(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

babymaking
i think just buy a few clothes which is enough for the 1st month bah. i plan to buy bodysuit only because aug will be quite hot and baby have to be swaddled most of the time for the first month!

Around 6 bodysuits, mittens & socks. then ask CL to wash baby's clothes every 2 days. I don't intend to buy those full body sleepwear for baby cos Aug will be a really hot month!

If you want, we can buy online and share the shipment! I plan to buy them online around June.

reira,
actually i prefer bodysuits also, but SIL was warning that bodysuits hard to manage with a wriggling baby, so wondering if should get body suits or 2pc (top& bottoms) type.

for body suits, think a lot of sprees here, most selling aound $5 per pc, carters brand, which i think is already very cheap. maybe you want to check out the sprees first before buying from overseas.

Yen2008

Yen, don drink sugar cane as their sweetness now is not those pure one..
Best to avoid drinking anything that is can drinks for peggy.

But I got eat watermelon although weishy said avoid la. Haha...
But watermelon you must buy those you cut yourself one wor..
Cos outside watermelon you buy already too long and watermelon easily contains bateria not good for preggy woman.

=========================

Weishy

Wa... 8-10 per day ah?
Haha... so many ah... haha...

That time you buy diapers what size you buy for how many kgs one wor?
Cos now I looking around than can buy next time.

=========================

Joann S
Nope, I dont have access to spree section cos I am not yet 1 yr member here. Prolly will buy from baby mall online bah. saw a spree at the spree section and quite few response.

before buying on my own, i will probably check out that section to see if anyone organize the spree first (if got 20% discount will be more worth it!)

Thanks, Jaclyn & Joeey for your advice.. I will try the various methods to overcome it.

I'm more worried for baby cos I read somewhere that their emotions & development is tied with mummy's.

Pegsfur, if you attending TMC pre-natal class hor you can buy the swaddling cloth from Mrs Wong. She says those don't have the clothes fiber so won't irritate the baby.
I bought two that time. Can't remember how much though.

babymaking

I prefer rompers coz the bb's tummy won't be easily exposed. We didn't have prob wearing rompers for my boy then.

mich
There's still scarring on it. Read that it'll go away in 2 weeks time. C is ok already. Think he didn't get it as bad as me since i washed him first too.

I got it at Kidzloft (Tagore Lane). It was in the clearance area. Only have pink Big Sis ts, small sis & green big brother ts, small sis rompers left.

yen
no sale now, just managed to find some stuff at the clearance area. They're shifting to a new place soon.

jac
maybe can try the singapore expats classifieds...

re: bb clothings
there is this shop on the top floor of beauty world plaza, next to the hawker centre, carries lots of bb items such as towels, bathtubs, cotton clothing etc. think the price is quite reasonable. mummies staying in the west, can check out the shop.

Mich,
Tks ... am feeling so much better le. I think for me, must really eat antibiotics then can get well de. Nowadays the docs seldom prescribe antibiotics even when i'm not preggy.

bear,
Oh, ok .. will take note
I'm attending her class on 26 Apr.

pinkmama,
Have u bought alot of bb stuff already? Wanted so much to buy the playpen, cot, pram whenever they advertised on papers .. but i keep telling myself to buy them nearer to aug cos i dun have space to put them.

Hey ladies,

anyone know who required coffee table and sofa?

I got L SHAPED sofa from my sister in law when she moved out and a coffee table about 3 years which we don want already. If any of your relatives or friends or someone who does charity wants it just tel me. can ask them to contact me at 96539742

reira,
what you can do is register first, then they will send regular emails informing of discount codes and offers.

mashy,
yeah, that's what i think, but she was insistent that bodysuits troublesome..think will still get some. body suits & rompers cheaper and got loads more cuter designs. thkfully you and yr boy is OK.

yoko

Welcome.

Jaclyn

Congrats on knowing the gender of yr baby.

Jul

Regarding those cheap white clothes for baby. I heard there is a stall opp the bugis Guan Yin Temple selling those clothes v cheap 1. u may want to go and take a look.

reira...i heard that june may have more sales...my sis was telling me she bought Gap/Old navy at 50%...but tats for adult clothes...hopefully its oso applicable to bb clothes... wats the URL for babymall? tinking of getting 1st mth celebration clothes

for bb clothings normally buy range from 3-6 mths better right?
haha... 0-3 mths like wear out so fast wor.

