us to have another one... they wan a BOY...
in my heart, i was thinking... yeah lor have boy so what? i dun even want them near my kids lor.. all the hokkien expletives... thanks but no thanks...

as for those IL who expect to have grandkids, what they take us for? baby machines? like u say lor, they always think the wife is at fault...

u know what my mil say when they know i m preggy with #2? she simply told my hb, yeah ur wife got big butt sure can give birth easily... i was liek WTF

Anyway, I also told dh if we adopted a bb gal or not, it is our decision and problem and not her, she not happy, I can always dun go visit my in-laws.

pris
hahhaa
to my hb relatives, MIL is not selfish coz she has the heart to look after someone else's kid... but PILs dun even wanna look after my kid... say she too small, they dunno how to handle... but THAT KID, they look after since she was born ley... GOOD N FANTASTIC EXCUSE RIGHT??? hear liao blood boil...

anyway i never let my ger out of my sight... i will rather put her alone in the room, than ask my pils to look after her.. like u, i will lug my ger whereever i go

pink
aiyo i just finish reading those post earlier... u take care woh... luckily ur baby is fine...

Tas, think they are too much, well, I dun even want to listen to the craps my mil tok, full of nonsense, so I dun entertain her at all. I just let ds call his ye-ye, coz ye-ye loves him alot but not my mil, she pretend pretend 1 haha.

tas/pris

what is it with having boys? My MIL wanted me to have another boy rather than have a gal! Can u believe that? I already have a boy and she said boys are better. Goodness! Somemore she can defend herself said she's not being 'zhong nan qing nv' but coz gals toilet training more diff. Rubbish. Anyway i told all her relatives that I'm happy that i'm having a gal this time. Actually all of them are happy coz it's a 'hao'. She's the only exception. Yesterday at the dinner, told her relative that she prefers to take care of a big group of kids (she's a kindy teacher). I only 1 kid, no challenge for her. Heheh.

Tas
Yah lor, your MIL love another pp's kid rather than her own flesh & blood.

pink, I was also scanning thru the thread, glad to know that both you and bb are ok.

tas, haahaa, some people can be trusted but not some ley, wat to do haahaa. So I dun care if they call me selfish, I dun bother by wat they say anymore, my child is more precious than their words and now dh somehow know even more about his mum and bro, all the lawyer's letters and making his poor pregnant wife running all over the place in 3rd trim somemore.

I am going to listen to my #1 read his book to me and his didi haahaa.

Mashy, nonsense haahaa, boys or girls are the same to me haahaa.

sharon
haha I dont think we will stay with MIL forever. We are going to buy a flat once we got extra cash. Infact, my PIL are quite rich compare to hubby and me. So I dont think they will want us to support them either.

pegsfur
Maybe you need to find a time to really talk about it to your hubby lor. If he still want to give you silence treatment, IMMEDIATELY pack your bag and go back to your mom's place. i suppose your mom will welcome you back hor? Doubt any mom will want her daughter to suffer during confinement! Sometimes men are like that. Even more gu niang than women. Have to "threaten" him a bit then he will learn his lesson! i always do that to my hubby last time when he was super obsess with gaming.

Luckily for me, hubby strongly agree with me to get a good CL. One thing is my MIL also don't have time to do confinement for me lah. Her office work gives her more $$ a month and more relax than being a CL! PIL tried to recommend a very noisy and naggy relative to do confinement for me but luckily hubby also know that that auntie is SUPER DUPER naggy (she can nag and repeat the same thing 24/7) and told them we already got one and paid deposit.

mashy
no lah, I am not getting a car. Die also won't allow hubby to buy one lol unless he take home 5k+++! The car we use sometimes is PIL's de. But I am still thinking if we should get a car seat... since we only go out like once everyweek or once every 2 weeks.

Is carseat really a must? How much is Britax (nb) and Safety First? Where can I get them?

A few weeks ago, My MIL talk to us about having a bunny girl. She said it is good for my hubby or something. But I need to plan our finance first to see we can live in luxury if we are going to have another baby so soon (2 yrs only).

What is the best age gap for siblings anyway? Will it be bad if #1 is 5 yrs older than #2? Or let say 14 yrs old (next bunny year is 14 years later mah haha)

piggytoh
wa, carseat is really expensive. =( I think if I get a carseat, I won't use it that often leh. like once a week or once every 2 weeks only. is it worth it?

MIL
wa kao. some of your MIL really CMI even when you girls are pregnant (some with boys somemore)!

