(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

mashy,

Er ... but she has 3 kids leh .. i assumed the stuff has been in use since she had her 1st kid, and her 1st kid is already 9 yrs old. Heh ... dunno if it's still working or not :p I'm not sure if they still have those big items like cot & playpen. But i'll ask anyway

My goodness, I just didn't log in for 1.5 days and I am already reading 5 archives!

You ladies are really hilarious! From bikini/tankinis to bird nest to pumps and even to teacher sex! Hahahah..

Ok.. with regards to pumps, anybody checked out the Medala swing? No good? Seems like easy to bring to work next time (more discreet) and still has the 2-phase pumping thingy.

What about the breast shield fit? Any concern or comments? Me planning to ask my family who just went there on a trip to check it out but not sure if the size don't fit how? (mine's HUGE now btw...sigh... hopefully BF will bring it down)

flower4
Thanks for the thread for Belly Belt. Costs about $35 in China so no point buying from there since not much diff. Surviving with my baby doll dresses first.

Sigh... saving costs is so hard and with all the expenses you girls listed, I think I should start budgeting and doing a spreadsheet on this NOW!

I just came back and just lecture my boy, read with him and get him to nap.

Reira, I did not buy any tonics, all from my mum, so I did not ask how much she got the birds' nest. They are really clean and after soaking, even my ds and dh can share with me as one piece can make up 3 china rice bowl.

irene
err my plan is to put #1 in half day cc in june... so that he's able to adapt there... so will not be jealous when #2 out in aug.. err onli half day coz got maid at home.. and mum to supervise.. n i dun like the idea of my kiddo sleeping on cc's mattresses :p

I don't mind who do confinement for me but I want my peace and no one to tell me -ve things about bfding and give me time to rest. The problem with mil is that she can't cook confinement food, she cannot let me rest in peace or bfd in peace. So it stresses me up more than anything and here and then keep telling me, she could not cook, headache, etc, so I ended up have to care for her, cook for myself, mil, pil, dh and taking care of ds by myself the last time.

So I am glad she is not coming over during confinement, I told dh, if she comes during confinement, it is winter and she is sick, I can't take care of her, dun expect me to take care of her, bb and my ds. I will care for my 2 children, he will probably have to handle a fuming wife and his mum.

pris

hahaa, your MIL is more of a hindrance than help. Gd that she's not coming. I hope my ILs also don't come and ka jiao me unless they're here to help take care of my boy.

mashy, can you imagine she left during my 3rd week of confinement telling me she cannot stand staying home whole day, it is like a prison

mashy, I even have to tell her that she cannot have mahjong session at my place, i want complete peace. When she was at my dh's 2nd bro home to help in confinement for his sil, she got her mahjong khakis over till dh's sil asked my bil to kick her out of the house and she commented alot of -ve about her and her bb.

babys
actually the bb cot can save shd save leh. try to get 2nd hand from family/friends. coz my #1 only slept in it for 5 mths. then he started flipping in his sleep all over the place and i was worried he konk his head. moved him to sleep on the floor thereafter. he now has upgraded from a bb cot matteress to his own queen sized mattress on the floor. LOL. coz hubby think it is investment. a good matteress can sleep till he adulthood. haha.

pris
OMG. ur mil really one of a kind leh. dunno she is there to pass time or really to help out? if to help out machiam not doing anything but create noise leh. =P

pris

My MIL is a very busy woman and she already told me before even #1 came out that she can't help me. Even then, my ILs still managed to irk me thruout my confinement. If she's free and come over to help, i think I'll also kick her out. haha.

Pris,
Your mil is def not CL material type.
She's best to be a taitai grandma who plays mj full-time and entertain grandkids part-time.

So strange why she wants to torture others & herself?

miaon, it happened to my ds too when he was about your boy's age haahaa, we switch him to playpen, then twin bed when he was 1.

pris
wahhahaa urs sounds like mil from hell.. yah those kinda that tells ppl.. i did confinement for my DIL.. which in actual fact was enjoying hereslf in mj or whatever so.

pris
haha. yah lor. i was so worried he konk himself silly at the rate he was going then. i never invested in a playpen coz i got a hand me down cot and changed the matteress....luckily for me... grins.

miaon

I'm one of those who don't really bother when my boy knock himself in the cot. haha. It's ok, it'll heal. They're well made. So he slept in it till 2.5yrs old before we switched him to his Thomas the Train bed. Now, even with a short side railing, he has never rolled off the bed.
And he moves all over the bed till he could be sleeping at the foot of the bed.

Pris
Come to think of it, i think your MIL is just trying to get a long extended hols in Aust.

mashy
konking his head is one thing...haha.. i was more worried he konk and pain and he wake up from hios sleep and i get no sleep. haha..chain reaction. =D

yah...now my boy is all over his queen sized bed. if i did not put a pillow barrier, he will prob end up even on the floor. dunno how come they move ard so much in their sleep. really amazing leh.

miaon, I could say to run away from cooking for my eldest bil who is not married and not do housework haahaa. When she did confinement for my sil then, I took over her cooking, washing clothing for dh, my eldest bro and pil even though I work and stay at their place waiting for renov of my place to complete. She got kicked back home.

So during my confinement, she did it again and at time eldest bil came over to eat and stay at my place too.

