(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pris, tas
Ameda is manual or electric?

My sil also pass me those glass bottles for EBM. Can those bottles fit into any sterilizer then?

pris
yup. pple say it is comparable to PISA.. got 8 speed oso and half the price.
but i was reading in the forum and this mummy mentioned that PISA in Hongkong is selling ard SGD320... so i am seriously thinking which to get looooo...

PISA is good enuff for me... since not working mah... hehehe

pink, it can fix into any sterilizer coz the height is lower. I want an electric one, manual one is tiring though avent manual is good. I will not go for those mini electric pump, suction is not powerful.

Tas, wat is the different between basic and ultra?

Tas, pris
I feel bad abt not being able to visit my mum in hospital. Her condition is quite serious as she going for below knee amputation. Just feel bad that I can't be there to support her during her most diff period

pink
if u are talking abt purely yours, it is electric... alot of reviews says that is almost hospital grade de...

as for steriliser, u can choose those which u can remove the centre piece and any bottle can fit... if i never remember wrongly, Avent de can remove ley...

pris ar
ultra is with bag and storage. basic is just the pump n 2 bottle.

pink.
sigh bo bian looo... even for kids, the only allow max 2 visitors which are parents.. the rest are not allowed in...

think for TTSH, visitors are not even allowed if the alert goes to red status

Tas, oic. I have never try Ameda, I love my PIS but it is given away by mil.

Pink, got no choice,it is not like you dun wanna visit.

pink, hope ur mum get well soon! don't feel bad cos its not your fault ma...n the avent sterilizer can fit in other brands bottle, if u r talking about this: http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3251285

re: breast pumps
I'm still torn between the diff types/brands....was thinking of getting the avent manual one 1st, then if continue to TBF then buy the freestyle/PIS...the manual one cost around 40+usd, freestyle 285usd and PIS can get it ard 200usd... if the difference is only 85usd, which one do you gals advise I get? but i'm currently a SAHM...

Tas, my friend has ameda ultra, medela PISA and medela freestyle, told me, PISA is still the best compare to all the pump.

what's the diff between the medela PISA & Freestyle. I will be going back to work after the maternity leave, so I guess I'll need a better pump.

Pink, PISA is heavier and suction is stronger, Freestyle is lightweight but suction is not as strong. To get better ss, stronger suction is better.

for mummies who r interested in baby cots
this is wat i saw at the new mum exhibition

details fr the brochure

-newborn infant crib (highest level, dun need bend, not all cots have this highest level)
-baby cot (mid level)
-playpen (lowest level)
-sofa bed/day bed
-toddler single bed with bed guard

-free 3" latex mattress
-free delivery n installation
-free bedding set

$299 for this 4 days at expo

T.S.Y Inc Pte Ltd
Mr Ang, mobile: 9783 1958

re: pureen maternity pads
$6 for 20pcs at expo

Cherrios
I called Avent distributor b4, and they strongly advised not too, because Avent bottles (its components, etc) are meant for Avent sterilizer.
It is the risk we have to take if we are using it from other brands of milk bottles.
My #1 completely rejected Avent milk bottles (tried all kinds of brands, eventually she likes Pigoen Wide Bottle), keep them for #2. Hope #2 likes.

Sharon
Thank you for sharing. Now waiting for my girl and husband to wake up from her nap, then heading expo.

precious, you change acct??

pris, didn't know that PISA is better!! always thought more ex means better...LOL...if theres the case I might just get PISA. btw, whats the difference between PISA and PIS?

Cherrios & Pink, PISA is about US$200. It is heavir and my friend told me the suction is stronger. So to stimulate milk supply, it is important to get one with strong suction.

Pris
=( I bought Freestyle because I thought I can continue to work after giving birth cos it is lightweight. Sob!

Does Freestyle still works and help to stimulate for more milk supply even though suction is not as strong? D=

maternity pad
What is the different between this and normal pad?
How many Pureen pad should I buy? Is it as thin & comfortable as Whisper?

today burnt a hole in my pocket. bought 2 nursing tops and 2 nursing bras at thyme taka for $29 each.
Also went over to 9mois and got a pair of pants for $40.

