(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

joycec, if i dun rem wrongly...i tink they shld b open on sat till bout 5pm
sun n ph confirm not open
i posted in the thread awhile ago...cant rem exactly the operating hrs

reira, enjoy ur shopping!
hope the MOM officer can help u fight ur case...try to get letters fr ur company for the retrenchment/dismissal...if not keep the email shld b sufficient proof?

babymaking,
u can get cheap supplies at cheong choon store..so far the cheapest i found and if u buy alot, they do free delivery for u...so u can get everythign at one go....i got a list of reccommended brands of shampoos, etc but need go find it n update u again

eg: pigeon baby wipes (82pcs x3packets)
cheong choon sells $9
dept stores sell $10.80
http://www.shopbug.com sells $9.21

cheong choon store
blk 34 #03-132 upper cross st
tel: 65323855
call after 1pm

they also sell a wide range of baby products n equipment...heard dat LG/parklon playmat is cheaper then sprees, i will go check it out
they sell fisher price bouncers, swings, lotsa variety of high chairs..bumbo seat at only $60..they also sell bjorn carriers...small shop so u gotta know what u want, ask n she will quote the price for u

re: high chairs,
cannetons high chair seems like a good buy...can use fr bout 3mths to 2-3yrs old...cos it has a few reclining heights to choose from...then it can b converted to a low chair n table when baby grows up...tink lucky baby has a similar one...jane activa high chair is recommended one but it costs $200++
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/451986/2389662.html?1240883699

Weishy/Pris
I have been encouraging my helper to be firm towards my girl since the 1st day. Let's pray she does improve in the next couple of mths.
We would appreciate her to be more proactive, we feel we are such naggards if we always have to remind/order her to do this, to do that.

babymarking
About high chair, mine was from ikea. Good to let them use it when they start to self-feed. When we are outside and if there is a high chair, I would insist her to sit down and eat her meals. For the mat, I use those big sizes ABC Yoga mat with 8 panels of playyards, then place all her toys inside etc.

<font color="ff6000">BABYWIPES</font>
I have been using the brand: Carlson (alcohol free and anti bacterial, good for sensitive skin too). Can be purchased from John Little, 3 x 80pcs at $5.50

precious,
i saw the carlson wipes that day...see quite alot of mummies raving bout it too..but normally JL will have any more discount on this item

babymaking,

here are the list of items i got fr my frend with some of the reccomended brands

baby cot
bedding set (2-3 sets)
changing table (optional)
mosquito net
waterproof mat

infant car seat
stroller
head support (optional)

baby bath (mustela/kodomo)
baby detergent (kodomo)
bottle cleanser (pigeon)
cotton balls (sterilised one for cleaning eyes)
cotton balls (normal ones for the bums)
baby oil
nail scissors
nasal aspirator
safety pin (if u use cloth diapers)
ruyi oil (to prevent wind)
baby diapers (pampers newborn, yellow packaging, after full mth can change cheaper brands)
bottle brush
teat brush
bottle tongs
baby wipes (pigeon)
feeding bottles (ard 4-6)
milk powder container
nappy rash cream (mustela/destini/drapolene)
sterilizer

bibs (3-5pcs)
mitten n botties (6-8 sets)
long pants (4-6 pcs)
rompers (4-6 pcs)
short sleeve shirt (4-6 pcs)
shorts (4-6 pcs)
baby hat (2-3 hats)
flannel clothes/diapers cloth (to swaddle baby)
hankerchiefs (8-10 pcs)

pinkmama,

We may get the cot from Baby Kingdom instead of BB hypermart cos after adding in the mattress, bedding set, delivery &amp; installation cost, it is much cheaper to get from Baby Kingdom leh. The cot we saw at Baby Kindom costs abt $329 or 359 (can't remember), comes with free mattress and bedding set, as well as free delivery.

As for breast pump, i've already gotten the medela mini electric plus mths ago as there's sale going on. Wldn't want to invest in too ex pumps cos I dun think i wanna bf more than 3 or 4 mths leh.

pegsfur,
i saw the same cot at baby kingdom, nearly bought it
but saw it at new mom exhibition is at $299
but at babykingdom, the $329 comes with a free changing station (saw it bout a mth ago)
the white one nicer but more ex...only brown one at $329

sharon,

Ya, comes with free changing station
Baby Kingdom's offer is till this sunday leh.

So have u bot the cot?

pegsfur,
i didnt buy in the end cos my frend juz gave me a 2nd hand cot today

dat time i went baby kingdom they told me the same thing...hehee...i went on sun, they say last day
but i think its quite worth it

sharon,

Oooh ... sales tactics huh?
So good, got fren gave u a 2nd hand de, can save abit.

