(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pink, i dunno leh.. my friend lend to me one.. i have another one, around the same thing, but i bought it from new creation's bookshop.. by diff authors, but same focus..

yen
then get ur hb's mil to buy the birdnests for u... then u cook for whole family... easier right?? ;) hahaha then u get to play the good dil's role as well kekeke :p

pink
my mil oso never cook birdnests.. never buy anything somemore.. despite my open complaints to my hb that onli my mum cooks for me.... when i go to my mil's place.. she will say eat everything normal can liao.... dun take chinese herbs #%$#%@#$!@#!... my mum will every weekly use chachoal to double boil either birdnest or cordepys for me... so now everytime i see my boy sooo healthy, i tell hb's coz my mum double boil those stuffs for me... even in front of the mil sometimes.

haiz...own mum is always the best.

Just to share an e.g.
my own mum would tell me, better quit your job & stay home so can rest well throughout the pregnancy

my father in law will keep asking me, when am I going back to work, better go back to work soon, otherwise kenna retrenched ( i think he scared that if I kenna retrenched, then will be short of one source of income)

Supernatural Childbirth By Jackie Mize
ISBN: 0892747560

Prayers and Promises for Supernatural Childbirth
by Jackie Mize
ISBN: 1577947673

Pink, you order from border, they will ask you what is the ISBN, the code used for books, every book has a unique code, so if you have the code, they can order faster instead of looking up. Just let them know you know the border in US carry them.

Wow ... i guess i'm the easiest to feed .. haha .. cos i dun eat bird's nest or xue ge .. i find the taste fishy.

pink, my mum is super supportive when I quit to stay home, she told me she has enough money, dun need to give her. My mil made noise to say why study so much and stop work and so income down.

pris,
I also lucky in the sense that I don't need to support my mum financially.

The tonics that I bought are bought using my own $$. Wonder if mil thinks that dh is paying for everything. Sigh....

pegfur, they are my favourite and my mum will make for me haahaa, so when I was back in Singapore for 6 months staying at my mum, she said I lost lots of weight during my stay at Vancouver and made lots of tonics till I gain weight.

Last 3 weeks ago, she told my mil, she thinks I lost weight so when she was here she bought more tonics for me. Will see what mil will do. One good news, I will have a peaceful confinement, dh convinced mil to come during Oct and give me time of peace during confinement.

pris, pegsfur,

bird nest also my fav

smurfy, after that one-time, i scared of those bird nests wif impurities....told her 'dun need to take so much trouble to brew the birdnest yourself, i eat the bottled one, can liao'.
Really envy u, ur mum very ON leh..use charcoal to cook tonic.

Pink, I took alot of beef during my 1st pregnancy also, my ds is not hairy.

Ok, I am going to pick up ds but have to make a trip to supermarket to pick up sweet potatoes and stuff for chicken soup tonight.

yen, your mil did brew for you but due to her poor eyesight, so cannot blame her. Maybe teach her how to make chicken essence, chicken soup.

Pris, how about convincing MIL not to come over and u'll see her when u are back in SG? hee...

pink, will insurance companie be more strict if they know u are preggie now?

re: bird nest...

well...my mil seldom cook it...but she cooked once when i in 12 wk...now no tonics yet cos she said 16 wk and later then can eat more tonics...

but guess i will go home and take my bottle chicken essence...
and i dun keep my tonics at my mil's place(cos there's sil who take without asking ...)

i have bird nest but to double boil is troublesome cos need to take care of my ger's makan on wk ends...

janice, i would feel the same if i were u.. but maybe u think now, u need to rest.. if u dont rest and something happens, i think the guilt will be worse than having no income right?

do u have the option of working from home?

babyS
i don't know, I just called up a few insurance companies to ask for quotes. I told them I am preggie and ask about the medical checkup. They said if I get below a certain sum, no need xray.

funny that it's during pregnancy and being a mum ourselves we feel more grateful for our own mums..

pris
ahhaha good for u that ur mil is not going to confine u hahaha

babyS,

no option of working from home...if i have i think i will be better off lo..

re: tonics

i went to c the 中医, she say my body too heaty already cannot eat any tonic at the moment.. so even though my body is not that strong..

can i ask, if taking bird nest, better to take in morning or night? How about my supplements then? take together or space apart?

janice,
did you ask your gynae for hospitalization leave intead?
as for the tonics, maybe u can take the pure chicken essence? without any herbs should be ok.

babyS
my TCM advise that its best to take bird nest before going to bed.
your supplements & chinese tonics should be taken 2 hours apart.

janice
u have oredi come sooo far oredi.. 4mths now... perhaps it's worth it to take unpaid leave instead of risk something happening to ur child... talk with ur hb and ur boss...

pinkMaMa09,

actually i was given the suggestion as with the economic downturn and my unstable situation, its better to take unpaid... rather than MC or hospitalization leave. jus hope that i still have my job when i go back.

happi:
i live at west coast, my mum place at hillview. so i choose DR WONG lor. i think thats e nearest TMC clinic outside which is near me.
BIRDNEST:
I also eating those concentrated 1 day 1 spoon. hehe easiler.
OSCAR:
i miss my oscar test. did any mummies miss oscar? did doctor say anything abt it?

bbjon
i want to get those concentrated big bottles oso.. but i sooo scared my maid eats them kekeke.. ehh that one can last how long arr if everynite take one tsp (or issit tablespn)? the most i get was those concentrated small little bottles for one time eat type..