Last time I also had conflicts with my ILs but maybe because I am expecting a boy, they really stopped bothering us. Like last time my MIL will open our room to see in the middle of the night (donno see what also), now even if I am awake in the middle of the night until 5am, she also never come and say anything. also, last time she would search our room to see what we have in our room. but now I think she never step into our room even if we went out because our room is still as messy as it was before we went out hahaha. all our pillows, bolsters were everywhere! we have like 6 pillows and 2 bolsters. pillows to support my back when i lie down to watch show on computer.

Pinkmama

Oh no. Glad that baby is ok....

Piggy

Maxi cosi car seat is gd. My gal is currently using it.... Safety is there...

pinkMaMa,
glad dat u n bb r fine...taxi driver r really reckless, everytime i take cab i always pray i get down safely

pegsfur,
ur MIL is really crazy lor...say such things to u!!
no matter how hard it is to deal wif his mum, he still has to do it for u n bb's sake....his mum was difficult to start wif, dats y now got such prob mah...so he has to solve it wif his mum

pris,
tink ur BIL really got problem...else he wont b single till tis day! wif tis kinda character, tink hard for him to get married, dats y he jealous

tas,
i really understand y some MIL always like appear nice, good in front of others....putting on an act only....then not nice to their own DIL at all!!

free mozart wombsongs for downloading

http://www.munchkin.com/information_station/downloads.php

Thks gals for your concern. Just to remind everyone must definitely put on seat belt whether in your own car or in taxis. I am glad I had on the seatbelt today even thou I was sitting at the back.

pris/sharon
aiya just ignore all these MIL who put on mask lor... thinking of them or what they day will only make our blood pressure go up...

recently my mil like to ask if i am going out, where i am going... my hb does nto even ask mi lor..

Sharon, wa...your MIL really hard to please, talk less also got such comments from her. They r juz fussy old women.

pegsfur, I can imagine how crude your mil's hokkien remarks becoz i can speak fluent hokkien. poor u.
I sortof agree with wat Reira said..guys must threaten one, we dun get angry, they think we submissive to them.
I always threaten my husb, if i can't stand my mil at home, while looking after bb during confinement, i will 'li-jia-chu-zhou' and give him a cold ' Dun mess with me' stare.
But if u wan me to show my MIL that face, i chicken out..haha..
i can only do it to my husb, poor him, he jolly well go and tell his mum dun interfer so much.

yen..
hahahha
for me hor, i dare give PIL the black face de... i dun give a damn.. maybe too much pentup anger liao lar...

in fact, i told hb that if he does not settle the mess n headache his parents give me, i will just pack my bags, leave with my ger n the lil one inside n he dun need to see us ever again...

hihi, just happen to read and this topic is indeed interesting .. haha

i always complain abt my MIL too... she very mafan one, always asking where we going and if she can follow or not .. my FIL still around but she likes to stick to her precious son ... so every weekend i have to pretend tired to "siam" her .. she will say she alone at home yst, so today if we can going out let her know ..

ever since i am pregnant, i get more pissed off wif her ... just today, my hubby told her tat we might be getting a maid, but she say dun want lor, she can take care of the baby ... but she always complain abt here pain there pain, how to take care ... she is really attention seeking kind..i also dun want maid, but i rather suffer than let her take care, she can call me in the office to ask where is her son... if she going to take care, then everyday she will be calling me man ! ... now i already got prenatal blues becos of her

but i cant tell my hubby becos he side his mum one lar .. so sian .. can only complain to my family and friends

so i can understand when ur complain abt MIL .. they are just different from our mum.. and realy hope that they dun bother as we are not their daughters.. no need be nice to me, i rather they just ignore me and i feel btr

Morning all

wow...mil stories again?

i am now wondering what mil can cook for me during confinement...
cos got 3 "angels" to look after...she will come up with excuse that she got no time to cook etc...
think from breakfast till dinner will be the same thing...

morning ladies

pris, i think ur BIL/MIL are really terrible.. undependable nvm lor, but to cause extra trouble for you is really....i'm lucky to have my ILs who are sooo nice that they even stand on my side when me and hb have disagreements.. and they really bring up my girl the way I want without any questions asked, even if they disagree with what i think. My hb is the very hands off kind (as in he doesnt feed/change/bathe baby after she was 2 mths old).. so i really need this extra support from my ILs. cant imagine staying alone with hb.. will die of exhaustion.

pegsfur, really very nan2 wei2 ni3 to have to continue to stay with ur MIL. is it a permanent arrangement - as in ur hb insists on staying with MIL? for confinement, will getting a CL or getting ur mum to stay with you help?

pink, luckily u are ok! i always dun put on seat belt when in cab... oops.. must try to remember next time.

reira

u need to get a car seat even if it's once a week thing. Then u get a convertible. Convertibles can last longer. Get when there's an offer. I got a safety first car seat for my SIL for abt $150 last time during their 50% off. Maybe u can check out kidzloft since we've 50% off with the voucher. I think there's Cosco brand that u can get for less than $150.

