(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

elicia_mum,
My EDD has been pushed to 27 Aug from original mid Aug. Yes there's a heartbeat but I don't know if baby just developed or it's on its way to.. err you know what lah. However I can barely see the heartbeat. It didn't give me the kind of confidence I had when I see my previous babies' heartbeats. My DD1 is also born in Sep so I don't mind Sep baby too. As long as there's progress, that's what I'd like to see. Hey good luck for tomorrow yeah. I know spotting can mean nothing, I spotted on my 2nd pregnancy too. It's just that for this pregnancy, I almost have no MS, unlike my previous, MS quite bad, lost 3kg. Keep us updated good or bad yeah. We're dying to know and very best of luck to you.

Jialat, now I have a very bad sore throat. Yesterday had fever but fever is gone now only have difficulty swallowing. I have been drinking lots of honey water till dunno how many times I have to go to the loo. Should I see a GP or my Gynae huh? I dreaded driving all the way to Gleneagles from Woodlands with a very sore throat and headache!

mrs puff,
i guess see GP is ok, but need to let them know that u r pregnant and the kind of medications that you are on.

Do take care, ya...

Hey girls,
I chanced upon this website. I'm so glad someone decided to compile a list of gynaes in SG so that people can comment on it!

http://sggynae.blogspot.com it's not mine ok, just found out only.

think i'll see my company GP first (at least it's free kekee) and if he advised me to go see a gynae, maybe I can look for another in Woodlands area..!!

Hi raincloud,
it would be that i claulated wrongly de.. cos my menst had always been regular.. same date every mth de.... i some how am cheating myself... but still will go down tml to my gynae and see what happen lor... as mention am prepare for the worst le... (many ppl keep telling me i am still young and give birth again.... etcetc... dun wanna heard all this la... i am young so??
anyway if baby is fated to be mine ... it will be mine.. if it doesnt then no point forcing...

Hi puffs
my actual edd was suppose to be on 21/08 so it might be push toward the sep if this baby is really growing... will be going to my gynae and let him see what he say lor..

Pink, if the percent is high, or risk is high, they will do another test by inserting a needle into the tummy of the mummy which is 99% accurate at 12 to 14 weeks. Or to do the amino test which is also 99% accurate at week 16.

Oscar test is 90% accurate.

elicia, think positive, it is only very accurate if you have been BBT and charting daily with o day can be different.

It is good to seek 2nd opinion. Like for me, I O alittle late this time and according to bb size, my calculation from the chart was very accurate.

elicia_mum: Be strong, k? People will tell you you're still young coz' they probably can't think of any other ways to console you. Coz' the sac is still there. I also got friends who couldn't detect heartbeat initially and then only after a few weeks. Have you gotten a 2nd opinion?

Hi priscilla,

thanks for ur feedback.. had been very positive le... do hope that miracle will appear... it will be glad if baby will be born on 09/09/2009... (sep 9 happen to be my birth date as well) so i will stay positive till i see my gynae tml

Oscar test is the first test to check the baby fluid size at the back of the neck through ultrasound measurement and then a blood test done by drawing the mother's blood where the hormone is tested. Then it will be matched together with the ultrasound result through a special programme to see the risk level.

If risk is low, no further test is required. If risk is high, they will give an option of two test like the one that poke a needle through the mum's tummy which I thinks is called COVIS at week 12 to 14 which is 99% accurate but with a higher risk miscarriage. Where amino test (I cannot remember the spelling for the full name), it is collecting the sac liquid for test during week 16 which is 99% accurate but with a slightly lower risk for miscarriage.

Went to see bb today. Bb is now 4.3cm and EDD brought forward by 2 days. And my gynae said good chance i'll get a gal.

Elicia
Have regular menses doesn't mean that you'll ovulate at the same time each mth. Sometimes u can ovulate earlier or later. So unless u monitor your ovulation period, u can't be certain. So just wait and be patient. For my 2 preg, I ovulated 1 week late. I knew coz i took my BBT and my 2nd one, coz I BD only very late in the cycle. I've friends who couldn't find their sacs in the beginning, but ended finding them. So just wait and be patient.

pinkmama, usually most mummies do the oscar test, which is very accurate. If the test results are not gd, then u will need to do amnio test at 16 weeks. Procedure involve poking a needle into ur tummy to obtain fluid for further test. Most pple if oscar test is ok, skip the amnio.

mashy: just curious, how ur gynae know it is a good chance for a gal when so early in the pregnancy? Haha. Cos I also want a girl girl...

elicia, I have been charting but not as diligent as before, but I do notice my O date changes even with regular mense. So it is very possible that you O late.

Puff, what did your ob say? Will pray that you have a healthy bb. Can see gp but let them know you are pregnant. If not, seek advise for OB. Have a speedy recovery.

Violetta, I have been downing alot of water before ms started. I hope ms passes quickly, I miss drinking water but ms once I drink.

thks pris for the explanation...sigh, so many things us MTB have to worry abt. But is it true that the amino test is recommended for all mummies above 35?

