(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

taslyn

wah, cheap....

My gynae doesn't have package.
So will have to pay till i deliver.

I signed package last visit so yest no nit to pay single cents. but no FA (hvnt finished) & hormone pills. My package price is $650.

piggy
oops... yeah 550.. made mistake...

yeah i also realised that my gynae charges v cheap.. beside he just made so much money from me last yr liao.. so he shld be super happy to see me again coz he does not hv to repeat the story since evthing is so fresh in my heart. but he did tell my hb to get herb to "bu" me since i just gave birth.

thats y gotta wait super long sometimes.. so i cheat by going in the noon ard 12plus each time.. keke..

just found my receipt...
consultation is $52
Scan $25
Med $10
Total $87
antenatal package start from week 16, normal delivery cost $600

DolceL
ur scan really v cheap ley...
wat machine is that? can it be used to see 3D scan one? keke... coz that is the reason my gynae told me his scan is $40 coz it can also do 3D scan.

my fren whose consultation is $200+ each time. She says at ev visit, her gynae will do 3D scan. but the scan each time cost 85..
my gynae only did the 3d scan during my 3rd tri.

mine is also considered neighbourhood.. but in shopping centre.. which is sun plaza... keke

anyway cheap is good for us.. lol

Taslyn!
sun plaza is quite near to my place at woodlands. who's your gynae? 40 bucks for scan and can do 3D scan is such a good deal!!! does he do night clinics?

DolceVita,
your package is cheap too! oh my now i have the impression that my gynae is turning into a "branded" one!!! haizz.

my gynae charges $1000 for antenatal package!! now i'm torn, to go for a cheaper gynae to bring down cost or stay with her. i've had 2 births with her and very comfy with her. it's just that the charges are getting high. now it's matter of comfort vs cost. haizzz.. headache..headache..

Mrs puff,

my gynae is Dr Lawrence Ang..
my first birth by him.. n since his clinic was 5 min walks from my place, i just go to him...
He looks abit blur/forgetful at time though.. but v professional...n his stitches are good.. hehe.. dun feel pain when he cut/stitch me.. fyi, he is pro-natural birth n w/o epi gynae. i din feel any pain when he did VE on me, he even apologised for having to do VE.. but some people may not be comfortable with male gynae though. i realised that female gynaes charges are slightly higher than males..

he has night clinics... i think is on mon, wed n fridays. coz i only go day clinics so not sure.. later i check my appt card n update u yeah?

Taslyn,
Thanks. Oh I heard about him. Seems quite famous yeah. I am pro-natural birth myself so it's good to know he's like that. But he oso believes in episiotomy huh? I wish I don't have to go through that! what's a VE?

hey tasyln

actually i am seeing a RE at KKH, but was thinking of switching to LA, i went to his clinc for 2 consult & scans recently and he charged $150 each visit!!!!! 70 for consult & 70 for scan.

didn't get a chance to ask him about his package as he seem so busy and his 'nurse' is so da** rude, her attitude put me off, can't believe she has been working there for eons.

Hi all Mummies/MTB,

I'm a 1st time MTB and the EDD is Aug 11.
Going for my 3rd gyn appmt tmw morning. Having v bad whole day MS for the past few days..looking forward to better days soon.

Hmm..my ex gynae charges $2.5-2.8 for pkg,but he has over 30yrs of experience la and alot of his client r Indo taitais.

mrs puff
yesh he did the episiotomy for me coz my ger was in distress.. if u do not like that, u can tell him in advance.
VE is vaginal examination where they stick 2 fingers into the v area to check for dilation. some mummies complain that it is pain.. for me, i din feel pain...

babymaking,
haha.. his nurses ar? u mean the old lady? she is okay with me ley.. but i find that when u nicely greet her and talk to her, she is actually okay de. prolly too many patients that y she is cranky.
lol.. i know she like to give alot of Dr Ang's patients crap. i know that alot of times, it is the older auntie who indicate the charges to Dr ang coz i actually witness that myself. actually u can FB to Dr ang on his charges, say ur fren recommended u there.. n that they are charged only $80 each. one of my gf sees him too, same charges as mine too.

pjpj:
wah branded gynae.. lol... indo taitai of course expensive lar!