ML
haha, sounds like the mother of an ex-boyfriend of mine. When he went NS, she kept calling me to ask if he called me. Fed up and broke up with him. Heheh.

ML, well, my mil also has your mil's habits, she used to call me while I was working and ask me where my husband was, so, my flat answer to her is working lah. Told her, we cannot entertained her call when she felt like it and I got so pissed off with dh who got so pissed of with her calling that he blocked her call so I did the same if not she called non-stop till I was very free when I work.

My mil without mj session would pretend here pain and there pain and called to insist we must visit her and sometimes when we headed over, she was not even home coz mj khakis called and she just went. It made us pissed off. But dh always fall into her tricks which I told dh, he could go over and visit, just leave me the car and my boy and I could go out as planned since most of the time we went over she wasnt there haahaa. If something really serious just called me on my hp.

Morning ladies

Hiaz .... i disappeared after my last post last nite as conincidentally, hubby suddenly broached the subject of confinement.

So piggy was right abt him not wanting me to go back to my mum's house. He said he's been waiting all his life just for this moment, the birth of his child. He wants to be involved in taking care of bb, wants to be able to see & carry him the moment he gets home.

He said it's too troublesome and tiring for him to shuttle between my mum's place & our house.

Ok, at least now i know the reason and i can understand his feeling. But there's no solution yet. Hubby says he'd rather get a CL, those that doesn't stay overnite de, since it's troublesome for my mum.

Sianz ah .... suddenly i dun feel excited abt the birth of my bb liao.

Jules, haahaa, appreciate your in-laws if they are really nice coz I really appreciate my fil who is really nice and I felt so sad that he suffered 2 episodes of strokes due to the fact bil and mil force him to sell their bishan place and bring a flat in Geylang area under bil's name.

Anyway, I dun bother about my mil or bil, so dh is the one handling them since watever I say is also negative to them so why bother. I just take good care of my boy and the one that is coming.

As for dh, he is been forced to be hand on dad haahaa coz of all the outstation, he is also involved in cleaning the house so is my 5 yr old.

piggytoh, i think its really sweet that ur hb wants to be hands on, and not miss out any part of ur son's arrival
can he move in with u to ur mum's place then? just for that 1 mth? my friend did that with her hb.. stayed with her mum for 1 mth, then moved back home after confinement.

pris, ya lor.. i really appreciate them.. in fact i treat them like my own parents.

how long have u guys been living abroad? ur hb permanently being posted out of sg?

pegsfur

then what are u waiting for? get a daytime confinement nanny! I know TMC supplies daytime confinement nannies. Go get quotes and let your hb know since that's his preference. It's great to know that your hb wanted to be close to u and the bb.

carefree

yah, i've been there. What are u looking for?

Pegsfur, is there a way that your dh also stay at your mum? Coz my dh is flying back to Sg and head straight to my mum's place. He actually wanted to go over to stay at his mum but after I explained to him why he should be coming over to my mum, he agreed it is right that he comes over straight from the airport.

folks
mi interested in some stuff from diapers.com
their california baby is having sales.
also i wanna get my ger some toothpaste - oral b baby eintein..
so if anyone is interested, i will organise a spree...

anyway did not go to the JL sales too many pple due to schoool hols.. ^shurgs*

Jules, we are away for about 4 yrs liao, save me 4 yrs of headache. Dh was was just talking about it yesterday whether we should extend after another 2 yrs haaahaaa.

Pegsfur, like wat mashy said get the quote from TMC and let your dh know it is just the pay to CL, he will still have to pay for the food CL eat and all the ingredients CL gets for your confinement. Dun let him suggest confinement food catering, coz I took a look at the food menu, I told my mum no way I am going to eat those pig innards during every meal and dun bother about wat my mil suggested. So I am compiling all my food for confinement haahaa. I told my mum wat I want to eat haahaa, soup as well. Those brewed soup, the whole family can drink together. And just I need an additional papaya fish soup daily for lunch.

Jules,
hee not me it pegsfur..

Pegsfur,
aiyo pls dun say u not longer excited wait baby angry..
dun have to make urself unhappy over it la since ur HB wan engage CL jus engage lor at least it will be easier on u as well.. tell ur HB u cant stand ur MIL ard see if he can talk to her ask her shift back her own house durin ur confinement?