Hi mashy,
thanks for informing.. at least feelng better now... u must be happy noe that ur 3rdd one might be a gal... gong xi ni first lor.. keke

tinkabel, think you are rite, it is 90% accurate with Oscar test.

Mashy,when is your EDD now? The Genetic Counsellor calculated like me thinks my EDD is 2 Aug, my gyn will see me next week as she thinks my EDD should be between 28 July to 4 Aug as I did not want to do V-scan when I saw her the last time and another dr just in charge of ultrasound did my ultrasound to confirm bb size.

tinkabel

hehe, she was scanning for the extra pc and couldn't find anything sticking out bah. Bb was in a very good position today. I was also very surprised that she could tell this early. But think still early to confirm, so now it's only high chance gal.

elicia mum
hehe, this is my 2nd preg. Both late ovulation. Not no 3 lah. hehehe.

pink
I'm 11 weeks now, according to the scan.

pink

i'm >35, but not doing amnio nor OSCAR. Guess the reason why they will wanna recommend amnio instead of OSCAR is coz OSCAR is based on statistics and it's very bad for those above 35 already. No matter how u do, will still look bad. Might as well skip that and go straight to amnio.

mashy, congrats congrats. Hope mine also got nothing sticking out. Havent even done my 1st gynae visit yet. Scheduled it for the week before CNY. Think 2nd pregnancy, know what to expect so more R&R...

Violetta,

Im also the same, so thirsty and keep drinking water when b4 i cant take too much water as they make me wana puke...we seem to have the same symptoms ya

i mashy & tinkabel,
while both are hoping that there arent anything sticking out...
i am one that is hoping that there is for my current pregnancy...

mashy,
I also>35

So Oscar also got risk of m/c?

elicia mum

ya, ya, good news. Gynae said it's good size. I checked back on my #1's size and he's even smaller than this #2. Scared i'll get a big gal and a petite boy.

tinkabel
definitely feel more R&R. I've been bleeding everyday, and can still take it in my stride. Told my gynae abt how i kept telling myself to stay cool abt the bleeding, and no cramps should be ok.

Dolcevita
I'm also thirsty but i hate water now how? Any good sugg?

elicia

All the best!

pink
No lah, oscar no risk of m/c. It's just a scan & blood test. I leave everything to God. He will bless me with a healthy child.
If it's not meant to be, it's probably not mine to begin with.

mashy: how come you are bleeding? take care ok, and rest more.

pink mama: not necessarily la, so dun scare yourself. Just take the test when needed and then deal with it.

Hi mashy,

good luck to u as well...
u have gt the same thinking as me now...
fated to have the baby = baby will be mine..
not fated mean it will leave me...

Mashy, we are in the same boat, feel thirsty but hate water haahaa. Water makes me puke. So I have been taking asian pears.

edd from ultrasoun scan or the wheel-like calender

is more accurate? i'm always confused with that..

elicia_mum
:) hope everything's will turn out well.

i oso hoping that nothing sticks out. i think i will be disappoint if something ever stick out this time round..

mashy,tinkabel,
Ya, i know I am thinking a little far too ahead, but I want to know what are my options so I can prepare myself mentally for it.

Pink, I lie still on the bed and touch my tummy...then can see the tummy moving up n down like the heartbeat rate. Then I use another hand to feel my own heartbeat, seems different but cant be sure. Even when I remove my hand, still can c clearly that my stomach "pumping". Quite interesting. It consoles me for a moment but hope I got it right lah... =)

Pris and Dolce, I have been drinking tons of water now. I was pretty surprised that I cleared 3 bottles of my water coz normally i cant even finish 1 bottle. Thats when I realised I suddenly can drink so much!

Mashy, ur gynae is so fast to be able to tell u its a gal wor! My hubby will be so elated if mine is a gal. Yesterday he kept telling me that he saw a pink pram twice and cant wait to buy if we got a gal...think he really go gugu gaga over a bb gal already.. *faint*

Hi smurfy
i think that edd from scan is more accurate then the wheel like calendar..
cos the wheel like calendar is based on ur last menst date which might not be correct esp if u ovalute late.. etc

pinkmama
please take one day at a step n rest more... dun think too much... u knw i used to read/find out abt m/c before the previous mc occurs.. then really suai suai kena the mc then.. somehow tis time i dun have the urge to read more abt all these? just let nature takes its own course..

elicia mum

I think i 'kan kai' already. Used to worry so much over everything. NOw I know that even if i worry, it won't help matters. So just relax.

I've friends who carry their bb to near term also lose their bb, friends who lose their hbs in their prime, and even pp who lose their young kids. So there's no absolute certainty in life except death. Whatever is yours is yours, whatever isn't, won't be there for u to keep.

Priscilla
What's asian pears? the round ones or the pear shaped one?

Hi ya...
mashy... no point worry over something which might nt be truth right... so let be happy and let it be natual lor...