I agree too that the norm is usually $100+. My Mrs seeing Dr Fong at Gleneagles and I notice all her bills are around $100 odd with the consultation+scan+folic acid and etc.

Violetta, I haven add u on msn? I thot I added liao. U pm me ur msn? Sure, u can add me on facebook. Do rem to identify k?

Wanna ask for help. I'm thinking of hiring a nanny to come my place every weekday to help with my boy cos I find it hard to entertain him while I'm so sick. But it won't be a long term thing cos I'll take over completely after my MS is over. Hours and price negotiable. Only need to play with him and carry him cos I can still cook for him.

Do you know anyone who fits the bill? I dun need someone qualified just someone who loves children...

mrs puff

My gynae charged me
consultation (follow-up) = 62.06
ultrasound (simple) = 62.06
duphaston = 46.55
urine test (glucose, protein) = 8.56

The duphaston is very very very expensive wor.. And u're right, it isn't dugaston hahaah

bubble baby

smurfy, pink, piggy

Sounds like ur gynaes all are cheaper than mine.

dolcevita, taslyn

Urs is very cheap!

mrs puff

Does ur gynae incl the supplements in the $1000 package? Mine doesn't leh. From week 12, the package is $688 + gst & doesn't incl blood tests, 3D scan, medication, emergencies, etc leh! faint!

taslyn

What is episiotomy?

mrs puff:
La's clinic hours:
mon, wed, fri night clinic 6-9pm.
sat 9-1pm

babylet:
episiotomy....
During natural birth, gynae cuts e V area all the way to the a$$hole... so that easier for bb to come out. We asians are not like Ang Moh.. so normally bb are too big to pass thru the V. if we force, V may tear. so Drs will assess and cut the area so that u will not tear.

my fren's fren tore quite badly, both internally n externally. she suffered a great amt of infection and her healing took more than 3 mths which is more torturous and worse than csec. for me, healing only took 2 weeks.

Jaclyn:
why not organise a playgroup? how old is your boy?
i know of mummies in my area who does that.. so that their kids can interact and play while mummies talk and sometimes take time off to run errands.

I have these to let go.

(1) Dunstan Baby Language DVD set Paid $60. Selling for $30.

(2) My Brest Friend in Dots www.mybrestfriend.com. Used for a month. Cover already washed. Paid around $60. Selling for $20.

(3) The Peanut Shell sling in Retro Pink (reversible) in size 2. Never used because baby doesn't like it. Washed once and there's a little run in colour. But very small patch. http://www.thepeanutshell.com/shop/baby_slings/reversible_slings/retro_pink_baby_sling
Paid around $80 for mine. Selling for $40.

Interested, email me at [email protected]. Thanks!!

any MTB did OSCAR test in NUH?
My gynae said i can go there to do same one & it's cheaper woh!
cos i stay in the west so NUH is more convenient for me la.

taslyn

Ic thanks for the explanation. Wow, but is episiotomy necessary most of the time? Even tho I can understand the necessity, it still sounds really painful & scary...

donkeymami

How much is the OSCAR there? My gynae told me the price & it was $298=gst. Anyway I haven't decided whether I want to go for it.

finally have time to log on... normally can only log on during weekends .. weekday post are over whelming .. haha

regarding Oscar Test (issit the Down Test ?), i am also doing on 20 Jan ...my gynae said will be ard $400 leh, will be doing in Raffles Hospital.

As for the checkup bill, without medical, just consultation and scan, will be ard $140 with GST...no packages, have to pay when u go visit her ...

Me stil having MS in the morning and evening .. dun know when it will go away ... as usual, i dun sleep early cos work late... esp year end as I am in accounting line .. so sian... abit cannot take it ... keep wanting to quit but cannot lor .. have to wait after my maternity leave if not wasted! ...

take care gals ....

