(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Regg, I also want haahaa, me preparing claypot rice. Dh's craving haahaa.

Mashy, my ds is waiting for his sibling to join him haahaa. He wants to get a double deck bed haahaa.

jul: thats what i read.. but i dunno why.. hahah..

taslyn: yeah same i also dont wanna start on yao lan... i dont wanna be human sarong and sarong my kid to sleep when the sarong is not available...

my mil is the one who want to intro pacifier to my ger cos mil scare she cry and disturb "jiejie"...
but i insisted on not giving any to my ger...then my ger smart or wat use her thumb...

mashy
lol... mute button.. really true.. sometimes my ger blabber n blabber, i cannot tahan, i also pop the pacifier in.. *bad mummy*

as for the moving house, we hv shifted stuff over bit by bit liao.. so nothing really much to move liao...

MIL still nagging at poor HB... sighhhhhh......

Jul:
i was a thumb sucker lor... quite when i was in pri school...
hb say sometimes when i sleep now.. i suck thumb too... lol... think it is programmed into me liao... *blush*

Jul: same here... my parents bought pacifier for me, but i kept spitting it out.. prying my children have same habit.. haha..

i see my friends who took pacifier, usually got like bunny teeth and the lips pursed one lor....

baby's lips, gums are still growing, and being molded.. imagine ur lips and gums are in that position so many hours a day becos of the pacifiier, the lips/ gums sure get molded to that shape too what..

Re: pacifiers

i think i will still use it for #2. Good mute button. Heheh. But will wean early like my boy. some of the children my boy's age are still using pacifiers! I even saw one who's slightly older than him, sucking it on his way to the market. gosh.

babys

I din take pacifier but I got bugs bunny teeth also

jul;
pacifier have come a long way also.. got those orthodontic ones... bb mouth wun be duck shape de...

maybe coz i dun use pacifier, my teeth grow out nicely.. no need for braces.. lol

Re:pacifier,
i ever read a report tt pacifier actually help the baby to learn to breath from their nose when they sleep w/o pacifier they might use their mouth to breath n they might inhale gems n bateria...
but i tink individual preference bah..my younger sis dun wan to gave up her pacifier till 2-3yo n her teeth hor the middle part got a hugh gap...

Tas,
so u be officially movin to ur new house today?? or shiftin only?

jul: yeah, got orthodontic pacifiers too..

tas: how come u guys start shifting liao, but now then ur MIL realise ah>

Tas: sorry, but I think better pacifier than thumb. My niece suck both thumbs until both sides got corns. Yucks... Then my SIL dare ask me when I gave pacifier to Matt, why dun suck thumb instead? I was like, hmmm, not after seeing ur gal like that and then, she touched everything and then put thumb into mouth...

piggy
i wanna shift today.. i cannot tahan liao
my PILs are now screaming at my HB coz he told them we wanna shift today... then say it is all my idea.. then wanna chase mi out...
i hiding in the room now...

i go out liao..
ttyl... need my sanity

taslyn: oh dear....

i guess PILs will always see their chldren in law as the bad person, trying to take away their child from them..

i dunno if its just me or do i always only hear of cases of the DIL being bullied by PILs, but not son IL being bullied by PILs?

tas

no prob since you're shifting today anyway.

tinkabel

I also feel same way, that's why let my boy have pacifier. But must wean early too. Cannot till schooling still using pacifier.

tinkabel

i think tas mentioned they intended to keep it from them till they move house. Else more headache. I think if they told them any earlier, they might have to stay in a hotel till they get their hse.

celine

already schooling lor. i started him on sch when he's 2 yrs old. hehe. He has long weaned off his pacifier already. Even his milk bottle. He's no longer using milk bottles anymore.

yah lor... so why do PILs always seem to think their daughter in laws are taking away their son?

or is it becos asian parents see it as daughters marry into the guy's family, they are 'taken away' already in that sense,so not so many cases of PILs bully son in law?

Mashy: IC. So many posts. Must hv missed tas saying this. Not very reasonable leh. Think sometimes they need to come to reality that kids grow up and marry and have their own family lo. Haiz, but my MIL also damn funny one. both sons got married and moved out. She hor, buy a double bed for each of the son and put in guestroom. Say it's spare bed. I told my mum she "ba4 wei4" lor. Scared next time no space for her in our new homes. I rented out my place when I came over to SH, locked my master bedroom. So tenant sleep on that "spare" bed. I think i go back hor, sure throw away. I very bad hor...

mashy,
my boy nvr like pacifier but he is still hooked with milk bottles, I tried givng milk to him in cups but when he is about to nap or sleep he insisted on milk bottles *sigh*

babys,
maybe the son used to stick to them but after marrying the son stick to wife. whereas the daughter still stick to parent... guess I can explain to you better when I am old since i got 2 boys haha...

tinkabel

yah, there's a lot of weird MILs who 'ba wei' first. And some even have their house keys! I think that's most unacceptable. Luckily my parents are staying with us, so my ILs can't do anything like this.

celine

yah it's not easy to wean off. But if u throw away the bottles, then u also no choice. U will then insist that he drinks from the cup. Sometimes it's coz the parents cannot tahan the crying and give in.

Celine, my boy dislike milk bottle too haahaa, he went to cup even though we bought milk bottles, instead use straw to suck from bottle sometimes when he was young.

