(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

...being reading up the archives...

RE: Cartoons...
carebears, smurfs, transformers, my little pony, several chinese cartoons(translated from english)...are my childhood favs...

<font color="0000ff">Jul,
glad u are clear...but what is Thalessamia? is it that same as "di zhong hai ping xue"? ...</font>

babymaking
Yes pris is right. Was reading on the net yesterday &amp; realize that there are many cases of false positive for such cases. So am trying hard to convince myself to stay positive.

Babymaking, according to my genetic counsellor, Oscar is a statistics test so the result can be out sometimes and a diagnostic test like CVS or Amniocentesis test is 99.9% accurate.

Pink, you have to be positive and do not let it affect you. Most of the time, the bb is fine and healthy. Pray for bb and talk to bb.

hi pris

yep, OSCAR, nt scan &amp; triple tests are all based on stats, only cvs &amp; amnio is 100% sure.

even the fetal cardiac scan is stats test.

kkh website has a table listing the accuracy of the various tests.

http://www.kkh.com.sg/SharedCMS/Templates/Singhealth%20Generic%20Template.aspx?NRMODE=Published&amp;NRORIGINALURL=%2fPatientHealthLibrary%2fWomensHealth%2fFirst%2bTrimester%2bScreening%2f&amp;NRNODEGUID=%7b727896BF-19C4-425B-898D-B6F519D98A5E%7d&amp;NRCACHEHINT=Guest#contemporary

if just doing NT scan, the accuracy rate is only 70%.

pink,
what was yr high risk result?

but yeah i have heard of cases where CVS is not accurate, as the sampling is too small and cases where amnio is not conclusive cos the cells could not be cultured.

Jul, same lor for me.. my thalessemia reading was borderline.. my dr says two reasons for the MCV (size of red blood cells) being smaller is either cos of thalessemia or low iron.

I believe mine was becos of low iron.. Cos my haemaglobin dropped from my usual 14 to 12.. i also read, that mothers may have anemia/ low iron becos they never increase their own intake of iron and baby takes iron from mummy, thus depleting mummy's own supply which leads to the low iron.. At that time I also havent started taking my supplements yet..

jul ,u mind sharing whats urs and ur husband's reading? Or u wanna PM me?

to me 99.9% is just as good as 100% cos when the result is known, the action taken is definitely 100%.

either to keep the baby or to abort. either way, it's caught between a rock and a hard place.

actually, nothing comes with a 100% guarantee... even birth control like condoms and pills dont come with 100% guarantee... and we've all heard of cases of pregnancies that occur, even with birth control..

Baby S, haahaa, yes. I told my dh even condoms have defective one haahaa, no one knows which 1 has a defective like a tiny hole.

baby S,

haha yeah, through out my 4 yrs TTC journey in IVF, i've always come across pple who said they want to abort cos they used birth control (condoms, pills etc) but STILL got preggy...and i always wonder how come it never happen to me. nothing in the world comes with a 100% guarantee, but the actions we take is definitely 100%, unless one dun make a decision at all, then defeats the purpose of going for such a test.

ok, let's chat abt something else more lighthearted.

i was trawling the net and came across this local website that does nursery wall decor, prices are reasonable.

go check it out
http://www.caleydaniel.com/

i like the Build Your Own Robot Appliques - now i can't wait to know if beanie is a boy or a gal.

now on bedrest, and cannot go out at all....so itching to do some online shopping.

Good morning, long time never post here liao due to busy working schedule, but I do try to read the posting daily.

PJPJ, Pink &amp; babymaking,

For me, my Oscar test is 1:326 (compared to my #1 is 1:8000+++).

The thickness of my baby neck is 2.2mm (compared to my #1 is 2.1mm).

My current age is 37 (born in year 1972) (compared to my # is 35)

It is be blood test and my age making my ratio drop so much as compared to my #1.

