(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Pegsfur,
no prob 1 jus buy a thicker mattress.. many pp use play pen also... anyway some baby might not wan to sleep in cot 1 so i dun wan to waste $$ even if my baby dun wan to sleep in playpen subsequently i can still use it when he is older...

RE: cot/playpen..

i put it up when #1 is 8mths in tummy...

it's ok lah...

cos my hb is not very good handy man...lol...
so i need to be around in case he assemble wrongly...

pegsfur, i haf the same concern...but was given a hand me down cot...so i will b using a cot
see my frends using playpen, seems v soft n the mattress will move once u touch it...ei, dunno how to describe :p

Hi Ladies!!!

How are you all doing?
I have been MIA for weeks been busy working.

So what is the latest hot topic of the day?

sharon
u are so tempting me to go down, think the jumperoo itself is selling at robinsons at $300 over, close to 400 ...sighs...but me still down with flu...hiaks

will wait for dec sales.

babymaking, its some supersitious belief lor
so now hubby n me dunno wat to do...his frend taught to go home n assemble only after i give birth, since i need to b in hosital for a few days

im not goin to haf a CL...my mum will help me cook n wash...rest i do it myself

thanks piggytoh n cloudme, goin to tell hubby u all already set it up

Sharon,
but hor i was thinkin la if u dun try n see if u can set up anot wat if (touch wood) there is some faulty part? by then would it be too late to bring the cot down n exchange?

bbmaking
:p give a direct list of what u wanna.. :p.. and where to buy them.. :p

err advise is that u get a CL for first time mummy lor... i mean tat's the onli time u can rest n relax before the rest of the ML u will be sooo tied down with bb.

yes piggytoh, dats our concern so wanna set it up to see if its working...later i go home discuss wif hubby bout tis

babymaking, a jumperoo is so ex meh? im also tinking if i shld go but i dun tink i can manage to carry the stuff back by myself

Sharon,
if u worried abt the pantang thingy can jus set up if ok den dismantle again lor?
the jumperoo i tink tt time taka fair is selling $200+ n it quite bulky wor..

SBB,
hee how r u ? i tried mdm ida alr she is quite gd wor have booked her nex thur again :p

...maybe jumperoo can rent month by month..nowadays got a lot of toy rental that go by mthly.

but i really want to get a swing/bouncer for bb - haha as 1st time MTB i dun know if i am over buying equipment for bb.

i wanna get a bouncer/swing that is automated with music & mobile - so that not so tiring to entertain bb...esp knowing that i got a short fuse nowadays...dun know if by then will be better.

hiaks, these few days..getting more forgetful and short tempered, dun know if it's because of just being sick or just being preggy. arghs.

sharon
i'm also not having a CL, between my MIL and my mum, i think they shd be able to handle the bb...as for me...haha since they handling the bb...I can rest.

babymaking,
im not having CL cos my mum feels i shld learn to handle my baby myself....so dat i can experience motherhood n bond wif my baby....somemore i intend to breastfeed, CL cant help much wif it also....the rest of the washing n stuff she will do for me
i haf seen quite a few breastfeeding frends do it without CL so im more confident n want to do it too

RE: Jumperoo...
hmmm,
that time i wanted to get a jumperoo for #1...but stopped by my PD...
my PD said ....not good to let bb used as they can easily suffer from violent shakings...
in the end never buy...

and that time me going to ask another MTB help to ship in for me...told her to cancel due to PD's concern and she blacklisted me...
said i wasted her time...blah blah blah...

so now she kenna boycott by all the other mummies in the other thread...*karma???*

sharon
personally i also think that since BF, don't really need a CL. haha..dun know whether i am overly gung ho..in thinking that I can cope w/o a CL.

oh cloudme, is that a real concern? cos PD also dun recommend walker cos it can cause foot deformity in some cases and also delay walking.

if walker cannot, jumperoo also cannot, then only left exersaucer?

what is this jumperoo?