Jul,

As SL mentioned, I heard the same. But its sold in bulk, i think min is to buy 6 pcs at a go. And you have to buy the fix set of colour which include white, pink n blue. Maybe bec its sold in bulk, tats y its much much cheaper.
Heard its on the 2nd storey, I will be going there during lunch one of these days to check out the price n quality. Planning to get handkerchief there too, in bulk...hahaha

talking abt prenatal massage.. i m so so so keen to go for one.. but can any one advise when is a good time? some say after 3 months, some say 5 months, some say 6 months.. i am so confused.. any recommendation?

jul & babymaking,

u can try to get cheap baby clothings at this shop...simple white, pink, blue or yellow colours, no design....then they come in buttons or tie-ribbon kind
they sell towels, hankies, mittens too
more like a wholesale centre

"For cheap clothing, u can go to the shop opp Fu Lu Shou temple. It's located behind the toilet. It's a wholesaler, so u can get clothings at 4 or 6 pieces for $10. Only one design for newborns thou (with the "I love mum" logo) but they are good for homewear. Baby towels, mittens set also available there. Dont buy too much coz they outgrow really quickly" - wat i extracted from another thread

i heard shldnt let baby wear rompers till their neck are stronger and haf self-support

is there a Fu Lu Shou temple ? Thought Fu Lu Shou is a building near Guan Yin Temple.
What i heard is the shop is opp Guan Yin temple, on the 2nd floor or something.

Hi to all MTB,

sorry to interrupt your thread. I have got a 2nd hand Brandt front load washing machine to let go @ $350 (negotiable). Details of the machine as follows:

Model: Brandt WFF0812A
Max Load: 6kg
Max Speed: 800rmp
Unit Price: $800+

Please kindly PM me if you are interested. Thanks!

Joann S
it is http://www.babymallonline.com

Yeah I wont be buying till maybe June/July. If cant find anywhere that sells cheaper in SG, since shipment will only take maximum 3 weeks to reach Singapore, I will still have enough time to wash and sun dry them.

DolceVita
Ya it is the Guan Yin temple in bugis. I think the fu lu shou they are talking about is the statue thing one of the shop put infront of their shop (the one where people always go and touch his tummy and put coins there).

I am thinking of buying these to last till my baby Zachary is about 1 year old. The size I plan to get is bigger than his actual age. Incase my boy is one of those baby who 1 month old must wear 3 months clothing.

5 body suit (3-6 mth) [Aug - Dec]
3 sleep wear (6-9 mth) [Aug - March] - wear at home, too big is ok

5 body suit (6-9 mth) [Jan - March]
5 sleeveless T-shirt (6-9 mth) [Jan - March]

5 sleeveless T-shirt (9-12 mth) [April - July]

5 clothes at a time should be enough, right? Wash maybe alt day. I wonder if I should buy pants for him? or wearing diaper will do?

reira: need to organize clothes for sleep wear n normal wear? my friend only told mi must buy some jackets in case bring BB out for shopping then they feel cold... 1st month probaby wun go out oso i tink ... so small n fragile...mayb only for bb injection...polyclinic/hospital/clinic quite cold oso...

my EDD is 6Aug09..so i will need to get ready by june end i tink...

reira

i don't quite like those body suit sleep wear. Coz they grow so fast. Very soon I had to cut the little 'booties' from the sleepwear. So i just wear socks for cold nights. Better to buy pants to wear over body suits or separate long sleeve shirts.

Don't buy too many sleeveless shirts first in case u get a baby who's scared of cold all the time. And in Dec/Jan, it'll be pretty cold and windy. U may not wanna dress him up in that during that time either.

If u wash alt day, not sure if 5 pcs is enough. Coz they'll usually wear abt 2 day clothes a day. And if they happen to burp the milk all over, u will need to change somemore. If u accumulate to wash alternate day, you will be washing min 4 rompers each time. So you'll be left with just 1 romper on the 3rd day...

And a lot also depends on how fast your Zach grow. My nephew is already wearing 2T clothes &amp; L size diapers at 1 yr old! He's a very big boy.

reira

and i think your kid prob will be able to wear the 6-9mths rompers from 3mths onwards unless u get a tiny bb who's growing very slowly like my boy then.

Reira

I do agree with mashy. 5 is not enough. My gal that time 1 day can change up to 4-5 sets leh. And lucky my mum wash everyday. But I still get need 8-9 sets for her to change around.