9mois looks stylish! Oh so maternity pad is just thicker ah? Maybe I will buy a pack only, after that use my Whisper de. Pad wont expire one right? I bought those Whisper pad like last year Oct!! haha

Braun thermometer
There is a spree currently and the price is only S$69. But, whats the difference between all the models? This one is Braun IRT4520.

pris:sure u let me know cos anyway my stuffs is already there.....quite diff to get hold of mumz....may wanna make advance arrangements with her .......i can make too if u wan la.

pink:sorry to hear about ur mom.....must be hard on right now too....u can call her often

Re: My helper

<font color="ff6000">Apologies to share my frustration here</font>

We realise my helper is more suitable to be a housemaid (good in daily housechores, cooking).
YES, she does have good attitude, but not so proactive (she seldom asks questions if she is not unsure) or take the initative to do certain things.

Many times she can't handle my 3yrs old daughter at all, she is scared of making her cry, and if my daughter says "NO', she just replies "Ok" and stands aside.
When outside, my helper can't manage my daughter when she has to take care of stroller and diaper bag.

<font color="0000ff">I'm PUZZLED</font>
Is it because I have been too independent or having too high expectations?

As I'm thinking if she can't manage my daughter then how she can assist me when #2 arrives?
If I have to breastfeed #2 and my daughter also wants my attention and if she can't distract/comfort her, then how?
And if next time I have to bring 2 children out, then how?

Perhaps because I have been doing everything by myself, being independent (I just hired her 3mths ago), and when I see her being not so proactive, not able to multi-task, it does upset me.

Tas,Reira,
u think so.. im soo depress, i got nite mare &amp; cry the whole day today...

am very very worried, i cannot be jobless...if they really wan to retrench me &amp; pay me , i oso suffer cuz i will be out of job when baby is born &amp; hubby too out of job..

if they really really like the contract staff so much they wil willing to pay one,cuz company is rich...:'(

i even dreamt tat my boss scold &amp; insult me infron of the contract staff...

i working with fear not only out of job also boss angry &amp; scold me...

flower4
My situation is not as bad as yours I guess, since my hubby's pay is enough for the 3 of us. Also, we haven't bought a flat yet and we have no car.

Why did your boss scolds you? D: I didn't even get scolded AT ALL and got retrenched.

I will call up MOM tomorrow to check what kind of benefits I am entitled to first (still very confused about it). Hopefully there will be good news for me. Atleast if I got the ML pay, I won't feel as bad as I am now (altho I still have $$ to last me till I give birth without needing to use hubby's salary).

I wonder if it really helps that I have the email printout of the korean asking me to leave because of the recession. Like I said, I received no complains from the boss or from any of the korean people. Its like I am being fired because those koreans are unhappy of the extra $$ they have to pay me and then maybe because I will be taking ML soon. Not to mention this company is one of the more well known Korean Car brand, just that the company I was working for is selling something else (not car) but it is still under this brand.

Weishy, I have to wait till mumz to tell me when the items arrive before I can pick them up. And that is if you don't mind waiting for my items to arrive.

Reira, I was deciding between PISA and Freestyle, then I asked another friend who is still bfd her 6 months old dd#2, she has brought ameda ultra, medela PISA and medela Freestyle. Told me that not to get ameda ultra, and if I am using it to stimulate milk and to increase supply, I should get medela PISA coz the suction is stronger and it helps to maintain milk supply and increase it. I asked her about Freestyle, she told me it is lightweight but suction is not as strong as PISA and it does not help her to increase her supply or maintain her supply. Personally, I have used PIS before so I need it does help to increase supply and for me I go for one with a good suction coz wat I want is to increase milk supply and maintain it. Anyway, it might work for you, coz for me, I prefer one with a powerful suction haahaa.

Just saw the puree pad at kiddy palace at $7.95 for 20pcs. I saw the kotex ones too those that are stick it on at NTUC.