My gynae wants me to go for FA (Fetus Abnormality Scan) in my week 19+, she said if the result is good then the ratio will be double up change to 1:600++ (for my #1, with my 1:8000++ ratio, my gynae said I can skip for further test, therefore, during I had my #1 I didn’t go for FA)

I told her i want for go for Amnio, but she advised me only if the FA test pick up any ‘soft markers’, then go for Amnio test.

I was quite disappointed when I got my Oscar result on the first day, but after that, as what babymaking, I am now already resume planning my #2 already, just don’t think too much.

hey did anyone see the rainbow yesterday?

i saw a big one from myoffice.. so big till i use the paranoma function on my phone also cannot capture.. too big. hahaha..

i heard some places can see double rainbow...

hello shirley... ur MS better or not?

cloudme, yeah i think thats the name in chinese..

babymaking, shirley
My triple test result is 1/36 ! Neck thickness 1.3mm

I am doing amnio becos I want an answer asap. For me, the longer the waiting time, the more stress I will have &amp; such stress may cause unecessary distress to bb.

BabyS,
oh it's the same thing...

just to share
[my sil's sis and hb have this and both are inherited case...and guess what...
they are advise to terminate the pregnancy]

Pink, I know what you are going through, I went through that. That's why we choose to do CVS the next day after the result. But you have to be positive, is your dh able to be in the room with you during the procedure? My dh and ds was there with me through the whole procedure.

Just sharing what i found out, during my terrible one week wait for the results: (just fyi only, not to scare hor..)

If only one parent has the thalessemia minor gene, then baby has 25% of getting the gene..

If both parents have the thal minor gene, then baby has 25% chance of getting thal Major (which is life threatening), thal minor, none at all (got one more 25% i cannt remember what it is now)

then if both parents have the thal minor gene, they will be asked to go for further testing at the thal registry.. drs will advise parents to go there cos much cheaper..

Pink, it really help as couples going through it together. Mine is a family going through together, we ask the dr b4 I go in and he said why not. He even explained the procedure in details to my 5 yr old and show him the needle and syringe used.

Pris,
well...heard from my sil that her sis gynae advise either to adopt or to try again...
but have to see the results again if have again...

25% chance lor..

maybe they went for amnio on baby and it showed that baby had thal major..

but then there are diff types of thalesemia also.. alpha and beta thalessemia.. one is not as severe as the other...

my colleague's brother has thal major (dunno alpha or beta), its the less severe form.. then when he was young, he had a blood exchange, and now he's 30 plus and he is fine.. body builder some more..

jul, both sides of the family, got any family history of thal or not?

pris,
yap...sure stressful...
but no choice think my sil's all the sisters got this (some more severe) but dunno if their bro got it?

BabyS,
errh...dun think they went for FA...
cos think that time the couple took the blood test for their preparation for a child...
and the results show bad results loh...

so when they realise wife preggi, she was advise by Malaysia's gynae to abort...my sil wanted her sis to come over to see my gynae but the hb think not necessary loh as thinking the advise might be the same...

Pink, yes, it is good to have a supportive dh and I am sure he will prefer to be with you in the procedure instead of worrying outside.

Pj,
u r also interested in the book Supernatural Childbirth right? I just called up Mt. Zion. They are out of stock right now, but have already ordered new stock. You can call them at 65324252 if you want to reserve a copy.

oh, thanks pinkmama for sharing too.. i wanna go buy a copy for myself too (my copy now is borrowed)....

i now wanna find Psalty CDs to play to baby.. cos i grew up with his songs...

good morning ladies!

cloudme

Yes, Thalassema is that di zhong hai pin xue zheng

babys

Hmm I dunno what's my reading. Doc told me over the phone that both my reading &amp; hubby's are borderline. Then she said need to go for Stage 2 testing.

Hmm.. do u know what is Stage 2? I was kinda blur yest coz she called me while I was still in office, &amp; a bit shocked lah, so din ask many questions.

I suppose Stage 2 is like more detailed &amp; accurate test? Then there's also Stage 3 test right?