I think i might go over baby kindgom and buy it after Mrs Wong's class tomorrow. Dunno this swine flu thing will get worse or not .. better buy some of essential items first.

pegsfur,
yup can save on the cot but now i realise mattress is so ex...the babysafe latex mattess with holes cost bout $190 lei

re: LG/parklon playmat
costs only $119 onwards at the cheong choon store...cheapest i found on the spree is $135

cherrios, i tink its 3" thick
the lady says its ex cos its made of latex

piggytoh, congrats! ur baby is growing well

claire,thanks for the update..will look out for it

Sharon
JL always has discounts for Carlson bb wipes.
Hence I always buy a lot when there is sale of 20%.... hee hee!
Btw, I don't use ruyi (medicated oil) due to the strong smell and the heating sensation.
You may want to try this out, can get it from most Jamu shops. It is called Telon oil for babies.
The link has its pic.
http://www.javajewel.ie/lite1/cart.php?target=product&amp;product_id=671&amp;category_id=363
For the baby cot, can check if it comes with plastic protection to prevent teething.

Mummies keen to get latex mattress
I'm going to Kidzloft to get 50% discount. After discount, it is less than $100. You may refer to www.kidzloft.com.sg for more info.

piggytoh
your baby is like mine! mine was 717g at 23 weeks 4 days (already 100g heavier). So your is about 150g heavier than normal?

newmum exhibition
ended up never bought cot cos they will deliver the cot in 3 days time! i will prolly buy around july during GSS, if buy too early, the cot is gonna collect cat furs/dust! >.< So sleepy now...

piggy:
wahhh my boy at 23 weeks only 610g... sigh.. so tiny liddat but he sure can kick me hard...

mickey:
pardon me for saying this but i think u ought to give ur maid more time.. after they are from kampong kampong, she is still adapting to ur family and environment unless she has been working as a helper for many many years and very experience.
u shld be glad that she can do chores and not give further headache like not knowing how to operate ur electronical appliances or spoiling them...
some helpers need constant reminders, i believe even those who have work 1-2years also need reminders coz children grow up and their environment change and we as parents learn new techniques as they grow... so must finetune our methods from time to time...
my 2 cents worth...

Reira,
thank you for the update on you MOM finding, i really do hope to hear things is at our favour..

they indeed can say its retrenchment. then we got noting to say already.

Company is Rich in $$ whereas come to individuals like us how much $$ can we save? of cuz u wil try to not to use as much $ from your hubby rite. mus really go for your ML benefits. if pple like u, keep letting such company get away , more &amp; more mummies will end up in silence too.. so sad... such a discrimination world..

my boss very tempermental one, so scary at times i duno when i do correct or when do i do wrong. and will like sudden anger him and he will scold me..or wat at times, i totally dont understd what &amp; why is he so work out about.. so is like working fear duno anytime he will blow at me..

Pris,
Yes , my hubby is job hunting now.. its really getting no way.. sigh..

babymaking:sur eu can use after they can crawl,u would nt want them to really crawl around without supervision(100% type)
u can buy those fencing( plastic like little tikes slides type of material) so that bb can stay inside and play while u're busy or even go toilet

flower:
ur boss sounds abit like my ex boss except she is my age and had everything going for her(never suffer in her life before...)

wat kina of job ur hb is looking for? prolly can share.. maybe there are lobang within the community here

precious,
my frend juz gave a 2nd hand cot today n its come with the plastic protection for teething but i wanna change the plastic

any mummies haf any idea where can i get a replacement? thanks

I just went for my gynae visit today.. I'm currently at 25 weeks and baby's weight is now 900grams... is it heavier than average?

fptt

flower4
As long as they dont retrench you until you are 3 months before EDD, then you will get the ML benefit. But I also understand that your worries is not about the ML $$ but about having an income even after ML. If the company is really like that, then I guess no choice but for you to look for another job. =(

Initially, we were going to see how it goes in the infant childcare, if the CC is good, then i can continue working. If it is not good, baby kept getting sick then I will quit my job.

For my case, I hope the evidence I have is enough to fight back. Because if they insist it is a retrenchment, then they shouldn't have hired me in the first place during Jan. Also, they shouldnt retrench me just RIGHT before it is my 3 months before EDD (as if they purposely don't wanna give me my ML benefits!!)

Anyone remember when did the recession started? Initially it was the Leman Brothers that collapsed right?

piggy,mayb boy bigger? Haha..anyway dun need to b too bothered abt the weight cos every baby has growth spur at diff stages,as long as baby is growing is ok le
bigger baby means easier to take care nxt time aso!

I m now 27wks!! Last wk of my 2nd tri! Time really flies....

Sharon, thanks alot!!! I found a website here selling for only 120usd including free shipping and tax, wondering if i should get it...but the bad point is,it couldnt b recline....hmmm..r latex mattress better?

Reira, dun angry..dun angry! Dun let it affect ur little one...i m sure things will work out de

Flower,dun worry so much ya? If the temp staff really got other motives, she will get her karma de. U dun stress yourself k? Must b strong!

morning gals..
thanks sharon..

Cherrios,
wah u alr in wk 27 so fast.. i am not worry abt baby weight but am worried i will get a heavy baby end up cant natural birth...
btw boy n gal diff not big 1 my cousin boy only 2.8kg when born...