Precious, give your maid sometimes and also you need to help your child to adjust to the maid. Spend time explaining to your child that you get tired easily now and also need help when bb arrive so sometimes the maid will play with her.

flower4, try to stay positive coz it will affect your baby. As for your husband, how's his job hunting? During this time, I think every1 has to be realistic especially job hunter to lower the salary expectations.

Mashy, haahaa, I just gotten 2 pairs of shorts that cost me close to $60 but cant be help, weather is so hot here that I cant even wear the maternity jean.

pink, I will be praying for your mum. At the meantime, you might want to continue to call her and talk to her, write her cards.

hi pink
sorry to hear abt yr mum, it's indeed tough when the flu alert restrict visitors - meantime, you can continue to call her, send her notes/cards, or get hubby/whoever going to visit to bring her fav foods etc.

Glass milk bottles can be sterlised via boiling or in those sterlisers so long the bottles can fit the sterlisers.

reira,
the thermometer similair to what i got, i find that there's not much difference between the braun thermometers - just different models/packaging etc. didn't realy go into details - so long it's a braun and it's sensitive shd be ok
not sure if it's the same spree but i got mine for $70, comes in a plastic capsule packaging with refills &amp; battery.

tas,
the ameda lactaline (purely yours in US) pump is $368 at 1st few years (kkh), basic set with no extra freebies, i think i saw at the Taka fair, it's the same price but with freebies such as breast cream &amp; breast pads &amp; milk bags.

Re: Expo sales
Decided to stock up on babies necessities now rather than wait this swine flu thingy.

manage to get some Pureen cloth diapers (which as blankets/day time swaddingly &amp; whatever) $15.80. Maternity pads at $6 for 20pc.

got some huggies diapers (NB &amp; S size) for $18 plus with a free romper.

Gals, any suggestions of which brands of bb shampoo, bath &amp; wipes are recommended? also need some advice if a high chair is really necessary?

also need some advice - a sarong sling VS a structured baby carrier like Bjorn or chicco etc?

oh yeah, saw those korean baby play mats - they are on discount. the material is pretty good, and the edges well sealed, however despite the discount, still quite pricey at $152 for the smaller one and eh, oops can;t remb how much for the bigger one. think one is ard 2m and the bigger one 2.3m.

think it's worthwhile to get?

mickey:hummm i think she's oki at least she's not mistreating ur dd now

saying yes/no and giving ur dd instructions/commands needs ur permission too,if u allow her to a certain extend i'm sure she would.basically we're the parents not them.they can take care of daily chores and taking care of ur children but not teaching them.......depending though...mine would teach her better than me......i just stand by the side to coach her :p

no need to get upset.....i guessed ur'e just stressed cos #2 coming soon etc......

give her time and clear instructions(slowly) i'm sure if she hv the heart to learn,she hv the heart to practise wat ur requirements is.

Dun talk about our helpers......those ppl in resturants,etc also dun hv initiative liao.....wat more u expect from ur lack of education(socially too) helper

these are just my personal comments,hope cn help u though.

babymaking:Bjorn can be use i think 3 months and above.but its cooling compared to the rest of the carrier(sin hot le....)

korean playmats:its of good quality and bb can use till 2 yrs(tummy time/crawling/baby steps/play area)
its costly though.....for me i wnated to but settle with those cheaper ones....think sin selling 40 or 50 bah....also a mat but diff material.

weishy

thks for reply...i still hesitating about these items

1) playmats - 1st few mths bb no choice will stay on mat, but once can crawl, walk, will still stay within the confines of the mat? if not, will be a white elephant. maybe more worth while to just get those alphabets foam mats? think they cost less than 20-30 bucks for a whole set of both upper case &amp; lower case letters.

2) baby carriers or saraong - sg weather so hot, will the body contact (esp both me &amp; hubby have higher body temp) increase bb temp and cause further irritatbility?