I didn't let her wear romper till she is around 5 mths. Cos their neck is so soft, i find it quite difficult to wear romper. Front button is easlier to wear.

reira,
agree with SL...
same with her
i also didn't let my ger wear romper until she can hold her neck well...

i only start buying those after she 6 mths old...

Joann S
haha no lah. for the sleepwear, I want to get those that includes booties, mitten ones lol cos it looks cute!!

mashy

For first month, is it safer to buy short sleeves top, long sleeves top and long pants (3-6 mths)? Dont need short pants right? Since he will be wearing diaper.

3 mths will need to wear 6-9 mths clothes. So means 6 months will start wearing 9-12 months clothes?

For burping of milk, I thought using bib will solve the problem? or will baby burp till even clothes get wet?

What is 2T?

Hmm... since 5 will not be enough, then maybe need to buy 10? When baby burp milk, will he burp till pants also got?

SL, cloudme
Thanks! haha I always wonder how to squeeze baby's head into the romper or shirt without front button!

How long can baby wear romper till? Romper is so cute!

Ive got Medela breast pump hand me down from my SIL. Think hers is the Mini Electric.
My mum suggest that I change everything for hygience purpose and use only the electric motor.
Are we able to buy the parts separately in all the major department stores ?

Reira

For the size of the clothes, it depend on yr baby size. Not all baby will wear the same size.

2T is equal to 2 yrs old. But it might not be accurate. Like my gal she is 2yrs+. She is wearing 3T or 4T depend on the cutting of the clothes u buy.

For romper, as along as there is still size for yr boy he can still wear it...

Jul

I heard from my mum's friend. Cos she pass me a dozen of the same clothes when I'm pregnant with #1. She say is cheaper there and material still acceptable.

Dolce

U can buy the spare part for Medela at United Square Mom n Babe... Not all department store selling the whole range of spare part.

Alternative is your thru the SMH oversea spree.

Sorry to interupt.
I am letting go my Medela swing hardly use bought on 19march 09.Warranty card still with me.
Letting go @ $300 for everything
Medela swing
3 extra bottle
Carrier cooler New
Purelan cream New

Kindly contact me at [email protected]
Or 91773783 for faster respone

2324203.jpg
2324204.jpg
2324205.jpg
2324206.jpg

Jul

Is not say can't wear romper, just that their neck is soft, so quite difficult to let them wear... U can buy those romper with front button 1.

reira

yah, no need short pants coz your boy will be swaddled anyway.

For burping, of course need the hankies/ bib. it depends on your bb. Some bbs can really merlion out. So just to be safe, always have a few pcs on hand to change.

Those sleepsuits may look cute, but really can't last and it's a hassle to change their diapers from it. Remember that your boy will probably still need a change or 2 in the middle of the night. ANd they grow taller overnight. So they actually outgrow these sleepsuits very much faster.

Rompers have diff sizes. My boy wore till abt 9mths when we decided that he's outgrowing his rompers faster than we can buy them. So we changed to normal t-shirts and shorts after that. These t-shirt &amp; shorts lasted us for 2 yrs.
And boy can still wear some of these t-shirts/shorts but a bit short now lah.

jul

my boy wore rompers from the time he came home from hospital. My hb prefers rompers coz easier to carry bb in that and also easier to change the diapers. If wear shorts still need to pull down shorts to change. We just lifted his head up, put thru the neck hole and arm hole and button up. It's real easy once you get the hang of it actually.

mashy
True hor. Will be troublesome to change diaper wearing those sleepsuit. when i stop swaddling him, do i need to let him wear short pants?

for rompers, if i buy bigger size, will it be weird for baby cos it is too big?

About $27 for a maternity bottom swim pants hua or not ah? I need to get an M sized bottom coz the S sized might get to small soon

reira

hehe, i only let him wear short pants when i go out. At home, he'll just be in his diapers coz it's already so hot in it. If he's wearing rompers, i don't bother with the pants.

usually rompers can be a little roomy. Just not too big should be ok. U should also allow some space for the diapers.

Jul
Which hospital are u going? My boy was delivered in TMC and he wore the clothes provided by TMC. He was swaddled all the time.

mashy

I also tot of rompers coz I tot can help to keep diapers in place. And if hot, no need to wear pants. Then I read abt the soft neck thing, then I lose confidence liao haha.

jul, where do u buy the maternity swimwear? My friend suggested I just buy a bikini cos can wear after giving birth??