I just came back from my Gyn checkup. And we saw the baby kick and punch his/her fist via the scan..it was so magical
My hubby was "talking" to junior last nite to wave at us..dunno if baby really understand?? hee hee

donkeymami,
My gyn is also asking us to take the OSCAR test at NUH, apparently it is cheaper at NUH.

jul,

gynae told me if do OSCAR test in TMC is $300+, NUH is $200+. like wat bubble said, NUH seems is cheaper than other private hos.

bubble, u see ur bb inside is kicking liao..haha active bb le..

my last visit can see bb's shape & heartbeat mayb bb is sleeping..haha
cos i empty my bladder before scan so cant really capture clr image also la.

gog to do my Oscar test early feb also.. my gynae says it comes with detailed scan at 20 weeks.. i think very worth it wor..

hihi violetta.. u are rooster also?
me and my hub also rooster.. many ppl say rooster good to hv ox babies.. keke

dunno hw true..

I had been organising a playgroup for bukit batok for the past one year but recently, we've not met up cos priorities changed. One went back to work, one kid jus pulled out of childcare too busy with 2 kiddos to meet and another working part time... plus me the organiser is too sick so haven met for more than a month...

I need something daily not just weekly...

hi donkeymami,

yes, i tot abt it and thk i shd go ahead, thk first child more kancheong ba ... since the % is higher in detecting down rather than another test (just blood test) which supposed to done later, which is 70%... as long as nothing painful, i dun mind doing it. :p

Just like to let you know that there are some great deals for this CNY at Maternity Exchange at Marina Square #03-108. They've got a new New Recessionista Rental Package - just $129 for 4 pcs, which is great for those who just want a few pieces, like for Chinese New Year! The package is valid for a year and each piece can be rented for 4 to 8 weeks. You can also buy brand new pieces or rent by individual piece.

Or if you're busy or lazy to step out, you can also shop online at
http://shop.maternityexchange.sg/shop/index.cgi. They're having 10% off new CNY styles for online purchases.

They've got lots of new maternity and nursing styles out, especially at their Marina Square flagship store. So, do pop by for a look!

More details can be found at http://www.maternityexchange.sg
or http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/

Happy New Year!

Hi gals...
i went for my checkup today baby is 19mm now. I am currently 8wk 3days. today can rougly see the baby shape but not very clear my gynae say my nex appt will be much clearer

My nex checkup is 4wk later n i will need to draw blood n do DS test...

Jermaine/Regg,
u had ur checkup today also rite how was it?

babylet:
i dunno how dr will deem an episiotomy necessary.. but i read from webbies and learnt from other mummies that for asians, it is sometimes better to hv it done else u may face very bad tears.
my case was that my bb was in distress as amniotic fluid was very low due to my waterbag burst n leaking for past 7hrs, thats y gynae cut me to fasten the process. He did not tell me or hb that bb in distress though, coz he worry i kan jiong and push at the wrong time.
though it sounds scary, i din feel pain when my gynae was cutting me.(i think i was in too labour pain and also too tired. the only thing in my mind was to get my ger out quick. and dr tell mi to push. i squeeze with all my might. in fact i din even know what he was doing. By the 3rd time he told mi to push, my ger was out and was placed on me. Even when he stitch me, i also dunno until i saw the thread n needle... maybe was too tired from all the pushing n joy of finally seeing my lil ger after having her in my tummy for 9mths.. lol.. afterwards, my hb ask mi if i knew gynae was cutting me, i told him i dunno...

RE: Nuchal & oscar scan.
i still thinking of doing it... i know my gyane will refer to TMC... it is ard 300+ for oscar.. detailed scan at tmc was $125 (when i did it last year)
i know TMC has recently increased the wards charges... one bedder is now ard 530. thats y i am thinking of giving birth at Mt A and i found Mt A nurses friendlier.. keke.. i even made friends with the nurses there when my ger was warded there. :p

Jaclyn..
oic... for me, i pop over to my gf place almost ev other day.. coz she also hv a son one mth younger than my ger. we both mingle so that we can keep each other sane.. haha