Kikilala, to redeem herself about what sil said about her.

smurfy

bought it from Spotlight for $189.

miaon
My boy fell off my bed dunno how many times already. So we decided that he needs to sleep in his own bed. We actually wanted a weekend stay-together thing, but it didn't work out.

My boy is like immuned to pain. He can knock his head, go argh, then go back to sleep. haha.

I'll be staying with my parents during confinement. Dont mind PILs to come and visit once in a while but hope they will not have any comment on my mum's confinement method...

During my sis's confinement, her mil gave lots of comments about what to eat and what not (worst thing is that her mil cannot cook de, so all hearsay type, like cannot eat ginger, vinegar & ma you!).
In the end, it's my mum who exploded.

smurfy

Spotlight only has 1 lah and it's at Plaza Sing. Not sure if they still have the Thomas one, but i saw them carrying a lot of other types like Elmo, Dora etc just the other day. Now no more VIP discount, so should be $239 i think.

The only thing i didn't like was the base was metal, so we went to Art friend and got some chip boards to lay the rails before putting the mattress.

U can view a pic of the bed from my hb's blog:

http://alwinwoo.blogspot.com/search/label/bed

Haha, all the talk on mils.

Actually I also worried that my mil will go & interfere with my CL methods......she is the type who always think her method is correct

mashy!!
that is sooo nice n colorful.. ehh u recall they have any bed frames suitable for super single? my toopid hb brought his super single bed back when his family shifted to a smaller flat.. now i am stuck with a ugly super single bed in my kid's room

smurfy

Dun recall seeing any leh. Maybe can try out the shop at United Square? There's a few furniture shops there that specialise in kiddy beds, but quite ex lor.

haha, talking about where to stay and who to help out for confinement.
my mum jus ask me:where u wanna stay?
hmm, i also consider stay with in-law or back to mum place.
Both my mum n in-law n0t very gd at c00king,think will get a maid that kn0w h0w t0 c00k n l00k after baby,current maid contract end may.

mashy
u r refering to c-my-room? it's no longer at basement.. think it closed down... quite a few tenants at UE closed down oredi... the thomas the train bed sooo niceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ...kekeke maybe i can get something similar to put at my mum's place? :p

smurfy

oh is it? Haven't been there for a while already. Yah, nice right? I love it too.
U can go spotlight to check it out. I know they've brought in more designs. Initially they only had Dora, Elmo, Disney Princess & Thomas. I think they also brought in a plastic one, but not sure how it looks, only saw it in the promo flyer.

i can bring hb and son to spotlight.. but hard to get hb to agree on the bed leh.. my mum's house 4rm hdb flat onli.. and my boy nas on tilam in their house.. coz sharing room with my sis..i dun think my hb wanna give up his 1k bed to our maid.... everytime i see the bed, i sooo sad.. even put nice kiddy bedsheet oso looks ugly..

I will stay at my mum if I have a choice, Babyjon. Anything we do not like about what our mums are doing, we can tell them and they are ok but not mil.

Just last week, my mil was complaining to my dh about what one of her mj khakis complaint to her about her dil, so mil was making comments about her mj khakis' dil and I am sure me and my sil have been her topics of complaints too haahaa

i dunno lar.. it's just some kingkoil.. super single kind.. less than 5yrs old..tat's why it's stuck at my place.. coz hb cannot bear to throw it away or let the maid use.... i got those kids safety bedrails all ready.. but everything just looks soo giantic n boring for a 2yr old boy

smurfy, haahaa, ds already told my dh that when we are back for good, his room need to renovate according to what he wants haahaa.

smurfy

oh, it's those synthetic leather type? Yah, pretty boring for a kid. Maybe can go spotlight and look at the 'extras'? They sell thomas decos like storage boxes, hangers, tables, chairs etc. Then with THomas bedsheets, voila, it'll be a thomas themed bedroom.

mashy, we used to have that in Vancouver but ds outgrow it now, he thinks it is kiddy, though he still loves trains but move on to want to collect those miniature trains running on electric current.

pris
they moved to a smaller flat... that room cannot put 2 single super singles now.. at least ur son got a chance to decide ;)

mashy
hahhaa good good..spotlight seems a altnerative i never tot of.. used to think it sells onli those DIY stuffs.. curtain , n cloths thingies..

pris

yah, it's to be expected. :p If he still likes Thomas in pri school, i'll be pretty worried. hahaa. THat's why we didn't get elmo coz elmo is even more babyish.

We've a set of trains on electric current too but we're keeping that till he's older. :p

hi ladies - me back in action.
just now went out with mum and boy boy to Giant and Ikea.

reira - guess what, after my last inputs, yesterday's puking totalled 6 times. whatever went in, came out yesterday. i was so weak that i retired early last nite. no mood to talk to anyone at all.

jul - if time permits, go to the Motherhood Fair. for me, i dun have much to buy but from my last experience, i m likely to go n i will go n buy the baby wipes. there is one counter selling baby wipes - yellow packaging, i think the brand is 'angels'. was sceptical. i used, found them reasonable. baby wipes is a consumable that will be used in huge volumes when baby comes. can buy alot.
i m going to sweep that up.

jul - i m confused by the thread. you still consolidating the orders for the swimsuits? m i in time to join in? thanks!

Just some update from my chk-up yesterday.
Cant see bb's gender cos bb again back facing us yesterday & no intention to twist his/her body at all. but can see bb grows alot..dr measured ard 12cm now. I will gng for my FA scan on 23 Mar.