3) highchair really necessary? used for how many mths to how many years old? some i see like stokke, bloom can use till bb is toddler or even till 3-5 yrs old...but kid will stick on those high chairs meh? i see many kids run ard like craxy during feeding times.

oh yeah, wanted tto update on the metro expo sale.

croc shoes
saw some baja designs for adults - some nice colurs (purple/brown, beige/orange, beige/brown. grey/black) still available yesterday when we went down.

and some kids designs with thomas the builder going at $20 which i think is a good buy but we didn't get any as the crowds were like scary...lots of pple milling ard the crocs trolleys...more than 10 trolleys. saw some pple carting more than 10 pairs of crocs...i'm not a fan of crocs...but 10 pairs?

- also saw some bb/children clothes at $5 per set of tops &amp; short pants (which i think are a good deal) age range from 12 mths to 4-5 yrs old i think.
- there's also those 5 piece for $10, or 3 piece for $10 type of bb clothing (cheaper than the bb fair)

The cashier q is horrendously long but surprisingly quite efficient, we manage to clear the q in 15 min.

Wow babymaking
U already started shopping
, me have only been window shopping. Need to clear out the room that I intend to use for nursery first. Hope to complete clearing out the room by end may.

yeah, been getting stuff on and off since after 1st tri.

think most of bb stuff gotten already, except for consumables like shampoo, bath, diapers, cotton wool that sort of stuff - these items will be used in large qty, so want to find the best value one.

Only other large purchase not yet settled is the breast pump..still waiting for sale to get the ameda one.

Just contacted MOM. The guy told me that if it is retrenchment then 3 months before my EDD, I will not get any ML benefit. If it is a termination (6 mths before EDD), I will get ML benefit. Since I did not get any termination or retrenchment letter, I don't even know if I am terminated or retrenched. It was just verbally that they are firing me.

I am a bit worried that the company insist that this is a retrenchment... It is recession anyway... So maybe it will be easy for the company to get away with it?

I am only 11 days till 3 months before EDD!! (11 Aug) I wonder if they will just take it as 3 months before my EDD or they will insist for me to calculate "zhun zhun"? But then, if somehow I give birth before my EDD (which is common), will I be able to file it next time round after I give birth?

Come to think of it, the company clearly ask me to go now because I am almost 3 months before EDD...

When I asked him how do I differentiate between retrenchment and dismissal and read out the email to him, he said it should be a dismissal not retrenchment. Also, since I have no contract written, the company will have to follow MOM's basic guideline.

Anyway, I will be meeting MOM officer for this matter next wednesday.

babystuffs
:D Today I will be going to expo to hunt for a cot! Then don't have to squeeze to buy them during GSS. The cot Sharon told me is within my budget anyway.

reira

get a letter from your co. Don't keep accepting verbal answers anymore. You're already at the losing end for accepting the job verbally. So call and ask for a written contract for the employment &amp; written letter of termination/retrenchment. U can say that you need to show proof that you were working for them when u apply for a new job (which is a reasonable demand) and u want it within the week.

babymaking

Reg your questions,

1) Yah, the bb will prob crawl all over. Even with alphabet mats, it won't keep them in.

2) slings/sarongs - My boy hated the sarong sling when he was a baby coz it was too hot for him. U may ask to try someone else's sling with the bb before u buy.

3) high chair
Yes, it's necc but not now. It'll come into use only when the bb can sit up and hold the neck upright. So u can buy this much later after bb can sit upright. U will need to cultivate the habit of making the bb sit in it. They may wanna run ard later, but if u don't even start, then all the more they'll run ard. It'll make eating at a restaurant a headache each time. So u will need to be firm with them. Don't affect your decision just becoz of some kids running ard. It's just like the car seat. U can't just not buy a car seat becoz of some screaming kids who didn't like the car seat. In fact, my boy has also outgrown the high chair. He used to enjoy sitting in it but when he got older, he wanted to sit in a normal chair like us. So now the high chair is being used as a punishment tool. If he doesn't behave on a proper chair (like run ard), he will go straight to the high chair. Helped to rein him in...

know that you mentioned about the store in bugis that sells cheap baby clothes. do you know if they operate on weekends and till what time. weekend is usually the free time that i have in do such shopping due to work.