Yen - yah lor, i dont have my mommy to cook birdnest for me also (T_T she passed away a few yrs back). Haiz, if she is still around, I won't be troubled about my confinement ect le. her cooking is super yummy!

haha my hubby also do that, but the thing is he is still sleeping like a PIG when the phone alarm rang like crazy. sometimes i got irritated and kick him to make him off his phone lol

For my case is, I don't have the pot ah!

i dont even like it if my MIL cook birdnest for me. Cos she will sure remember it and then bring it up that she spend money on birdnest before blah blah blah. >.>

Pris - How much does those bird nest cost?

Ya lor, our own mom are the best. Like will brew tonics for us without any complain. Like the baby is going to have same surname as hubby, not our own, but MIL always too cheap to brew tonics for us so that next time when baby is born, baby will have good complexion.

Janice - you mean still having morning sickness / feeling sick even 4 mths pregnant? I hope your baby will be stable soon. =) Talk to baby! I always talk to baby when i wanna eat pills ect, if I never "warn" my baby before taking something I don't like, I will end up throwing up de. I also havent buy any baby stuffs yet and worried about our finance. >_< Unlucky for us that the economy is very very bad now...

smurfy - I also dont have any cravings, eating to fill my stomach up also. Cept spaghetti... Donno why everyday I wants to have spaghetti or hokkien mee... I think my baby love only these 2 food. lol Must be particular stall somemore, like pastamania spaghetti cannot, only the one western stall near my work place pass!

Haha, when your MIL heard that, what did she say? Did her face turn black?

For the concentrated birdnest, where do u get them?

pink, pris - Same thing happened to me regarding in law wants me to go back to work asap. they scared my hubby cannot give them any money anymore because have to support his own family. Worst thing is, my MIL income alone is like $5k++ lor... Both of our income don't even have so much.

my PIL only scared their son cannot give them any money in the future. like no one to "feed" them. FIL still got money to go outside to "yang" woman.

talking about talking to baby hor... i feel very guilty leh... cos i dont like consistently talk to baby.. only when i am in privacy of my own home, then i talk to baby.... if outside i talk, i scared pple stare at me...

Reira,

i'm not havinv morning sickness now... jus that 2 weeks back i havin very bad ms... den no food/water intake till bleeding then was hospitalised. was on 9days bed rest...till now 4 months still spotting whenever movements too huge..

Wow...all talking about bird's nest ah. I still bother to brew every other week during my 1st one. This one I got no such time and I dare not spend this kind of money as going to have another bb.

irene
the expenses of having a 2nd bb really great hor? i oso scared whenever i think of that these days...

apr - extra money for maid's home leave air tickets
june - to start my boy's in half day's cc.
aug - for CL to come 2 mths.

scared scared.

BABYJON

hihi i miss my oscar test also coz i went at 13th week plus.. and baby's length too long for the test.. so in the end did not manage to do..

so i did the triple test instead.. where the doc will draw blood to test..

Smurfy, I don't have a maid and I don't intend to start my boy on cc but I still scared of any other expenses that will come when you have 2 kids.

How old is your boy?

Just did the OSCAR test and everything is fine! Thank goodness bb finally decided to cooperate and turned around to let the radiologist take the neck measurement. So cute, saw bb putting the hand in the mouth. Another hurdle crossed: Now officially out of 1st trimester!

hey claire.. congrats on the good results and graduating to 2nd trimester!

i also worried about expenses.. just thinking of the expenses i need to buy things in prep for baby is scary... must buy cot/ playpen lah, pump lah, sterilizer lah.. etc.. and some items must buy double cos my mum is helping to take care, so must bring baby over...

BabyS,
Try to see if you can get any hand me down for baby cot / playpen / clothes etc...or buy well taken care 2nd hand items.
These will help to save...

baby s,

Me too, since mine is 1st born and no hand-me-downs from relatives. Even my friends' youngest baby is already abt 3 and they have decided to close shop ... dun think they hv anything to pass to me.

Somemore i'm oso sort of relying on my hubby's income cos i'm working on contract basis. No maternity leave for me ... no work means no pay, so i won't have any income during my 3-mths off.

Concentrate birdnest :
i got it from LO HONG KA老行家。
Think is 100+per bottle,then stated must finish within 3weeks cause n0 presertive inside.
aprilia:
so u only took triple test? only blood test ah?
you how mny weeks liao huh? Any other tests we need to go thru?

pegsfur

actually since your friends' youngest bb is 3 &amp; they're closing shop, all the more they'll have things that they can pass to u. Ask them.