He was chatting with my cousin's 8 yr old son and that boy was still drinking from milk bottle, my ds was very naughty, teasing the older boy.

tinkabel,
your MIL scary leh. My MIL only nag at my hb... "remember to come home, dun forget me huh" every weekend we go visiting

mashy, he is tbf till 18 months, never give him bottle to suck for shiok, except when I was back for 2 weeks of work. He prefer direct feeding.

He is mature, helping me sort clothing now. But he is very mischievous and strong-willed.

mashy,
your PIL not jealous your parent staying with you meh? my MIL super jealous my mum staying with us as my mum is the caregive for my son besides the maid.

you are right, i can't bear my boy crying...maybe i attempt in another few mths time :p

Pris

very good already lor. I've seen many kids at his age all playing computer games or totally don't help their parents. I think you've a wonderful boy.

mashy, my boy can go wild too haahaa when he is with friends haahaa....but most of the time when he is alone with me, he is quite ok

Mashy: Aiyo. Mine typical case loh. My ILs have my house keys also last time before I moved to SH in 2006. Aiyo, then I tell u, I super sianz lor, my ILs would expect us to go back at least once a week for dinner. Then my FIL calls every Sat morning at 9AM. Goodness, only day we can sleep late lor, cos Sun morning need to wake up early go church. So I was so glad when we moved to SH. Out of their reach totally. But alas, they still call us at 9AM on Sat and then 1st question, ask us what we are doing. Wa lou, tell u for the umpteenth time we are sleeping lor. Luckily now, cos my bb wakes up early, we are usually up by 9AM also. Now I still trying to come to terms that I have to stay at their place again during confinement. Had bad experience last round, stressed by MIL instead of the bb. then FIL so naggy, whole day nag at this and that... Then I shift out that time to come back to SH, I leave a bottle of shampoo at his place, he ask me to bring back to SH lor, I was like I still stay at ur place whenever we come back to Spore for visit. Refused to let me store too many stuff at this place. So now, I packing very carefully what to bring back to Singapore, cos all that I bring back, I must remove from his place. Irritating...

mashy, my boy play computer too but like 1/2 hour a day. Weekend alittle longer but he has his responsibility at home. Haahaa

celine

they know we don't have a choice in this either. Coz my previous flat was under my dad & my name. When we sold our flat, he would have to return me my CPF and he won't have a place to stay.

When we were getting married, my MIL said rather we buy our own place and my parents stay with us, than have my hb stay with us in a flat under my dad and my name. So that's exactly what we did.

Remember when u wanna try again, throw away the bottles or at least the teats. Then u can't bear his crying also have to bear with it.

tinkabel, haahaa, I was so stressed up by my mil too haahaa. same thing, mil will call early on Sat to ask dh what he is doing, when we shift to new place, no phone in bedroom, we dun bother to pick up phone at 9am. If my mum, she will ask my bro to leave us a msg or call at like 11 or later.

So whenever I am back I stay at my mum, dh also stay at my mum, only place that can sleep late haahaa....even last time, before we got married but engaged liow, dh used to stay over and sleep in the same room as my bro, so can sleep late on weekend haahaa.

tinkable,
my MIL behave like you IL leh!! Every weekend will call my hb early morning ask him "will he be visiting them this weekend"

I was thinking aiyo we every weekend will go back mah why need to remind my hb everytime leh especially also when we are enjoying our late sleep on precious weekend. Can't she call later... :p

Re spliting out pacifier,
Think most infant will split it out initially coz they dunno how to hold it probably.
I intro pacifier to my boi since he was 2 weeks+, I got to help him hold on his pacifier. When he master the skill, it does really pacify him. But we only let him have the 'snack' during nap time.
He wean off the pacifier at 15mths old.

My friend rejected pacifier, sarong, etc for her first born. She strictly followed all the rules from books and proffessionals. She was v v regretted coz the baby super fuss and cranky. Only can nap at home. So the parents and baby can only go out and rush back home for baby's feeding/sleeping time.
Now she has her #2, she said she will say yes to sarong, yes to pacifier, yes to everything!

pris

guai already.
You've done a great job in raising him!

tinkabel
haha, my MIL used to expect us to be at her place like 3-4 times a week. Then we slowly wean her off. (haha, same as with our kids). We started going twice a week, then became once a week. Now with our boy, we;ll go back once a week. For us it's ok lah, after all they're still his grandparents. So when we're there, i'll just close one eye and bo chap what they do with my son. At least it keeps the peace in the family.

Next time just tell them to throw away the shampoo lor. They prob won't. Why don't u hang up the phone? Then they can't get u so early in the morn? I guess u just have to become 'deaf' and 'mute' when you're there for your confinement...

Re: In laws
Haha, I hardly think if we are back in Singapore, now with kids, can continue go once a week. When I was back in Singapore for maternity last time, my BIL, wife and niece come every day for dinner. Then dun come, hv to call and then, my MIL will ask whr u all going, how come dun come back. My goodness.... Damn sianz right...

And ya, now in Shanghai, I plug off the phone in my master bedroom. So can't hear it ringing. Last time, I go back 1 mth earlier and stay at mum's place. Then give birth already, move to her place. Haiz, my MIL volunteer do confinement for me. And my mum's place too squeezy la, so not as if I hv too much a choice. So I guess this time, I just make the same arrangement as well. But will prob go back to SH earlier this time, since my son needs to see his dad.