====================
Piggytoh

Me ok as usual. haha...
but have been real busy with work recently.
you tried her last few weeks right?
my last appt with her is just this monday and going to book for 1st week of June again. i do twice a week better la. haha..

i spent too much on bb stuff liao le. haha

donkeymami

I bot yest leh. Got 20% for Disney, & 30% for some other non-Disney ones. Maybe the sale just started not long? I think $89.90 then 20% disc, coz my HB paid $71.90.

babymaking,
well,
my PD is very concern about violent shakings...cos that time my ger small size...
that time we told her that we intend to get and her eyes so big and said a firm no...

actually exersaucer is much perferred by her...

babymaking

Oh.. like that a bit difficult huh? How abt u use the enw clothes. then say ur parents bot for u one, dun use also wasted... then say got too many new clothes, no need to use SIL's liao haha?

babymaking
the diaper stacker cum toiletrier organizer is $44.80 ( less 10%) at 1st few years. I am thinking of getting that too.

regg
can email me your account so I can transfer the $ for the booties to you?

pink
thks, way beyond my budget for a diaper organiser. i'm looking at between $20-30.

receiving blanket vs swaddling blanket - think it's the same thing depending on the thickness of the cloth.

some swaddling blanket comes with pockets for arms and legs, some are just a flat piece of cloth.

i got a hand me down swaddling blanket that comes with pockets for legs. but i find the material a bit too thick..not sure if suitable for sgp weather.

what friends suggest is use cloth nappies for swaddling in day time, and night time if cooler, use those thicker receiving/swaddling blankets.

bbmaking
so if I get swaddling blanket then I don't need receiving blanket? How many should I get?

Also, I thought of using sleeping bag at night for bb. Means no need for swaddling blanket right?

bbmaking,
anyway, for the walker i got 1 secretly...haha..
but i use the rocking function instead in the early stage after my ger knows how to sit...

only from the 8mth i let my ger use the walker function...

pink
i think sleeping bags not suitable for NB cos it doesn't swaddle the arms. purpose of swaddling is to make sure the arms and legs are as close to the body so that the bb won't be startled by his own reflex movements.

not sure how many to buy..maybe the other more experienced mummies here can help.

i got a pack of 15 cloth nappies to use as swaddling, 2 pigeons blankets, and 1 hand me down swaddling thingy, oh yeah, i think i have 1 receiving blanket too.

pegsfur,
yeah that's what MIL and my mum told me also...since they used to be experienced nannies...eh just keep mum lor and wait and see how it goes. i'm just thinking that a walker will ruin all my furniture as bb richochet off the edges.

hi claire
nice diaper stacker but it doesn't have space for wipes, diaper cream, hand sanitizer, tissues etc...looking for something that can hold all the above AND diapers.

pegsfur,
i also dun agree on those claims on walkers...
cos we live mostly in HDB and only single level...so won't have the trip hazard etc...

and my ger dun tiptoe when using walker but my niece tiptoe...so all depends...

re: sleeping bag n swaddle me blanket

one of frend's baby dun like to b swaddled at all cos too hot so she dun swaddle baby except at nite

another frend's baby hated swaddle me blanket cos too thick...so use the cloth diapers

another frend swear by the fannel cloth sold by TMC to swaddle her baby

so i guess ultimately different babies like different methods?

hmm...i dunno lei...during prenatal class, mrs wong reccommend pigeon brand cos she says it big enuff to swaddle but i haven buy it yet so cant tell if its works
tink some brands of cloth diapers come in sizes too

pink
cloth diapers so far i see..comes in 30" x 30", those receiving blankets by gerber and carter ard the same size.

if anyone seen larger sizes, do let me know which brand.

pigeon brand can be found in any dept stores, they sell individually. eh can't remb how much i bought mine.

pinkMaMa,
pigeon brand cloth diapers can be found in any dept stores or KP...they come in a pack of 10...they also sell pigeon receiving blanket but dat comes in in individual pieces, if i dun rem wrongly...saw at $19.90 at KP

pegsfur,
i'm thinking abt the damage to my furniture :p plus of course all the run over toes...i remb when my mum used to look after babies, those babies in walkers are little terrors..zooming here and there, bumming into everyone and everything..and of course...run over toes ..OUCH.

bbmaking, sharon,
thanks. I will go shopping this weekend.
I haven't finish clearing out the room for the nursery yet, so don't want to buy too much at one go, cos no where to keep. Have u guys bought the cot already? Just wondering if its too early.

pink
can check out robinsons. today's newspaper got offer of 15% or 20% off pigeon stuff, and also for cardholders, $15 off every $100 purchase.

eh dun think it's too early, cos some cots take a few weeks to deliver.

regg,
the booties look so nice, i like the blue ones...so sweet.

oh! I have that cow romper too! I bought it @ KP.. but they're having promo now rite? so shd b cheaper?

btw, I went vivo shopping yest.. managed to buy 2 dresses @ $79.90.. Hehe.. even b4 GSS officially starts, all the shops having sales liao... yeah!