Reira,
u r early
ya lor got a shock when i see baby weight cos last check up only 346g hahah.. my gynae say nex visit shd be ard 1k+ liao keke..

piggy,

So early today ah ... getting ready for class later is it?

I must have got out of the wrong side of the bed today .. so many things pissed me off early in the morning.

First, the toilet flush is not working when i use it this morning at 4am. Woke hubby up to fix it .. he just go there, look look and said he'll fix it in the morning. Then i said wat if i want to use it again? And he said just use water to hose it.

So at 8+ i woke up, wash up and use the toilet again .. thot i cld try to figure out how to fix it but i couldn't. So abit fed up liao.

When i went to the living room, i opened the wooden door and stepped onto a small puddle of oil. It must be my MIL ... dunno why she's so obsessed with oiling the locks! Always drip the oil till everywhere de. So pissed cos i cld have slipped and fall if i'm not careful.

Next, wanted to cook breakfast for coalie, and found that hubby didn't wash the cooker cover last nite, and the fork he washed was not cleaned. Aiyoh .... i'm almost getting high blood pressure at this juncture le ...

Mickey:even if they're well educated they dun hv a choice like us
we're fortunate to be born here tats all....other than tat we're of no diff.

Oh, and to add on .. i've been feeling terrible becos of my backache and i can't sleep properly for the whole nite ...

Ok, end of venting.

mickey
it is not that they are not smart or stupid lar... it is just cultural difference... there are many helpers who are smart, some too smart for their own good n give employer headache...

at least she likes ur child and is not abusing her... i guess this is the consolation for the otherwise slow/non-proactive work currently...

pegs:
sigh... dun get work up over small stuff coz i m sure there will be more things which will get on ur nerves in time to come... anyway preggers are more sensitive and irritatable de.

cherrios:
wah so fast! 27 wks liao... i m just 24 wks 4 days... hehehe

piggytoh
hahaha yeah! recently I dont feel like sleeping much.

pegsfur
when i ask my hubby to do things, he always say "later", end up never do. like example he went to take those broucher from coffee bean, then ask me to keep it (donno for what also). when we reach home and i ask him what to do with it, he will say "throw it away". aiyoooo if u want to throw it away then in the first place dont ask me to keep in my bag!

i didn't sleep well also and end up my left shoulder &amp; back aches! =( so far i haven't even done any of those exercise Mrs Wong taught... now cant go to public swimming pool also cos of the swine flu

reira
technically recession started at diff countries at diff time... leyman bros issue is not the trigger.. rather it was the CDOs which trigger the downturn of the economy... some contries like china n india are still not in recession... SG hit recession coz we are an export dependent country thus get hit sometime last yr... the start of the recession has been brewing since end 2007 (start of the CDOs trouble)

essentially ur company cannot claim that u r being retrench if u r the only one who is being shown the door lor.. ur case seems more like a dismissal..

hello all....

i'm back from my shopping cum resting.. crocs shoe i bought ar.. really make my leg got blister lei.. just like wad weishy told me... -.-"

**anybody know if joining the breastfeeding group thingie really efficient? dunno whether to join their group or not.. cause going to their class oso got discount....

**i remember someone bought their pumps online.. may i know which website is it? im still comparing medela and ameda...

yesterday i went sim lim with the new pair of crocs.. end up got 4plaster on my feet..

oh i bought bird nest at bugis.. "yi liang S$100" the guy still got gimmie test one bowl.. still not bad.. gonna make one for myself tonight.. hubby in reservist.. so i can enjoy all by myself..

2413016.jpg

\

dollie:tis this type of steamer me referring to

kekekke evil u :p.....anywya hubby no need bird's nest la kakaak only us :p
men at 50 also can flirt around so we better keep up our beauty regime hehhehe.

dollie
lol... how coem so jialat 4 plasters???
my leg only tio one tiny blister but made the side of my feet swell lor... now i dun dare wear liao... kekeke

BN:
my hb is getting jing si yan from eu yan sang for me coz he got lobang to get at cheaper rate... daily 2spoons from the concentrate can liao...
if anyone else is interested i can help to get cheaper pricing or org a BP... hehehe
i trust EYS more than other shops lar.. kekeke

weishy
dun talk abt 50+ yo men flirt ard... jsut looka t hugh hefner... coming to 85 this yr still has 4 playmates surrounding him at any one time... beh tahan.. so much for being playboy de big boss...

weishy:
hahahha... i think if she is no longer his gf... then maybe less endorsement n centrefold spreads for her bah...

dollie
i m thinking of ordering Ameda Purely yours from this webbie since they currently have promos n freebies.. plus their spareparts are cheaper than other sites (i see mummies order spare parts from sprees in SMH)
http://www.breastfeedingexpress.com/ameda/

Hi all, i'm new to this forum, due early aug. Just wondering whether there are any sprees ongoing for (i) Baby Plus and (ii) Braun thermometers? Thanks! (Apologise if these topics have previously been touched on already)